Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1681 - 1710 out of 1847
[LOGIN]

Review by rauli (02/02/2003)

Guitar, organ and wishy-washu drums wobbling across the taverna floor. Playful enough to find a place in my heart, but the intro/outro messages are a bit out of place for my taste.

Cheers!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

This tune is just so Pulp Fiction! Listen to the mix, close your eyes and imagine Jules and Vincent readying their guns and approaching their targets who are hiding out in a cheesy nightclub... :-)

This remix has a great 70s feel to it; the timing problems of the distorted guitar may be a little annoying, but all in all they even add to that impression. Very well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

Watch out Massive Attack, cause here comes trip-hop in perfection. Sinister pads accompanied by a dry trippy beat, spiced up by bits and clips from the congo-bongo sid. And when you fall into the mood of this mix, suddenly it gets even better: the guitar kicks in. If you listen to this tune more than once, you'll get hooked to it.

A remix faaar from the mainstream, nevertheless an important addition to RKO. Kudos to Dor-X, propably the most overlooked remixer of the scene! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

Totally awesome! Thomas does Vangelis style again. This would fit seamlessly into the Blade Runner soundtrack. The instruments are replicated perfectly, you couldn't tell the tune from a real Vangelis track. The "Cobra" melody is incorporated properly to fit into that mood. I actually haven't heard Sylvester Levay's original, but there's no way it could be better than this!

Thus top smiley for all categories! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (31/01/2003)

Puhh... that's what i call a REMIX !! GREAT STUFF !!
I can't say more , everything is said about this remix !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pax_deis (31/01/2003)

This is great! I've never seen anything like it!
The fact that you mix the Comic Bakery Theme with Boybands*Cough!**Cough!*
Is actually a great appliance...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ms (31/01/2003)

People know that i am not a dance fan at all, but this is a must-have. Awesome in all three categories the tune is very professional and did not get boring even if it lasts 6 minutes. Ballad,Pop,Dance and Trance arranged with excellent transitions. More than innovative are the voices saying "Back in Time..." in Thanatos melody - stunning !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (31/01/2003)

Laserdance meets Markus Schneider, but more powerfull than the original Laserdance sound was. More technoid, but not techno. The deep voice saying "Beyond the Zero" helps the remix not to be lost as instrumental only and marks the stations the BTZ-rhythm-train is visiting. The original SID is different, Sonic has skipped a "boring" part if I remember right.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (31/01/2003)

My absolute fave of Q´s remixes! The James Last of C64-remixing is Q.
I never imagined Street Surfer could be done this way, with synth-trumpets and this pseudo-big band sound, but it is the ultimate solution.
Good sound quality, volume is a bit low, nice stereo field.
The hammond-organ completes this track, and usually I hate the sound of this organ, but this track makes it sound good.

The reference remix in "I wanna be like James Last" ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (31/01/2003)

This is the first remix of Q appearing on RKO that has a "James Last"-touch.
The piano playing the melody sounds real, the background is "easy". One of the non-dance/disco-tracks that I like from the artistic aspect. Good sound quality, good mixage.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (31/01/2003)

This is an "Easy listening jazz mix", but not a bad one at all. Minimalistic and somehow "authentic" sounding. No quality flaws.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (30/01/2003)

This is a masterpiece in terms of vocal-FX, directly connected to the heart-beat of the song. You can hear everything that commercial productions feature: phasing echoes, selective auto-de-tuning (the "Cher-effect"), and vocals partly split up into some kind of pizzicato to play a sequence. Bass and beats are well-done disco, not too fast.

Maybe I would listen to the Backstreet Boys if they had DHS do their dance-remixes. And DHS loves his mobile phone ;-)

The reference remix in "dance-track featuring vocals". :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (30/01/2003)

Makke sings "You can take your Quake and go away, I won´t play it anyway"
to the music of Cybernoid 2. This is a great song about the time when playing computer games meant fun, not because of the GeForce rendering that alien in shiny mirror-triple-FX, the game idea just seemed right for itself.
The lyrics are funny, not cheesy, the music is what I´d call slow "Masterboy"-disco with a bit of Apoptygma Berzerk.

Not to forget Makke´s funny intro-speech where he goes back in time
while playing the guitar. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (30/01/2003)

Some patterns from Zak, some IK, plus a stomping disco beat. Easy creation, but it got some nice sounds. Sound quality is not that good. A summary of the melodies you remember from both games. Sounds "phat" in disco terms. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ozzy1 (29/01/2003)

Going for an hour in the gym?
Going for a run in the forrest?
Going sillydancing in the garden?
Going to a crazy "come as you are"-party?

If any of the above, listen to this tune first.

Have a girlfriend? Try NOT having a fun time to this music.

I love it, and so does my bird in the cage (yeah, there is a lot of bird-noices in there).

