Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 721 - 750 out of 1447
[LOGIN]

Review by nettuno (16/07/2003)

WOW!
(sorry, I can't say much more, becase my eglish is a little creepy, but this song is impressive...)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

Tho this remix is very synthetic, The orchestral arrangement shows that sometimes it really doesn't matter at times if it uses realistic sounds or not. As long as its enjoyable and well made which this certainly is and its a monster tune lasting just under 9 mins.

Tho i doubt the style of the tune will suit everyones tastes, it has to be said that those who are looking for something a little softer and more romantic then this is a tune that is recomended listening.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

A very different and highly original take of ocean loader 2 here. Tho it seems few are likely to agree with me here i have to say i really like this remix. Basically the tune comes in two parts, both are easy listening and ambient. The link between these parts is very abrupt but seems to be very fitting and adds to the charm of the remix. Tho highly creative it does have it's faults mainly in the technical part. Even with this in mind i have to say that i have really enjoyed listening to this tune and thats what it's all about right?
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

In typical sonic wanderer style i.e. dance comes ocean loader 4/5. The thing that instantly grabs you is the complex background and relentless beat with some crisp clear samples. Tho i do have a few issues with the lead which is mainly a piano. The lead at times feels a little thin/flat which i feel is a shame as sonic was very close to producing one if not the best remix of this tune yet. Overall tho the tune is very good even with it's few and it is only a few misgivings.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by craigg (14/07/2003)

These days it takes a lot to excite when presented with yet another Ocean Loader tune, but this take achieves the near impossible, hitting the right emotional strands and combining them with a kick-ass beat, driving home the power behind the original.

Occasional stabs at variation exist: the moody intro and slightly clunky, sample-ridden middle eight, but neither detract from the track as a whole, although any head-nodding has to take a back seat while the middle eight plays its course.

Some might complain that the track doesn't stick rigidly to the original arrangement for its entire length, but I don't really care about that. All I know is that too much criticism would simply be churlish when presented by a mix that just feels so good when you listen to it.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by gator (14/07/2003)

I'm tired of these uninspiring Turrican remix. The game itself had so many cool tunes on it but so far I've not heard one remix that excites. Why doesn't somebody do a Trance remix of the jetpack level from the first Turrican.

THAT would sound awesome.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 2

Review by Tas (11/07/2003)

An original subtitle for this remix of ghosts 'n Goblins, but all comes very clear when it starts playing. It sounds live, it feels live and if ya close your eyes it is live all be it without errors. The intro certainly leaves ya scratching your head, maybe some kinda humor which er didn't quite work as Juha introduces the music somewhat nervously. Juha certainly has a talent for playing the guitar which overlaps an organ styled lead. If it works is rather debatable. For me it's a good effort and a brave attempt but doesn't shine in it's own right.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by reactor (04/07/2003)

My hat off for this remix indeed!
They've kept the spirit of the song so perfectly intact, wrapped in all of those lovely grungy guitarsolos... Me love! One of the few to succesfully mix both modern style music along with the original soundtrack. And the intro is a chapter for itself, I definatly agree.

Congrats!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by davidg (03/07/2003)

A beefed up, in yer face version. Not so much a 'remix'. The original SID is one of my faves, so this is fine by me. Don't fix what aint broken!!!!
Bangin'!!!!!!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (26/06/2003)

The title may suggest a jolly little tune but no. Infact quite the contrary. In a sort of Horrar final credits type of way the tune plays like one of those haunting musical boxes but with a little more substance. Tho rather simplistic in nature, it's a case of little is more and with that in mind the tune works rather nicely.

