Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 721 - 750 out of 1511
[LOGIN]

Review by immacolata (18/09/2003)

Perhaps this tune has a lighter mood to it than I remember the game allowed for, and it was a strange but really good game, but ifadeo has a knack for finding excellent instrument replacements and manages to create faithful remix while keeping his particular style. I'd call it Radical-Orthodox remixing :-) It makes for some nice relaxed listening no matter if you know the original or not.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 4

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

Notable for it's happy, upbeat style. Matches the original well, which is a Whittaker tune for a forgetable Mastertronic game. As I'm generally very fond of ifadeos remixes, this is one that I'm also liking quite a bit, but I find it is a bit annoyed by the disco style drum beat, which is less pushy in the original.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

The fanboy I am, this is my current favourite of ifadeos works. The remixer follows the original SID song fairly accurately I feel, but makes a bold and rather special instrument substitution. He manages to catch the same general sound perfectly however, and ends up with a song that by far surpasses it's source material in richness and worthyness. I've listened to the original SID, but alas the song is from after I left the C64 for greener pastures. Therefore it doesn't hold any nostalgic value. If you at all value ambient electronica, with a small pinch of 80s retro sound to it - and this is why we come here anyways - do by all means do yourself a favour and listen to this piece at least once.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

This is one of the songs that I feel represents the distinct laid-back "retro" style of ifadeo that he has evolved over his mixing career. I had to listen to the song for quite a while before I realized how much I liked it. The original Baldwin tune is probably a bit forgotten, but nice and this remix catches the essential of it very well. This is an easy-going song from start to end, with a soothing rhythm and no particular radical changes in style underway. Everything slowly builds up to a sort of climax around 4 minutes - but slow and mellow, no sturm und drang here. It totally pays homage to the original, yet retains ifadeos quirky electronica style that I've come to like a lot. It goes well with many of the SID tunes by nature. I also recommend you listen to R1D1 Rheingold by same remixer if you like this song.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by DHS (15/09/2003)

Smooth, elegant, smart. Those words aren't enough to describe this cover. You *have* to listen for yourself. This one deserve at least a 6 months at #1 in the charts.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

The author states: People who didn't like my Delta work should better do NOT d/l this tune...

Well I beg to differ. ifadeo has managed to made this tune sound very like something wrung out of an analog syntehsizer of the 70s or 80s - very good and easy going. It's a fitting tune in the vein of Loops, Storm and Hunter's Moon. It is following the melody of the original SID but ifadeo has added lots of extra, quirky little instruments and passages that I like. It makes for a rich and saturated song without getting too much. I didnt particuarly like ifadeo's Delta remix, but this one just REEKS of genuine ifadeo quality. Much better than his first R1D1-remix - I recommend this song highly.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

Introduction gets off a bit bad with a highly uninspiring drum track, then proceeds to slowly build into the SID tune. On a few occassions you hear a Vocoder kind of voice saying something, while adding a nice effect, it just comes off as a bit cheesy in my ears. I guess it might be because I get painful flashbacks to the All your Base Are Belong To Us-flash video, which uses this voice extensively.

As the tune progresses the remixer plays with different instruments, but it only really gets into something beautifil around the 2:30 mark and towards the end of the tune. While Glider Rider is one awesome piece of SID, this remix doesn't quite do it's predecessor justice. The drum track ruins it for me, and in the end I actually prefer the original SID to this.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

Im quite impressed by it. I have no idea whether it is trance or rave as the remixers claim it is a tribute to, but it does the SID piece justice. The introduction and ending has some speech and whinneying which I believe is sampled from the old cartoon series - the voice must be Sunflower's. Makes a good transition to the main tune which carries on in a slightly mellow style with a rich assortment of instruments, which really sets it apart from so much other music out there. Perhaps the drum could have been made less powerful, but this is small potatoes. Overall a nice remix that I recommend you listen to, even if you aren't familiar with the original piece.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

As a dance-techno track this is golden. But as a nostalgic trip to ancient Japan, it is not. Great beat but if you close your eyes and listen to it, you can't really imagine walking through the lush gardens of Shogun Kunitoki, but instead, dancing in a modern club :-) It's a great track in itself. Good points in all aspects except nostalgic impression.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 5

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

In one word: Fantastic!
In many words: This remix is a one of a kind. It really captures the listener. Very professional sounding. The vocals are beautiful enough to give you chills. I can't really find anything bad to say about this piece. Fan-friggin-tastic :-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

Nice remix. I have never heard the original so I get no "nostalgic impression" Overall it is nice, but the reverb is slightly too "in your face". At some points the whole thing just drowns in reverberation. You should make the reverb a tad shorter. Also some pops/scratch was audible in the sound. But if you overlook those little technical details I like this one a lot. Sounds majestic.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by maindrian (12/09/2003)

Yup, big fan of this.

A remix, custom made for winding down and relaxing, which isnt something you'd expect of a creepy tune like Forbidden Forest. Its just pure acoustic guitars and sheer bliss. So go make yourself a mug of cocoa, find a big comfy chair, put this remix on and imagine you're sipping wine somewhere in the south of France or something.

