Reviews by Tas

Member Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 91
[LOGIN]

Review by Tas (31/10/2005)

This is a very curious mix and one that will likely swing you one way or the other. Amigamers mix here (as is advertised in the remix notes) contains Moricone's original tune Ecstasy of Gold but with AmiGamer playing over the top of it with his synth.

This ofcourse causes a bit of a dilema because the idea is top notch and it sounds right too but most of the hard work has been done already by moricone.

So how do you rate this? Well, you could say it just sounds great or you could feel cheated that this mostly isn't the remixers own work or even like me you appreciate it still but feel by giving it a high mark is cheating everyone including the remixer.

All i can say is that you download it and enjoy what is a great tune and make up your own mind it's value.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 2

Review by Tas (10/06/2005)

An impressive laid back piece with some useful and interesting drums patterns giving it a little life where maybe it would have been a little too laid back otherwise.

The only thing that prevents me giving this the RED smiley is that i feel something is slightly missing like an additional harmony in the background that emphasises the main lead and the already nice backing. It's so close to being awesome!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (03/07/2004)

At first i thought this is strikingly simular to the remix64 volume 2 version, but upon further listening it seems that apart from only a few sections this is not as simular as first anticipated. I still wonder however if at least some inspirtation may have come from the remix64 volume 2 version. Thats not a complaint at all, but indeed if the case is so then quite a compliment.

The tune isn't quite as polished as the volume 2 version with some lack of dynamics here and there and some of the instruments at times tend to be slightly dull sounding.

However saying this, it's a really damn good effort and one i enjoyed emensly and of which contains some novel breaks which arn't contained in the original giving the track a rather fresh feeling while also keeping to the ethics of what the original had in mind.

Not perfect, but not a million miles away... Love the really loud and brash ending of this one.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (06/04/2004)

Set the scene... Your in a nightclub playing dance music... However there's a small room hidden in one corner of the club. You enter it. Inside you find a dark almost intimadating smoke filled dance floor and eminating is a smell of wacky backy. A DJ stands infront of you playing some rather obscure sounds and beats. People are dancing in a way that could either mean one of two things... They are Drunk or most probable they are high in cookoo land and somewhere with the fairies. Somewhere within all this confusion lies a strange, almost captivating jolly cheecky tune. If you imagine that, then your as mad as me. But this is something you would expect being played in such a place.

The remix is very clever and gives you just that feeling i stated above. Some very nifty bass work and drums mixed with those ever so cheeky vocals. One major gripe is that the mastering isn't quite upto scratch and often tends to mash together creating a jumbled state of noise and distortion. However saying that i really like this remix. One day maybe Infamous will go back to this and clean it up a bit more. Til that day i will enjoy this version and hope that i will hear a version 2.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (20/02/2004)

It's rare such a well made tune can look at itself and be turned on its head with no other mission in mind than pure fun. Well its rare unless your Mahoney who should be well known to many by now for not taking things too seriously. This time however he joins up With Markus Schneider who provides a very well orchestrated background to what is a semi-serious/semi-not so serious remix. Add to Mahoney and Markus Schneider two wonderful female vocalists and then somehow pop in a version of Eurythmics "Sweet Dreams" and you have something that strangely works very well. It's fun and also quite intense at the same time. An highly original mix from mahoney and some great ochestral work behind it spells one thing.... WOW!!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (11/01/2004)

It's the main theme of Indiana Jones alright but with a twist and a not so subtle tiwst at that. The theme is there in its full glory but with some very clever links and sounds. The dance remix has a Ethnic feel which explains the title. Strong use of Vocal sample CD's somehow don't detract from what is essential a well produced track. Essentially its not an out and out remix of the sid but more a remix of the film but disregarding that fact downloading is a must. Technically impressive, and creatively admirable.

WARNING: Indiana Jones will always sound this way in the future!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (09/12/2003)

The track while there's not a great deal wrong with it sounds muffled and totally uninspired. For me it's little better than an original amiga mod. The overall sound picture is dull and lifeless. Nope sorry, back to basics.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by Tas (09/12/2003)

Some crystal clear backing samples to this one, very nice. Sadly when the lead kicks in everything goes to pot. Well ok thats a little harsh, but the main lead is very thin and should have been more audiable. It's a shame really cos the background sounds so very nice and clear.

