Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1660
[LOGIN]

Review by Kikstart (13/10/2018)

Having listened to Last Ninja and played the game hundreds of times, this loader for me was a nice surprise. you should be commended for such a fabulous remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/10/2018)

I encouraged Vaggelis in a YT comment to upload his remix here, too - and I'm glad he did! What I really like in this remix is that he actually plays every single note of the original on his guitar: the devilishly fast runs, the slides, the arpeggiated non-melodic effects - I'm in awe of his technique!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (12/10/2018)

The sounds and mix for this is really, really good. I just hope there would be a version without the silly quotes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (11/10/2018)

It's cool to hear this tune, and the execution is very interesting. Unfortunately, for me personally it falls apart in the middle when you get the Theremin like lead.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (11/10/2018)

Usually people go full out with the medieval symphonies, but this is a nice mix between chip and medieval themes. It's very faithful and has a good sound mix. The orchestrated sounds could be better and deeper, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sebstar (28/09/2018)

Acapellla style the beginning is really nice, i like the voice! nicely done! Don't quite get the negative reviews and ratings!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sebstar (27/09/2018)

I like the beat it really pushes me forward! Logged in just to vote it up! Superb music dude!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mikey (27/08/2018)

Love this tune, and this is not a bad version. The base line is a little too overpowered/dominant for my tastes, but it's a good boppy little version.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (31/07/2018)

The best wind of Last Ninja 3 so far, its a challenging tune. I can see that some of the instruments were a challenge. It resembles the original really well and I guess more work on this seeing as its now 13 years old would be great to hear from this composer.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (24/07/2018)

Earth is one of my favorites in the Last Ninja archives. This is a very good rendition of the tune that was much needed. It have enough "new" to not clone the original, and yet enough "old" to keep its authenticity allowing me to consider it a 'remaster' as much as a 'remix'.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

Opens with a very interesting combination of a choir and rough electronica, and later on it sprinkles it with some cinematic orchestra. It all builds up to a crescendo, which is suddenly interrupted by acoustic guitars. Then it resumes the more bombastic style, but we never really get a resolution out of it. Instead the piece just ... ends. I think a bit more cohesion in style would've helped tremendously.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

I am very confused by this remix. Starts out in a very nice, serene oriental style. But that lasts only until about a minute a half when there's an inexplicable change in tone and style to more aggressive electronica. Then I get confused even further when at around 2 minutes the guitars appear. What? Why? By this time the opening oriental style completely disappears in the background. And then all this is capped by the original SID towards the end. Umm, okay... Overall, this tune has all the hallmarks of a decent production, but the minute-by-minute stylistic changes make my head spin.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mike_c64 (13/07/2018)

This track made me create an account here, so that I could comment on this one. There are good tracks and then there are really really good tracks...and then, sometimes, once every third year a track like this shows up. I can listen to this like 15-20 times in a row. It gives me that special feeling every time. Thank you Shen Lon.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (13/07/2018)

For Last Ninja 1, Last Ninja Wilderness in-game is the most popular, having almost as many remixes as the rest of the tunes combined. In that heavy competition, Cytex remix of Last Ninja is the most authentic while still being a darn good remix. If there was ever a "remaster" album of Last Ninja where only one remix per tune is picked, this is a good nominee for the 4th track, and that is a honor.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/07/2018)

The notes are there, the arrangement is fairly faithful to the original, but it just sounds flat and emotionless. The electric guitar and the bass are both rather unexciting, for example. Needs more variation, better mixing, more vibrato, more effects... anything to make it sound more exciting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

70's Disco Space feeling here. Haha. Surprising style and works perfectly. Really well done. Who would have imagined.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Same midi as the other yes, AND it was made by me by hand in 1999. Now it is all mangled up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Sounds like you murdered my midi from 1999 here. I recognize it even under all these messy samples.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Not pointing fingers here but I think I recognize this midi as the one I made and put out online in 1999. Could be coincidence of course, but I recognize a lot of little details that I did. A bit messy choice of sounds on this also.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/07/2018)

I am somewhat conflicted by this remix. On one hand it has a high level of craftsmanship, showcasing many things (instrumentation, effects, breaks, etc.) modern professional productions tend to have. On the other hand, it feels to me like an ambitious project that falls short of delivering all the goods, especially when it comes to the arrangement. For example: awesome intro, it really got me going! But after the quick break at 0:35 it just continues on in the same style - I sort of expected an explosion of sound at that point. In fact, at 0:56 it adds some brass that sounds cheesy to me. But I kept waiting and hoping - until about 1:30 into the tune when I finally realized this just won't evolve any further. Which is a pity. What's there is unquestionably solid and enjoyable. Its style frequently reminds me of The Alan Parsons Project. But even after listening to it several times, in the back of my mind I just keep wondering: this could've been so much more...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our Youtube channel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our channel here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJVkKIRVWfI hope you are ok with that!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee69 (30/06/2018)

This is the best by far! These guys have nailed it! Every single tune just screams commodore 64!!! Monty is my favourite though!!! AMAZING!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (27/06/2018)

Johan Andersson brings Zoids to an all new place! It's rockin', it's funky, it's groovy and it's freaking awesome! Bang your head to this!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by firefly c64 (15/06/2018)

It's a song of power. Get out of my way until we get shot down. Everyone will die, lose everything, but until then we sing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by firefly c64 (14/06/2018)

This should be the opening song for any party. Kudos Hazel and keep up the really good work. This is awesome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pornkilla (07/06/2018)

Sounds great and I really love this tune. Perfect, stunning, SWEET! This was a main ringtone in my smartphone for a long time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by TbB (21/05/2018)

Nice arrangement and good sound!!! Keep up the good work!! C64 music is timeless music!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Breadbox Bill (20/05/2018)

An energetic, heavy Remix that leaves me wanting more! Dusty shows remarkable technical skills (1:04 or 3:38 are insanely good!) Awesome guitar tone, amazing bass, great drums, and badass solos! Enough said!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Johnshearing (13/05/2018)

Music from Gilligan's Gold, Kong Strikes Back and Super Pipeline, awesome stuff. Plus one tune I don't recognise! Seamless segues between the tunes as well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 54 55 56