Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1501 - 1530 out of 1839
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Although the novelty value of SID remixes with lyrics probably wore off by now, I still find them rather interesting. Especially this one - pay close attention to the singing. I quite like its lyrics! "Follow me back in time!" :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A rare remix from an HVSC Crew member (Andreas and myself also tried remixing SID tunes). He chose one of my favorite LN tunes and did a respectable job of bringing it to a more modern sound environment. I like the choice of sax (?) for the lead, but unfortunately some of the slides seem to drift off-key at times. This cover would sound even better with a purely acoustic treatment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I am a bit mystified about why people rate this tune so high. It`s a mixed salad of jungle samples, an electronic lead, some samples from Jarre`s Zoolook, and even a female a capella performance mixed with males shouting "Hey!" found its way into this remix. Sure, it`s a quality recording, it sounds like a great production, it`s even funny at times, but its musical value is not exactly outstanding.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A very nice chill-out cover. Sometimes keeping it simple is better than overcomplicating it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is one of the best (if not *the* best) symphonic covers I`ve ever downloaded from RKO! This is probably the closest one can get to that orchestral sound without actually hiring one to perform a tune. It also has a soundtrack feel to it, probably because of the fast moodswings that is typical of film scores. I don`t know how much Glyn worked on this tune, but it was sure well worth it. The only enhancement I can think of for this tune is a better placement of the various sections of the "virtual orchestra" in the stereo space - everything seems to come from the middle, which is not realistic. But that is just splitting hair over this awesome work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is basically the same thing as the first version, but I like this one a bit less due to the missing vocals which give life to and spice up the other version. Still sounds bloody awesome to me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Reminds me a lot, a _LOT_ to the style of Deep Forest - and it is fantastic! Although I do question its place on RKO: after all, it is a remix of the Indiana Jones theme. ;) (But then where should we stop: what about Delta, Zoids and others that are also covers of covers?...) Anyway, this remix is bloody awesome and you have to be deaf not to notice that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This cover has lots of potential, unfortunately most of it is not used fully. The ambience it tries to create is a good idea, but is disturbed by brushy drums - those should`ve been marching drums, anyway. The cheesy bass further destroys the ambience. Again, not bad, but could`ve been a lot better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is superb, it`s really, really awesome! It may be short, but it`s very effective at capturing the feel of those merry-go-round tunes at fairs! My only problem with it: it cuts off abruptly. (And to overcome its shortness, play it twice. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I don`t think most SID fans can appreciate how authentic this cover is: Leslie effects, cheesy drums, electronic sounds generated by tubes - it`s a typical Hammond organ! Very good! (My Dad is a big fan of these beasts, he has a similar electronic organ, so I know exactly why this cover is spot on. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is a happy little tune! I can easily imagine it in a children`s educational TV program, where it`d be a favorite for sure.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This tune sets a _very_ scary mood - which is quite appropriate for Cauldron. If this remix was a movie, I would be really frightened now! Highly recommended to be played at full volume on Halloween to scare off trick-or- treating kids (so you can keep the candy for yourself, moohahhah!).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A bit of a mixture of styles, both oriental ambient and pop, and it features some nicely selected instruments. A unique mix that works very well. I am also impressed by its production.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Who is this guy? This is not bad at all! It may be unfinished, but it sounds pretty good to me even in its current form.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The famous little tune played (well, sequenced) on an acoustic guitar - I quite like it! Sounds surprisingly good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I find the rhythm section somewhat of a yawn, dare I say, lackluster, but that is my only gripe about this remix: awesome guitaring (performed by Øyvind Vik) and the great arrangement of Hubbard classics more than make up for it. This is a great trip to nostalgia-land!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

F---ing awesome! Unusual style for Thrust done to perfection with lots of fantastic improvisations (on piano, on sax - you name it) that fit in seamlessly. This tune would not be out of place on Reyn Ouwehand`s Nexus album. Absolutely superb! Two thumbs up! My only problem is that my vocabulary doesn`t have enough superlatives to describe this remix...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Some interesting new twists on this oft-remixed tune make this cover worthy of download. Like the drumless break. Like the piano and the strings "talking" to each other.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Was this uploaded just recently? Because I have the exact same remix on one of my RKO CDs and it`s dated 2000. Sept. 3... If you haven`t heard it, yet, you should: it`s a very good cover that`s faithful to the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A fairly unique take on this oft-remixed tune - I quite like it. I find that bit raspy analog lead captivating for some reason.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I am starting to like this Striker dude! Another nice style that is not represented very often on RKO. And it`s not just the style that`s good in this cover. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Usual high-quality stuff from Puffy, this time with what sounds like quite a lot of improvisational parts, which makes it very "personal". Has a great flow to it and despite the monotone style of the original, Puffy manages to keep it interesting throughout (although he did shorten it). This is the kind of stuff RKO was created for!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty good, although I prefer the orchestral version on BIT3. (Yes, I know this was an early developmental version for BIT3. Its various moods are obviously the same.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

THC Flatline`s remix is a fine piece of work, but after LMan`s remix it`s apparent that it is further removed from the spirit of Yip`s composition. Flatline attempted to cover Yip`s famous hiscore tune here, but IMHO it was a big mistake even to think about covering this tune. It sounds just perfect on the SID chip itself, thank you, there`s no need to ruin it with ugly modern samplers, workstations and virtual analog synths. =) With that said, Flatline gave it everything he could to try to create a faithful cover, and while I`m sure that in the future virtual analog synth manufacturers will use his tune to demo the capabilities of their instruments, it still falls short of Yip`s amazing original. On a scale of 1-10 this cover gets 10 for effort and 10 for implementation, but since I gave Yip`s SID tune a 100 to begin with... (Yes, I am being too tough on Flatline, but hey - this is what I think! ;-) It`s very hard to cover tunes that exploit the capabilities of the SID chip so well.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This remix has some nice touches, like the backing choir somewhere in the middle that I like a lot in it, and those improvisations on the guitar(-like) lead towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Wonderful guitar, and the original is so good that it`d take a genious to screw it up, but: should`ve used flute at the end instead of that weak pad, and pitch bend at the subtle note ends, eg. at 1:08.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The most impressive thing in Axeman & Tuomio`s Remix64 compo entry "Furycalypse Now" is definitely the guitars. Other than that it`s a bit weird for my taste with its haphazard arrangement and senseless speech samples. Although I dig its drums, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

As a huge Vangelis fan, of course, I am very impressed by Thomas Detert`s "Sigma Seven (Chariots of Fire remix)", which cleverly fuses the now classic Vangelis theme with Julian Breeze`s composition. Like his Spellbound remix, I find this one very good, too, but also like his Spellbound remix I find it short, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A vocoder-galore a capella piece by Mahoney - it is a fun little cover, I quite like it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Superb beginning, except for the portamentos and the pitch shifted samples that completely destroy the realism of the otherwise fantastic sounding choir. Yuck! Okay, so maybe the beginning is not so superb. But the saxophone is (or whatever that lead instrument is) - it makes a positive impact, then the trumpet sounds good, too. Unusual style coupled with the melodic part of Parallax - a sure winner.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ⋅⋅⋅ 60 61 62