Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 181 - 210 out of 1760
[LOGIN]

Review by sLyGuY (16/07/2015)

I like this remix very much, it keeps original spirit of the song (that makes me go in trance) with new instruments. Excellent work! I hope to see more stuff like this from this arranger.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Elements of univers (12/07/2015)

perfect genius awesome fantastic gorgeous BEAU MAGNIFIQUE ENVOUTANT MERVEILLEUX AUDACIEUX Love love love Electric Dream. Thank you guys.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Matt Smith (09/07/2015)

Barry Leitch's Harlequin soundtrack remains one of my all-time favourite game OSTs ever. Every tune in that marvellous game is a treat for the ears, and anyone aiming to improve upon the original tracks has their work very much cut out for them.

This remix succeeds in absolutely every respect. Indeed, it's no exaggeration to say that it's one of my favourite pieces of music of any kind in the world ever.

Not only does it capture perfectly the electrifying mood of the original TVee Wonderland theme (somehow managing to be hair-raisingly eerie and playfully energetic at the same time), not only does it expand upon the original with exceptional verve and creativity (introducing an array of beautiful new harmonies, counter-melodies and other splendidly atmospheric flourishes), but it even manages to tell a story that fits in perfectly with the part of the game where this particular theme first turns up, via some positively spiffing sound design. The level of Harlequin that gives this track its name is one of the most original and gleefully sinister environments ever to appear in a platformer. The hero of the piece finds himself inside a gigantic, haunted television showroom where every single TV set is broken, and the player is tasked with guiding him past an array of electricity-themed enemies and traps. As such, the intro to this remix could scarcely be more perfect as we hear a television turn on by itself and start searching through the static for a clear transmission, eventually settling upon a channel where the MOD version of the tune can briefly be heard before the updated version zaps into life. (An especially pleasing touch – among the garbled snatches of other programmes we can clearly hear excerpts from the theme tunes of Gamesmaster and Bad! Influence, both of which first came to the screen in the year of Harlequin's release.) The various other crackles, sparks and fizzes that crop up throughout the rest of the track add greatly to the spookily mysterious vibe of the whole thing without ever being intrusive, and the conclusion as the static returns and the misfiring TV finally shuts itself off is the perfect coda to the whole experience.

I utterly, wholeheartedly love this remix. As you may possibly have gathered.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Touchfrench (27/06/2015)

Great remix of one of my favourite video-game music. Guitars are great. The singed part is not my favourite part but it's ok.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Matt Smith (08/06/2015)

In the early '90s, Super Twintris was one of the Amiga's most celebrated and popular public domain games. Multiple magazines praised it as the machine's finest Tetris clone by miles, it was regularly included on coverdisks and lists of PD must-haves, and every 'Miggy owner I knew had their own copy of it; in many ways, therefore, it's surprising that it's taken this long for someone to remix the charming and evocative trio of tunes that comprised the game's soundtrack. But by golly, it was worth the wait!

At once cheeringly nostalgic and splendidly original, this is a brilliant track that breathes sparkling new life into the original melodies. The distinctive atmosphere of each of the three tunes remains intact, but this ingenious medley arrangement creates a progression of mood that works to splendid effect. From the dramatic thrills of the opening sequence we progress into the mysterious exhilaration of the middle section, creating the feeling of embarking on some sort of epic, potentially hazardous futuristic adventure; then the final three minutes bring everything to an upliftingly triumphant conclusion, conjuring mental images of gorgeous sunrises and zooming jubilantly off into the stars, mission completed. In addition, the piece melds together a range of musical styles that fit the melodies perfectly, morphing seamlessly from 90s-style Jarre-esque techno into something wonderfully reminiscent of the 70s golden era of cosmic synth before finally jumping into the cheering charm of 80s electronica. It's joyful in its ever-evolving playfulness, and I'm vastly impressed with it.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by CoLD SToRAGE (03/06/2015)

I really enjoyed this new take on my tune... not a style I'd have imagined. Good fun!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by chilli_uk (02/06/2015)

My friend - i remember many years ago you wrote a trance version of this for me - u have now maxed it - wow... i love it ...
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by I_o (02/06/2015)

This sound is exactly what I needed. It conjures my Commodore experience without being so modern as to mix the worlds too much.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by benoni (29/05/2015)

Sometimes sequels aren't as good as the first one – but not so "Vocally Too". Very nice covers, very nice beats.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Benightedjim (23/05/2015)

You could imagine this as the theme tune to a 1970s drama series about a suave pilot flying his 737 around Europe. Tales of adventure, high drama, clandestine affairs, dangerous liaisons and the like. Oh, and bad aviator sunglasses, too.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Mutetus (04/05/2015)

Totally unexpected action movie style arrangement. It didn't sound very special in the beginning, but after listening for a while (at very loud volume by accident, which seemed to be a good thing), it just knocked my socks off.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Matt Smith (02/05/2015)

Back in the day, for young Amiga users like myself who lacked the funds to purchase new games on a regular basis, magazine coverdisks were a splendidly excellent thing. The disk that accompanied issue 35 of Amiga Power in February 1994 quickly became one of the most popular in my collection, for two reasons. First, it had the marvellously entertaining Tetris Pro on it; and second, it contained a demo version of a curious puzzley game with atypically beautiful music. That game was, of course, Statix, and it was booted up with great frequency just so I could listen to that lovely tune.

