Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 721 - 750 out of 1459
[LOGIN]

Review by craigg (22/07/2003)

For some reason Jeroen Tel's SIDs rarely work when remixed, perhaps due to their already 'complete' sound on the C64. However, this remix bucks the trend and then some. Lagerfeldt's mix may not be the most innovate we've seen, but it takes the original SID and puts it on overdrive, and to great effect. The addition of the club-like intro is inspired, providing the track with pace right from the start, and a major improvement over the slightly slow build of the original. The choice of instruments is pretty much flawless throughout, and while the inclusion of samples perhaps borders on the cheesy, they're not overdone. Overall, if you're a Tel fan, download this. If you're not, download it anyway, because this remix is great.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by craigg (22/07/2003)

Sometimes a remix comes along that isn't technically great and strays from the original in all manner of irritating ways, yet somehow still manages to shine: this is one such remix. Despite various aspects of Hubbard's original melody getting butchered, the playful nature of this remix should bring a smile to your face (unless you're a miserable git, in which case it might make you chuck your monitor out of the window). The bleepy lead, overlaid several times at the end, and clattering rhythms end up turning this into IK - the 'cute' mix. If you're a Hubbard fan who can't stand anything but a true 'one to one' conversion then stay well away, but for anyone wanting something a bit different (and totally irreverent) the small download is well worth it.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by craigg (22/07/2003)

Lagerfeldt's entrance into the C64 remix scene continues to yield positive results, with this chunky version of Detert's original. Combining a C64 sound-a-like lead, beatbox vocal effects, and production values to make you weep (in a good way), it remains faithful to the original's melodies, but updates the sound, giving the track some much-needed life. While the original is hardly one of the best-known SID pieces (or one of Detert's best compositions), give this remix a try if you simply want to hear a good tune.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by infamous (21/07/2003)

Yes!!! Yes!!! Oh yes!!! This is what I've been wanting for some time, a remix of the brilliant theme tune to Robocop 3.
Someone else did it once before (pretty well) but this... this!
Yes!!! If this was a drug it'd be Viagra to a 90 year old.

"Come quietly or there will be trouble"...nah thanks it's coming loud, it's coming and it's eating all the cookies and u aint gonna stop it.

I like this.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by lagerfeldt (21/07/2003)

Another super cool remix by LMan da man. This times it's a remix of a somewhat unknown SID by Yip of Pure Byte, though one of my all-time favourites. The original SID is quite distinctive and very original in many different respects.

The remix features the drum loop made famous by Prodigy on their Music for the Jilted Generation album (track 8, Poison). It's a well wicked loop and doesn't detract from the remix to say the least, it fits perfectly.

Even the lead sound in this remix is a bit borrowed from Prodigy (or Chemical Brothers in fact) but again it's not an issue as the song itself is miles away from said inspiration sources.

Some nice breaks and bits keep the mix from getting repetitive, and as in many of LMan's other remixes the humour simply shines through.

Overall a superb remix but perhaps you need to know or listen to the original SID first in order to appreciate the music a bit more.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by lagerfeldt (21/07/2003)

Great remix by LMan. Very club oriented with a beat & bass that just pumps & jumps. The bass is a very 80's synth bass sounding a bit like a Juno-106 perhaps. The flow is particularly good with a nice quick build up and some very important breakdowns and instant beat return points that are quite refreshing and sometimes even manage to surprise a bit.

The most important thing about this remix is the very obvious humour that is present everywhere. From the in-your-face samples of fighting to the more subtle constant bounce of the whole remix which gives it a very light & bubbly texture.

Thumbs up!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by lagerfeldt (21/07/2003)

The title "Mann im Mond" is perhaps a reference to the space setting of Delta, otherwise it's lost on me since the remix iteself doesn't have any particular sound to it that otherwise explains the title. :-) In fact this is hardly a remix in the truest sense, more a 1:1 remake of the original Rob Hubbard theme.

The technical impression is above average with nice panorama spacing, judicial use of reverb, and a soft but bouncy bass line sound. The drums are slightly annoying however, with a micro zap acting as closed hi hat dub, a somewhat phasing kick drum and a standard 606/808 type gated reverb snare drum. The major niggle however, is the lead sound which is a bit weedy sine tone which lacks some intensity and presence in the mix. Perhaps a choice of a more pronounced lead synth would have added a lot to the overall impression of this rendition in order to highten the initial impact.

Since this is a 1:1 cover version not much original stuff has been added to the song, no new themes or change of underlying chords - even the arrangement progression or arpeggiator synth haven't been tingled with. Merely sporadic use of some phasing and panning effects thrown in for good measure.

I feel a remix should always add something or change the perspective of the song in order to justify itself.

