Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 211 - 240 out of 1812
[LOGIN]

Review by exocytosis (25/11/2015)

"Will You Remember" is, simply put, an amazing piece of work - the slew of string instruments in combination with the unmistakebly SID-esque synthesizer sound make for a great C64 cover all by itself. What really puts the icing on the cake and makes this song stand out is how its robot voice manages to convey feelings of despair, sorrow and sadness. With the expected technological singularity mere decades away, counting CPU cycles and juggling IRQs seem like a hazy memory of an age that briefly flashed before our eyes. With the impending society-wide introduction of super evolved computers that will forever change the world as we know it, I can see why our Commodore computers already urge us not to forget them, and plead for us to remember. And I will. I wouldn't be the same person if my great parents hadn't bought me my VIC-20 or my C128. I will remember.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Bronyboy30 (20/11/2015)

This is so nice music its brings me back in time its even giving me tears in my eyes. Good job but i hoped for a 2-3 min longer =) But still love it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/11/2015)

I find the intro more promising than the rest of the remix, which at 0:52 becomes just one of many LN2 remixes. There are a few cool ideas lurking in it, though. The most intriguing one is the "whispering voices" part after 2:12, that's very creative. I really want to like this remix so much, but it isn't fleshed out as well as it could've been.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Zyonee (10/11/2015)

So awesome! I just wish it would have been a minute or so longer. That doesn't change the fact that this is one of the best Amiga remixes I've heard this year.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Trackah123 (21/10/2015)

Guitar part is pretty good, besides that it's pretty much the same song as the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by iXien (08/10/2015)

Well done Allister, what a remake! Thank you for such a masterpiece. So much memories behind this music. A very nice work. Maybe you will decide to remake other musics from this game ? ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Miroku79 (04/10/2015)

Wow... this tune is really beautiful, bring to me a lot of memories. Another world was a masterpiece also for the music, and this remix really give the game its merit.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kbilsted (28/09/2015)

The best part is the guitars at the end. Maybe doing another track with more deep end guitar??
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gabriele (16/09/2015)

Beautiful remix , beautifully written i must say it is one of the most beautiful I've heard so far
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by drm (13/09/2015)

Outrun was one of the great arcade racers of the 80's and although the port to the c64 wasn't quite the experience the music got us closer. There are several Outrun remixes to listen to each vying for the "congratulations" and this one by Johan's is decent - even matching Peter W's award winning effort in terms of production. The guitar rhythm playing is tight and are accompanied by a nice palette of sounds that blend well together. However there is one flaw in this could be gem of a remix - it's far too slow. It's rather like listening to a 45rpm on 33rpm which kills that warm fuzzy adrenaline fueled nostalgia of the original. Maybe remixers spend so much time and effort making the track it begins to sound right and who can blame them after all, it is up to the remixer to dictate the tempo of their productions. Yet in this case it is from a racing game and in my opinion it needs that extra 20-30 bpm added on. In summary it's a great track and I'd urge you to download it if you are a fan of Outrun. I'd also advise that if you have a pitch shift or timestretch app then use it on the track and it really shifts from lo to hi gear...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (11/09/2015)

Wow just wow. A very powerful take on powerdrift with a surprising twist in the middle, quoting two other famous SID tunes, allowing to take a breath before the energetic main arrangement resumes. Just fantastic.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (11/09/2015)

The remix does the original justice, except the high pitched filtered synth which is the backbone of the SID, while here it is replaced with a thin saw sound. However the bridge at 2:02 is spot on and together with the finale makes up for it. Overall a very cool remix, almost outstanding!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (11/09/2015)

Taking on a classic like "Compleeto" is no easy task, and the SIDrip Alliance has done an impressive job in capturing the SID's unique spirit, while adding a lot of own ideas to it. Technically flawless, hugely enjoyable. Hats off!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FStarred (10/09/2015)

I have included in my channel of Amiga remix best of. However to me is too much repetitive, should take not more than 5 minutes
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by winc (02/09/2015)

When a song keeps playing over and over on my system, and I don't know I have listened to the same thing for 2 hours and that I continually to get goose bumps at the same place each time is the sign of a song that has been put together really REALLY well! You Originally this song was one of the ones I played on SID a lot - but now I am just going to be playing this even more! Great work!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.Piotr (31/08/2015)

live play is OK you have to work on the songs they played live already the first results, engage him playing live
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (29/08/2015)

Not a great start, a bit mechanical, but makes up for it later. Takes quite a while to get to the melodic point, but quite impressed by the solo put over Mark's wonderful but slightly repetitive original. There's a number of ways the dynamism in this could have been improved, but it's still a musically intelligent attempt, and had some great moments, especially in the second half.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by vurtx (28/08/2015)

I really like the odd chord changes in this and it has a certain atmosphere. I never knew the SiD until now so both have been added to my library
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by McLord (27/08/2015)

This remix is really involving and the part of piano is quite simply brilliant. I liked the first listening.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by McLord (27/08/2015)