Overall rather nice without really being a real contender for the top 50.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by hbasm (26/06/2003)

Man, this is just a masterpiece! It has perfect pacing. The sound is rich and intriguing. No cheap tricks here. I wish I could produce something like this but it's probably never going to happen.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by hbasm (26/06/2003)

Very nice, with this remixer's own additions to the tune. I just wish the rain would stop. I consider it to be a bit of a cheap trick to get atmosphere. It works in a movie, but not a soundtrack, IMO.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by putzi (24/06/2003)

Finally a remix in a style I never heard on RKO: dub style.
Deeeeeep bass and a fresh sound. Where is the sun and the Barcardi-mixed-drink?
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by putzi (24/06/2003)

The well-known tune from Wizball, which was jazzy and relaxed in it´s SID-state,
is now where it belongs: Jazz. Nice lifely piano and drums. I love it! :-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by maindrian (23/06/2003)

Why do I bother doing guitar remixes, eh? Especially when Stafford and Clayton do them so much better. As with their Speedball remix, there's a lot of attidute here. You could kick down doors with this remix. The riffing is low and heavy and hard, which in my opinion, can only be a good thing. Download it and enjoy it. That simple. :-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by craigg (23/06/2003)

Forsaking the original's clattering, atmospheric beats, X-formZ takes Hubbard's original track and forces it into the world of pop. With an introduction that puts one in mind of the theme tune to '80s TV hit Airwolf (which one often suspects this track is based on) the feel is light and airy, but still retains some of the atmosphere of the original composition. After the glittery into, the soft piano lead is joined by playful electronics; a stomping, relentless beat and bass line contrast these elements well, even if the latter is rather overpowering.

Unlike most Lightforce remixes, this version avoids covering the entire track, wisely lasting a perfect pop three-and-a-half minutes, and ensuring the listener doesn't tire of the bouncy beats. Furthermore, it adds some much-needed innovation to the pile of accurate but otherwise tired Lightforce remixes, and comes out vying with schema F's danced-up reworking for the bet remix of the track so far.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (23/06/2003)

Giving a new life and a fresher aproach to lightforce comes x-formz highly inventive remix. The very effective relentless beat carries the tune very well. Added to this a very well chosen set of instruments has been used very effectively. X-formz remix often changes the notes of the original. While lightforce has been remixed numerous times, this version has more to offer than many of it's predecessors with it's new structure. A very worthy piece of work.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

Downloaded this, listend to it and thought for a moment that it was a total muck up, the beginning line didnt sound right, but the actual sound used was interesting so i stayed on to listen, and a leftfield simple yet effective 4bar beat kicked in and things started to get very interesting very fast.
the whole thing sounds like its bouncing,
"literally"
it makes you bob along to it which i feel is a good thing, the synths used within are absolutely top notch, the whole thing sounds very classy and is a definete different take on the way lightforce should be done and has been done.
Its alot shorter than most lightforce remixes but what you have within them 3 minutes odd is a wonderful tune that i really do recommend you download asap.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

This really did get my juices flowing and no im not being pervy, from the outlaying sid original beginning right through to the synth lines, the guitars the drums it all screams to me play me! plaaaay meee!!!
if this tune was a drug it'd be a kind of heroin/cocaine hybrid.
Everyone seems to be doing zoids at the time of writing but this one definetly stands out to me head and shoulders above the rest.
very impressive guitar work (something mr juha is rapidly in my books becoming synominous for) a beautiful piano solo at 3:00 which is very well thought out and on the beautiful side.
All in all this tune is something special to me and shall remain in my playlist for some time to come. take a listen you really wont be dissapointed.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

Well hehe, i sat and listened to this once, frowned and listened again.
then i got out my platform shoes my flares and my marc bolan wig and decided to get high on some perspex or something like that.
The entire thing reeks of production values, the guitar work is tremendous very 70's glam rock and of course that organ!
it starts off with a little mic check which made me smile, and then kicks into a lovely grungy guitar riff, then the drums and a 2nd guitar layer come in that really beefs things right up and from there on its toe tap city... oh and theres a part in it at 3:15 which sounds like ac/dc which aint a bad thing
In all this is a well orchestrated, well thought out and rather funky 70's glam rock sounding sid remix.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by sorenladegaard (22/06/2003)

One of the best scene tunes ever on the C64. A bit jazzy, a bit "calypso" and a bit genuine pop. And best of all...Q has captured the original perfectly with his one-to-one cover of this superb tune. I highly recommend it.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by beathoven (21/06/2003)

"Thomas Detert", is that an alias for Vangelis? Are you sure you're not related, because this tune has most of his newest characteristics in terms of sound and songwriting:

Full, brilliant timbres, wandering, sweeaping brass "leads", steady and somewhat staccato rhythms, and huge sounding choirs. Massive timpany and (orchestral?) bass-drum made a huge statement - again, just as Vangelis.

