Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1636
[LOGIN]

Review by firefly c64 (15/06/2018)

It's a song of power. Get out of my way until we get shot down. Everyone will die, lose everything, but until then we sing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by firefly c64 (14/06/2018)

This should be the opening song for any party. Kudos Hazel and keep up the really good work. This is awesome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pornkilla (07/06/2018)

Sounds great and I really love this tune. Perfect, stunning, SWEET! This was a main ringtone in my smartphone for a long time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by TbB (21/05/2018)

Nice arrangement and good sound!!! Keep up the good work!! C64 music is timeless music!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Breadbox Bill (20/05/2018)

An energetic, heavy Remix that leaves me wanting more! Dusty shows remarkable technical skills (1:04 or 3:38 are insanely good!) Awesome guitar tone, amazing bass, great drums, and badass solos! Enough said!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Johnshearing (13/05/2018)

Music from Gilligan's Gold, Kong Strikes Back and Super Pipeline, awesome stuff. Plus one tune I don't recognise! Seamless segues between the tunes as well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (08/05/2018)

It's like Mike Oldfield with Heavy Rock! Fastloaders do it again with their rocking skills. Bit short tho.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by allannoe (04/05/2018)

Didn't play the game AFAIK.. didn't recognize the tune.. but MAN.. what a tune!!.. pure genius from 2min17sec and forward.. the winning ingredient to me is the excellent bass track... in fact the tune has grown to become one of my all time favorites Ten thumps up from me ..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ice00 (30/04/2018)

Plastic Pop is one of Danko best melody realized onto SID and Mordi had extended it into a song that fit 100% with the original work. I really love the voice applied over the instrumental version. I use this song for phone ring-tone and usually I let it play a lot before answer to the call...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ice00 (30/04/2018)

It extends the Matt original to another level. Vendetta is one of the tune you listen for hours because of its gloomy atmosphere
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (28/04/2018)

This is without a doubt the best Spellbound version EVER and quite possibly one of the best C64 remixes in the history of remixes! Superimpressive and an amazing idea perfectly executed. Legendary.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/04/2018)

Lots of very nice touches here: 1) great use of the choir, 2) really like that robotic-vocoder sound effect that can be heard occasionally, 3) the variations starting at 1:44, 4) the solid rhythm and bass track throughout. Some stuff I am not fond of: 1) the thin lead from 1:19, 2) the arrangement becomes a bit repetitive as the tune progresses. Overall, it's obvious a lot of time was spent on this beauty, definitely a keeper!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mr.Killer Soft (14/04/2018)

Cool remix, good use of original sounds.... good drums, good rhythmic ... good idea finel remix with amiga version ofinternstiona karate 2... simply great!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by spazma (09/04/2018)

another nice music from darkman007!! Please write at least 15 words. Please write at least 15 words Please write at least 15 words.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (07/04/2018)

I personally think that the current reviewers are a tad too harsh on this tune. The choice of sounds and assembly + production holds really well together. Regardless of you've heard the original or not (I didn't) it's a total 80-s recall. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mensox (06/04/2018)

I ear this song more than 1000 times , repeat all time. Is the best remix for Out Run ;) 10/10
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Uglybob (31/03/2018)

I love the depth and range of this, recognisably Follin and Fastloaders, what’s not to like!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/03/2018)

Strap yourself in for a 2+ minute intro before you hear a single note of Roland's Ratrace, but it's all in glorious synthwave style, which is all the rage today, and since I'm a sucker for those (with all their 80s nostalgic syrupiness) , this put a big smile on my face.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/03/2018)

First off, I think the title of this remix should be corrected: this is a remix of Jeroen Tel's Eliminator subtune #2. Yes, that one is based on Gyroscope, too, but it continues the melody line - which this remix does, too, and in the same way. As for the contents of this remix, the kick drum is way overpowering. Compress it or at least soften it in the mix. The choice of instruments is also extreme: lots of high-end, lots of low-end, almost nothing in the middle. Also, there's no ending - the tune just stops abruptly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (22/03/2018)

Not a huge fan of the brick-wall-compressed sound here, but I guess that's more personal taste. This remix does a lot right: the tune is right, and it has spirit and atmosphere. Starts off owing a bit to Instant Remedy's version of the same tune, but then goes of on its own journey.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Clyder64 (06/03/2018)

Great ingame music. And hearing it in such a modern production makes it even greater :) Love this mix.....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (04/03/2018)

I liked it. Always good to hear different takes on tunes. Obviously it's not a banging synth so some won't like it - but no one likes everything :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/03/2018)

Very original for a Spellbound remix! Its style is a mashup between flamenco, Caribbean pirate, and a bit of Mexican mariachi, but in high-quality and in good taste. Really, really good job, Mano!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/02/2018)

It's a nice retrofuturustic treatment of Hubbard's track. The mix heavily favors the high-end throughout, which bothers me a bit. The arrangement really gets going after the full set of drums come in at 1:53, that got my hopes up high. However, the chords at 2:46 sound odd to me, both in texture and pitch, and they broke the illusion a bit. The entire track reminds me a lot of Tangerine Dream's albums from the 80s, which I think is the style Strange Days was actually going for. Nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MicMod (13/02/2018)

Very creative transition of the original tune. Great mixing and perfect selection of instruments. A classic done right. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (24/01/2018)

An epic and atmospheric dance track, fantastic vocals and great usage of the Green Beret motifs. I could hear this played in any serious DJ set.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (24/01/2018)

I loved this, the opening synth sound was sharp and nice, and when the beats came in... that made my day! A new style for this old classic, something I didn't think I'd hear. I'll definitely return to this one many times!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Zefrem23 (23/01/2018)

Deep, a little angry and drifting like a hot Tokyo roadster. Very nice use of the different melodies in an unexpected and delicious way. Excellent rework.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by bgmnt (14/01/2018)

Erm... Dunno exactly what this is and the beats on the first part are pretty monotone like in a medley and I was not aware of the name JT until today I must confess and I only knew these two tracks/remixed separately, so i was not sure about this. But: This mixing is so straightforwarded and dynamic and propelling and mixed flawlessly - and at least hyped by the community... It catches you, at least, even in the last minute :) And since it has the perfect length for DJs, who need a long piece of sound for going to the restrooms without relying on automix... thumbs up! :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (10/01/2018)

It's always a treat to listen to a SID composer's own remake of his old tune - and this one goes way beyond being just a treat! Even without your "cue-list", the music here clearly tells a whole story, and it is, indeed, very cinematic - from the melancholic intro through the quiet but nervous anticipation in the middle to the cheerful ending. The introduction of the harpsichord (or dulcimer?) at 1:21 is an unusual and rather unique touch. I quite like it! This is a memorable arrangement for sure. Its only fault is the sudden ending - sounds like there was more to come, but it was faded out...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 53 54 55