Reviews by DHS

Member Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 15 out of 15
[LOGIN]

Review by DHS (20/04/2007)

Techically perfect, commercial techno at his best. I have no complaints: it features a lot of dancey tricks to keep the track interesting and it totally centers the objective: making a *real* contemporary commercial track out of a sid. I must say that maybe this is the remix on RKO that manages to better cover that task.

so:

-Technically perfect.
-Target centered 100%.
-Features all the tricks.

For me is a red, totally deserved.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by DHS (03/04/2006)

Pro:
I like very much some parts of this remix: it's general "'90s" feeling, the strong orchestral part at the start (it really kicks power out of the loudspeakers), the mastering. Also, percussions (crashes, "rockets", and so on) do a good job to movimentate the track.

Cons:
"Pauses" like the one at 01:45 don't work good, as they really push down all the hype work done before.
Also, i'm not fond of all the Vanguard lead going nuts starting at about 03:28 to the end (while the base is cool).

Overall, a very good mix, very well done on the technical side, with enough variations (even if somewhat i feel it to be a little undeveloped, expecially at the end, but maybe it's just me). If this is the "welcome back" after 10 years of inactivity, we can expect great things from Ziphoid in the future :-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (04/01/2005)

-Technically is very very good: every sound is well placed, both positionally and dynamically. Some sounds have too much stereo presence for my tastes, but that's probably only me.
-Sounds are generally very good, with the only exception of the toybox at the start that's terrible.
-Dunno if this is a 1:1 conversion. In that case, it should please the purists between us (except the ones with allergy to unz-unz, but that's a their problem, not your).
-Lasting appeal: as i said, it has nearly nothing negative in my POV, except for the fact it leaves me a cold feeling, maybe because it features no memorable moments (and that may be a flaw of the sid, dunno).

At the end, in my point of view, it doesn't deserves all those average votes. But tastes are tastes.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (02/07/2004)

This revolutionary tune by my deadly friend NJoy (a really solid producer) is heavily and heavenly based on the works of Seneca The Old (Seneca il Vecchio), former father of Lucio Anneo Seneca, and, expecially, on his marble pack.

After studying all his operas and the rethoric works of Fabiano Papirio, Njoy came up with a lyrics text very hard to be surpassed.

According to my (anonymous but very reliable) sources in the Latinorium Academia, the arrangement is a nice variation of the typical NJoy style, mediterranean-melody string, under the sea allusions, complex drumming from a last generation Casiotone synth, and the lead character wonderfully sustained by the nicest, sexiest and bigsized boobies girl i know in the south of italy, the mystical DJ Poah.

State of the art mastering tied with an illuministic vision of his underwear, NJoy managed again to give us an unforgettable rendition of a C64 tune (he only misses a bit of danish-producing competence to feel a little less idiot, but he's on the right path).

BTW: this is the last r64 remix from njoy ever. The same goes with me and my marbleish pack.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by DHS (15/09/2003)

Smooth, elegant, smart. Those words aren't enough to describe this cover. You *have* to listen for yourself. This one deserve at least a 6 months at #1 in the charts.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Well, Sonic seems to be angry here. Maybe is because he's gonna marry? :-)

Ok, the tune starts with some very '80s drums (Michael Sembello?), then the whole synth arsenal comes in.

It's a very pumping track that manages to make some really strange alchemic experiment: it sounds very '80/first '90 as arrangement and sound but manages to be actual anyway. I could haven't done better myself.

Overall: i fu**in' like this track! :-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Ok, we have wind, and, generally speaking, a bad weather all around. :-)
The initial orchestral sounds are really cheap, but the part is well played. A lot of noise in the background (due to the damn bad weather as i said) :-)

Things get better when a typical Digital Underground HiHop drumloop comes in, and works as foundation for the melody. Orchestral sounds from here get better.
But, hey, it's raining again. Or it stopped. Birds are here and there.
A lady pops up with his voice.

Overall, a nice track with maybe too much background, athmospheric samples.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Puffy continues on the path of metalaxing classic C64 oriental tunes :-)
As usual we have a very heavy, fast paced track... and, hey, this guy does everything on his own! Wow!

Technically, he's a very good guitar player, the drums are a little covered by all the guitar mayhem. It's a pity for an acoustic track like this one to keep the synth initial lead (imho) instead of replay it with a guitar.

There's some noise and some mastering problem.

Overall, another stunning track from our Puffy64 friend :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Larsec is cute :-)

Larsec is another dude who takes very original approaches when making a remix. This is not exception.
Ok, let's talk about this guitar. Thinking about the fact that's a soundfont, i must admit that it rocks big time.
Death metal rythm guitars at 03.00 are striking, those can break a wall or two.
Overall mix is very good but i hear a little of noise in the background.

Another must have from Larsec-dude.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Ok, also for this i dunno the original tune (sorry Markus).

I can't really make any observation about the technical quality, 'cos i'm a beginner confronted to Lagerfeldt :-)

The tune is very well crafted, the only thing i don't like is that it's too much SID sounding. I think there's little meaning in making a remix of a sid tune, using up-to-date instruments to make them sound like a sid. Sorry, just my 2 cents. That's anyway only my thougts, all in all the tune is very very good.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Also for this i dunno the original.

Political considerations aside, this track features, as usual when talking about Juha remixes, astouding guitars. He's really a talented player.
The whole arrangement shines for his originality.
Technically speaking there's nothing wrong, except maybe for the choose of some sound (i'd have go for other sounds, but tastes are tastes).

Juha is imho one the best newcomers in the scene as this track show us.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Dunno the original.

The initial unplugged feel is very good, it's a pity it's changed later, when drums and bass come on: synth bass and electronic toms are out of context, so is the reverb on the snare (too much of it, imho).

The solo guitar is very very good, so the spaghetti-western feel of the track.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Uhm... Another Delta. 2 in a row for ifadeo :-)
The thing i like about ifadeo mixes is that he always try to be original, while mantaining his typical electronic feel.
So, i think the initial pipeorgan is a little out of place.
Technically speaking, maybe there's too much feedback in the delay line he used, xpecially on the left channel (eg: at 04:10).
The main problem with this remix is that... it's a delta remix.
Delta maintheme becomes boring very quickly (i had the very same problem with my old delta remix).

In fast words: it's a good remix but i would like to listen to something different from Delta :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by DHS (26/03/2003)

This orchestral cover is absolutely amazing.
Huge, menacing, powerful.
The orchestration itself is impressive, Markus made this like a real pro.
The best c64 orchestrated cover since today.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by DHS (03/03/2003)

This remix has only one big flaw: it's too short :-)
I want more of it! Much more!

Trauma put togheter high quality and well chosen samples, mix and arrange everything perfectly and makes one one of the most original (if not *the* most original) remixes out there.

The final bits are simply outstanding.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

1