Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 271 - 300 out of 1760
[LOGIN]

Review by FuzzyDweeb (08/10/2012)

Great effort and love the trance style remix - well done!

Nice slow build and layering take me nicely back to the original Amiga version.

Adrian Cummings
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by dayta (04/10/2012)

Here we go
Zzr used Buzz as far as i know and im glad people do that. the music is build from scratch and sounds nostalgic. no harmony errors were done and the mastering (or lets call it leveling the channels) is nice and smooth. it could be a little faster for my taste but not everything can be at 2million bpm i actualy enjoy this tune more then the orginal for the moment good work as allways
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Azulene31 (27/09/2012)

vraiment tres joli, c'est fantastique, felicitation, quel travail, ce mec est un genie.
vraiment tres joli, c'est fantastique, felicitation, quel travail, ce mec est un genie
vraiment tres joli, c'est fantastique, felicitation, quel travail, ce mec est un genie
vraiment tres joli, c'est fantastique, felicitation, quel travail, ce mec est un genie
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (14/09/2012)

This remix doesn't really tell a story, and thus, it doesn't feel epic. I think the root of the problem is that it's lacking in the arrangement department - it feels like a bunch of (otherwise excellent) symphonic samples were stitched together without much thought. There's no cohesion and it's short on emotions - it just doesn't seem to have its act together.

To me the highlight of this remix is the quieter part of 1:32-1:47. There are plenty of emotions in those 15 seconds. The part between 2:34 and 3:05 also shows promise, although I think the buildup is architected somewhat haphazardly and thus, it also feels incomplete. Much like the entire remix which ends abruptly not long after that.

Symphonic arrangements are a tough cookie, this remix makes an admirable attempt at it, but ultimately, it falls short. The samples are great, the mix is pretty good, the instruments are well-chosen - but it needs a better arrangement.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by LaLa (23/07/2012)

Here's what I really like about this remix: its pace. It's madly fast - just like the original!

Here's the second thing I really like about this remix: it's live (mostly). In fact, it's -a-live: you can taste that it's people playing great music for people who are willing to listen.

Here's what I don't like about this remix: the mix sounds a bit overcompressed to me. Maybe because the chords played by the synth seemingly disappear behind a metal cage. But in general I feel its flavor is suppressed a bit too much.

And again, here's what I really like about this remix: its fast pace! It's just mad, crazy - it's wonderful!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by nettuno (22/07/2012)

Excellent my friend: you know one thing or two about music composing that someone other must learn quickly. The melody is complex, rich, various and delightful. Good the instruments choice, good the quantization and all of the rest: I was enchanted from the start, to the end of the music piece. Well, now I will look for yours others pieces, hoping they be of same quality. Thank you very much.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by nettuno (22/07/2012)

Where can I start? Surely this song give some emotions. Hate, anger, nuisance, of course negative emotions, but intense.
There's no particular technic: some notes entered into a sequencer, and few ideas (but confused) about the result. Okay, this song don't like me absolutely, maybe this is clear, but don't like me ABSOLUTELY... this is a great result, negative, but great ;-)
Technical Impression: 1
Artistic Impression: 1
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 1

Review by LaLa (09/07/2012)

Hmm, I am not as floored by this remix as others seem to be.

The intro is pretty cool sticking to the spirit of the original, but I feel the rest seems to be too afraid to cross over from the simple side.

From around 5:30 it takes on a definite kraftwerkish quality: pumping base, electronic drums, all the goodies. Unfortunately, it doesn't last too long.

Another satisfying part develops after 8:30-ish which demonstrates loads of creativity.

All in all, a technically superb remix with a few remarkable portions, but I wish those remarkable portions filled out the rest of it, too.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by LaLa (30/06/2012)

When I first heard it, I was sure I've heard this remix before somewhere, but after checking all the other remixes - no I haven't. I guess, all Skate or Die remixes are similar because there are not many ways this tune can be remixed?

This is slightly better than most other remixes, it has a decent instrument selection, but it's neither inspiring, nor powerful despite the presence of electric guitars.

A nice effort, but it needs more oomph.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by ryrynz (01/06/2012)

You can't beat Lala's review it covers just about everything. I feel this remix does the original tune more justice than Mordi's version which by all means is great but this needs to sit higher where it is on the charts in comparison so here's my review This blends amazingly well.. I wish it had the clarity of Mordi's version but oh well, love it anyway.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (15/05/2012)

My eyes lit up when I saw that this remix was supposed to be in Laserdance style. Unfortunately, it doesn't live up to my initial enthusiasm.

The first problem is right off the start: there is no intro per se, and the various pulsating pieces just do not seem to fit together.

Then the drums come in, but they are too soft both in character and in volume - they're barely audible. Most of Laserdance's biggest hits use well-pronounced disco-style drum kits.

The chorded pads are also too washed out in the mix.

Finally, the outro - there's none. The remix ends as abruptly as it has begun, which is disappointing.

