Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1681 - 1710 out of 1832
[LOGIN]

Review by ozzy1 (29/01/2003)

This is my favourite remix of an old cbm64 game-tune so far.
If Chris Hülsbeck wanted to make the tune in these "we have a lot of memory for a game tune"-times, it would have sounded just like this remix.
The guitar, the bass, the feel and the playfullness is just awsome.
This remix is not for the tecno-people or dancefolks, its for all the rest of us.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (29/01/2003)

Perfect! Everything it has to offer fits really well. Superb choice of instruments (guitar, strings and synth lead, drums) and the strong source material adds it bit with a catchy and emotional theme. A must download, especially if you remember it from the "Swinth" line-drawing screensaver demo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (29/01/2003)

Very well chosen synth-sounds and percussions create a rich sound and manage to compensate the few minor mistakes in the transcription of the first theme. Major drawback is, it is 5:36 long and hence gets a bit boring in the last 40-50 seconds where the track ends with a percussive solo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (29/01/2003)

What a fantastic instrumental soundtrack this is! It creates a varied and impressive atmosphere, switching between a clearly recognizable synth theme with powerful drums and less percussive slow'n'sweet sections based on acoustic guitar and piano accompany. Towards the end of the 4:12 long track you can enjoy a climax featuring a lead e-guitar. Makes it probably one of the most complete SID remixes so far.

(Btw, according to HVSC 5.2 it covers "The Inner Sanctum (loader)" by Anthony Lees, not Ben Daglish.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (29/01/2003)

Listener, be warned, this is another piece of music with "a cappella" elements. If you prefer instrumentals or real singing, better avoid this track. While it starts as a real nice synth tune which you would want to listen to at higher volume, it doesn't play like that for more than 44 seconds. Weird and questionable sound effects, which sound displaced, fill the rest of the first minute right before the first female a cappella singer joins with her improvised singing sounds. Twenty seconds later a higher female voice takes over and then it gets worse, sounding more like screaming at times, and forces me to turn down the volume of a track which I would enjoy if it didn't feature a cappella singing like that. It continues like that for a total of 5:40.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (29/01/2003)

If somebody knows how to sound like JARRE , then it's definitely O2.
A great remix of a great SID ! It shows me that the man behind the machines is important, not the machines behind a man ;o) ....
which means i do own a SUPANOVA,too, but i can't make it sounds like JARRE !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

You're the best! I just love you, from the deepest of my heart! You've made my day, no, you've made my summer sunny sunny you're in my heart, ha ha haaa ha! :-D This remix should be the mandatory first one to listen to for _any_ person visiting the realms of C64-remixing! Not everybody will enjoy the style or the performance, but this is a remix that _everybody_ get feelings for or against. And it is _the remix_ that is "closest to real life", where at least I get a feeling that we "C64RMX-nerds" maybe have a little part of this thing called the world! If you, yes -you- reading this review haven't seen the video that PressPlayOnTape did for this song, then HURRY!!! Find it, get it, see it and show it to your grandmother before it's too late! Thanks Søren and Theo, this made my summer a bright and shiny one! / Pex "Mahoney" Tufvesson
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

Machinae does their thing, once more. This time, harder rock than their Gianna Sisters-remix, which is _the benchmark_ for hard rock mixes. The technical skills and the great sound/mastering makes this remix outstanding when it comes to Technical Impression. However, not being the greatest fan of screaming guitars, this ones gives me a headache after a few minutes. :/ This Sidology Episode #3 gives me the same feeling as movie The Lord of the Rings did: No pauses, some really good parts skipped, no time for thinking, compressed into a raving, thrilling, compact attack where every second is a matter of life and death. Please let me breathe, and let my ears rest!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

Agree with Tomsk, this is fantastic stuff. O2's best remix, imho! Starts slow, in a neat, nice, simplistic manner, grows a little, grows some more, gets bigger, even bigger and then suddenly at 3:12 those lovely tingles at the back of my neck sends these awesomely (!) wonderful feelings to every cell in my whole body! The one, single arpeggio at 4:49 is a great detail, pinned by a genius! Too soon, the fadeout comes and I feel "Why is this remix soooo short?", and wondering how the -frog- those six minutes could pass so quick? If I could bring only one remix from r:k:o to a deserted island, this would be my choise! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

