Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 721 - 750 out of 1521
[LOGIN]

Review by Tas (09/10/2003)

This is what you could say is a really good idea let down by everything music stands for. Aweful sounds and an astonishingly empty feel. The whole thing sounds weak soundwise. However there's a little bit of hope here as if you can get your ears over the whole stagnent sound picture there's some really good ideas.

However good the ideas are, it's very poorly implemented which results in an unsatisfying and forgetable remix. which is a shame.
Technical Impression: 1
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 3

Review by infamous (09/10/2003)

This is an interesting one, using some very off the wall sounds to bring itself across, it starts to me rather annoyingly with a noise i just cant get on with used for the lead line.
but as the tune goes on it gets a character of its own and DOES work within the remix, to me thats pretty clever if not very effective this time around.
around 1:35 what sounds like a cordless powerdrill then begins to play the next part of the tune and this noise was WELL ill advised and ruins the entire tune, having listened to this at least 4 times to see if i can get used to it like before but it just isnt happening.

the ending of the tune is pretty well thought out, using percussive noises as the mainline but AGAIN that cordless drill makes its presence felt albiet a little more in tune, but overall that one noise has ruined what could have been a rather interesting ride through sanxions dulcet tones.

This is a well thought out idea, whoever decided to try this had a vision but has unfortunatly fallen short with the instruments used a mistake many have made before and will time again, apart from that its STILL sanxion no mistaking that.

nice try lads.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by rafael (03/10/2003)

Well done Jan, this is an interesting and cool introduction from the Morgenstern. :-) I've always bee a sucker for MoN work and this version brings out that flavour of the original Rubicon title track. In particular, the perky chords and the very reminiscent drums and bass do the track justice. Only gripe I have is that it's a little too long, "less" would have been "more" here. I like your work, keep it up buddy.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by LMan (29/09/2003)

Wow! 100% pure trance. Here, the audience receives a perfectly produced dancefloor style remix of "Total Egypt", a SID by one of my favourite SID artists: TBB. In times where dance-stlye music gets less popular all the time, tunes like this one prove that "four to the floor" isn't dead yet. There is really nothing bad I could think of when listening to this, so thanks for all of that, DHS!

Rock on!! :-D
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by Skitz (27/09/2003)

I must admit that I hadn't listened to any of Tero Hilpinen's (TBB) SIDs before and while it was downloading I decided to listen to the original. You can see what he was trying to do with the original track and I think that DHS has taken this and produced an absolutely fantastic club track!

As a DJ I would only say that the lead in seems a little misplaced and the low EQ cut didn't really work for me - personally I would have just started the track at 00:05. Also, the 3 note synth right at the end (05:51) doesn't really fit if you ask me and I would have prefered it to just fade out. This is just the DJ in me talking as it would be difficult to mix with another track as is :-)

When it's gets going I am reminded of "Brooklyn Bounce - Like A Runaway" which is one of my all time favourite trance tracks - in fact I can't help wondering how this track would sound with a female vocal.... there is so much scope with the melody (02:48) for some great lyrics and and there is even a chorus (03:18) in there - I'm gonna see if I can think up some lyrics :-)

As always DHS has produced a totally amazing track which would not be out of place at all with any other trance track I would play as a DJ.

IMPRESSIVE!!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by tball (26/09/2003)

When I first heard the first few bars of the intro, I almost got goosebumps! The intro has so much promise and potential, which why it is such a let down that the mix doesn't build upon this, but rather mellows out in time for when the tune begins.

I would like to say that the mix is alot like The Dead Guys' Last Ninja Big Beatnik mix; it uses a similar brilliant intro, laid back lead and wacky percussions, but sadly without the punch of the former.

If you ignore the huge pit one falls down in after the introduction, the mix does pick up after awhile and becomes quite an OK listening experience.

As a final note, there's a synthesized lead electric guitar used once or twice in the mix, which absolutely doesn't agree with me. But that might be just me.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by gator (26/09/2003)

Once again we have a Turrican remix that is NOT of the best tune in the game (the jetpack level). Most of this remix seems generic and repetitive. I like the spacious stereo effects but they can't save this bore. It's not something I can dance to or nod my head to at all.

Will someone please do a Trance remix of the jetpack level tune.

