Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1847
[LOGIN]

Review by Kikstart (13/10/2018)

Having listened to Last Ninja and played the game hundreds of times, this loader for me was a nice surprise. you should be commended for such a fabulous remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/10/2018)

I encouraged Vaggelis in a YT comment to upload his remix here, too - and I'm glad he did! What I really like in this remix is that he actually plays every single note of the original on his guitar: the devilishly fast runs, the slides, the arpeggiated non-melodic effects - I'm in awe of his technique!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (12/10/2018)

The sounds and mix for this is really, really good. I just hope there would be a version without the silly quotes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (11/10/2018)

It's cool to hear this tune, and the execution is very interesting. Unfortunately, for me personally it falls apart in the middle when you get the Theremin like lead.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (11/10/2018)

Usually people go full out with the medieval symphonies, but this is a nice mix between chip and medieval themes. It's very faithful and has a good sound mix. The orchestrated sounds could be better and deeper, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sada (09/10/2018)

It's a good remix of a very simple melody and music which was awesome because of the bass line, the digitized speech and motor noise synchronized with the graphics of the game intro. I like how you maintain the last note of the main theme. Good job !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sebstar (28/09/2018)

Acapellla style the beginning is really nice, i like the voice! nicely done! Don't quite get the negative reviews and ratings!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sebstar (27/09/2018)

I like the beat it really pushes me forward! Logged in just to vote it up! Superb music dude!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MeduZa (23/09/2018)

It keeps the original feeling but with a lot more environment! The sound bring memories back from the old days
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mikey (27/08/2018)

Love this tune, and this is not a bad version. The base line is a little too overpowered/dominant for my tastes, but it's a good boppy little version.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (31/07/2018)

The best wind of Last Ninja 3 so far, its a challenging tune. I can see that some of the instruments were a challenge. It resembles the original really well and I guess more work on this seeing as its now 13 years old would be great to hear from this composer.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

I've never been a fan of remixes or remasters where you can clearly hear the original tune playing in the background as a "sound carpet" and then adding modern sounds on top of it. Whether this track does that or not is actually hard to say, but for the first 30 seconds or so it absolutely sounds like the original track just overlayed with some synths and then the guitar coming in. The guitar playing itself is accurate and follows the melody competently, but it lacks something engaging. It's clear that it's trying occasionally to make something outside of a middling recording, and those moments are absolutely great! It just feels like there could be more to really carry this beyond "ok" into great. Adding in the back synths at about 2 minutes helps in lifting it and here the guitars portamento becomes more clear and helps lift the track, but again the mixing makes it muddy and takes the edge of the sounds, further pushing it towards flat and bland. I think it's a great attempt and I still do enjoy it, but it could be so much better and lively. This is just my personal opinion however. Don't be discouraged! And don't pass up listening just because some old grump has some complaints. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

Following on the intro, I was hesitant to really call it great and was about to give it a lower score than I ultimately did. The solid 80's tracker-style drums really meshed perfectly with the synths and sounds chosen for the pad, the lead and everything, leading to a piece that is greater than a sum of its parts. I definitely enjoyed it, and it manages to capture the essence and dream-factor of the original. It could be more engaging and technically complex, but overall I think it was very good work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

It's a good remix insomuch as it's professionally put together. I don't find it overly engaging personally however. It's lacking something to make me really jump on it. I can't tell if it's in the mixing or the arrangement or if it's simply not to my taste, but it feels somewhat bland. (It might also be my lack of nostalgia for the game, as I really never got into the Chuck Rock series). Overall technically good, mixing is a bit muddy and song is very well arranged.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (24/07/2018)

Earth is one of my favorites in the Last Ninja archives. This is a very good rendition of the tune that was much needed. It have enough "new" to not clone the original, and yet enough "old" to keep its authenticity allowing me to consider it a 'remaster' as much as a 'remix'.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