All in all, it's a good basic idea for a remix that needs a lot more work.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

Review by wearecity (07/05/2012)

Absolutely superb, no one else comes even close with the section from 2:50 to 3:35. It just demands to be played so loud your speakers are on the verge of exploding.

100% brilliant.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Trydowave (30/04/2012)

K8-bit... you're the best. Listened to you on Slayradio the other day on Annas Annorak. Great tune. Very atmposheric.
More!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (23/04/2012)

Quite a tour de force! It took me time to warm up to the slowed down tempo of these tunes, but they work wonderfully in the context of an orchestra. I also like how this concerto is arranged in several movements, they form a nice storyline. The individual subtunes of the original are also instrumented rather tastefully.

The only issues I have with this piece is that a) it could've used a bit more dynamic range, b) the mix sounds a little too compressed with few high-ends (except for the occasional brass).

The ending feels somewhat abrupt, a few wind-down notes would've helped there.

All in all, I'm sure this will touch everybody who listens to it in one way or another, and that's what great art is all about.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by LaLa (20/04/2012)

I'll be honest, my yardstick here is Dafunk's superb rendition of the same tune. That one is just perfect: every note, every blend, every modification in it is just perfectly placed.

Here the melody seems to hiccup here and there compared to that version, probably because Dafunk's additions to it made the original melody so much better.

From 1:14 the flute is completely lost - the notes are not held long enough.

The transition from the mellow to the dancey part is very well done, but frankly, I don't think the dancey part fits this tune well.

Those aside it's a nice tribute, but it leaves me a bit unsatisfied.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by K8-bit (24/03/2012)

A very good arrangement, with a very distinctive choice of instruments that catches the attention.

The song itself however, is somewhat uninspiring in its structure, and does not hold the attention all that much. A good arrangement with impressive instrumentation of a structurally uninspiring piece (IMO!) that may have benefited from a leaner length... says Kate of the day-long epics, lol
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by K8-bit (08/03/2012)

Really nice take on the original, with some gorgeous smooth instrumentation... *except* for the snare from about 1:30 on.. it seems a bit.. out of place.

A pet hate of mine also is the otherwise lovely simple flat-tone lead instrument. I like how it grounds the whole piece in warm-fuzzy 8-bitness.. but I think it sounds awfully cold as it doesent have any vibrato to give it any warmth - I felt much the same towards the from first to last last ninja medley.

Other than that, I loved it:-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by infamous (07/03/2012)

So, its the last v8.. One of those tunes that Hubbardites hold high and tend to dance around like the monolith in 2001 a space oddessy.. Whats different about this one?

lets have a listen.

Well it starts with a bass noise which sounds lifted from one of those old 60's beach movies and though it does feel out of place, it does work.. so kudos for that.

we move pretty swiftly into a high paced drum and bass affair, which pretty much copies the original tune note for note but with a driving over compressed and slightly too bouncy in reverb drum pattern (which does change and variate as the tune goes on which is a good thing.. its very easy to make a quick 16bar drumloop and just loop it, at least knurd has changed things up nicely).. theres not much else to it that can be pointed out.

The upsides of the tune, is that its the last v8 .. its a classic c64 tune and its composed near perfect so if your looking for a v8 tune.. here ya go.

the downsides, the reverb, its been over used im afraid and I cant stress just how much it does sound like your listening to it inside a tunnel, admittedly its not like its 20 yards down the tunnel, your close to the sound source but it does muddy things up a bit and could do with a few more dry signals and a better use of the stereo feild.

Overall, theres a fair bit of talent here on show, and it'll be interesting to see what knurd comes up with next (hopefully he/she does) and again if your looking for a v8 remix this isnt a bad one to pick aslong as you turn off any natural reverb your player already has on.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by K8-bit (07/03/2012)

ok! Completely got my reviews mixed up and vexed poor Peter with my totally bizarre (and not at all correct for this piece!) comments!
  • ahem* Right...

An orchestral take on Flimbo's quest! nice, and quite an enigmatic take on what has traditionally been covered as a funky, upbeat and typically small-band type sound. Here we find Peter has done it in sweeping orchestral grandeur, sounding like the reprise version of the theme as would play over the end-credits of an animated-movie version of Flimbo's Quest:-)

Instrumentation is spot-on, as is its appropriate use (ie no instrument misuses - octave 1 flutes for example!)

2:30 and you can't help but grin when the almighty main theme starts, again - reinforcing the movie-like quality.

Nice use of NICE brass sounds too, no PARPS here, lol.

The whole thing has a lovely flowing rhythm, it doesent sound mechanical as can often be a side-effect of sequencing.

I'm not the biggest fan of the original tunes (or game) but I appreciate their technical artistry, and this does it a LOT of honest complimentary homage:-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by K8-bit (07/03/2012)

Another lush tune - its got a very Amiga kind of vibe to it, I think - and is exactly the kind of style of music I used to love hearing.

Catchy, beautiful, and poignant in so many ways.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by K8-bit (07/03/2012)

LOVELY!