Gator
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 4

Review by tomsk (24/09/2003)

Now here's a little gem. Somehow I missed this originally but having recently downloaded it, and I'm sure glad I found it. As the title suggests, this is a Kraftwerk style remix, and it's very effective as that. But the really clever thing about this mix, is the actual mixing of this tune itself. Taking the Comets bass and lead and then adding and enhancing them into the Kraftwerk styled drums is really well accomplished, but it's the lyrics and the way Makke has fitted them in ! Stunning. Compulsive listening, even if you're not into Kraftwerk. If I didn't know it was a R64 remix, I might even have suspected that my German heroes had gone all retro C64 !Great fun, great mix!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by gleb (23/09/2003)

this is interesting, but the instrumentation is much too mechanical and punchy.

However, it's a good original take on the tune. It's always good to remember that really anything goes when a remake is concerned, it's a matter of being tasteful though. At least you got the idea that it is a funk tune tho! Good try, and I agree on the punchy instrumentation, but not THAT punchy!!!! I don't want a bloody nose...
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by gleb (23/09/2003)

Upon seeing this I was thinking "you know, no matter what I listen to, it's not going to beat the original SID tune"

The thing with this tune is, it's a song that only the SID can really do.
The cool thing is that ocean understands this in his arrangement.

It's fairly true to the original, all that's really added are more digital drums. But because he sequenced this with hifi equipment, it's what anyone who loves the Firefly theme could ever want... it's like "firefly remastered" not a "firefly remake." However there are some neato little tricks and variations he throws in, that aren't like drastic or extremely noticeable, which is a good thing... they are appropriate with the rest of the tune.

Nice job!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by immacolata (18/09/2003)

Perhaps this tune has a lighter mood to it than I remember the game allowed for, and it was a strange but really good game, but ifadeo has a knack for finding excellent instrument replacements and manages to create faithful remix while keeping his particular style. I'd call it Radical-Orthodox remixing :-) It makes for some nice relaxed listening no matter if you know the original or not.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 4

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

Notable for it's happy, upbeat style. Matches the original well, which is a Whittaker tune for a forgetable Mastertronic game. As I'm generally very fond of ifadeos remixes, this is one that I'm also liking quite a bit, but I find it is a bit annoyed by the disco style drum beat, which is less pushy in the original.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

The fanboy I am, this is my current favourite of ifadeos works. The remixer follows the original SID song fairly accurately I feel, but makes a bold and rather special instrument substitution. He manages to catch the same general sound perfectly however, and ends up with a song that by far surpasses it's source material in richness and worthyness. I've listened to the original SID, but alas the song is from after I left the C64 for greener pastures. Therefore it doesn't hold any nostalgic value. If you at all value ambient electronica, with a small pinch of 80s retro sound to it - and this is why we come here anyways - do by all means do yourself a favour and listen to this piece at least once.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

This is one of the songs that I feel represents the distinct laid-back "retro" style of ifadeo that he has evolved over his mixing career. I had to listen to the song for quite a while before I realized how much I liked it. The original Baldwin tune is probably a bit forgotten, but nice and this remix catches the essential of it very well. This is an easy-going song from start to end, with a soothing rhythm and no particular radical changes in style underway. Everything slowly builds up to a sort of climax around 4 minutes - but slow and mellow, no sturm und drang here. It totally pays homage to the original, yet retains ifadeos quirky electronica style that I've come to like a lot. It goes well with many of the SID tunes by nature. I also recommend you listen to R1D1 Rheingold by same remixer if you like this song.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by DHS (15/09/2003)

Smooth, elegant, smart. Those words aren't enough to describe this cover. You *have* to listen for yourself. This one deserve at least a 6 months at #1 in the charts.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

The author states: People who didn't like my Delta work should better do NOT d/l this tune...

Well I beg to differ. ifadeo has managed to made this tune sound very like something wrung out of an analog syntehsizer of the 70s or 80s - very good and easy going. It's a fitting tune in the vein of Loops, Storm and Hunter's Moon. It is following the melody of the original SID but ifadeo has added lots of extra, quirky little instruments and passages that I like. It makes for a rich and saturated song without getting too much. I didnt particuarly like ifadeo's Delta remix, but this one just REEKS of genuine ifadeo quality. Much better than his first R1D1-remix - I recommend this song highly.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

Introduction gets off a bit bad with a highly uninspiring drum track, then proceeds to slowly build into the SID tune. On a few occassions you hear a Vocoder kind of voice saying something, while adding a nice effect, it just comes off as a bit cheesy in my ears. I guess it might be because I get painful flashbacks to the All your Base Are Belong To Us-flash video, which uses this voice extensively.