Opens with a very interesting combination of a choir and rough electronica, and later on it sprinkles it with some cinematic orchestra. It all builds up to a crescendo, which is suddenly interrupted by acoustic guitars. Then it resumes the more bombastic style, but we never really get a resolution out of it. Instead the piece just ... ends. I think a bit more cohesion in style would've helped tremendously.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

I am very confused by this remix. Starts out in a very nice, serene oriental style. But that lasts only until about a minute a half when there's an inexplicable change in tone and style to more aggressive electronica. Then I get confused even further when at around 2 minutes the guitars appear. What? Why? By this time the opening oriental style completely disappears in the background. And then all this is capped by the original SID towards the end. Umm, okay... Overall, this tune has all the hallmarks of a decent production, but the minute-by-minute stylistic changes make my head spin.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (14/07/2018)

A fair shot at a remix, but just as the tune gets real interesting about the 1m mark, it loses its tone in the latter half where it turns into a jumble of style impressiouns that come and go without adding much to the overall flow. The latter half is in my opinion overshadowed by the beat. This is not a bad composition, however it shows how specific minor variations in the choice of f.x. the level of an instrument can have a major effect on the outcome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (14/07/2018)

Artistically, this must be one among the best that the Remix community has on offer. It's faithful to the original and shows a creative flair in transforming and adding to it in a way that just hits the spot. Where the original tune was relatively fast-paced, Mano pulls its tempo down significantly and in adding new instruments quite different from the game's original two, manages to produce a varied and rich remix with the insert passages going together well with the main tune with only minor spots that stand out. Well done Mano. (edit: 17/7-2018)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mike_c64 (13/07/2018)

This track made me create an account here, so that I could comment on this one. There are good tracks and then there are really really good tracks...and then, sometimes, once every third year a track like this shows up. I can listen to this like 15-20 times in a row. It gives me that special feeling every time. Thank you Shen Lon.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (13/07/2018)

For Last Ninja 1, Last Ninja Wilderness in-game is the most popular, having almost as many remixes as the rest of the tunes combined. In that heavy competition, Cytex remix of Last Ninja is the most authentic while still being a darn good remix. If there was ever a "remaster" album of Last Ninja where only one remix per tune is picked, this is a good nominee for the 4th track, and that is a honor.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/07/2018)

The notes are there, the arrangement is fairly faithful to the original, but it just sounds flat and emotionless. The electric guitar and the bass are both rather unexciting, for example. Needs more variation, better mixing, more vibrato, more effects... anything to make it sound more exciting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

70's Disco Space feeling here. Haha. Surprising style and works perfectly. Really well done. Who would have imagined.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Same midi as the other yes, AND it was made by me by hand in 1999. Now it is all mangled up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Sounds like you murdered my midi from 1999 here. I recognize it even under all these messy samples.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Not pointing fingers here but I think I recognize this midi as the one I made and put out online in 1999. Could be coincidence of course, but I recognize a lot of little details that I did. A bit messy choice of sounds on this also.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/07/2018)

I am somewhat conflicted by this remix. On one hand it has a high level of craftsmanship, showcasing many things (instrumentation, effects, breaks, etc.) modern professional productions tend to have. On the other hand, it feels to me like an ambitious project that falls short of delivering all the goods, especially when it comes to the arrangement. For example: awesome intro, it really got me going! But after the quick break at 0:35 it just continues on in the same style - I sort of expected an explosion of sound at that point. In fact, at 0:56 it adds some brass that sounds cheesy to me. But I kept waiting and hoping - until about 1:30 into the tune when I finally realized this just won't evolve any further. Which is a pity. What's there is unquestionably solid and enjoyable. Its style frequently reminds me of The Alan Parsons Project. But even after listening to it several times, in the back of my mind I just keep wondering: this could've been so much more...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our Youtube channel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our Youtube channel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our channel here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJVkKIRVWfI hope you are ok with that!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 60 61 62