Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 211 - 240 out of 1760
[LOGIN]

Review by Matt Smith (30/01/2015)

Given the somewhat awkward circumstances surrounding its production, it’s remarkable that the Amiga version of Captain Planet turned out as well as it did. (In a nutshell: Commodore, aptly displaying the forethought and diligence that would serve them so well throughout the rest of the ‘90s, struck a deal to include the game in their Cartoon Classics A500+ pack but neglected to allow sufficient time for its development. Programmer Tony Crowther ended up having to design and code the entire thing from scratch in just one month, assisted by a lone graphic artist and Ben Daglish on drums.) It’s vastly flawed, of course, but there’s an admirable amount of creativity on display in the design of the levels and the puzzlier aspects of the gameplay, and the music is terrific throughout, with an array of energetic and catchy tunes doing much to enliven the decidedly wonky platforming.

The theme that accompanies the “Linka” level (in which you control a girl with the power of wind (erk) as she hovers around what’s alleged to be an Egyptian pyramid but in fact looks rather more like a needlessly elaborate and unusually colourful chemical waste treatment plant) is extra-specially excellent, taking the form of a thrillingly zappy and pleasingly inventive electro-pop number. This remix elevates the tune to fantastic new heights, perfectly capturing the moodily mysterious yet sparklingly quirky atmosphere of the original while introducing a multitude of delightful flourishes that make the whole thing bigger, brighter and gloriously groovier than ever. Particular highlights include the numerous new countermelodies that add greatly to the class and variety of the piece; the flawless choice of sounds, all of which accentuate the futuristic vibe of the arrangement to scintillating effect; the entirely new section towards the end which replaces the drum solo, and which feels like a far more natural progression of the track than the original composition did; and the sheer quality of the mix, which is terrifically well-balanced throughout. The inclusion of the wind effect at the beginning and end is a neatly characterful touch, too.

In summary, this is a vastly enjoyable re-imagining of a corking tune that zings with exuberant fun and funkiness and, for me, is cheeringly nostalgic. As the happy recipient of a Cartoon Classics pack during the Christmas of 1991, Captain Planet was one of the first Amiga games I ever encountered – and while it may not have been the most fun to play, it sure did have memorably marvellous music. Hurrah!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by puffy64 (20/01/2015)

Can´t understand, why nobody reviewed this yet?! Well, let´s go:
Dr Future did a very fine job here. In my opinion the sounds are great, the guitars are played with emotions and the whole thing seems to say: I love(ed) this song, Rob\"<img\">
The song starts with decent guitar play and grows on and on, so listener shouldn´t miss the very cool Solopart beginning at 4:30m. Simply great. And I know what I´m speaking of ^^.
The drums are used well and the hihat is what I like most, cause it grooves the tune.
And finally, I love the game samples, which were placed at the right points creating a smile on my face while listening.
Thank you, Dr Future!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Nightmare23 (17/01/2015)

Puffy64 is back and as usual wih some serious shit. As Zoidberg already said: Moar... Moooaaaarrrr....
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (16/01/2015)

After a 12 year hiatus, Puffy64 and his guitars are BAAAACK!

This is a great hard rock rendition of Druid II. My favorite part is the break (e.g. between 1:18-1:27) that is just spot on. There is a good balance in the arrangement and the mix - I just really like listening to it over and over again.

Welcome back, Puffy64!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Matt Smith (11/01/2015)

A scintillatingly splendid piece of work. It has this fantastically eerie, haunting atmosphere far beyond the Amiga original, while still maintaining a thrillingly dynamic tempo – it could easily be the music from the end credits of some brilliantly spine-chilling horror movie. There are loads of smashingly shivery special touches, too – the melody that comes in from 1.58 to 2.20 sounds like a ghostly choir (with a fittingly metallic quality that suggests it could be the disembodied voices of haunted machinery), the assorted hollow clunks, hisses and clicks worked subtly into the soundscape evoke powerful mental images of being surrounded by the gears and pistons of some huge and sinister contraption, and the deliciously creepy off-kilter pianos that conclude the track are a stroke of genius; genuinely unnerving, somewhat in the vein of the famous Halloween score by John Carpenter, but with a unique flavour all their own. I absolutely adore the whole thing!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by DJB (26/11/2014)

