Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 271 - 300 out of 1812
[LOGIN]

Review by Cubud (07/10/2014)

This remix is so good! I love the rough bass instrument, I love the insertion of real sound-effects from Super Mario Land on the GameBoy. Very enjoyable!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cubud (06/10/2014)

This tune starts out fantastic, really like an Ibitha dance track or something. The choice of instrument later was a mistake that suddenly brings it down to the level of guy on computer at home from what was previously a serious producer in a professional studio.

Please change that instrument, and put a bit more variation towards the end, it'll make it brilliant!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mixer (30/09/2014)

This is an orchestral version of the Ultima V track by Kenneth Arnold. I've always enjoyed Ultima soundtracks, many of the tunes are hammered into my brain after so many hours with the game.

That being said, this remix is not up to the standards I'd like to hear.

Firstly, it sounds like it is a direct midi convert of the original. Such remix can be done in minutes, there is no effort put on it.

There is no new creative arrangement and the instruments sound very sampleish and artificial. This can be forgiven as access to decent orchestral instrument sets or real orchestra is often not possible for hobbyists. Some dynamics and making it to appear like it is played for real would make a huge difference.

So, as a plain convert I vote this to be average. It is not bad, as the arranger has not done anything to ruin the original composition, but has not improved on it either. Easy listening only.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Joshua1972 (29/09/2014)

i adore this website, it's possible to feel always fashionable news. Special today surprise is a rocked aztec, i love it so much!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Karamija (27/09/2014)

Aztec atmosphere blend perfectly with this type of arrangement. The guitars are beutiful and solo is scary!!
beautiful also the sounds used, clean and incisive.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Arabelle74 (26/09/2014)

well-balanced sound , excellent creativity and fantastic guitars. Chorus is very charming, and the rock section with metal guitars is exciting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Wacky Amoebatron (25/08/2014)

This Track seems to be a 1:1 MIDI-Rip of Jogeir Liljedahl's Version of the Stationary Ark Soundtrack. Too similar, too recognizable, too much the same instrumentation. Too cheap to be true. Sorry, laddy!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Rohyp Nose (31/07/2014)

Great production, funky sounding! Nice homage in clubbish wrapping! I hate to dance, but my fingers kept tapping the table franticly\"<img\">
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/06/2014)

First off, I don't know what this tune has to do with TMR, it's clearly a Last Ninja 3 subtune #10 remix. TMR's SID remix of it is not even the same subtune (that's #6)... Anyhoo...

Love the guitar work, really deep, great riffs, well mixed. The drum pattern is too simple, though, that needs work.

I like the light break in the middle, but overall I have mixed feelings about the arrangement, it sounds a bit confusing.

All in all, pretty good job, hope there's more to come!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Xenix (05/05/2014)

Nice tune, good nostalgical value. But please fix the bass loop (did you use one long sample for that?) as it's just out of sync with the beats.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Xenix (11/04/2014)

Yeah.. it's just a blues in fact. Well done, although it keeps being a bit slow-motion. I hoped you included the sound effect that the car made when eh.. a new level was reached (the whoop sound :-)).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Xenix (11/04/2014)

How the hell did you invent this 5/4th funky beat! Well invented. Took me a while to notice it even.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Xenix (11/04/2014)

Excellent choice on intro! Just wonder if you got the first notes of the Battle Valley tune starting correctly? It should start off-beat in my memory.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Xenix (11/04/2014)

Nice but predictable. please check on the beat loop, you're just a few bytes off which gives a clipping
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (25/03/2014)

This is a very admirable effort, I quite like its emotional bend, and how this piece intentionally lives within its self-imposed limits.

What I miss is more dynamicity: I don't feel much difference between the sections that were probably intended to be forte and the softer sections. For example, towards the end at around 4:32 I think it should get louder, more forceful in a crescendo fashion to finish it off with a bang.

Also, this sounds more like a chamber string quartet than a larger string orchestra to me, but now I am really nitpicking.:-)

Great piece of music, thanks for sharing!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grant (11/03/2014)

This remix feels like 3 takes which have been bookended into a single song.

The first 2 minutes of this remix sound like what the original Amiga version was trying to be.

The middle portion is decently composed. The original was a more emotive, haunting tune that doesn't feel quite right turned into something so up-tempo and energetic.

The intermission at the 6:40 mark seems to have no purpose except to stretch out an already too long song an extra 2.5 minutes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grant (26/02/2014)

Rings of Medusa re-imagined as a raver tune.

The original ROM was haunting and cries out for a modern, polished remake. This mix is the opposite of that.

Frenetic bass dominates the song. An organ opens with the classic ROM hook, and makes a guest appearance near the end, but otherwise the tune is mostly banging. Any other melody could have done as well in its place.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by khisanth (20/01/2014)

LOVING this !!!!!! Industrial sounding awesomeness, that was superb in the preview and is even better now. Good work mate
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ursina (30/12/2013)

Master of the tunes! Can hear his music all day long. So chilly, easy and it always pick you up and takes you with it. This is realy outsranding! Theres no better one to win this title!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by balloonhead (10/12/2013)

I listened to this song about 100 Times or even more. Running through my daily playlists every time JT in Space comes up my face takes a smiling position. This track has all that is needed to make a listener happy. Sounds with a nostalgic flare and a modern rhythm with a bodytouching beat. I think you cannot listen to often to this track.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (09/11/2013)

Oh. My. WORD.