Carsten, excellent lead instruments, a great atmosphere and a 100% performance makes this an outstanding remix. Though, if I had to rank your mixes, Nemesis the Warlock takes the first place. It has a few more surprises and a natural evolution, where this Zoids-remix has a more constant, steady flow of entangling sounds and notes! Great music, by a great remixer! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

This could be the main selling song on any "Synthesizer greatest"-CD of early 90'ies. Jan Hammer, well, he's there somewhere, and boy have you done a great piece of art here, Thomas! Being one of my very favourite SIDs, I'm just drooling here, listening, dreaming and having a very good time! Some spots reveal that it's a sampled guitar, but turning off the nitpicker in me those few seconds, I really love this remix! The drums are calming, soothing, just wonderful! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

Glyn, you've made a great SID-song sound fantastic! You know how to avoid all pitfalls and trouble that samples orchestral sounds can give you, and I bow in respect. I just wonder how many sleepless nights and days you spent tameing that orchestra, Glyn! Great work! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

The first time I heard this, I thought "This is too good to be true!". And that feeling hasn't left, it's still there. Love at first sight! A good balance between screaming guitars and music (which might give a little hint of what I generally feel about hard rock) makes this song _the best_! :-D Thanks for the ride, Machinae Supremacy!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (28/01/2003)

Huhh... i love this SID piece that much! Great Job here MARKUS , well choosen sounds, clever arranged and remixed. It's one of my favourite SID remixes !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (27/01/2003)

Awesome! If you wouldn't know better, you'd say it is Vangelis. It sounds so much like Chariots Of Fire, and Sigma Seven fits perfectly into that mood. Very beautiful arrangement, and technically flawless, while the Vangleis-like sound does everything to spark nostalgia.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (26/01/2003)

starting of moody and slow, the piece rips into action around the 2 minuite mark. The remix has strong elements of jarre and 80's dance. There's plenty of variation here to keep the listener fascinated, and the beat goes along in typical foot tapping style. The remix is well produced throughout with some lovelly chosen instruments. i did find however towards the end that trace kinda lost the plot a little as it gets kinda boring. All said tho, it's a really valliant effort and one thats worth listening to, at least for a while anyway
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by OJ Oscillation (25/01/2003)

this is the one version of getting my blunt lightened. those pure athmopheric ambience makes me go into myself and chill out to a great melody. also the mixdown could have been much more bombasticly, eventually, but i can`t keep stop floating away. someone should throw an anchor for me.
o2 knows how to feed you without any oxygenmask.
keep breathin` this sound.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by OJ Oscillation (25/01/2003)

well, this remix makes me really going to funk my bones.
it`s a perfect big beat style version. it sounds so pressure styled and not boring. it even got the cool sid synth ring modulated bass line in it, i like to hear.some scratches here, some there (cool fx). the right amount of "get it on". there`s nothing more to say than: perfect 10.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (24/01/2003)

The C64 version of the original Faery Tale AMIGA soundtrack is poor and full of errors. With its inaccurate transcription of the notes of the original, this remix also sounds quite like it is based on the weak C64 material. A monotonous drum track and a few synth-sound fill-ins, which don't fit well, stretch this remix to a length of 2:29. It fails to capture the atmosphere of the AMIGA soundtrack.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (24/01/2003)

Surely a working way to remix "Panther", speeded up a bit. I find Whittaker's unspectacular original sid somewhat boring except for the synth sounds in the introduction (first minute or so). The remix is better and features a great conversion starting at 1:55.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (24/01/2003)

To me it sounds like Giana Sisters with a rather unfortunate choice of instruments. The mixture of flutes and synthetical e-guitars, heavily sliding and equipped with vibrato, is too wild for my taste.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (24/01/2003)

Real nice slow arrangement with a catching theme and an ambient atmosphere. A drawback is the muffled sound and low quality of the used sounds.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (24/01/2003)

It's a fast dance-floor style remix of the first part of Lightforce. Comes with some nice sounds and effects. You won't regret the download.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