Sorry i'n not english but this remix is awesome :-) guitar and bass are real like a band.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nightlord (11/08/2015)

I am honored to have my SID remixed with this much effort and love. I didn't know about the existence of this until 2 days ago and I was blown away with how well you "understood" the intentions behind various components from their SID renditions. Kudos: * You completely nailed the feel of the acoustic guitar intro. * You made the 3.04 - 3.08 range "amazing". The addition of the distorted guitars (which I didn't think of in the original) makes that part so much more intense. * Overall your drums rule Humble suggestion: - Like others called out the mix/mastering could be improved. Especially the bass was difficult to hear in places. I am grateful for this great remix. Thank you so much
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by D.j. (04/08/2015)

This song got stuck, for a long time. Its everything i wanted to make, but never had the skills for. Back to slicing pizza...:P
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cptnstv (30/07/2015)

Absolute perfection. This track will be played at my funeral (if that's not infringing any copyrights?)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by sLyGuY (16/07/2015)

I like this remix very much, it keeps original spirit of the song (that makes me go in trance) with new instruments. Excellent work! I hope to see more stuff like this from this arranger.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Elements of univers (12/07/2015)

perfect genius awesome fantastic gorgeous BEAU MAGNIFIQUE ENVOUTANT MERVEILLEUX AUDACIEUX Love love love Electric Dream. Thank you guys.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (09/07/2015)

Barry Leitch's Harlequin soundtrack remains one of my all-time favourite game OSTs ever. Every tune in that marvellous game is a treat for the ears, and anyone aiming to improve upon the original tracks has their work very much cut out for them.

This remix succeeds in absolutely every respect. Indeed, it's no exaggeration to say that it's one of my favourite pieces of music of any kind in the world ever.

Not only does it capture perfectly the electrifying mood of the original TVee Wonderland theme (somehow managing to be hair-raisingly eerie and playfully energetic at the same time), not only does it expand upon the original with exceptional verve and creativity (introducing an array of beautiful new harmonies, counter-melodies and other splendidly atmospheric flourishes), but it even manages to tell a story that fits in perfectly with the part of the game where this particular theme first turns up, via some positively spiffing sound design. The level of Harlequin that gives this track its name is one of the most original and gleefully sinister environments ever to appear in a platformer. The hero of the piece finds himself inside a gigantic, haunted television showroom where every single TV set is broken, and the player is tasked with guiding him past an array of electricity-themed enemies and traps. As such, the intro to this remix could scarcely be more perfect as we hear a television turn on by itself and start searching through the static for a clear transmission, eventually settling upon a channel where the MOD version of the tune can briefly be heard before the updated version zaps into life. (An especially pleasing touch – among the garbled snatches of other programmes we can clearly hear excerpts from the theme tunes of Gamesmaster and Bad! Influence, both of which first came to the screen in the year of Harlequin's release.) The various other crackles, sparks and fizzes that crop up throughout the rest of the track add greatly to the spookily mysterious vibe of the whole thing without ever being intrusive, and the conclusion as the static returns and the misfiring TV finally shuts itself off is the perfect coda to the whole experience.

I utterly, wholeheartedly love this remix. As you may possibly have gathered.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Touchfrench (27/06/2015)

Great remix of one of my favourite video-game music. Guitars are great. The singed part is not my favourite part but it's ok.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (08/06/2015)

In the early '90s, Super Twintris was one of the Amiga's most celebrated and popular public domain games. Multiple magazines praised it as the machine's finest Tetris clone by miles, it was regularly included on coverdisks and lists of PD must-haves, and every 'Miggy owner I knew had their own copy of it; in many ways, therefore, it's surprising that it's taken this long for someone to remix the charming and evocative trio of tunes that comprised the game's soundtrack. But by golly, it was worth the wait!

At once cheeringly nostalgic and splendidly original, this is a brilliant track that breathes sparkling new life into the original melodies. The distinctive atmosphere of each of the three tunes remains intact, but this ingenious medley arrangement creates a progression of mood that works to splendid effect. From the dramatic thrills of the opening sequence we progress into the mysterious exhilaration of the middle section, creating the feeling of embarking on some sort of epic, potentially hazardous futuristic adventure; then the final three minutes bring everything to an upliftingly triumphant conclusion, conjuring mental images of gorgeous sunrises and zooming jubilantly off into the stars, mission completed. In addition, the piece melds together a range of musical styles that fit the melodies perfectly, morphing seamlessly from 90s-style Jarre-esque techno into something wonderfully reminiscent of the 70s golden era of cosmic synth before finally jumping into the cheering charm of 80s electronica. It's joyful in its ever-evolving playfulness, and I'm vastly impressed with it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by CoLD SToRAGE (03/06/2015)

I really enjoyed this new take on my tune... not a style I'd have imagined. Good fun!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chilli_uk (02/06/2015)

My friend - i remember many years ago you wrote a trance version of this for me - u have now maxed it - wow... i love it ...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 59 60 61