Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 271 - 300 out of 1832
[LOGIN]

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Very nice and very kraftwerk sort of and nice balance. Original was weirdly cool this is also
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Just your style and I always love your drums - great work Mate and long time no speak.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Kept expecting Glen Campbell to start sing - man i tht wtf and tht why the fk not it rocks...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nickenstein (13/03/2015)

The way that the classical stringed instruments are blended with a deep synthetic-bass is very hollywood, and would fit in perfectly in any current big-budget movie. Having now just listened to the original SID, I'm quite stunned at how expertly you have turned it into a very modern piece without loosing the essence of the source. Also, the dedication you made to Skitz in the title made me remember my time with him as I listened. There are tears on my desk.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nickenstein (13/03/2015)

As stated in my 'shout', this was the second piece of music I ever heard from my own C64 (As Rambo-FB-Prt-2 was the first cassette I loaded on that Christmas day so very very long ago. So I clearly have a huge nostalgia-hard-on for this particular tune, but putting my bias on hold, here is my review: SUPERB! Excellent guitar and piano sections. But the great instrumental work is so nice, that the vocal samples cheapen/taint the piece. I would love a new upload sans-vocals. :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by puffy64 (11/03/2015)

MASTERPIECE! Needs a new voting system to express the high production, creativity and playing skills of the artists that are involved. Intense mood of the sewers level was captured here perfectly. This remix was made with love to the tune, well chosen instrumentation and sets a mark for Matt Gray to beat in his upcoming LN2 project. For me, there could have been a heavier part at the end with a bit more rocking drums, but that´s just my opinion. Slaygon and his team (special cheers to the guitarists involved) made a great, wonderful remix and I suggest everyone to immediately download and rate this to show them, that this one is "IMPRESSIVE" (as spoken in Quake 3 Arena) . Thanks a lot for this brillant piece of music.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by slaygon (10/03/2015)

Way under-rated track. The build-up is gorgeous. The cinematic aura of it is just perfect! Any movie would be happy to have this as its sound track! The delicately placed guitars from NecroPolo in the mix gives away the precision work Markus put into making this a mix to take seriously. And seriously, you should. The subtle choir at the 4 minute mark. The low string section at the beginning. This is as serious as a movie soundtrack would ever be. Rate it as such. (and I haven't even mentioned the low-end precision work throughout the track!)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by L0rd3vyL (10/03/2015)

Incredible remix of the Sewers tune from Last Ninja 2. Once of the best versions of that particular tune I've heard in a while, in fact. Awesome Job, Slaygon and company.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gohanks (08/03/2015)

Had the pleasure of hearing the WIP version which was already impressive. Few words: original, very ninja and mega climactic!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dh73 (08/03/2015)

Fantastic ! Marvellous ! It is a great remix of this Song ; Good and Well defined Sound ; you're cool, man .
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Starwer (05/03/2015)

Just a great music, whether you know the original tune or or not ! Great arrangements !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (20/02/2015)

If I was going to suggest one change, it could start quieter, and end quieter, and there's a missed opportunity to go absolutely huge-ass-power-ballad in the middle.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pietafon (10/02/2015)

Idealne odwzorowanie oryginału, Reyn Ouwahand na pewno pęka z dumy słysząc ten remix!:) Gratuluję!:)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (30/01/2015)

Given the somewhat awkward circumstances surrounding its production, it’s remarkable that the Amiga version of Captain Planet turned out as well as it did. (In a nutshell: Commodore, aptly displaying the forethought and diligence that would serve them so well throughout the rest of the ‘90s, struck a deal to include the game in their Cartoon Classics A500+ pack but neglected to allow sufficient time for its development. Programmer Tony Crowther ended up having to design and code the entire thing from scratch in just one month, assisted by a lone graphic artist and Ben Daglish on drums.) It’s vastly flawed, of course, but there’s an admirable amount of creativity on display in the design of the levels and the puzzlier aspects of the gameplay, and the music is terrific throughout, with an array of energetic and catchy tunes doing much to enliven the decidedly wonky platforming.

The theme that accompanies the “Linka” level (in which you control a girl with the power of wind (erk) as she hovers around what’s alleged to be an Egyptian pyramid but in fact looks rather more like a needlessly elaborate and unusually colourful chemical waste treatment plant) is extra-specially excellent, taking the form of a thrillingly zappy and pleasingly inventive electro-pop number. This remix elevates the tune to fantastic new heights, perfectly capturing the moodily mysterious yet sparklingly quirky atmosphere of the original while introducing a multitude of delightful flourishes that make the whole thing bigger, brighter and gloriously groovier than ever. Particular highlights include the numerous new countermelodies that add greatly to the class and variety of the piece; the flawless choice of sounds, all of which accentuate the futuristic vibe of the arrangement to scintillating effect; the entirely new section towards the end which replaces the drum solo, and which feels like a far more natural progression of the track than the original composition did; and the sheer quality of the mix, which is terrifically well-balanced throughout. The inclusion of the wind effect at the beginning and end is a neatly characterful touch, too.

