Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 91 - 120 out of 1760
[LOGIN]

Review by wbdeejay (22/11/2016)

Super fun feel to this version. Great chemistry to the sounds used. The bass line is awesome and creative. It's tricky to end a piece well, and I feel that ending is a minor let-down here, But I can't suggest an alternative. Overall, well done.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

When I heared that tune first, I thought "Commando? In Rock-Style? Impossible, that can't work" Well, I was wrong. It can, Johan, you proved it. Great Job. Well done.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

Well, I don't like to say that, but - I don't like that track. Don't misunderstand me - it's not a bad one, but not a good one either. The guitars at the beginning are annoying to me. Johan, as a non-musician but lover of classic-country-music I must say: It's one thing to play a guitar in western style, but another thing to form a good melody with them. I think you understand what I want to say with my poor words. maybe I'm to hard with you now, but I can only speak for me. that track is not one of your best. You've made a lot of tracks, some of them are great. this one here - well, let me say: If it's still WIP, you should overwork it (in my opininon). If it's a final release, you should overwork it (in my opinion). As I said: maybe too hard, my review. But hey: I'm just a listener. Dr Future and LaLa, both musicians, have a different look on this track. My advice: Care about what they say, don't care about what I say. ^^
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

When I was on holiday this year I burned some CDs for the time I drive in my car to the Hotels. This track was on one of them, I think I never heared it before. When that piece started in my CD-Player, I thought "Wow, what's that? Never heared that...woow....awesome...wonderful track, absolutely great...." and so on. I heared it one and a half hour, again and again and again. Even today I heared it...^^ Found Atlantis: Great Job, you made an awesome track. Maybe only for me, but as I like to say "If it's only one who loves what I do, I did it well". Found Atlantis, you did. Thank you for that fantastic track. :-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

Well, I've heared that tune now two times today. As I said the the Shout: A solid tune. But nothing more. And that's it on the point: I feel there's something missing. Something that makes that piece to an outstanding one, but I've no idea what that could be. There's also something at the beginning. Lello Caliendo, you took something like a wave in the beginning. The sound is going deeper and is raising again (I have problems to say it in a better way, I'm sorry. I'm not a musician, I can't play an instrument, I even can't read a single note... :-( So forgive me for my insufficient explanation). In my opinion this "wave" destroys the beginning. At 1:27 the tune becomes interesting (meant in a positive way) - that leads to my review "A solid tune". I personally wouldn't use the snare drum (I guess it is a snare drum - correct me if I'm wrong). I think, a darker drum would be nice here (once again, I've my problems to find the correct words). Afterall, a good piece, nice to listen to - but not more.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

Wonderful remix, lovely chilling tune. When I heared that tune first time (2 minutes ago ^^ ), I thought to myself "Cool, another song for my Bathtube-Playlist". When I'm chilling in my Bathtube I like to listen to relaxing songs and chilling tunes. Believe me: Headbanging to a Metal-Tune while your hair is wet is not so good while bathing - the whole Bathroom will be a mess. So I decided to listen to those tunes I never would listen at work or in my car - chilling and relaxing ones. BTT: Great Job, Captain.....errrr....Dr Future. I love it. ^^
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Megaboost (25/10/2016)

The sound captivates and drags you in slowly and then it hits you in the Sound department FULL ON!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Waxhead (23/10/2016)

Just the guitar, but the guitar got so much character and the rhythm overall is fantastic. Well done! :)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by symbols (16/10/2016)

Yeah, man, loving it... its got some 70's feel about it, and that jazzy rythm is real nice touch! Can picture me in a red mustang with the roof folded down ofcourse!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by symbols (16/10/2016)

Jeroen would be proud, although he is still better than you :P Could have been a wee bit more tempo, but its all good :) Works well!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by symbols (16/10/2016)

Some nice sounding instruments and all, but the compositions is half-assed and well just a pick and mix of stuff-you-like. It's squidgey and all overy the bit but kind of cool at the same time for its wackyness! Some bad tone mixes and Harshness over softness... feels like a weird dream at times, not sure if you heard much of the original tracks growing up, or maybe you did and just mashed it all up. Next time try choosing just 4 instruments and balancing them and making a good composition. 3/10
Technical Impression: 1
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 1

Review by spazma (18/09/2016)

smells oldsKool. nice. [limit 15 words of this comment suxx ;) ] word 11 word12 word13 word14 word14 word15 wwww
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Myxtiplyx (02/09/2016)