This remix is what my cbm64 - days was all about. Fun, giggles and more fun!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ozzy1 (29/01/2003)

This is my favourite remix of an old cbm64 game-tune so far.
If Chris Hülsbeck wanted to make the tune in these "we have a lot of memory for a game tune"-times, it would have sounded just like this remix.
The guitar, the bass, the feel and the playfullness is just awsome.
This remix is not for the tecno-people or dancefolks, its for all the rest of us.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (29/01/2003)

Perfect! Everything it has to offer fits really well. Superb choice of instruments (guitar, strings and synth lead, drums) and the strong source material adds it bit with a catchy and emotional theme. A must download, especially if you remember it from the "Swinth" line-drawing screensaver demo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (29/01/2003)

Very well chosen synth-sounds and percussions create a rich sound and manage to compensate the few minor mistakes in the transcription of the first theme. Major drawback is, it is 5:36 long and hence gets a bit boring in the last 40-50 seconds where the track ends with a percussive solo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (29/01/2003)

What a fantastic instrumental soundtrack this is! It creates a varied and impressive atmosphere, switching between a clearly recognizable synth theme with powerful drums and less percussive slow'n'sweet sections based on acoustic guitar and piano accompany. Towards the end of the 4:12 long track you can enjoy a climax featuring a lead e-guitar. Makes it probably one of the most complete SID remixes so far.

(Btw, according to HVSC 5.2 it covers "The Inner Sanctum (loader)" by Anthony Lees, not Ben Daglish.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (29/01/2003)

Listener, be warned, this is another piece of music with "a cappella" elements. If you prefer instrumentals or real singing, better avoid this track. While it starts as a real nice synth tune which you would want to listen to at higher volume, it doesn't play like that for more than 44 seconds. Weird and questionable sound effects, which sound displaced, fill the rest of the first minute right before the first female a cappella singer joins with her improvised singing sounds. Twenty seconds later a higher female voice takes over and then it gets worse, sounding more like screaming at times, and forces me to turn down the volume of a track which I would enjoy if it didn't feature a cappella singing like that. It continues like that for a total of 5:40.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (29/01/2003)

If somebody knows how to sound like JARRE , then it's definitely O2.
A great remix of a great SID ! It shows me that the man behind the machines is important, not the machines behind a man ;o) ....
which means i do own a SUPANOVA,too, but i can't make it sounds like JARRE !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

You're the best! I just love you, from the deepest of my heart! You've made my day, no, you've made my summer sunny sunny you're in my heart, ha ha haaa ha! :-D This remix should be the mandatory first one to listen to for _any_ person visiting the realms of C64-remixing! Not everybody will enjoy the style or the performance, but this is a remix that _everybody_ get feelings for or against. And it is _the remix_ that is "closest to real life", where at least I get a feeling that we "C64RMX-nerds" maybe have a little part of this thing called the world! If you, yes -you- reading this review haven't seen the video that PressPlayOnTape did for this song, then HURRY!!! Find it, get it, see it and show it to your grandmother before it's too late! Thanks Søren and Theo, this made my summer a bright and shiny one! / Pex "Mahoney" Tufvesson
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

Machinae does their thing, once more. This time, harder rock than their Gianna Sisters-remix, which is _the benchmark_ for hard rock mixes. The technical skills and the great sound/mastering makes this remix outstanding when it comes to Technical Impression. However, not being the greatest fan of screaming guitars, this ones gives me a headache after a few minutes. :/ This Sidology Episode #3 gives me the same feeling as movie The Lord of the Rings did: No pauses, some really good parts skipped, no time for thinking, compressed into a raving, thrilling, compact attack where every second is a matter of life and death. Please let me breathe, and let my ears rest!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

Agree with Tomsk, this is fantastic stuff. O2's best remix, imho! Starts slow, in a neat, nice, simplistic manner, grows a little, grows some more, gets bigger, even bigger and then suddenly at 3:12 those lovely tingles at the back of my neck sends these awesomely (!) wonderful feelings to every cell in my whole body! The one, single arpeggio at 4:49 is a great detail, pinned by a genius! Too soon, the fadeout comes and I feel "Why is this remix soooo short?", and wondering how the -frog- those six minutes could pass so quick? If I could bring only one remix from r:k:o to a deserted island, this would be my choise! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

Carsten, excellent lead instruments, a great atmosphere and a 100% performance makes this an outstanding remix. Though, if I had to rank your mixes, Nemesis the Warlock takes the first place. It has a few more surprises and a natural evolution, where this Zoids-remix has a more constant, steady flow of entangling sounds and notes! Great music, by a great remixer! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

This could be the main selling song on any "Synthesizer greatest"-CD of early 90'ies. Jan Hammer, well, he's there somewhere, and boy have you done a great piece of art here, Thomas! Being one of my very favourite SIDs, I'm just drooling here, listening, dreaming and having a very good time! Some spots reveal that it's a sampled guitar, but turning off the nitpicker in me those few seconds, I really love this remix! The drums are calming, soothing, just wonderful! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

Glyn, you've made a great SID-song sound fantastic! You know how to avoid all pitfalls and trouble that samples orchestral sounds can give you, and I bow in respect. I just wonder how many sleepless nights and days you spent tameing that orchestra, Glyn! Great work! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (28/01/2003)

The first time I heard this, I thought "This is too good to be true!". And that feeling hasn't left, it's still there. Love at first sight! A good balance between screaming guitars and music (which might give a little hint of what I generally feel about hard rock) makes this song _the best_! :-D Thanks for the ride, Machinae Supremacy!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (28/01/2003)

Huhh... i love this SID piece that much! Great Job here MARKUS , well choosen sounds, clever arranged and remixed. It's one of my favourite SID remixes !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (27/01/2003)

Awesome! If you wouldn't know better, you'd say it is Vangelis. It sounds so much like Chariots Of Fire, and Sigma Seven fits perfectly into that mood. Very beautiful arrangement, and technically flawless, while the Vangleis-like sound does everything to spark nostalgia.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62