I've absolutely adored this tune ever since I first played Harlequin more than 20 years ago (lordy, that makes me feel old), and I've longed to hear it remixed in high-definition digital NICAM CorBlimeySound for yonks. I'd honestly given up hope that anyone might turn their talents towards it, and then suddenly this appears, and it's magnificent. It perfectly captures the simultaneously bouncy, spooky, cheerful and mysterious nature of the original composition and expands upon it in truly majestic fashion; I've given it more than a dozen listens already, and it's just as fresh, exciting and joyous every time.

This is, I can safely say, my favourite piece ever uploaded to Amiga Remix, and by golly it's in some fantastic company. An utterly wonderful piece of work, and I for one would be overjoyed if the remixer were to give his take on some of the other Harlequin tracks, or indeed any less-frequently-covered Amiga pieces. Superb!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ryrynz (08/11/2013)

Ziphoid hit the nail on the head, I want the epic Turrican chuck in some better mixing too.

Dance intro was okay, enough to get me interested, then at 1.30 The Turrican cometh and I was like I'M FEELING IT, THIS IS TEH TURRICAN And I waited for the continuation of more epicness but then @ 3 mins it was back to dance and I was like OH :'( missed opportunity.

Give me the Turrican feels dude, I know you can do it, just balance it out right, it doesn't quite have the same impact as the original or perhaps quite the same impact I want it to have. I don't think anyone has quite nailed Freedom yet, you might be able to give it the attention it deserves.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ryrynz (03/11/2013)

Obviously one of the best remixes of this tune ever. No wonder it was used in the Giana Sisters:Twisted Dreams game.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by BenDaglish (29/09/2013)

Actually - my technical review is pretty much the same as LaLa's - the actual recorded sound itself could be better, and I'd like to hear more bass maybe, but the arrangement, and playing itself is marvellous. What's nice is that you can tell it's a *live* piece - personally, I'd love to see that performed.In fact, if you chaps ever fancied getting together for a gig...:-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Alcoholocauster (20/09/2013)

Werke der Opernliteratur offenbaren das Innerste ihres Charakters am besten dann, wenn man sie des Mantels repräsentativer Hochkultur völlig entkleidet, wenn man den ganzen angeblich nötigen Apparat zu ihrer Aufführung samt symphonisch besetztem Orchester, schwerem Samtvorhang, Pausensekt und Programmheft weglässt.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/08/2013)

Well, first of all, I really admire that you've tackled the entire IK tune, not just a part of it. I also really admire the unbelievable effort that must've been put into this remix, it's obviously a work of love, a work of art. It's a great production with lots of wonderful details.

Having said that, like others, I also think this is not a perfect marriage of source material and style. Maybe it's my existing knowledge about prior IK remixes that gets in the way here, maybe it's the perceived awkwardness of the way the melody is fit onto a swing beat - dunno, but somehow it just doesn't gel together in my brain.

Does it make my legs move? Yes. Does it bring a smile on my face? Yes. Maybe I should just be content with that.:-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dethme0w (28/07/2013)

I listened to this about 4 times in a row after downloading it. Put on headphones, close your eyes, and you almost think you're in a vast, cavernous cathedral - except they're playing Ghosts & Goblins! All I can say to Isacco Garcia Peveri is: More please!

Note: I have revised my Technical Merit rating down one because I am in agreement with another reviewer that proper organ music does not fade out - it either ends with an eruption of fireworks and awesomeness that leaves you breathless and mindblown (and half-deaf), or walks you and your bleeding heart down a convoluted path of melancholy that leaves you in tears on the final note, which is still as loud and clear as the first. But never fade it out like a cheap early 80's pop single.

Other than that, this remix is made of awesome. More please! (Hint: Galway)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by NecroPolo (27/07/2013)

Time is passing, nice remixes come and go but this one remained 'THE' R-Type remix to me during the years. There are many flavours around but this one still has the best vibe to me. Besides the big picture, it also does so many little things perfectly that makes this track something like a nice rich summer cocktail with an awesome, timeless aftertaste.

Cheers!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ryrynz (19/07/2013)

I think this is quite possibly the best remix ever done.

Everything is pretty much perfect.

Takes the original and makes is golden.

I don't know how some of you guys only rate this as good for minor things, I've seen good remixes sound nowhere near what this manages to pull off. Good for not being perfect? C'mon!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/07/2013)

I'm always glad when a pipe organ remix shows up on RKO because I like organ music, which is why I am probably more picky about it. I see a few issues with this interpretation:

1) It needs a more throaty pipe organ sound. The one you used sounds a bit whiney.

2) The arrangement could be a bit more complex, I'd love to hear this more in the style of Bach.

3) Fadeout with a pipe organ tune? Not a good choice at all. It needs a big, window-rattling crescendo ending!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ⋅⋅⋅ 59 60 61