Not a bad attempt here, but it falls short on some very weak lead sounds.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (15/10/2003)

HA HA!!! welcome to the perhaps-a-doobie band. This is just magnificent and for one reason and one reason only, for being completely different and being completely original. Arranged by the Hampshire Regional High School, haha! i never did this in band practice!!!! but then i never went to band practice ;)

This tune actually escaped me first time around and if it wasn't for some wise words from some of the reviewers i would have missed this. Now thats what i call entertainment!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (09/10/2003)

In a very underground feel, almost akin to Prodigy a very unusual yet creative remix appears. In typical Infamous style the the breakbeat which for me he sometimes over does works well on this occaision. The main gripe i have is with the effect that sounds like a muffled recording of white noise which tends to make the listener cringe somewhat.

As these types of remixes go there's little to beat it but then there arn't many of these remixes out there. Good/bad thing i'll let you decide... Personally i quite like this remix.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (09/10/2003)

As always with Sonics work the pumping baselines and great sounding drums work superbly. Unfortunately as always the main lead sounds bland and uninspiring which spoils what could have been a great remix.

It's something of a bug bare of mine with work that Sonic Wanderer produces. He always has great ideas and a great feel but a weak lead nearly always lets it down, unfortunately this remix is no different and prevents this from being one of those red faces.

Please, oh please sort out your lead sounds, theres a fan of yours just wanting to get out :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (09/10/2003)

This is what you could say is a really good idea let down by everything music stands for. Aweful sounds and an astonishingly empty feel. The whole thing sounds weak soundwise. However there's a little bit of hope here as if you can get your ears over the whole stagnent sound picture there's some really good ideas.

However good the ideas are, it's very poorly implemented which results in an unsatisfying and forgetable remix. which is a shame.
Technical Impression: 1
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 3

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

Lars here attempts to make the synth guitar sound very real and does so with great competence. The arrangement is very clever and the overall sound picture is impressive to say the least. The backing with some very clever attacking drums patterns is the highlight here mixed with some cool vocal samples. Although the tune actually succeeds for the majority of the time i cannot say overall that i would listen to this repeatedly, it one of those tunes you'd listen to and admire instantly but then would never return maybe this is due to lack of variety or something i can't quite put my finger on. Lars improves all the time and with the dedicztion he shows to his music i think there's more to come from Larsec, it's just a matter of time.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

As markus becomes more and more adept at being orchestral and thus his work behind the scene is beginning to show more and more within his remixes. This has much of what orchestral is all about great orchestral instruments and dramatic and then softer sections. Markus has come along way from when he first made his mark on remix64 and continues to improve with every arrangement. Although he has still someway to go the signs are good and at this rate if he continues as he is we will be treated to some magnificent work within a 6 months to a year. As for the tune there's little wrong with it, apart from maybe the ending which i feel could have been stretched a little more as it does finish a little instantanious.

Good work here, and a worthy contender for the top 10.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

debutee Andreas Roman tackles Hypaball in a synthy pop way using some nice choice of instruments and some clever ideas. It's basically a very close cover of the original sid but there's enough there to stamp his authority on his remix. It may lack that killing bite but overall it's a very valiant effort and lovers of the original will not be disapointed. Good start from Roman and i hope there's more to come.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (06/08/2003)

Oh those guitars are simply Beautiful. These are a massive plus point and the main point of the remix. The drums maybe a little over attacking really for such a beautiful lead. A more sweeping feeling i think might have been the order of the day with this tune.

However i actually really like the remix, it gets away with murder at times but gets away with it because your ears are so listening to the lead sound.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (26/07/2003)

Druid II with a dnace beat? really? Tho strange as it seems it works superbly and for me it's sonic's best remix to date. The break seperates the tune perfectly as it goes into smooth mode and then gears up back into the dance experience. The tune is a must for all dance fans.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (26/07/2003)

Keeping in touch with the original very faithfully x-formZ comes with yet another fine remix. The country styled hubbard classic has been conveyed rather well with some perfectly chosen instruments and clear crisp sounds. For those familiar with the original sid and who liked it then this remix is certainly worth while. For those looking for something a little different then this is also a good choice.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

Tho this remix is very synthetic, The orchestral arrangement shows that sometimes it really doesn't matter at times if it uses realistic sounds or not. As long as its enjoyable and well made which this certainly is and its a monster tune lasting just under 9 mins.