Fully two decades later, the prospect of getting to hear a new and souped-up version of the Statix demo music was an exciting and warmly nostalgic one – and by crikey, this remix more than does justice to the original track. It absolutely captures the distinctive essence of Mr Grefberg's composition, elegantly blending haunting soulfulness with a perkily up-tempo positivity, and then expands upon it in all manner of imaginative and delightful ways. The guitars are an immensely cool addition to proceedings, giving this arrangement a sound all its own; the augmented introduction to the piece is impressively dramatic, the harmonising throughout is electrifying, and I love the transition at the 2:15 mark; it's a pleasing little moment that says "Let's hear that again!" An assortment of glittery new background sounds and twinkling counter-melodic elements add greatly to the magical atmosphere of the piece, and the use of finger-cymbals at various key moments is a wonderfully charming touch. Terrific stuff all round.

I've since discovered, of course, that the full release of Statix neglected to include "Against Time" in its soundtrack. Thank heavens for that demo version, eh?
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by FStarred (20/04/2015)

It's a pity that the registration quality could be done better, btw it's one of the best merge remix I've heard. At 1:17 reminds me of john mellencamp's human wheels song.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by FStarred (25/03/2015)

A perfect mix between the elethronics and the metal side, I really love the bass part and from 1:27
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by FStarred (25/03/2015)

I really love this revision of the original that perfectly fits with the summer mood
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by al.x (19/03/2015)

It's a new take on Comic Bakery that we have not heard before! I would love to hear more like this!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by FStarred (19/03/2015)

This version respect the feeling of the original, but obviously improve the quality. Some samples instead are, maybe, still too 8bit like.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Very nice and very kraftwerk sort of and nice balance. Original was weirdly cool this is also
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Just your style and I always love your drums - great work Mate and long time no speak.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Kept expecting Glen Campbell to start sing - man i tht wtf and tht why the fk not it rocks...
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Nickenstein (13/03/2015)

The way that the classical stringed instruments are blended with a deep synthetic-bass is very hollywood, and would fit in perfectly in any current big-budget movie. Having now just listened to the original SID, I'm quite stunned at how expertly you have turned it into a very modern piece without loosing the essence of the source. Also, the dedication you made to Skitz in the title made me remember my time with him as I listened. There are tears on my desk.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Nickenstein (13/03/2015)

As stated in my 'shout', this was the second piece of music I ever heard from my own C64 (As Rambo-FB-Prt-2 was the first cassette I loaded on that Christmas day so very very long ago. So I clearly have a huge nostalgia-hard-on for this particular tune, but putting my bias on hold, here is my review: SUPERB! Excellent guitar and piano sections. But the great instrumental work is so nice, that the vocal samples cheapen/taint the piece. I would love a new upload sans-vocals. :D
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by puffy64 (11/03/2015)

MASTERPIECE! Needs a new voting system to express the high production, creativity and playing skills of the artists that are involved. Intense mood of the sewers level was captured here perfectly. This remix was made with love to the tune, well chosen instrumentation and sets a mark for Matt Gray to beat in his upcoming LN2 project. For me, there could have been a heavier part at the end with a bit more rocking drums, but that´s just my opinion. Slaygon and his team (special cheers to the guitarists involved) made a great, wonderful remix and I suggest everyone to immediately download and rate this to show them, that this one is "IMPRESSIVE" (as spoken in Quake 3 Arena) . Thanks a lot for this brillant piece of music.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by slaygon (10/03/2015)

Way under-rated track. The build-up is gorgeous. The cinematic aura of it is just perfect! Any movie would be happy to have this as its sound track! The delicately placed guitars from NecroPolo in the mix gives away the precision work Markus put into making this a mix to take seriously. And seriously, you should. The subtle choir at the 4 minute mark. The low string section at the beginning. This is as serious as a movie soundtrack would ever be. Rate it as such. (and I haven't even mentioned the low-end precision work throughout the track!)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Drunken Fool (10/03/2015)

Incredible remix of the Sewers tune from Last Ninja 2. Once of the best versions of that particular tune I've heard in a while, in fact. Awesome Job, Slaygon and company.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Gohanks (08/03/2015)

Had the pleasure of hearing the WIP version which was already impressive. Few words: original, very ninja and mega climactic!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Dh73 (08/03/2015)

Fantastic ! Marvellous ! It is a great remix of this Song ; Good and Well defined Sound ; you're cool, man .
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Starwer (05/03/2015)

Just a great music, whether you know the original tune or or not ! Great arrangements !
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by Chris Abbott (20/02/2015)

If I was going to suggest one change, it could start quieter, and end quieter, and there's a missed opportunity to go absolutely huge-ass-power-ballad in the middle.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Pietafon (10/02/2015)

Idealne odwzorowanie oryginału, Reyn Ouwahand na pewno pęka z dumy słysząc ten remix!:) Gratuluję!:)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 57 58 59