A favorite of mine, which has been covered before by others, some good, some excellent, but I really like this particular take on it, a nice progressive synthy style.

Fab:-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (16/02/2012)

Before I start tearing this apart, let me say that overall it's an excellent remix, hugely enjoyable! I have yet to figure out what the Morse-code spells out in the intro, but I'll get to it eventually.:-)

Having said that, the devil is in the details. This orchestral remix is in dire need of more dynamics: the powerful sections are not powerful enough, the soft sections are not soft enough. I think it would help if the military march drums were silenced during the soft parts (e.g. 1:32-1:52). And they should be supported by big timpani or even by rock-band drums during the powerful parts. Those also need stronger brass and strings.

But I really like your arrangement variations on the original SID. What I do miss are those short little trills (e.g. at 1:09) that provide some nice ear-candy in the original.

Hair-splitting apart, it's definitely a keeper. I'm already looking forward to your next orchestral epic!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by nettuno (04/02/2012)

Technically is a good music, but... there's more beyond the muiscal theory. This music is good for starting a really good sleep. No more. Always the same background, always the same melody, no variations, no virtuosisms, it seems made with the copy & paste.

Artistically, maybe can be valid, but my stomach says No, no, no! so I must say (burp) no.

Nostalgia... oh yes, I had great nostalgy of the STOP button, but I have listened the music until the end.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 1
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 1

Review by nettuno (04/02/2012)

Hi Pippo, technically the proposed melody is easy, and (maybe) your touch do not have verve or not enough of it. But is good enough, you play the piano well, without lose any note. Your interpretation is clean, cristalline, played with the soul.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Trydowave (26/01/2012)

Excellent. Love this. I wish some of the reviewers woould stop moaning. This is fresh. Much better than all that bland techno dance crap floating about in remix land. Well done.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Fishs (25/01/2012)

Definitely needs more edge. Bass does the original justice, but the beat just doesn't match its beef and the lead could use much less synth. The intro is awkward and its a bit to dainty and airy fair at times.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by Mouse Face (15/01/2012)

Not a bad effort to try something different to wake up this quite dull (by hubbards standards) tune.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by LaLa (31/12/2011)

I'm sure I am being very tough on you with my vote, Sebastian, but unfortunately for you, Supremacy is one of those tunes about which I have a very precise ''remix'' in my head whenever I listen to the original SID. Yours comes tantalizingly close to that in some aspects, but other times it veers away too much.

Let's start with the intro which is a single-instrument solo in the original. You have used a clarinet (?) for that, which I am not too crazy about, but you also added very nice piano riffs to it, which I found a pleasant surprise and it works wonderfully.

Then when the melody repeats, you added an orchestral arrangement - me likey!

Then the transition has a rather weak drum in it. Needs more power, more oomph! More orchestral instrumentation follows - me likey! Then it turns into a sort of modern game soundtrack (orchestral with heavy drums), although yet again the arrangement could've used more power, more charisma.

First bridge - quiet. I like it, although I think it should be more subtle, more quiet. Then a nice crescendo that doesn't have quite enough build-up. Weak or non-existent drums again in the transition.

I find the second bridge a bit weak, and the rest sounds curiously unfulfilling to me.

So, I guess two of my biggest complaints here would be that a) your remix does not have enough dynamic range between the subtle and powerful parts, and b) your instrumentation is lacking some oomph.

There is one really, really amazing thing about your remix, though: I can play it in parallel with the original SID and two are in lock-step throughout the ENTIRE piece! Cheers for that! =)

Sorry for tearing apart your remix in a play-by-play, but I am very passionate about this tune. I can hardly listen to it without conducting my virtual orchestra inside my head. =)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Musoman (10/12/2011)

I've heard many renditions of this particular C64 anthem and in my opinion, Chris Abbot has held the Monty remix crown for a long time. This little beauty, however, resets the bar.

The original is here in full, nothing left out, nothing missed, nothing misinterpreted. The orchestral instruments weave together brilliantly even if the samples are not as authentic as some I've heard. In the first half of this remix, we get a little closer to The Devil's Gallop which Rob Hubbard admits to being influenced by in his original. I love the way the brass crescendos parp parp in from the background and the melodramatic feel the strings give in the early bars.

In the second half, we go back to an 80's underground club with the driving bass and Fender Rhodes licks, but no Hammond that I can hear. The whole feel of the break has a bit of a Supertramp thing about it and now the end guitar riffs remind me even more of Dire Straits, (from RH's home town). Brilliantly arranged and executed and would have been three reds but for the flat mix. Perhaps the arranger will warm it up and resubmit it.

Overall, an excellent remix
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by japster (09/12/2011)

Catchy, funky and still faithful to the original, with some subtle and great changes!

Haven't stopped playing this since downloading it - I actually (gasp!) prefer it to the arcade and C64 originals, and loving the mix of arcade and C64 sounds... :-)

Well done mate!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ⋅⋅⋅ 57 58 59