The overall impression is that of a technical adequate remake that doesn't add anything new to a classic tune. Not bad just lacking originality.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Sonic Wanderer (20/07/2003)

A very well mixed remix indeed. Though I don't know the original, I must confess.
Technically this is almost as perfect as mixage could get, and choise of instruments is 100% heads-on. =)
There's plenty of bass, mid-range and treble to go around, and the balance of the mixage are top-notch.
The only downside I can think about is that the tune quite quickly get's somewhat repetitive, but fort some reason the bassline keeps my feet taping all the way through no matter what. =)
A must download!!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by illmatic (20/07/2003)

Fluent and melodic, simply a very well done remix, with a killer bassline. The original was also one of my favourites, back in the days. Awesome!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by infamous (17/07/2003)

This is something special. this is something very special, the production on this is tremendous, the piano is beautifully tuned to perfection, that voice....hngggggggg!!!!!! id love to wake up to that voice every morning!
and for a few weeks i did, i have to admit i was so addicted to this tune that i had it on my computer alarm, i played it before work, i let my mum hear it, my friends have all heard it on my walkman it goes everywere with me.
this is just one seriously class tune, made by a seriously classy musician who deserves to be placed in the annex of fame for the rest of his life.

absolutely superb job, beautiful vocals (cant shut up about the vocals!)... excellently done remix, that is a break from the large amount of comic bakery techno remixes we seem to have alot of.
basically its beautiful and all that "jazz" ;-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by infamous (17/07/2003)

Firelord, a game that i didnt really enjoy very much, but it had a soundtrack which fitted in beautifully to the entire theme, alot of people hold that particular tune as one of the best on the c64, personally it isnt my favorite but it does come to my list.
so here is a remix from someone who does seem naturally gifted musically and does enjoy making some interesting soundscapes. so i download it.
i sit and listen and from the 1st chord i thought hmm someone else done this before in the same style, but wait....the 1st hard chord strike hits you and then you realise NO ONES done this this good here before...before you on your winamp, your mediaplayer, sonique whatever your using is a unique peice of remixing, its exactly what the original composer was thinking and its been done so beautifully.
Its hard very hard to believe it was done on fruityloops (a program i always thought was only really tailor made for techno music) but hats off to glyn for proving it to be a very special bit of kit, if you know what your doing.
It has everything going for it and i recommend anyone downloading this whether you enjoy dance, rock or whatever music you listen to, there is no way anyone cannot appreciate the time and effort that clearly went into this remix and it deserves to be #1 remix of all time....if it already hasnt been made so.

top job glyn :-).
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by nettuno (17/07/2003)

Sorry, this review is in Italian, but I can't do anymore..
Musicalmente prlando il brano non e' un granché, ma le capacità dell'esecutore riuniscono magistralmente le sonorità originarie del Commodore 64 con una tecnica priva di difetti e sbavature. Un bel levoro insomma =)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by nettuno (16/07/2003)

WOW!
(sorry, I can't say much more, becase my eglish is a little creepy, but this song is impressive...)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

Tho this remix is very synthetic, The orchestral arrangement shows that sometimes it really doesn't matter at times if it uses realistic sounds or not. As long as its enjoyable and well made which this certainly is and its a monster tune lasting just under 9 mins.

Tho i doubt the style of the tune will suit everyones tastes, it has to be said that those who are looking for something a little softer and more romantic then this is a tune that is recomended listening.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

A very different and highly original take of ocean loader 2 here. Tho it seems few are likely to agree with me here i have to say i really like this remix. Basically the tune comes in two parts, both are easy listening and ambient. The link between these parts is very abrupt but seems to be very fitting and adds to the charm of the remix. Tho highly creative it does have it's faults mainly in the technical part. Even with this in mind i have to say that i have really enjoyed listening to this tune and thats what it's all about right?
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by Tas (15/07/2003)

In typical sonic wanderer style i.e. dance comes ocean loader 4/5. The thing that instantly grabs you is the complex background and relentless beat with some crisp clear samples. Tho i do have a few issues with the lead which is mainly a piano. The lead at times feels a little thin/flat which i feel is a shame as sonic was very close to producing one if not the best remix of this tune yet. Overall tho the tune is very good even with it's few and it is only a few misgivings.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by craigg (14/07/2003)

These days it takes a lot to excite when presented with yet another Ocean Loader tune, but this take achieves the near impossible, hitting the right emotional strands and combining them with a kick-ass beat, driving home the power behind the original.

Occasional stabs at variation exist: the moody intro and slightly clunky, sample-ridden middle eight, but neither detract from the track as a whole, although any head-nodding has to take a back seat while the middle eight plays its course.