Unfortunately I can't really give this much credit points. Anyone can use SID2MIDI, but the important thing is (and is what is most noticeable) is when the arranger doesn't double-check the original SID to ensure that all the notes are correct. The program is a really good way to capture the notes, but it doesn't handle slides / glides at all, hence if a song uses them and the notes ain't corrected, it can ruin your cover.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 2

Review by speedy (13/11/2014)

Ok, this is a first class orchestral hollywood stuff like Hans Zimmer and Co are doing. If you like orchestral stuff, you will love this remix! Every part flows well into each other. needless to say you want more with every single second. It reminds me to the Pirates Soundtrack which is orchestral rock. Give us more!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Cubud (07/10/2014)

This remix is so good! I love the rough bass instrument, I love the insertion of real sound-effects from Super Mario Land on the GameBoy. Very enjoyable!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Cubud (06/10/2014)

This tune starts out fantastic, really like an Ibitha dance track or something. The choice of instrument later was a mistake that suddenly brings it down to the level of guy on computer at home from what was previously a serious producer in a professional studio.

Please change that instrument, and put a bit more variation towards the end, it'll make it brilliant!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by mixer (30/09/2014)

This is an orchestral version of the Ultima V track by Kenneth Arnold. I've always enjoyed Ultima soundtracks, many of the tunes are hammered into my brain after so many hours with the game.

That being said, this remix is not up to the standards I'd like to hear.

Firstly, it sounds like it is a direct midi convert of the original. Such remix can be done in minutes, there is no effort put on it.

There is no new creative arrangement and the instruments sound very sampleish and artificial. This can be forgiven as access to decent orchestral instrument sets or real orchestra is often not possible for hobbyists. Some dynamics and making it to appear like it is played for real would make a huge difference.

So, as a plain convert I vote this to be average. It is not bad, as the arranger has not done anything to ruin the original composition, but has not improved on it either. Easy listening only.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

Review by Joshua1972 (29/09/2014)

i adore this website, it's possible to feel always fashionable news. Special today surprise is a rocked aztec, i love it so much!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Karamija (27/09/2014)

Aztec atmosphere blend perfectly with this type of arrangement. The guitars are beutiful and solo is scary!!
beautiful also the sounds used, clean and incisive.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Arabelle74 (26/09/2014)

well-balanced sound , excellent creativity and fantastic guitars. Chorus is very charming, and the rock section with metal guitars is exciting.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Wacky Amoebatron (25/08/2014)

This Track seems to be a 1:1 MIDI-Rip of Jogeir Liljedahl's Version of the Stationary Ark Soundtrack. Too similar, too recognizable, too much the same instrumentation. Too cheap to be true. Sorry, laddy!
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by Rohyp Nose (31/07/2014)

Great production, funky sounding! Nice homage in clubbish wrapping! I hate to dance, but my fingers kept tapping the table franticly\"<img\">
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (12/06/2014)

First off, I don't know what this tune has to do with TMR, it's clearly a Last Ninja 3 subtune #10 remix. TMR's SID remix of it is not even the same subtune (that's #6)... Anyhoo...

Love the guitar work, really deep, great riffs, well mixed. The drum pattern is too simple, though, that needs work.

I like the light break in the middle, but overall I have mixed feelings about the arrangement, it sounds a bit confusing.