A megamix of many Benn pieces, from Ark Pandora through Last Ninja. A suitably frenetic intro is joined by a strange piano lead to complement a straight dance rhythm. The main piece is taken forward by Ben's SID burbles, but in this case, the cover would have been better suited by having a sharper and more stabby replacement for these: the burbles aren't segregated enough to suggest the necessary madness, and just don't feel punchy enough. At 1:48 the tune seems to go a bit Pete Tong melodically, but since it's 720, I'll give it the benefit of the doubt, since that's got some odd chords in it. When Bombo kicks in, the whole thing begins to sound like Robert Miles (as if it didn't already!). Some pads float about to add width to this section, which work well enough. The main problem with the megamix is that the necessity for a constant beat and sound means the individual parts have to be bent and shaped to fit: a process which mangles some more than others. Ben's Last Ninja Wilderness tune loses its Swing-type beat, for instance. Much the same happened on Chris Huelsbeck's 'Giana Sisters Megamix", which was disappointing for me as a fan of the individual pieces, because none of the parts had the atmosphere of the original. So, this cover, while technically very well done (I'd argue with the lead in the Last Ninja section though) falls victim to its own structure and ends up less satisfying to Ben fans as a result. Efficient but strangely unsatisfying.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

'You have offended my family...'. True! Hey, he's got a drum machine and a synth! And they can be linked up!!! Wow!!!!!!!! OK, sarcasm alert. It's SID and drums time. It's hard, it's nasty, my bum remains unmoved. Bruce Lee just isn't the tune to do this to with any effect. At 1 minute the tune stops being horrible and starts being detuned and horrible. Then it returns to abysmal. Not my cup of tea at all, though some of the later basslines and breaks show some rhythmic skill. It's still vomit-inducing though. Almost redeemed by the clever use of Bruce Lee samples in the middle, it could have worked if it wasn't so damned harsh! Urgh. Chris hell.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

'It's the music: can't you feel it in your soul?'. Well, kinda, I guess. Very strange slurp-drums make this sinister sounding cover sound trippy, but the beginning doesn't quite work: the triangle lead is out of place for what's trying to do (doesn't quite convey the funkiness that the rest of the piece is aiming for). Once again, clever use of samples and breaks, but the whole track is very repetitive. To some that may be just what the Doctor ordered, of course, since Bart seems to be mostly centred on the commercial dance sound. Quality stuff, but a bit too repetitive for me. You might disagree!.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

Oooh, spooky. Some nice atmosphere for the first 20 seconds gives way to a really nasty drum set which the tune could well do without. It's like two different tunes are being played here. At 1:00 a slower breakbeat comes in to lend the piece some badly needed coherence, but this tune stops and starts in a way that severely unsettles the listener (that would be me!). Somewhere in the world, there's a piece of video action from a copshow that suits this piece. It's one of those pieces of art that makes no sense because there's no coherence, unless another consistent element is added (in this case, that would be video footage). Towards the end, it sounds like Fat Boy Slim. An audio experience in dire need of some stable video.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

SID, echoes, filters, drums. If you like that, you'll like this (as long as you're a Jon Dunn fan). The original tune has some unpleasant bits though. Not a great advancement over SID + drums, but more subtle at least.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

The words 'flatter to deceive' apply to this remix, which is an interesting take on the SID. Elements from the SID, orchestral hits, a hip-hop style brush breakbeat all combine. Sounds interesting, and is for about a minute. Then you realise that nothing else is going to happen that's more interesting: OK, the drums develop into a more standard house pattern, but that's about it. This is most definitely a case of 'I've just bought a sample CD and I'm going to use it'. Some nice ascending orchestral chords at 1:30 onwards make me think I've been a bit harsh, since some of them are quite epic. The SID is almost optional here though, and the piece doesn't quite know where it's going. On balance, the world is better for this piece existing, so I recommend a download. don't expect anything more from Wizball than the paint mixing noises though. Download it if you're in an experimental mood.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

Zoids/Ancestors. A majestic tune which stomps its way into our hearts. How can you ruin it? Simple, you speed the tune up by a factor of 2, then add organ stabs. It trivialises the tune, and it's impossible for me to take it seriously.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62