I heartily reccommend this for all of those who want something different.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Overall, it is a nice effort. But there is such a thing as too much reverb, and this piece is a poster-boy for that term...
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Very very nice. But could have used a better piano sample. Thu current one sounds a bit dull and flat. Otherwise, top stuff.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Yes I agree with the others, this is pretty good, but the distortion does not really fit. Maybe you should remove "the edge" and just go with a clean sound :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

Lars here attempts to make the synth guitar sound very real and does so with great competence. The arrangement is very clever and the overall sound picture is impressive to say the least. The backing with some very clever attacking drums patterns is the highlight here mixed with some cool vocal samples. Although the tune actually succeeds for the majority of the time i cannot say overall that i would listen to this repeatedly, it one of those tunes you'd listen to and admire instantly but then would never return maybe this is due to lack of variety or something i can't quite put my finger on. Lars improves all the time and with the dedicztion he shows to his music i think there's more to come from Larsec, it's just a matter of time.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

As markus becomes more and more adept at being orchestral and thus his work behind the scene is beginning to show more and more within his remixes. This has much of what orchestral is all about great orchestral instruments and dramatic and then softer sections. Markus has come along way from when he first made his mark on remix64 and continues to improve with every arrangement. Although he has still someway to go the signs are good and at this rate if he continues as he is we will be treated to some magnificent work within a 6 months to a year. As for the tune there's little wrong with it, apart from maybe the ending which i feel could have been stretched a little more as it does finish a little instantanious.

Good work here, and a worthy contender for the top 10.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

debutee Andreas Roman tackles Hypaball in a synthy pop way using some nice choice of instruments and some clever ideas. It's basically a very close cover of the original sid but there's enough there to stamp his authority on his remix. It may lack that killing bite but overall it's a very valiant effort and lovers of the original will not be disapointed. Good start from Roman and i hope there's more to come.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by jemym (10/09/2003)

Well. Quickly said, although its not *entirely* myth this is my favorite Myth cover up to date, at least the most original...

Smoothly blended with Supremacy doesnt make this cover any worse. Both the originals are great, and this cover picks up everything that is worth to love in both of them.

This is the second 'blended' Myth cover I have heard, and the other (Glyn R Brown) are great as well (well worth a download), but in Glyn's version, myth does not play a central role (its more about Antiriad).

Anyway, its well worth the download.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (09/09/2003)

Very atmospheric synthey remix, yet retaining the original oriental feeling. Very nice work! This is my kind of remix, not anything too flashy and "original" just the real thing with great sounding samples and effects.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by carlsson (09/09/2003)

This sounds like (end credits from) a movie. The french horn/clarinet at 4:05 reminds me of John Williams, maybe from Far and Away. Partially it also reminds me of Raphael Gesqua's (Audiomonster) Amiga module "The War".

Unfortunately I've never heard Jeroen Tel's original music before, so I can't judge on nostalgic, but the the different themes from several SIDs (isn't it?) melt together very nicely into a 5+ minute musical landscape. Very pleasing!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by LMan (08/09/2003)

Larsec's Black Lamp mix intially takes a while to capture you. But when it does, it does so fully - and by the time the break sets in, you'll find yourself rocking your head, at the latest. Apart from that, the tune is well produced, with the typical Larsec-esque atmosphere. A quite different approach to a great SID, an overall outstanding effort.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

Outstanding drive and passion. This really makes you stomp your feet. If you like Techno and you like the Wizball main theme, then you will LOVE this track!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

Arrgh! This guy sux on the sax. Does he know the meaning of the word "rhythm" at all? Poor effort! Sucks!
Technical Impression: 1
Artistic Impression: 1
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 1

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

This Jesper Guy's a virtuoso on the piano, he creates a whole new piece of music by putting the Wizball highscore song into new worlds of harmony and atmosphere. Without (like many other arrangers) giving the impression he accidently mixed up the harmonies, he switches between major and minor in a different way than the original does and hereby surprises the listener.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by tom (06/09/2003)

Well, a typical Markus Schneider-Orchestral arrangement, but it works well !!
The arrangment is very clever in itself and the sounds are well choosen.
Only the bass frequencies are a bit too much for my ears, but that's a question of taste.
Put ya hands up in the air, Markus ;)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LMan (03/09/2003)

You cannot listen to Lagerfeldt's "Dutch Breeze" interpretation without feeling the urge of getting on your feet and dance. I just love those juicy drums on this one. The proper usage of SID samples maintains enough of nostalgia, while Lagerfeldt's production standard is obviously top notch studio quality. An excellent dance track, punchy, fresh, and perfectly produced.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by godzylla (01/09/2003)

I think the music has a dark park-feeling. I can't remember if this game had any "walk in the park level", but I'm sure I've played such a level somewhere. The reverb-filled spooky soundwaves and the mental images of a lone renegade smashing the badguy's face under a parklight beside a bench and a garbagecan. It's something sad, haunting, terrorizing and frightening about that... in a way... sort of... Dreams! This is what the sid-tunes do to your head. This tune gives that recall! Great!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by lagerfeldt (17/08/2003)

Well.. I hope I won't offend the arranger (and singer) too much by saying this is a bit on the bad side IMO.

It starts out with some really bad female vocals, overly processed with auto-tuning - but even the auto-tuning couldn't fix the problems. Doing vocals is a good idea but then the quality should be better than this technically speaking.

The beat is very reminiscent of a party keyboard's demo drums, and the whole thing is a rather messy affair sprinkled with bleeps and blops of the original song (which infact was a remix itself).

It reminds me slightly of a demo song from a Casio keyboard back in 1994. Sorry.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 2

Review by lagerfeldt (17/08/2003)

A highly original production, perhaps *the* most original on RKO.

It's quite a surprise once the beat starts but it all works better than could be expected, although after the first high point it never reaches another climax.

Top marks for originality, something which lifts this remix above most other songs on RKO.

Finally the remix seems to perfectly capture the untangible madness of a lunatic getting more and more insanely frustrated (a situation we all can relate to when trying to beat a monstrously difficult game at 3 am in the morning).
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ⋅⋅⋅ 49 50 51