All in all, pretty good job, hope there's more to come!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Xenix (05/05/2014)

Nice tune, good nostalgical value. But please fix the bass loop (did you use one long sample for that?) as it's just out of sync with the beats.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 3

Review by Xenix (11/04/2014)

Yeah.. it's just a blues in fact. Well done, although it keeps being a bit slow-motion. I hoped you included the sound effect that the car made when eh.. a new level was reached (the whoop sound :-)).
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Xenix (11/04/2014)

How the hell did you invent this 5/4th funky beat! Well invented. Took me a while to notice it even.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Xenix (11/04/2014)

Excellent choice on intro! Just wonder if you got the first notes of the Battle Valley tune starting correctly? It should start off-beat in my memory.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 4

Review by Xenix (11/04/2014)

Nice but predictable. please check on the beat loop, you're just a few bytes off which gives a clipping
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 2

Review by LaLa (25/03/2014)

This is a very admirable effort, I quite like its emotional bend, and how this piece intentionally lives within its self-imposed limits.

What I miss is more dynamicity: I don't feel much difference between the sections that were probably intended to be forte and the softer sections. For example, towards the end at around 4:32 I think it should get louder, more forceful in a crescendo fashion to finish it off with a bang.

Also, this sounds more like a chamber string quartet than a larger string orchestra to me, but now I am really nitpicking.:-)

Great piece of music, thanks for sharing!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Grant (11/03/2014)

This remix feels like 3 takes which have been bookended into a single song.

The first 2 minutes of this remix sound like what the original Amiga version was trying to be.

The middle portion is decently composed. The original was a more emotive, haunting tune that doesn't feel quite right turned into something so up-tempo and energetic.

The intermission at the 6:40 mark seems to have no purpose except to stretch out an already too long song an extra 2.5 minutes.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Grant (26/02/2014)

Rings of Medusa re-imagined as a raver tune.

The original ROM was haunting and cries out for a modern, polished remake. This mix is the opposite of that.

Frenetic bass dominates the song. An organ opens with the classic ROM hook, and makes a guest appearance near the end, but otherwise the tune is mostly banging. Any other melody could have done as well in its place.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 2

Review by khisanth (20/01/2014)

LOVING this !!!!!! Industrial sounding awesomeness, that was superb in the preview and is even better now. Good work mate
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Ursina (30/12/2013)

Master of the tunes! Can hear his music all day long. So chilly, easy and it always pick you up and takes you with it. This is realy outsranding! Theres no better one to win this title!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by balloonhead (10/12/2013)

I listened to this song about 100 Times or even more. Running through my daily playlists every time JT in Space comes up my face takes a smiling position. This track has all that is needed to make a listener happy. Sounds with a nostalgic flare and a modern rhythm with a bodytouching beat. I think you cannot listen to often to this track.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Matt Smith (09/11/2013)

Oh. My. WORD.

I've absolutely adored this tune ever since I first played Harlequin more than 20 years ago (lordy, that makes me feel old), and I've longed to hear it remixed in high-definition digital NICAM CorBlimeySound for yonks. I'd honestly given up hope that anyone might turn their talents towards it, and then suddenly this appears, and it's magnificent. It perfectly captures the simultaneously bouncy, spooky, cheerful and mysterious nature of the original composition and expands upon it in truly majestic fashion; I've given it more than a dozen listens already, and it's just as fresh, exciting and joyous every time.

This is, I can safely say, my favourite piece ever uploaded to Amiga Remix, and by golly it's in some fantastic company. An utterly wonderful piece of work, and I for one would be overjoyed if the remixer were to give his take on some of the other Harlequin tracks, or indeed any less-frequently-covered Amiga pieces. Superb!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (08/11/2013)

Ziphoid hit the nail on the head, I want the epic Turrican chuck in some better mixing too.

Dance intro was okay, enough to get me interested, then at 1.30 The Turrican cometh and I was like I'M FEELING IT, THIS IS TEH TURRICAN And I waited for the continuation of more epicness but then @ 3 mins it was back to dance and I was like OH :'( missed opportunity.

Give me the Turrican feels dude, I know you can do it, just balance it out right, it doesn't quite have the same impact as the original or perhaps quite the same impact I want it to have. I don't think anyone has quite nailed Freedom yet, you might be able to give it the attention it deserves.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by ryrynz (03/11/2013)

Obviously one of the best remixes of this tune ever. No wonder it was used in the Giana Sisters:Twisted Dreams game.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 57 58 59