Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 721 - 750 out of 1434
[LOGIN]

Review by putzi (24/06/2003)

The well-known tune from Wizball, which was jazzy and relaxed in it´s SID-state,
is now where it belongs: Jazz. Nice lifely piano and drums. I love it! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by maindrian (23/06/2003)

Why do I bother doing guitar remixes, eh? Especially when Stafford and Clayton do them so much better. As with their Speedball remix, there's a lot of attidute here. You could kick down doors with this remix. The riffing is low and heavy and hard, which in my opinion, can only be a good thing. Download it and enjoy it. That simple. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by craigg (23/06/2003)

Forsaking the original's clattering, atmospheric beats, X-formZ takes Hubbard's original track and forces it into the world of pop. With an introduction that puts one in mind of the theme tune to '80s TV hit Airwolf (which one often suspects this track is based on) the feel is light and airy, but still retains some of the atmosphere of the original composition. After the glittery into, the soft piano lead is joined by playful electronics; a stomping, relentless beat and bass line contrast these elements well, even if the latter is rather overpowering.

Unlike most Lightforce remixes, this version avoids covering the entire track, wisely lasting a perfect pop three-and-a-half minutes, and ensuring the listener doesn't tire of the bouncy beats. Furthermore, it adds some much-needed innovation to the pile of accurate but otherwise tired Lightforce remixes, and comes out vying with schema F's danced-up reworking for the bet remix of the track so far.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (23/06/2003)

Giving a new life and a fresher aproach to lightforce comes x-formz highly inventive remix. The very effective relentless beat carries the tune very well. Added to this a very well chosen set of instruments has been used very effectively. X-formz remix often changes the notes of the original. While lightforce has been remixed numerous times, this version has more to offer than many of it's predecessors with it's new structure. A very worthy piece of work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

Downloaded this, listend to it and thought for a moment that it was a total muck up, the beginning line didnt sound right, but the actual sound used was interesting so i stayed on to listen, and a leftfield simple yet effective 4bar beat kicked in and things started to get very interesting very fast.
the whole thing sounds like its bouncing,
"literally"
it makes you bob along to it which i feel is a good thing, the synths used within are absolutely top notch, the whole thing sounds very classy and is a definete different take on the way lightforce should be done and has been done.
Its alot shorter than most lightforce remixes but what you have within them 3 minutes odd is a wonderful tune that i really do recommend you download asap.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

This really did get my juices flowing and no im not being pervy, from the outlaying sid original beginning right through to the synth lines, the guitars the drums it all screams to me play me! plaaaay meee!!!
if this tune was a drug it'd be a kind of heroin/cocaine hybrid.
Everyone seems to be doing zoids at the time of writing but this one definetly stands out to me head and shoulders above the rest.
very impressive guitar work (something mr juha is rapidly in my books becoming synominous for) a beautiful piano solo at 3:00 which is very well thought out and on the beautiful side.
All in all this tune is something special to me and shall remain in my playlist for some time to come. take a listen you really wont be dissapointed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

Well hehe, i sat and listened to this once, frowned and listened again.
then i got out my platform shoes my flares and my marc bolan wig and decided to get high on some perspex or something like that.
The entire thing reeks of production values, the guitar work is tremendous very 70's glam rock and of course that organ!
it starts off with a little mic check which made me smile, and then kicks into a lovely grungy guitar riff, then the drums and a 2nd guitar layer come in that really beefs things right up and from there on its toe tap city... oh and theres a part in it at 3:15 which sounds like ac/dc which aint a bad thing
In all this is a well orchestrated, well thought out and rather funky 70's glam rock sounding sid remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by sorenladegaard (22/06/2003)

One of the best scene tunes ever on the C64. A bit jazzy, a bit "calypso" and a bit genuine pop. And best of all...Q has captured the original perfectly with his one-to-one cover of this superb tune. I highly recommend it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beathoven (21/06/2003)

"Thomas Detert", is that an alias for Vangelis? Are you sure you're not related, because this tune has most of his newest characteristics in terms of sound and songwriting:

Full, brilliant timbres, wandering, sweeaping brass "leads", steady and somewhat staccato rhythms, and huge sounding choirs. Massive timpany and (orchestral?) bass-drum made a huge statement - again, just as Vangelis.