Tho i doubt the style of the tune will suit everyones tastes, it has to be said that those who are looking for something a little softer and more romantic then this is a tune that is recomended listening.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

A very different and highly original take of ocean loader 2 here. Tho it seems few are likely to agree with me here i have to say i really like this remix. Basically the tune comes in two parts, both are easy listening and ambient. The link between these parts is very abrupt but seems to be very fitting and adds to the charm of the remix. Tho highly creative it does have it's faults mainly in the technical part. Even with this in mind i have to say that i have really enjoyed listening to this tune and thats what it's all about right?
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

In typical sonic wanderer style i.e. dance comes ocean loader 4/5. The thing that instantly grabs you is the complex background and relentless beat with some crisp clear samples. Tho i do have a few issues with the lead which is mainly a piano. The lead at times feels a little thin/flat which i feel is a shame as sonic was very close to producing one if not the best remix of this tune yet. Overall tho the tune is very good even with it's few and it is only a few misgivings.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/07/2003)

An original subtitle for this remix of ghosts 'n Goblins, but all comes very clear when it starts playing. It sounds live, it feels live and if ya close your eyes it is live all be it without errors. The intro certainly leaves ya scratching your head, maybe some kinda humor which er didn't quite work as Juha introduces the music somewhat nervously. Juha certainly has a talent for playing the guitar which overlaps an organ styled lead. If it works is rather debatable. For me it's a good effort and a brave attempt but doesn't shine in it's own right.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (26/06/2003)

The title may suggest a jolly little tune but no. Infact quite the contrary. In a sort of Horrar final credits type of way the tune plays like one of those haunting musical boxes but with a little more substance. Tho rather simplistic in nature, it's a case of little is more and with that in mind the tune works rather nicely.

Overall rather nice without really being a real contender for the top 50.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (23/06/2003)

Giving a new life and a fresher aproach to lightforce comes x-formz highly inventive remix. The very effective relentless beat carries the tune very well. Added to this a very well chosen set of instruments has been used very effectively. X-formz remix often changes the notes of the original. While lightforce has been remixed numerous times, this version has more to offer than many of it's predecessors with it's new structure. A very worthy piece of work.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (21/06/2003)

A slow piano version of zoids. Its a rare inspired moment a musician gets and the idea and structure is impressive carried by some great sounding instruments and nifty touches with the piano sounds.

If i had to maybe say a negative thing about this remix is that it never really evolves and at times you get the feeling somethings slightly missing. There's plenty of good versions of zoids knocking about, and this version is one of the better ones. Seems musicians really get inspired by the piece. Downloading is highly recommended!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (21/06/2003)

This tune first came to my awareness when thomas asked me if it was possible to remix this for the remix64 V2 CD. Thomas was keen on the tune from the ofset, However i decided that the tune wasn't suitable for the CD because well it's a virtually unheard of tune.

Its great that Thomas decided to remix this for RKO. A typically Thomas type of tune here, always full, emotional, and delightful to the ears. A massive Recomendation for this fine remix from Thomas which bares the touch of Vangelis despite many peoples unfamiliarity with the original source.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (19/06/2003)

One of the main reasons this tune falls flat on it's face is the lack of quality instruments used And the rather laid back feel and simplistic nature.

As it stands, its rather bland and uninspired and has very little forward minded vision.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (19/06/2003)

I don't minimalistic, but maybe this is just a tad too minimalistic for most peoples tastes. I dunno i found the entire tune just empty, too empty even despite it's obvious intendancies.

It's an ok tune, but i have to say i could easily live without it.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (19/06/2003)

An interesting and experimental take of trantor here, with some unusual but interesting percussion. While there are some very good ideas to this very underground sounding remix, the overall sound quality of the instruments are deffinately lacking.

It's an adventurous remix that does deserve some credit in the way that Infamous has dealt with the tune. Overall it's an interesting remix, but nothing more.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (08/05/2003)

As you'd expect from the SID, Gecko has tried to emphasise the calming influence of the original with this remix in an organic ambient synthetic version here, while placing a gentle beat within.

It sort of reminds me of Ouwehands work with the CD Galway remixed, but without the heavy sid orientation. Maybe lacks one or two extra elements to make it stand out, but it's a very good attempt.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

1 2 3 4