Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 721 - 750 out of 1534
[LOGIN]

Review by Tas (15/10/2003)

HA HA!!! welcome to the perhaps-a-doobie band. This is just magnificent and for one reason and one reason only, for being completely different and being completely original. Arranged by the Hampshire Regional High School, haha! i never did this in band practice!!!! but then i never went to band practice ;)

This tune actually escaped me first time around and if it wasn't for some wise words from some of the reviewers i would have missed this. Now thats what i call entertainment!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by bruce (15/10/2003)

This is fantastic! I laughed my head off the first time I heard this. Imagine Bubble Bobble played live by a Salvation Army band and you're getting close. Not a great recording, nor great technically, but top marks for the arrangement, the originality and simply having the nerve to make this happen!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by mattsid (12/10/2003)

Wonderful Track, the bass are fanstastik... very great work on this fantastik cover! better then the original for me :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by mattsid (12/10/2003)

WOW!!! YOU ARE A BIG MAKKE!!!

I Love C64 Musik and Kraftwerks! 2 Miths in one! Wonderful track!

M-U-S-I-K- N-O-N S-T-O-P, T-E-C-H-N-O-P-O-P! :-D
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by almightyc64 (11/10/2003)

A decent mix of the sidtune with a drumbeat make this one enjoyable to listen to as an enhancement of the original. Not my favorite remix of the Spy vs Spy II music, but it's a decent effort.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by tomsk (11/10/2003)

There's something about this mix. Ask me if i'd thought the style suited commando and I'd have said no way. But this tune just bops along, and soon you'll bop with it. Special mention to the drums and bass, very original and I suspect they hook a lot of people into this jolly version. It's old now, but still it gets a play from time to time because it's one of those tunes that I can't help but enjoy. In 2001 this would warrant an orange smiley, but standards have increased so much - maybe I should have reviewed this back then. Having said that I'm still listening to it - that's a great acheivement as a lot of tunes show their age with-in a year or so. Good work !
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by tomsk (11/10/2003)

I luv Lightforce me ! Reet luv it. Which I why I felt compelled to write this review of one of my favorite sids. If you took all of the good stuff out of this mix and cut it down to a more respectable length then I don't think this would be half bad. As it is, it's certainly not unlistenable - there are well done bits, but not enough to make this a smiley i'm afraid. I have to pick on the drums in particular which do sound...well, crap.
Most of the synth in this tune is quite good, but the remix element (i.e. the original non Hubbard bits) sound like they were thrown in as an after thought.
A shame really. Oh, and the samples at the beginning/end add nothing - perhaps another after thought ? Loose the midi stuff and get more creative MistaDistah, I'm sure you'll crack it in the end, as there does seem to be potential there.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 3

Review by tomsk (11/10/2003)

Most professional and most pleasing to listen to. What suprised me most is that this really isn't my type of music, but the whole package is so sweetly put together it's difficult not to like it. The backing in particular, stands out for me as a high point of the tune. This could have easily been 'overdone' and spoiled the mix, but it's perfectly placed, with varying effects so not to become tedious.
Suicide express like you're never likely to hear it done again - and if you don't like trance type music, have no fear. It's quite mellow and melodic despite the style suggesting otherwise - I think you'll enjoy it as much as I.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by tomsk (11/10/2003)

Very good. I love the warm sound of acoustic guitar, and there's no doubt this is played by a hugely competent individual. A little on the short side, leaving you wanting an extra minute or so, this mix sounds great and is possibly the best acoustic attempt on R64 so far. More like this please ! :-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by tomsk (11/10/2003)

Gosh, I remember downloading this with a very negative attitude. Having enjoyed other mixes by Glyn I was sceptical about this one mainly because I hadn't heard the sid. After hearing it, I was not only astonished with this piece of music, but it also changed my attitude in regards to listening to sid tunes I'd never heard of before. Quite a dramatic effect to have on some one I remember thinking. The tune itself is quite simply the most beautifully crafted piece of Sid remixing on Remix 64 thus far. Initially you have no idea what's going to hit you - the first couple of notes or so, then .... well, you know what happens. There's just so much professionalism to every element of this mix. Listen to the backing and pick out all those beautifull voices - wonderfully woven together. Startling.
The reason this review comes in so late is because I hadn't heard this mix for so long. My girlfriend was out at work, I had the volume pumped up and I fired it up. If you haven't heard it yet, please do yourself a favour and get it now.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by tomsk (11/10/2003)

I'll start off by saying I like this mix - quite alot actually. The build up of the tune and the way the drums develope is most enjoyable and professional. I also think this tune has a lot of originality going for it, and that even included the ripped 'Prodigy' sound. Infact the only thing that spoils this mix a bit is the harshness of the drums when they fully develope at 1:43. And again later in the mix. Just a bit too rough sounding and they tend to overshadow the tune when they play. However, judging by the title Infamous might have them just the way he wants them - so don't let my small gripe put you off what is essentially an extremely professional and enjoyable mix.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (09/10/2003)

In a very underground feel, almost akin to Prodigy a very unusual yet creative remix appears. In typical Infamous style the the breakbeat which for me he sometimes over does works well on this occaision. The main gripe i have is with the effect that sounds like a muffled recording of white noise which tends to make the listener cringe somewhat.

