Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1741 - 1760 out of 1760
[LOGIN]

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

The beginning synth sound doesn't work for me quite as well as the previous Ultima covers since they sound hollow,irritating and don't work well at low frequencies. The consequence of this is that the piece fails to engage until some swelling strings briefly come into the equation. They then promptly disappear, to be replaced by a large filtersweep that is hard on the ears (too much resonance when the filter's passing through the mid section). There's a Robert Miles vibe develops here, but the filter sweep kills it, primarily through too much resonance. However, when that sweep disappears, it leaves very little behind. Too irritating for a 7.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by Chris Abbott (23/01/2003)

Sample, Hold, Cup of Tea, Lie down... :-) Everything about this cover is powerful except for the lead, which is far too twee and dry. The filtered synth is great, the production is good, the sample/hold synth maintains the interest, the drums are punchy, and the whole sound is generally interesting. That lead needs work though. Luckily (or unluckily, depending on how you feel), it only occurs once, the rest of the time being taken up by 12' mix segments. It works well, though a bit of melody wouldn't go amiss... Abupt ending though: did they kill Zak or something? Worthwhile download for meatiness.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by LMan (21/01/2003)

909 Sadist has done a great job here, joining filtered sid, synth sounds and a punchy electronic beat. The result is something that would rock the house and techno dancefloors for sure. The mixdown sounds very professional.

Describe this mix in one word? Techno!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by LMan (21/01/2003)

Cirdan took the beautiful Last Ninja III subtune 10, and turned it into something even better. It starts off with a nice ambience, slowly and calm, just until the beat kicks in. An extraordinary 80's sounding background supports the ethnic lead instruments perfectly.

The track is mixed and equalised very well, but unfortunately there's also some distortion at several spots. A little less maximising propably would do. But that doesn't really lower the fun of listening to this masterpiece, it actually helps it sounding 80s.

For me, it's one of the greatest tracks in 2002. :-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by rauli (21/01/2003)

Truly minimal. Starts with a piano intro. Then it's mainly the bass line and the lead for the rest of the tune, slooowly gaining in intesity until it all shatters and fades away in the end. Bautyful and melancholy.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (20/01/2003)

I'm not really sure what to makes of this remix really. it's very experimental to say the least. it's a kind somber/ambient remix and one that suits Delta very well.

not really sure if he's managed to pull it off really, but credit to Rauli for having a bash at something a little different. The tune itself tends to drag a little and doesn't really quite grab you in the way that is could have.

A nice vision really, but one I unfortunately couldn't respect in the way I should have.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by rafael (20/01/2003)

The original is fairly short in terms of what you can do with it - Tim's done a great job here on taking the little bit he's given and turning it into a majestic hymn. The sounds do remind me of Jochen Hippels work - particularly his "Give it a Try" CD from 1990.
Brilliant piano melody and very nostalgic razory (typical Amiga/C64/ST chip sound) bass backing. Good clear recording as well.

Rafael Dyll
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (19/01/2003)

This version of Lightforce kinda reminds me of a tune from war of the worlds with it's attacking baselines and drums. The approach gives the tune a new leash of life and works exceptionally well.

Question marks however rise on the bland choice of main lead and the lack of ooomph! and in parts the weak sounds.

A good version of a tune that has been remixed a heck of a lot, and downloading is recommended, especially if your a fan of the piece.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (19/01/2003)

The tune starts off magnificently with a slow build-up and fx, before slowly emerging into the classic Rob Hubbard track. The tune could be seperated into two pieces really, with the first part being the traditional like for like approach. The second part is where Gustav starts to experiment a bit using the delta theme as a template to work on using his own ideas.

Both part are done exceptionally well, and with the diversity of the second part he manages to capture the audience and captivate it at the same time.

A really good experiment into something a bit different here, and one that gets my thumbs up any day.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by tomsk (18/01/2003)

By his own admission O2 points out this tune starts slowly. But the way it builds up is part of the magic for me. The original was more hard hitting but this slightly more mellow version still captures the essence of the tune. Fantastic stuff.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (18/01/2003)

Certainly a unique twist to couldron 2. a kind of spooky/dance tune with it's main lead being the spooky part and the back ground being very much trance-like.

