Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1591 - 1620 out of 1830
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I think the lead guitarist was a bit trigger-happy with the melody line at times, but hey, still pretty good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I am starting to like PPOT`s cover of Ghosts`n`Goblins more and more, even though I wasn`t fond of it when I first heard it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A solid remake of this great tune, pretty much in the same style of how I`m sure all of us have imagined it, no surprises here. Better (or more extended) use of oriental instruments would`ve given it real authenticity, as Glyn is simply using orientalish synth sounds instead of say, a koto or shamisen. Yes, it sounds a bit too sterile this way. Well made, though, and one of the better covers of Palace Gardens, definitely (minus the constant background noise which might be the noise of a tape recorder or something :-).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Keeping in pace with the frantic speed of the original tune (and game), this cover nevertheless is just about average. Dancey rhythm section overlayed with some dull, overused insturments from the 80`s. Nice effort, but that`s it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I have to admit, I never thought of Warhawk as an electronic ambient piece, and o2 has trouble covering it that way, too, because sometimes he resorts to some pretty sharp leads and arpeggios in the melody line. Yet again, we get a "Jarre does " from o2, as the bass line is definitely inspired by Jarre (think Magnetic Fields part 1 slowed down), not to mention the various effects here and there.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is the kind of remix that sits between a full remake of a SID tune and a "DJ-whoever" remix that is not much more than the original SID + drumloops. One can hear many pieces of the original SID in here, but it`s all rearranged a bit with drums, pads, nice lushy synth sounds - with all the right material. It`s not a bad remix at all, but somehow I don`t think it`s a terribly good one, either. Nicely done, but not better. A commandable effort, though, definitely one of the better Ocean Loader remixes out there.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This cover is pretty unique because it has lyrics! And I don`t mean synthetized, over-vocoded voices, but a real human singing! It also has cameo appearances by the evil Atombender dude from Impossible Mission and the I-Ball guy. Not much I can comment about the lyrics itself, but I thought I mention that I`d recommend everybody to download this unique gem.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is one awesome remix! Actually, you get multiple remixes in one compact package, and they are not always similar to each other, either. I wish I had more time to analyze this remix, `cause it would deserve it. My only gripe is that it`s probably too long (what can I say - I am impatient today).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Some of the background sounds are out of tune. Minus 10 points for that (even though it was done on purpose, I assume). The rest of the remix is pretty decent, though. Plus 10 points for that. The best way I can describe this remix: Jinks does the Blair Witch Project. Scary, mystical, amateurish (which does *NOT* equal to crap in my dictionary!), rough at the edges.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Too many high frequencies in the drums destroy the rest of the cover. Take that loudness away from the drumtrack, and this is a pretty good Cybernoid cover, albeit a little thin at times (ie. not "fat" or ear-full enough, esp. the lead). I quite like Tim`s use of the effects which replace Jeroen Tel`s original SID effects rather than reuse them. It is obvious that a lot of work went into this very faithful cover. But please, rework those drums!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It has a beautiful start (paradoxically, since we were supposed to be in the freakin` sewers :-), and continues very nicely in the same fashion. It`s one of the more laid back tracks on this energetic album, and it has also become a favorite by me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s just done perfectly! It fits the mood of this level astonishingly precisely, which is more amazing as there`s no trace of any SID sound in this track, either. The ending is a bit abrupt - I wish it went on further!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is great stuff, too, I reall enjoy it! It doesn`t sound as strong or as emotional as some of the other tracks on this album, but it is still by far one of the best covers of this tune I`ve ever heard.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Both part 1 and part 2 are very original, unique, quite individual, yet, well-known by all of us. I probably like part 1 more than the other. Too bad they are both so short.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Was there a Max Headroom Remix Competition that I somehow missed? ;) This remix starts out great. Unlike the previous Max Headroom remix I reviewed, this contains the "obligatory" Max Headroom samples. The whole remix is sort of technoish, but definitely electronic in nature - which is why the strings sound a bit out of place (although they are filtered synth strings). I`d say this tune is about a minute too long - I`d appreciated more variation towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is not much more than the original SID with added breakbeats. Personally, these are the sort of "covers" I really don`t like. Especially with Wizball - the whole tune is ruined by the inproper and inexperienced use of drum patterns. I`ll make every effort to quickly forget that I ever listened to this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Back to the beat-music era. A touch of Beatles, too, maybe. I can certainly imagine them playing it. Nice new angle on the same old tune, but overall, I don`t think it quite works. But it`s very, very well done. [After listening to it a few more times, I did decide to give it my approval. It sorta grows on you...]