As these types of remixes go there's little to beat it but then there arn't many of these remixes out there. Good/bad thing i'll let you decide... Personally i quite like this remix.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (09/10/2003)

As always with Sonics work the pumping baselines and great sounding drums work superbly. Unfortunately as always the main lead sounds bland and uninspiring which spoils what could have been a great remix.

It's something of a bug bare of mine with work that Sonic Wanderer produces. He always has great ideas and a great feel but a weak lead nearly always lets it down, unfortunately this remix is no different and prevents this from being one of those red faces.

Please, oh please sort out your lead sounds, theres a fan of yours just wanting to get out :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (09/10/2003)

This is what you could say is a really good idea let down by everything music stands for. Aweful sounds and an astonishingly empty feel. The whole thing sounds weak soundwise. However there's a little bit of hope here as if you can get your ears over the whole stagnent sound picture there's some really good ideas.

However good the ideas are, it's very poorly implemented which results in an unsatisfying and forgetable remix. which is a shame.
Technical Impression: 1
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 3

Review by infamous (09/10/2003)

This is an interesting one, using some very off the wall sounds to bring itself across, it starts to me rather annoyingly with a noise i just cant get on with used for the lead line.
but as the tune goes on it gets a character of its own and DOES work within the remix, to me thats pretty clever if not very effective this time around.
around 1:35 what sounds like a cordless powerdrill then begins to play the next part of the tune and this noise was WELL ill advised and ruins the entire tune, having listened to this at least 4 times to see if i can get used to it like before but it just isnt happening.

the ending of the tune is pretty well thought out, using percussive noises as the mainline but AGAIN that cordless drill makes its presence felt albiet a little more in tune, but overall that one noise has ruined what could have been a rather interesting ride through sanxions dulcet tones.

This is a well thought out idea, whoever decided to try this had a vision but has unfortunatly fallen short with the instruments used a mistake many have made before and will time again, apart from that its STILL sanxion no mistaking that.

nice try lads.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by rafael (03/10/2003)

Well done Jan, this is an interesting and cool introduction from the Morgenstern. :-) I've always bee a sucker for MoN work and this version brings out that flavour of the original Rubicon title track. In particular, the perky chords and the very reminiscent drums and bass do the track justice. Only gripe I have is that it's a little too long, "less" would have been "more" here. I like your work, keep it up buddy.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by LMan (29/09/2003)

Wow! 100% pure trance. Here, the audience receives a perfectly produced dancefloor style remix of "Total Egypt", a SID by one of my favourite SID artists: TBB. In times where dance-stlye music gets less popular all the time, tunes like this one prove that "four to the floor" isn't dead yet. There is really nothing bad I could think of when listening to this, so thanks for all of that, DHS!

Rock on!! :-D
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by Skitz (27/09/2003)

I must admit that I hadn't listened to any of Tero Hilpinen's (TBB) SIDs before and while it was downloading I decided to listen to the original. You can see what he was trying to do with the original track and I think that DHS has taken this and produced an absolutely fantastic club track!

As a DJ I would only say that the lead in seems a little misplaced and the low EQ cut didn't really work for me - personally I would have just started the track at 00:05. Also, the 3 note synth right at the end (05:51) doesn't really fit if you ask me and I would have prefered it to just fade out. This is just the DJ in me talking as it would be difficult to mix with another track as is :-)

When it's gets going I am reminded of "Brooklyn Bounce - Like A Runaway" which is one of my all time favourite trance tracks - in fact I can't help wondering how this track would sound with a female vocal.... there is so much scope with the melody (02:48) for some great lyrics and and there is even a chorus (03:18) in there - I'm gonna see if I can think up some lyrics :-)

As always DHS has produced a totally amazing track which would not be out of place at all with any other trance track I would play as a DJ.

IMPRESSIVE!!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by tball (26/09/2003)

When I first heard the first few bars of the intro, I almost got goosebumps! The intro has so much promise and potential, which why it is such a let down that the mix doesn't build upon this, but rather mellows out in time for when the tune begins.

I would like to say that the mix is alot like The Dead Guys' Last Ninja Big Beatnik mix; it uses a similar brilliant intro, laid back lead and wacky percussions, but sadly without the punch of the former.

If you ignore the huge pit one falls down in after the introduction, the mix does pick up after awhile and becomes quite an OK listening experience.

As a final note, there's a synthesized lead electric guitar used once or twice in the mix, which absolutely doesn't agree with me. But that might be just me.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by gator (26/09/2003)

Once again we have a Turrican remix that is NOT of the best tune in the game (the jetpack level). Most of this remix seems generic and repetitive. I like the spacious stereo effects but they can't save this bore. It's not something I can dance to or nod my head to at all.

Will someone please do a Trance remix of the jetpack level tune.