This is a must download for everyone who likes to fall asleep listening to Vangelis, such as myself :-)

I really enjoy the piano part, and I like the soft yet brilliant brass section that pans around, but not so much when the same part seem to switch stereo position for each note; it gives the impression that it could be two different instruments. The snare playing in a somewhat shuffle beat was a nice touch.

The only really bad thing I could say is that by uploading the tune here, it may *really* discourage some others (like myself, LOL) to uploading their work, since we have no way of getting the same kind of quality :-D

Rating: Beyond anything I have ever heard here before in this category, although I must admit I have never heard it as SID, and don't have that particular part on my system. Looking for it now though.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 6

Review by beathoven (21/06/2003)

Perfect! Simply perfect. One of the few of this tune that also contains the most spectacular solo-pieces done on the C64 ever. It is extremely loyal to the original tune, something that I normally would dislike, but not so in this case.

I didn't realize that it was the original SID "squealing" the solopart until recently, but that doesn't hardly matter; normally I tend to like the solopart the most, but this version is enjoyable even in the most "boring" parts where only odd things happen.

Times of Lore is one of my most favourite tunes, although I never heard the original version on the C64. This version will stay way up on my favourite-list for years to come.

What can I say... Thanks.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by davidg (21/06/2003)

Classic game, Classic SID, Classical Remix.
The arrangement here really captures the atmosphere of the original as well as being musically very accurate. Of course it sounds like synthesised music, but the synth sounds are very good and the piece is hugely listenable.
This is the version that fans of the original SID will keep coming back to.
Well done.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by davidg (21/06/2003)

The original SID was used in quite a few Ocean games, but Rambo was the game it really suited. It built it the game up nicely so you really felt like blowing stuff up by the time it loaded.
Rob's arrangement adds a militaristic feel with the rock guitars and drums, with piano, pan-pipes(!) and other FX adding to the atmosphere.
Whilst others (esp. Instant Remedy) do great versions of the Ocean loading music, this is very much RAMBO!!!!
One of my favourite remixes.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (21/06/2003)

A slow piano version of zoids. Its a rare inspired moment a musician gets and the idea and structure is impressive carried by some great sounding instruments and nifty touches with the piano sounds.

If i had to maybe say a negative thing about this remix is that it never really evolves and at times you get the feeling somethings slightly missing. There's plenty of good versions of zoids knocking about, and this version is one of the better ones. Seems musicians really get inspired by the piece. Downloading is highly recommended!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (21/06/2003)

This tune first came to my awareness when thomas asked me if it was possible to remix this for the remix64 V2 CD. Thomas was keen on the tune from the ofset, However i decided that the tune wasn't suitable for the CD because well it's a virtually unheard of tune.

Its great that Thomas decided to remix this for RKO. A typically Thomas type of tune here, always full, emotional, and delightful to the ears. A massive Recomendation for this fine remix from Thomas which bares the touch of Vangelis despite many peoples unfamiliarity with the original source.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 6

Review by LMan (20/06/2003)

The perfect remix of this tune. It's the remix that I always imagined to do myself, but that's now obsolete because this is da shit, mon! ;)

OJ Oscillation turns the first ingame tune of Giana Sisters into a real dub version. Production quality is perfect, mixing and stereo panorama is well balanced. A perfect tune for chilling out on hot summer's days.

Excellent work! :-D
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (19/06/2003)

One of the main reasons this tune falls flat on it's face is the lack of quality instruments used And the rather laid back feel and simplistic nature.

As it stands, its rather bland and uninspired and has very little forward minded vision.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (19/06/2003)

I don't minimalistic, but maybe this is just a tad too minimalistic for most peoples tastes. I dunno i found the entire tune just empty, too empty even despite it's obvious intendancies.

It's an ok tune, but i have to say i could easily live without it.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Reviews - Page: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 - 30 - 31 - 32 - 33 - 34 - 35 - 36 - 37 - 38 - 39 - 40 - 41 - 42 - 43 - 44 - 45 - 46 - 47 - 48 - 49