As the tune progresses the remixer plays with different instruments, but it only really gets into something beautifil around the 2:30 mark and towards the end of the tune. While Glider Rider is one awesome piece of SID, this remix doesn't quite do it's predecessor justice. The drum track ruins it for me, and in the end I actually prefer the original SID to this.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

Im quite impressed by it. I have no idea whether it is trance or rave as the remixers claim it is a tribute to, but it does the SID piece justice. The introduction and ending has some speech and whinneying which I believe is sampled from the old cartoon series - the voice must be Sunflower's. Makes a good transition to the main tune which carries on in a slightly mellow style with a rich assortment of instruments, which really sets it apart from so much other music out there. Perhaps the drum could have been made less powerful, but this is small potatoes. Overall a nice remix that I recommend you listen to, even if you aren't familiar with the original piece.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

As a dance-techno track this is golden. But as a nostalgic trip to ancient Japan, it is not. Great beat but if you close your eyes and listen to it, you can't really imagine walking through the lush gardens of Shogun Kunitoki, but instead, dancing in a modern club :-) It's a great track in itself. Good points in all aspects except nostalgic impression.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 5

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

In one word: Fantastic!
In many words: This remix is a one of a kind. It really captures the listener. Very professional sounding. The vocals are beautiful enough to give you chills. I can't really find anything bad to say about this piece. Fan-friggin-tastic :-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

Nice remix. I have never heard the original so I get no "nostalgic impression" Overall it is nice, but the reverb is slightly too "in your face". At some points the whole thing just drowns in reverberation. You should make the reverb a tad shorter. Also some pops/scratch was audible in the sound. But if you overlook those little technical details I like this one a lot. Sounds majestic.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by maindrian (12/09/2003)

Yup, big fan of this.

A remix, custom made for winding down and relaxing, which isnt something you'd expect of a creepy tune like Forbidden Forest. Its just pure acoustic guitars and sheer bliss. So go make yourself a mug of cocoa, find a big comfy chair, put this remix on and imagine you're sipping wine somewhere in the south of France or something.

I heartily reccommend this for all of those who want something different.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Overall, it is a nice effort. But there is such a thing as too much reverb, and this piece is a poster-boy for that term...
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Very very nice. But could have used a better piano sample. Thu current one sounds a bit dull and flat. Otherwise, top stuff.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Yes I agree with the others, this is pretty good, but the distortion does not really fit. Maybe you should remove "the edge" and just go with a clean sound :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

Lars here attempts to make the synth guitar sound very real and does so with great competence. The arrangement is very clever and the overall sound picture is impressive to say the least. The backing with some very clever attacking drums patterns is the highlight here mixed with some cool vocal samples. Although the tune actually succeeds for the majority of the time i cannot say overall that i would listen to this repeatedly, it one of those tunes you'd listen to and admire instantly but then would never return maybe this is due to lack of variety or something i can't quite put my finger on. Lars improves all the time and with the dedicztion he shows to his music i think there's more to come from Larsec, it's just a matter of time.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

As markus becomes more and more adept at being orchestral and thus his work behind the scene is beginning to show more and more within his remixes. This has much of what orchestral is all about great orchestral instruments and dramatic and then softer sections. Markus has come along way from when he first made his mark on remix64 and continues to improve with every arrangement. Although he has still someway to go the signs are good and at this rate if he continues as he is we will be treated to some magnificent work within a 6 months to a year. As for the tune there's little wrong with it, apart from maybe the ending which i feel could have been stretched a little more as it does finish a little instantanious.

Good work here, and a worthy contender for the top 10.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

debutee Andreas Roman tackles Hypaball in a synthy pop way using some nice choice of instruments and some clever ideas. It's basically a very close cover of the original sid but there's enough there to stamp his authority on his remix. It may lack that killing bite but overall it's a very valiant effort and lovers of the original will not be disapointed. Good start from Roman and i hope there's more to come.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by jemym (10/09/2003)

Well. Quickly said, although its not *entirely* myth this is my favorite Myth cover up to date, at least the most original...

Smoothly blended with Supremacy doesnt make this cover any worse. Both the originals are great, and this cover picks up everything that is worth to love in both of them.

This is the second 'blended' Myth cover I have heard, and the other (Glyn R Brown) are great as well (well worth a download), but in Glyn's version, myth does not play a central role (its more about Antiriad).

Anyway, its well worth the download.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (09/09/2003)

Very atmospheric synthey remix, yet retaining the original oriental feeling. Very nice work! This is my kind of remix, not anything too flashy and "original" just the real thing with great sounding samples and effects.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ⋅⋅⋅ 49 50 51