In summary, this is a vastly enjoyable re-imagining of a corking tune that zings with exuberant fun and funkiness and, for me, is cheeringly nostalgic. As the happy recipient of a Cartoon Classics pack during the Christmas of 1991, Captain Planet was one of the first Amiga games I ever encountered – and while it may not have been the most fun to play, it sure did have memorably marvellous music. Hurrah!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by puffy64 (20/01/2015)

Can´t understand, why nobody reviewed this yet?! Well, let´s go:
Dr Future did a very fine job here. In my opinion the sounds are great, the guitars are played with emotions and the whole thing seems to say: I love(ed) this song, Rob\"<img\">
The song starts with decent guitar play and grows on and on, so listener shouldn´t miss the very cool Solopart beginning at 4:30m. Simply great. And I know what I´m speaking of ^^.
The drums are used well and the hihat is what I like most, cause it grooves the tune.
And finally, I love the game samples, which were placed at the right points creating a smile on my face while listening.
Thank you, Dr Future!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nightmare23 (17/01/2015)

Puffy64 is back and as usual wih some serious shit. As Zoidberg already said: Moar... Moooaaaarrrr....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/01/2015)

After a 12 year hiatus, Puffy64 and his guitars are BAAAACK!

This is a great hard rock rendition of Druid II. My favorite part is the break (e.g. between 1:18-1:27) that is just spot on. There is a good balance in the arrangement and the mix - I just really like listening to it over and over again.

Welcome back, Puffy64!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (11/01/2015)

A scintillatingly splendid piece of work. It has this fantastically eerie, haunting atmosphere far beyond the Amiga original, while still maintaining a thrillingly dynamic tempo – it could easily be the music from the end credits of some brilliantly spine-chilling horror movie. There are loads of smashingly shivery special touches, too – the melody that comes in from 1.58 to 2.20 sounds like a ghostly choir (with a fittingly metallic quality that suggests it could be the disembodied voices of haunted machinery), the assorted hollow clunks, hisses and clicks worked subtly into the soundscape evoke powerful mental images of being surrounded by the gears and pistons of some huge and sinister contraption, and the deliciously creepy off-kilter pianos that conclude the track are a stroke of genius; genuinely unnerving, somewhat in the vein of the famous Halloween score by John Carpenter, but with a unique flavour all their own. I absolutely adore the whole thing!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DJB (26/11/2014)

Unfortunately I can't really give this much credit points. Anyone can use SID2MIDI, but the important thing is (and is what is most noticeable) is when the arranger doesn't double-check the original SID to ensure that all the notes are correct. The program is a really good way to capture the notes, but it doesn't handle slides / glides at all, hence if a song uses them and the notes ain't corrected, it can ruin your cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by speedy (13/11/2014)

Ok, this is a first class orchestral hollywood stuff like Hans Zimmer and Co are doing. If you like orchestral stuff, you will love this remix! Every part flows well into each other. needless to say you want more with every single second. It reminds me to the Pirates Soundtrack which is orchestral rock. Give us more!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cubud (07/10/2014)

This remix is so good! I love the rough bass instrument, I love the insertion of real sound-effects from Super Mario Land on the GameBoy. Very enjoyable!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cubud (06/10/2014)

This tune starts out fantastic, really like an Ibitha dance track or something. The choice of instrument later was a mistake that suddenly brings it down to the level of guy on computer at home from what was previously a serious producer in a professional studio.

Please change that instrument, and put a bit more variation towards the end, it'll make it brilliant!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mixer (30/09/2014)

This is an orchestral version of the Ultima V track by Kenneth Arnold. I've always enjoyed Ultima soundtracks, many of the tunes are hammered into my brain after so many hours with the game.

That being said, this remix is not up to the standards I'd like to hear.

Firstly, it sounds like it is a direct midi convert of the original. Such remix can be done in minutes, there is no effort put on it.

There is no new creative arrangement and the instruments sound very sampleish and artificial. This can be forgiven as access to decent orchestral instrument sets or real orchestra is often not possible for hobbyists. Some dynamics and making it to appear like it is played for real would make a huge difference.

So, as a plain convert I vote this to be average. It is not bad, as the arranger has not done anything to ruin the original composition, but has not improved on it either. Easy listening only.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Joshua1972 (29/09/2014)

i adore this website, it's possible to feel always fashionable news. Special today surprise is a rocked aztec, i love it so much!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Karamija (27/09/2014)

Aztec atmosphere blend perfectly with this type of arrangement. The guitars are beutiful and solo is scary!!
beautiful also the sounds used, clean and incisive.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Arabelle74 (26/09/2014)

well-balanced sound , excellent creativity and fantastic guitars. Chorus is very charming, and the rock section with metal guitars is exciting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Wacky Amoebatron (25/08/2014)

This Track seems to be a 1:1 MIDI-Rip of Jogeir Liljedahl's Version of the Stationary Ark Soundtrack. Too similar, too recognizable, too much the same instrumentation. Too cheap to be true. Sorry, laddy!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Rohyp Nose (31/07/2014)

Great production, funky sounding! Nice homage in clubbish wrapping! I hate to dance, but my fingers kept tapping the table franticly\"<img\">
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/06/2014)

First off, I don't know what this tune has to do with TMR, it's clearly a Last Ninja 3 subtune #10 remix. TMR's SID remix of it is not even the same subtune (that's #6)... Anyhoo...

Love the guitar work, really deep, great riffs, well mixed. The drum pattern is too simple, though, that needs work.

I like the light break in the middle, but overall I have mixed feelings about the arrangement, it sounds a bit confusing.

All in all, pretty good job, hope there's more to come!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Xenix (05/05/2014)

Nice tune, good nostalgical value. But please fix the bass loop (did you use one long sample for that?) as it's just out of sync with the beats.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ⋅⋅⋅ 60 61 62