This is a must download for everyone who likes to fall asleep listening to Vangelis, such as myself :-)

I really enjoy the piano part, and I like the soft yet brilliant brass section that pans around, but not so much when the same part seem to switch stereo position for each note; it gives the impression that it could be two different instruments. The snare playing in a somewhat shuffle beat was a nice touch.

The only really bad thing I could say is that by uploading the tune here, it may *really* discourage some others (like myself, LOL) to uploading their work, since we have no way of getting the same kind of quality :-D

Rating: Beyond anything I have ever heard here before in this category, although I must admit I have never heard it as SID, and don't have that particular part on my system. Looking for it now though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beathoven (21/06/2003)

Perfect! Simply perfect. One of the few of this tune that also contains the most spectacular solo-pieces done on the C64 ever. It is extremely loyal to the original tune, something that I normally would dislike, but not so in this case.

I didn't realize that it was the original SID "squealing" the solopart until recently, but that doesn't hardly matter; normally I tend to like the solopart the most, but this version is enjoyable even in the most "boring" parts where only odd things happen.

Times of Lore is one of my most favourite tunes, although I never heard the original version on the C64. This version will stay way up on my favourite-list for years to come.

What can I say... Thanks.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by davidg (21/06/2003)

Classic game, Classic SID, Classical Remix.
The arrangement here really captures the atmosphere of the original as well as being musically very accurate. Of course it sounds like synthesised music, but the synth sounds are very good and the piece is hugely listenable.
This is the version that fans of the original SID will keep coming back to.
Well done.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by davidg (21/06/2003)

The original SID was used in quite a few Ocean games, but Rambo was the game it really suited. It built it the game up nicely so you really felt like blowing stuff up by the time it loaded.
Rob's arrangement adds a militaristic feel with the rock guitars and drums, with piano, pan-pipes(!) and other FX adding to the atmosphere.
Whilst others (esp. Instant Remedy) do great versions of the Ocean loading music, this is very much RAMBO!!!!
One of my favourite remixes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/06/2003)

A slow piano version of zoids. Its a rare inspired moment a musician gets and the idea and structure is impressive carried by some great sounding instruments and nifty touches with the piano sounds.

If i had to maybe say a negative thing about this remix is that it never really evolves and at times you get the feeling somethings slightly missing. There's plenty of good versions of zoids knocking about, and this version is one of the better ones. Seems musicians really get inspired by the piece. Downloading is highly recommended!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/06/2003)

This tune first came to my awareness when thomas asked me if it was possible to remix this for the remix64 V2 CD. Thomas was keen on the tune from the ofset, However i decided that the tune wasn't suitable for the CD because well it's a virtually unheard of tune.

Its great that Thomas decided to remix this for RKO. A typically Thomas type of tune here, always full, emotional, and delightful to the ears. A massive Recomendation for this fine remix from Thomas which bares the touch of Vangelis despite many peoples unfamiliarity with the original source.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (20/06/2003)

The perfect remix of this tune. It's the remix that I always imagined to do myself, but that's now obsolete because this is da shit, mon! ;)

OJ Oscillation turns the first ingame tune of Giana Sisters into a real dub version. Production quality is perfect, mixing and stereo panorama is well balanced. A perfect tune for chilling out on hot summer's days.

Excellent work! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (19/06/2003)

One of the main reasons this tune falls flat on it's face is the lack of quality instruments used And the rather laid back feel and simplistic nature.

As it stands, its rather bland and uninspired and has very little forward minded vision.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (19/06/2003)

I don't minimalistic, but maybe this is just a tad too minimalistic for most peoples tastes. I dunno i found the entire tune just empty, too empty even despite it's obvious intendancies.

It's an ok tune, but i have to say i could easily live without it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (19/06/2003)

An interesting and experimental take of trantor here, with some unusual but interesting percussion. While there are some very good ideas to this very underground sounding remix, the overall sound quality of the instruments are deffinately lacking.

It's an adventurous remix that does deserve some credit in the way that Infamous has dealt with the tune. Overall it's an interesting remix, but nothing more.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (17/06/2003)

Yeah! Bouncy beat, tasty bass and a catchy melody. Making excessive experimental use of effects units, Rauli & Mahoney manage to spice up this remix without making it sound like a mess. Production quality is very high, as to be expected from both, Mahoney and Rauli. To sum this up:

I really really like this remix! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wwwwolf (14/06/2003)

Hmm. I have to say one thing first: This tune is one of the tunes that need a freaking good remix that's all the way faithful to the original. So in a way, I'm very glad that this remix was made in the first place. I hope it serves as an inspiration for the remixers.