The concept is very good, and it's well applied. I suppose the tune may go on a bit and tends to get very boring after a while. More variety and changes of directions would have helped somewhat.

The tune will certainly feel at home in a nightclub and would do well at a up and coming bitlive event.

Good effort, more variety needed tho.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (18/01/2003)

A nice idea with some great background effects and a lovelly crisp clear sound. The main problem that lies with this remix is that the lead doesn't do it justice. You can easily imagine what Wobbler was attempting to do, but he's just fallen a little short with a lead instrument that doesn't quite hit the mark.

The tune unfortunately is a little too repetative too, with not enough changes through out the piece to keep the interest levels up.

All in all a good effort but just falls short on some aspects.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

This remix is stunning. From the moment you hear the original sid tune blend into the remix, and that wonderful engine roar past from right speaker to left you just know what's coming. Special mention to Instant for keeping this remix very C64 and yet also technically outstanding. I do love it when remixers pay homage to the original by including/enhancing the original sid sounds - and this has plenty of them. Don't worry - this ain't no sid with drums mix, just download it and hear for yourself.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

This tune probably became more popular as a remixed intro than as actual game music. Fairly plain and melodic, but still quite charming in it's own way. Then along comes Instant Remedy. This remix still manages to remix cool and laid back but adds so much more. A fantastic remix and the built up drum beat make this an Instant 'Classic'. Simply very listenable and with the added chord backing and wonderfull bass sound make this a really smart mix.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

I'd never heard this tune before listening to remixes of it. Sometimes this is an advantage when listening to a remix - other times not. But something about this 'tracker' based remix really caught my ear. CZ has done an excellent job keeping faithfull to the original but adding those extra elements that make his Platoon remix extremely enjoyable to listen to - even though it's quite old I still rate it as one of my favorite remixes ever! Techinally not brilliant, but musically I love it. The 'beefy' bass line is one of those that you'll either love or hate. Me personally. Love it.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

Often the 'sid chip' gets forgotten about when an artist decides to remix a sid tune. In the early days of R64 many tunes were simply sid tunes with drums. I'd class this as a Sid remix with sid drums and some ! Keeping the distinctive style of drum and sid this remix is just a dream to listen to. Not spoiling the original but enhancing it to a very professional level. Excellent !
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

I remember first hearing this. Having allready been a fan of this short and simple tune I didn't think this huge style change would work. But it does. And it works bloody well. Having managed to arrange the tune to last a bit longer without becoming too repetitive is one of the master strokes. Then comes the very original element of the remix - one that really enhances a fairly simple sid tune and turn it into a melodic masterpiece. Great sounds, effects, and enhencement. Excellent!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (17/01/2003)

Quite a mamoth tune coming in at over 6:40 mins. There are some great back ground sounds to this tune, and the blend of bassey sounds and high end sounds make for a listening pleasure.

The tune is both varied and well thought out throughout the piece. The remix has more than a touch of jarre feeling, but adds much more so to not leave non jarre fans out!

I suppose the only let down to this track is that the main lead doesn't offer a great deal, and by and large remains the same throughout and also doesn't quite fulfill the beautiful ambiance of the background.

All said and done, this really is a mamoth tune, which I liked alot! good work!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (17/01/2003)

The remix of Flight path 737 reminds me of a cheesy late 70's early 80's fererro roche advert. I'm not saying because of this it's a poor remix, cos in all truth it's very well performed with some excellent choices of instruments, and above all it ooses emotion.

tho, the tune is basic, it's perfectly orchestrated proving without a shadow of doubt that you don't have to over complicate matters to bring out a damn fine piece of work.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by LMan (17/01/2003)

Beautyfully arranged! Tim Forsyth takes us up to higher dimensions with his chillouty remix of "Flight Path 737". The arrangement reminds me a little of Clannad. Very good instrumentation and a lot of emotion make this tune Outstanding for me.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59