Invalid security Certificate?

Post bug reports and suggestions for improving Remix64.com or AmigaRemix here. For other sites, contact the respective site maintainers directly.
Post Reply
User avatar
AndyUK
Forum Celebrity
Forum Celebrity
Posts: 286
Joined: 02/05/2011 - 2:58
Location: Canada
Contact:

Invalid security Certificate?

Post by AndyUK » 03/09/2011 - 2:31

Hey guys.. Been having a few popups just recently in Firefox when browsing remix64.com warning of an invalid security certificate.. ( since the last 2 days. )

www.thorsschmiede.de:443 uses an invalid security certificate

This certificate is only valid for http://www.backtohistory.com

(error code : ssl_error_bad_cert_domain)

This could be a problem with the server's configuration or it could be someone trying to impersonate the server.


Is this an issue or firefox being overly sensitive? I searched for thorsschmiede site ( they sell replica viking stuff ) and their website says : After getting enormous problems with our old server, we now decided to move ! As from today you may get difficulties to reach our webshop because we move the whole shop to another server. Please bear with us until the move is complete.

I'm virus clean and spyware checked as far as I'm aware.. Anyone else see this popup?

User avatar
Analog-X64
I Adore My 64
I Adore My 64
Posts: 3592
Joined: 08/12/2002 - 3:50
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by Analog-X64 » 03/09/2011 - 4:52

Sounds like your PC is infected and are being redirected.

Run MRT and do a full scan.

Start -> Run -> MRT

Malwarebytes and SUperANtiSPyware wouldn't hurt either.
d[-.-]b (+[___]x)d(>_<)b 52656d697836342e636f6d2073696d706c7920726f636b732120
Image

User avatar
LMan
R64 Founder
R64 Founder
Posts: 3438
Joined: 21/11/2002 - 12:44
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by LMan » 03/09/2011 - 6:52

I rather think Vosla is linking to an image in his signature, which is hosted on an https URL with an expired SSL certificate. :D

Vosla, shame on you! :lol:

User avatar
Dumper
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1147
Joined: 28/05/2003 - 18:34
Location: England

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by Dumper » 04/09/2011 - 9:00

I haven't had a problem using Firefox, but this is a good chance for everyone to blame Vosla. ;)

User avatar
AndyUK
Forum Celebrity
Forum Celebrity
Posts: 286
Joined: 02/05/2011 - 2:58
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by AndyUK » 04/09/2011 - 13:34

Only had the notification once or twice, and I'm spyware/virus scanned and clear.. So.. Just thought It might be worth mentioning just in case.. But thanks for the replies guys..

User avatar
Analog-X64
I Adore My 64
I Adore My 64
Posts: 3592
Joined: 08/12/2002 - 3:50
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by Analog-X64 » 04/09/2011 - 13:59

I'm using Firefox 3.6.21 and haven't seen any of the security warnings, which is why I thought it could be virus/spyware related.
d[-.-]b (+[___]x)d(>_<)b 52656d697836342e636f6d2073696d706c7920726f636b732120
Image

User avatar
Vosla
General Pain In The Forum's Ass
General Pain In The Forum's Ass
Posts: 3508
Joined: 02/12/2002 - 0:12
Location: Where the sun never shines, hope is a cuss and love never existed.
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by Vosla » 04/09/2011 - 19:26

Oh, hello!
Let me explain a bit. Our old hosting is crap and we are hopping servers. It takes some days before everything is back to normal.

YOU ARE NOT INFECTED ! It take its time to get all back on track.

There is only one guy to do all the changes and he has to scrape every bit of information together. He received the Authcode for moving the domain days too late and so everything TAKES AGES.

SORRY!
Idiot for hire.

User avatar
AndyUK
Forum Celebrity
Forum Celebrity
Posts: 286
Joined: 02/05/2011 - 2:58
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by AndyUK » 05/09/2011 - 3:38

heh.. thanks for the reply Volsa, kinda funny that I just had the message again while reading this reply heh..Thank-you.it's appreciated

Oh and Analog, I'm running firefox 6.01, maybe thats why?

User avatar
merman
Forum Fish
Forum Fish
Posts: 1924
Joined: 24/01/2003 - 10:42
Location: Skegness, UK
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by merman » 05/09/2011 - 9:56

Strange, I've now started getting the message...
--Anyone want to remix my SIDs?--
The Commodore 64 Book - out now!
My gaming blog

User avatar
LMan
R64 Founder
R64 Founder
Posts: 3438
Joined: 21/11/2002 - 12:44
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by LMan » 05/09/2011 - 12:45

...since Vosla posted in this thread. :)

User avatar
Vosla
General Pain In The Forum's Ass
General Pain In The Forum's Ass
Posts: 3508
Joined: 02/12/2002 - 0:12
Location: Where the sun never shines, hope is a cuss and love never existed.
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by Vosla » 05/09/2011 - 19:01

Should be cleared by the end of the week.
Funny that you get that message through the picture...
I try to change the path to HTTP instead of HTTPS for the banner. Should do the trick.
Idiot for hire.

User avatar
AndyUK
Forum Celebrity
Forum Celebrity
Posts: 286
Joined: 02/05/2011 - 2:58
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by AndyUK » 06/09/2011 - 17:00

Thankyou pal.. For all you do behind the scenes, thankyou!! :cheers:

User avatar
LMan
R64 Founder
R64 Founder
Posts: 3438
Joined: 21/11/2002 - 12:44
Contact:

Re: Invalid security Certificate?

Post by LMan » 07/09/2011 - 5:21

Aye, good work there Vosla :)

Post Reply