As for this particular tune, I found it somewhat disappointing because it was somewhat short (The original is six and half minutes, this is a little bit over a minute...), and it's a little bit too slow too. Fight music needs to be fast! The rest of the elements of the song are pretty good; I like the use of the noises in the beginning. The instrument choices are pretty good.

But as it is, it isn't bad! I hope someone later remixes the One True Barbarian Remix. This will definitely do while waiting...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by almightyc64 (14/06/2003)

This is a great remix of the main song from Chimera. An excellent mixture of new sound with just the right portions of the original SID make this one a winner. The two tunes from Chimera are a couple of my favorite sidtunes to listen to, and I love listening to this remix just as much.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

Orchestral? What does orchestral mean? To use some orchestral percussions or some trumpet-like instruments? I would have expected something "greater" - not the Vienna Philharmonic Orchester, but something close to them :-D So, this tune doesn't match it's title. It also lacks on variation, because Matthias keeps close on the original, instead of inventing some additions. Overall: nice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

It's a long time ago since Oliver's last upload.
His style remains unchanged :-) If you like minimalistic style this tune will fit for you, otherwise you will have a hard time. The only problem with this tune is, the drums are a bit too loud. Overall you get a nice attempt besides mainstream.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

At least it's not a remix of the title tune. To remix this song into something "trance" is very neat, but maybe the drums should be more soften? Hard drums with soft leads do not fit well together (at least with this tune). The end of the tune is abrupt also, next time he should use a fade-out. Anyway, for my personal taste, this tune is better than the original :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

Compared to "Crazy Comets" the tune works much better. It's still not stunning or kicking, but nice. The second part covers the spirit of the original, even when I'm not happy of the lead-instrument they have chosen. At least they have follow my recommandation to upload a VBR-mp3 :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

Hmmm, when I listen to this tune I do not feel it works. It feels somehow lifeless and chaotic, the spirit of the original gone. Technically this tune is much better (recorded) then previous releases, but that doesn't influence artistic impression. So for me it's just "average", nothing that I will listen often.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

Welcome Paul to remix.kwed.org :-)
It seems we got an arranger with some potential. His minimalistic style will not fit for everyone, but does music need to fit everyone? He choose one of Ben's weakest tunes and turned it to something better. Also his SID-a-like drums bring me back to the 1980ies :-) I wish I am still back and have not to mess with servicepacks and other crap. Respect Paul, nice work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/06/2003)

Tekkno/House meets Peter Clarke.
I got a bit confused at the beginning because the speed is much higher than the originial. Maybe I would have choosen a more softer approach, but overall the tune works, especially when the original is unknown :-) The mix of electronic instruments, piano and guitars is really neat and well solved. So, without bad conscience I can recommand this song to all readers of my review.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by maindrian (10/06/2003)

Well, its a dodgy one this. On one hand, this remix bears little or no resemblance to the original, aside from the intro. And the intro isnt 100% either... On the other hand, its got a wonderful sound. Its simply a great piece of music, especially when the distorted kickdrums pound in at 1:13.

I've waited a while for a decent... Well, any remix of Trantor, and to be honest this was a little disapointing. However, it still a good peice of electronic grindage. Download, but dont expect a perfect cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/06/2003)

Paul did a lot of variations, mixed electronic instruments with guitars (yes, sounds like rock-guitars :-)) During listening I think, the last kick is missing especially during the first part of the song. The last part is imho done perfect. So, it's hard to decide to vote "very good" or "outstanding". The merging of the two Galway tunes works and the variety of instruments is breath-taking, because I had never the feeling they were at the wrong place or too much or shall replaced with something else. Also the Galway-C64-like instruments aren't a means to an end, they fit to the tune nicely. Well done Paul, I appreciate this tune and look forward for your next upload :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Reviews - Page: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 - 30 - 31 - 32 - 33 - 34 - 35 - 36 - 37 - 38 - 39 - 40 - 41 - 42 - 43 - 44 - 45 - 46 - 47 - 48