Some might complain that the track doesn't stick rigidly to the original arrangement for its entire length, but I don't really care about that. All I know is that too much criticism would simply be churlish when presented by a mix that just feels so good when you listen to it.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by gator (14/07/2003)

I'm tired of these uninspiring Turrican remix. The game itself had so many cool tunes on it but so far I've not heard one remix that excites. Why doesn't somebody do a Trance remix of the jetpack level from the first Turrican.

THAT would sound awesome.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 2

Review by Tas (11/07/2003)

An original subtitle for this remix of ghosts 'n Goblins, but all comes very clear when it starts playing. It sounds live, it feels live and if ya close your eyes it is live all be it without errors. The intro certainly leaves ya scratching your head, maybe some kinda humor which er didn't quite work as Juha introduces the music somewhat nervously. Juha certainly has a talent for playing the guitar which overlaps an organ styled lead. If it works is rather debatable. For me it's a good effort and a brave attempt but doesn't shine in it's own right.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by reactor (04/07/2003)

My hat off for this remix indeed!
They've kept the spirit of the song so perfectly intact, wrapped in all of those lovely grungy guitarsolos... Me love! One of the few to succesfully mix both modern style music along with the original soundtrack. And the intro is a chapter for itself, I definatly agree.

Congrats!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by davidg (03/07/2003)

A beefed up, in yer face version. Not so much a 'remix'. The original SID is one of my faves, so this is fine by me. Don't fix what aint broken!!!!
Bangin'!!!!!!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (26/06/2003)

The title may suggest a jolly little tune but no. Infact quite the contrary. In a sort of Horrar final credits type of way the tune plays like one of those haunting musical boxes but with a little more substance. Tho rather simplistic in nature, it's a case of little is more and with that in mind the tune works rather nicely.

Overall rather nice without really being a real contender for the top 50.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by hbasm (26/06/2003)

Man, this is just a masterpiece! It has perfect pacing. The sound is rich and intriguing. No cheap tricks here. I wish I could produce something like this but it's probably never going to happen.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by hbasm (26/06/2003)

Very nice, with this remixer's own additions to the tune. I just wish the rain would stop. I consider it to be a bit of a cheap trick to get atmosphere. It works in a movie, but not a soundtrack, IMO.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by putzi (24/06/2003)

Finally a remix in a style I never heard on RKO: dub style.
Deeeeeep bass and a fresh sound. Where is the sun and the Barcardi-mixed-drink?
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by putzi (24/06/2003)

The well-known tune from Wizball, which was jazzy and relaxed in it´s SID-state,
is now where it belongs: Jazz. Nice lifely piano and drums. I love it! :-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by maindrian (23/06/2003)

Why do I bother doing guitar remixes, eh? Especially when Stafford and Clayton do them so much better. As with their Speedball remix, there's a lot of attidute here. You could kick down doors with this remix. The riffing is low and heavy and hard, which in my opinion, can only be a good thing. Download it and enjoy it. That simple. :-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by craigg (23/06/2003)

Forsaking the original's clattering, atmospheric beats, X-formZ takes Hubbard's original track and forces it into the world of pop. With an introduction that puts one in mind of the theme tune to '80s TV hit Airwolf (which one often suspects this track is based on) the feel is light and airy, but still retains some of the atmosphere of the original composition. After the glittery into, the soft piano lead is joined by playful electronics; a stomping, relentless beat and bass line contrast these elements well, even if the latter is rather overpowering.

Unlike most Lightforce remixes, this version avoids covering the entire track, wisely lasting a perfect pop three-and-a-half minutes, and ensuring the listener doesn't tire of the bouncy beats. Furthermore, it adds some much-needed innovation to the pile of accurate but otherwise tired Lightforce remixes, and comes out vying with schema F's danced-up reworking for the bet remix of the track so far.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (23/06/2003)

Giving a new life and a fresher aproach to lightforce comes x-formz highly inventive remix. The very effective relentless beat carries the tune very well. Added to this a very well chosen set of instruments has been used very effectively. X-formz remix often changes the notes of the original. While lightforce has been remixed numerous times, this version has more to offer than many of it's predecessors with it's new structure. A very worthy piece of work.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

Downloaded this, listend to it and thought for a moment that it was a total muck up, the beginning line didnt sound right, but the actual sound used was interesting so i stayed on to listen, and a leftfield simple yet effective 4bar beat kicked in and things started to get very interesting very fast.
the whole thing sounds like its bouncing,
"literally"
it makes you bob along to it which i feel is a good thing, the synths used within are absolutely top notch, the whole thing sounds very classy and is a definete different take on the way lightforce should be done and has been done.
Its alot shorter than most lightforce remixes but what you have within them 3 minutes odd is a wonderful tune that i really do recommend you download asap.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Reviews - Page: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 - 30 - 31 - 32 - 33 - 34 - 35 - 36 - 37 - 38 - 39 - 40 - 41 - 42 - 43 - 44 - 45 - 46 - 47 - 48 - 49