The drum section is a bit to square for me. It should be a little more - jazzy sort of speak. Other than that - this is a nice peace of work.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by LaLa (23/08/2016)

Several problems here: the arrangement tries to be orchestral, but the individual instruments are not played the way a real orchestra would (the strings are especially cringe-worthy). The arrangement is rather thin to begin with and relies too much on timpani to drive it. The female vocal is a nice touch, although it, too, sounds bad when it's pitched too low or too high. There is also little dynamics in the arrangement which makes the entire tune sound flat.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

Review by hyperunknown (22/08/2016)

Exceptionally good! I especially like what you've done with the accords. Also, the sidechaining and leads are well made. Goes into my favorites directory immediately.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Gannett (21/08/2016)

This is a really nice remix with a lot of dynamic energy hat fits the hero of the title: Bruce Lee! Nice drum'n'bass feel but with good melody and bass and a clever rhythm use of in game sounds from the C64 classic. Well done.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Gannett (21/08/2016)

Lovely remix of the in game Arkanoid tune that contains the melodies we all remember from the original but also some elegant reworking such as a solo played on vocoder that somewhat sounds like in between Kraftwerk and Herbie Hancock. The sounds are really good and show a good balance between 80s and modern electro clash. Plus I have seen Ras Bolding perform this in concert LIVE on a C64!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by al.x (11/08/2016)

There is a lot of energy in this for me! The nostalgia comes with the original sounds included. Always a plus in my book. :)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by unreal (11/08/2016)

Fantastic C64 style samples, cool rythm, really enjoyable various music, maybe at the endsquence is a bit weird for me :)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by unreal (03/08/2016)

Liked the changes and the dynamic, very well remixed track! Also the original track is my favourite one! Keep it up dude! Cheers: Unreal / Rebels Liked the changes and the dynamic, very well remixed track! Also the original track is my favourite one! Keep it up dude! Cheers: Unreal / Rebels Liked the changes and the dynamic, very well remixed track! Also the original track is my favourite one! Keep it up dude! Cheers: Unreal / Rebels
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Cydonia (19/07/2016)

I cannot imagine a remix of this epic track more beautiful than this.. The only one who can make a better one, can only be Tel himself...the greatest ever...
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Waz (18/07/2016)

It does what it says on the tin. However it may seem a little too on the simple and chilled side for some. Not sure if the handclaps in the second part add anything, but some may like them.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Cydonia (17/07/2016)

Very relaxing...I like the CZ tunes style...Sometimes it remind me the old Dream dance series from the late 90...Well done man
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by iXien (12/07/2016)

Samples are far less catchy and impacting than the original ones. I think this remix is too shy here, too "clean" and not corresponding with the beat house sound from the end of 80's that Gustafsson perfectly recreated in the original module in 1991.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Sarxos (27/06/2016)

One of my favorite remixes for sure. I personally liked the slightly intentional muffling of the output. One of the more frequent tracks I listen to.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by spazma (14/06/2016)

one two three one two three one two three one two three one two three one two three one two three one two three one two three one two three one two three one two three
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Johnnyschuhkraft (01/06/2016)

This should be the main music for the new last ninja video game! its too good
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Mikrucio (01/06/2016)

Its a excellent metalesc remix! very rythmic and a very fresh take on the old tune. the solo is better than the original
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Mikrucio (31/05/2016)

TO GOOD, this guy is just excellent rocker! he knows how to make it sound good!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (18/05/2016)

Well, I have my problems with that tune. MRT, please, don't be angry while reading this, but this tune is not your best one. It's a nice one, but not more. It is nothing which can kick my from my chair, it is nothing which make me dance. Nice to listen to - but that's it. The most problem I have with this tune are not the violins as like as Boz, Mordi and Chris Abbott have written. My personal problem with that tune are: The drums. Your version of Supremacy, MRT, is a chilling one, compared to the other already existing versions of other arrangers. For just the melody and what you made of it, it's a good tune. But the drums you use make the whole song restless. For a calm melody you should - in my opinion - use a calm drum. You used a restless drum (or drumkit, whatever...). I hear more of the drums than the melody. That ruins the song. I'm sorry, but this is not my taste. So I can give only a yellow smile - but, to be honest, not more. Maybe your next tune will be better for me :-) Please remember, MRT: this ist just mine opinion. Other will maybe agree, others will maybe disagree - we will see...
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 57 58 59