Gator
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 4

Review by tomsk (24/09/2003)

Now here's a little gem. Somehow I missed this originally but having recently downloaded it, and I'm sure glad I found it. As the title suggests, this is a Kraftwerk style remix, and it's very effective as that. But the really clever thing about this mix, is the actual mixing of this tune itself. Taking the Comets bass and lead and then adding and enhancing them into the Kraftwerk styled drums is really well accomplished, but it's the lyrics and the way Makke has fitted them in ! Stunning. Compulsive listening, even if you're not into Kraftwerk. If I didn't know it was a R64 remix, I might even have suspected that my German heroes had gone all retro C64 !Great fun, great mix!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by gleb (23/09/2003)

this is interesting, but the instrumentation is much too mechanical and punchy.

However, it's a good original take on the tune. It's always good to remember that really anything goes when a remake is concerned, it's a matter of being tasteful though. At least you got the idea that it is a funk tune tho! Good try, and I agree on the punchy instrumentation, but not THAT punchy!!!! I don't want a bloody nose...
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by gleb (23/09/2003)

Upon seeing this I was thinking "you know, no matter what I listen to, it's not going to beat the original SID tune"

The thing with this tune is, it's a song that only the SID can really do.
The cool thing is that ocean understands this in his arrangement.

It's fairly true to the original, all that's really added are more digital drums. But because he sequenced this with hifi equipment, it's what anyone who loves the Firefly theme could ever want... it's like "firefly remastered" not a "firefly remake." However there are some neato little tricks and variations he throws in, that aren't like drastic or extremely noticeable, which is a good thing... they are appropriate with the rest of the tune.

Nice job!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by immacolata (18/09/2003)

Perhaps this tune has a lighter mood to it than I remember the game allowed for, and it was a strange but really good game, but ifadeo has a knack for finding excellent instrument replacements and manages to create faithful remix while keeping his particular style. I'd call it Radical-Orthodox remixing :-) It makes for some nice relaxed listening no matter if you know the original or not.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 4

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

Notable for it's happy, upbeat style. Matches the original well, which is a Whittaker tune for a forgetable Mastertronic game. As I'm generally very fond of ifadeos remixes, this is one that I'm also liking quite a bit, but I find it is a bit annoyed by the disco style drum beat, which is less pushy in the original.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

The fanboy I am, this is my current favourite of ifadeos works. The remixer follows the original SID song fairly accurately I feel, but makes a bold and rather special instrument substitution. He manages to catch the same general sound perfectly however, and ends up with a song that by far surpasses it's source material in richness and worthyness. I've listened to the original SID, but alas the song is from after I left the C64 for greener pastures. Therefore it doesn't hold any nostalgic value. If you at all value ambient electronica, with a small pinch of 80s retro sound to it - and this is why we come here anyways - do by all means do yourself a favour and listen to this piece at least once.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

This is one of the songs that I feel represents the distinct laid-back "retro" style of ifadeo that he has evolved over his mixing career. I had to listen to the song for quite a while before I realized how much I liked it. The original Baldwin tune is probably a bit forgotten, but nice and this remix catches the essential of it very well. This is an easy-going song from start to end, with a soothing rhythm and no particular radical changes in style underway. Everything slowly builds up to a sort of climax around 4 minutes - but slow and mellow, no sturm und drang here. It totally pays homage to the original, yet retains ifadeos quirky electronica style that I've come to like a lot. It goes well with many of the SID tunes by nature. I also recommend you listen to R1D1 Rheingold by same remixer if you like this song.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by DHS (15/09/2003)

Smooth, elegant, smart. Those words aren't enough to describe this cover. You *have* to listen for yourself. This one deserve at least a 6 months at #1 in the charts.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

The author states: People who didn't like my Delta work should better do NOT d/l this tune...

Well I beg to differ. ifadeo has managed to made this tune sound very like something wrung out of an analog syntehsizer of the 70s or 80s - very good and easy going. It's a fitting tune in the vein of Loops, Storm and Hunter's Moon. It is following the melody of the original SID but ifadeo has added lots of extra, quirky little instruments and passages that I like. It makes for a rich and saturated song without getting too much. I didnt particuarly like ifadeo's Delta remix, but this one just REEKS of genuine ifadeo quality. Much better than his first R1D1-remix - I recommend this song highly.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

Introduction gets off a bit bad with a highly uninspiring drum track, then proceeds to slowly build into the SID tune. On a few occassions you hear a Vocoder kind of voice saying something, while adding a nice effect, it just comes off as a bit cheesy in my ears. I guess it might be because I get painful flashbacks to the All your Base Are Belong To Us-flash video, which uses this voice extensively.

As the tune progresses the remixer plays with different instruments, but it only really gets into something beautifil around the 2:30 mark and towards the end of the tune. While Glider Rider is one awesome piece of SID, this remix doesn't quite do it's predecessor justice. The drum track ruins it for me, and in the end I actually prefer the original SID to this.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ⋅⋅⋅ 50 51 52