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A bit more orchestration and arrangement work would help this cover a lot, but I think it sounds very nice as it is. The flute sounds could be a bit better, but the whole idea for this cover was a good one. A beautiful LN3 cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty good effort, but veteran listeners will find nothing new here. I think, this version is too similar to the one on BIT1. The additional piano later on makes it worse, not better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

SID2MIDI the original, then make some weird selections for the instruments. It gets rather noisy in the middle as a new instrument comes in. Dirty samples? Synth-heavy remix, a bit minimalistic, like the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The "soundtrack" version on BIT2 - awesome. The "horror movie" version on Nexus - pretty good, but not as good. For the same reason, I am not fond of this one, either. The lead guitar later on sounds really good, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Fantastic transition from Aztec into Thrust. Now *this* Hubbard tune was a perfect choice for this band! Alright, so the keyboard player had a tad of stage fright when starting out (and later on, too :-/ ), but everything else went very nicely. Great use of flange/vibrato and wah-wah effects on the lead guitar for this track!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Strange and strangely placed sound effects, but hey, they are good enough for me! :-) Starts out with the original tune, then it goes into an extensive improvisational part, then switches back to the original. I think this tune would sound a tad better with acoustic guitars, but again, PPOT did a great job with this cover. Also, this is another almost flawless performance.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Wowee!!! Awesome beginning! I vote this for the best Warhawk beginning ever! Yet another perfect tune for PPOT`s setup. Again, here and there I discovered those... ahem, artistic choices ;), but much less than in other covers. Very well performed, too. It`s another favorite of mine from the concert! (Also dancey - my feets are moving when I`m listening to this, that`s for sure.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I`m glad they did it, because for some reason this one sounds better than when they first played it. Practice makes perfect, I guess. =) Sounds more "heavy", really aggressive - like it should. Has a better flow to it. Well, in one word, it`s better, period.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

So many people tried to cover this famous tune in so many ways, but I don`t think that even one of them managed to do it well. I think, precisely because this is such a well-known tune, it`s hard to cover it or please people with a remix of it. I have never liked the idea of turning it into a pop/disco/fast beat tune, and Red Devil chose to do that, although the middle part of his remix sounds better to me. Guitars, pianos, base guitars - you name it, it`s all in here. Maybe that`s why I don`t quite like it - it tries to be everything when it`s not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It would be extremely hard for anybody to top Reyn`s own cover of the intro tune, but Red Devil has tried to do just that. Did a fairly decent job, for that matter (I really like it when the flute plays the lead in the middle part!), but I think this cover sounds a bit too much like Reyn`s own version with strings, piano, choir, flute. Yes, Red Devil added his won twists to it, but I still feel this is a copycat effort, although a really good one.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A strange short mix of Arkanoid and The Last V8 with a trendy electro-techno feel to it. I can imagine a long C64 megamix in the same style but this one is too short.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Do you know the feeling when you hear an excellent joke the second time, and it`s just not that funny any more? That`s how I feel about this remix. Sure, it was fun to see that DJ make an ass out of himself admitting that his hit is a C64 cover, but I think we are all over that by now. Sure, it`s funny to start this house remix with that shouting male crowd, but it`s just not that funny any more.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Now, if you want to top Reyn Ouwehand, this is how you do it!!! Concise and very professional. That`s all I will say about it. Holy sh*t, it`s just awesome!!!…
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61