Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 721 - 750 out of 1503
[LOGIN]

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

As a dance-techno track this is golden. But as a nostalgic trip to ancient Japan, it is not. Great beat but if you close your eyes and listen to it, you can't really imagine walking through the lush gardens of Shogun Kunitoki, but instead, dancing in a modern club :-) It's a great track in itself. Good points in all aspects except nostalgic impression.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 5

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

In one word: Fantastic!
In many words: This remix is a one of a kind. It really captures the listener. Very professional sounding. The vocals are beautiful enough to give you chills. I can't really find anything bad to say about this piece. Fan-friggin-tastic :-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (12/09/2003)

Nice remix. I have never heard the original so I get no "nostalgic impression" Overall it is nice, but the reverb is slightly too "in your face". At some points the whole thing just drowns in reverberation. You should make the reverb a tad shorter. Also some pops/scratch was audible in the sound. But if you overlook those little technical details I like this one a lot. Sounds majestic.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by maindrian (12/09/2003)

Yup, big fan of this.

A remix, custom made for winding down and relaxing, which isnt something you'd expect of a creepy tune like Forbidden Forest. Its just pure acoustic guitars and sheer bliss. So go make yourself a mug of cocoa, find a big comfy chair, put this remix on and imagine you're sipping wine somewhere in the south of France or something.

I heartily reccommend this for all of those who want something different.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Overall, it is a nice effort. But there is such a thing as too much reverb, and this piece is a poster-boy for that term...
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Very very nice. But could have used a better piano sample. Thu current one sounds a bit dull and flat. Otherwise, top stuff.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by xgener8or (11/09/2003)

Yes I agree with the others, this is pretty good, but the distortion does not really fit. Maybe you should remove "the edge" and just go with a clean sound :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

Lars here attempts to make the synth guitar sound very real and does so with great competence. The arrangement is very clever and the overall sound picture is impressive to say the least. The backing with some very clever attacking drums patterns is the highlight here mixed with some cool vocal samples. Although the tune actually succeeds for the majority of the time i cannot say overall that i would listen to this repeatedly, it one of those tunes you'd listen to and admire instantly but then would never return maybe this is due to lack of variety or something i can't quite put my finger on. Lars improves all the time and with the dedicztion he shows to his music i think there's more to come from Larsec, it's just a matter of time.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

As markus becomes more and more adept at being orchestral and thus his work behind the scene is beginning to show more and more within his remixes. This has much of what orchestral is all about great orchestral instruments and dramatic and then softer sections. Markus has come along way from when he first made his mark on remix64 and continues to improve with every arrangement. Although he has still someway to go the signs are good and at this rate if he continues as he is we will be treated to some magnificent work within a 6 months to a year. As for the tune there's little wrong with it, apart from maybe the ending which i feel could have been stretched a little more as it does finish a little instantanious.

Good work here, and a worthy contender for the top 10.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (11/09/2003)

debutee Andreas Roman tackles Hypaball in a synthy pop way using some nice choice of instruments and some clever ideas. It's basically a very close cover of the original sid but there's enough there to stamp his authority on his remix. It may lack that killing bite but overall it's a very valiant effort and lovers of the original will not be disapointed. Good start from Roman and i hope there's more to come.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by jemym (10/09/2003)

Well. Quickly said, although its not *entirely* myth this is my favorite Myth cover up to date, at least the most original...

Smoothly blended with Supremacy doesnt make this cover any worse. Both the originals are great, and this cover picks up everything that is worth to love in both of them.

This is the second 'blended' Myth cover I have heard, and the other (Glyn R Brown) are great as well (well worth a download), but in Glyn's version, myth does not play a central role (its more about Antiriad).

Anyway, its well worth the download.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by xgener8or (09/09/2003)

Very atmospheric synthey remix, yet retaining the original oriental feeling. Very nice work! This is my kind of remix, not anything too flashy and "original" just the real thing with great sounding samples and effects.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by carlsson (09/09/2003)

This sounds like (end credits from) a movie. The french horn/clarinet at 4:05 reminds me of John Williams, maybe from Far and Away. Partially it also reminds me of Raphael Gesqua's (Audiomonster) Amiga module "The War".

Unfortunately I've never heard Jeroen Tel's original music before, so I can't judge on nostalgic, but the the different themes from several SIDs (isn't it?) melt together very nicely into a 5+ minute musical landscape. Very pleasing!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 6

Review by LMan (08/09/2003)

Larsec's Black Lamp mix intially takes a while to capture you. But when it does, it does so fully - and by the time the break sets in, you'll find yourself rocking your head, at the latest. Apart from that, the tune is well produced, with the typical Larsec-esque atmosphere. A quite different approach to a great SID, an overall outstanding effort.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

Outstanding drive and passion. This really makes you stomp your feet. If you like Techno and you like the Wizball main theme, then you will LOVE this track!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

Arrgh! This guy sux on the sax. Does he know the meaning of the word "rhythm" at all? Poor effort! Sucks!
Technical Impression: 1
Artistic Impression: 1
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 1

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

This Jesper Guy's a virtuoso on the piano, he creates a whole new piece of music by putting the Wizball highscore song into new worlds of harmony and atmosphere. Without (like many other arrangers) giving the impression he accidently mixed up the harmonies, he switches between major and minor in a different way than the original does and hereby surprises the listener.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by tom (06/09/2003)

Well, a typical Markus Schneider-Orchestral arrangement, but it works well !!
The arrangment is very clever in itself and the sounds are well choosen.
Only the bass frequencies are a bit too much for my ears, but that's a question of taste.
Put ya hands up in the air, Markus ;)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LMan (03/09/2003)

You cannot listen to Lagerfeldt's "Dutch Breeze" interpretation without feeling the urge of getting on your feet and dance. I just love those juicy drums on this one. The proper usage of SID samples maintains enough of nostalgia, while Lagerfeldt's production standard is obviously top notch studio quality. An excellent dance track, punchy, fresh, and perfectly produced.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by godzylla (01/09/2003)

I think the music has a dark park-feeling. I can't remember if this game had any "walk in the park level", but I'm sure I've played such a level somewhere. The reverb-filled spooky soundwaves and the mental images of a lone renegade smashing the badguy's face under a parklight beside a bench and a garbagecan. It's something sad, haunting, terrorizing and frightening about that... in a way... sort of... Dreams! This is what the sid-tunes do to your head. This tune gives that recall! Great!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by lagerfeldt (17/08/2003)

Well.. I hope I won't offend the arranger (and singer) too much by saying this is a bit on the bad side IMO.

It starts out with some really bad female vocals, overly processed with auto-tuning - but even the auto-tuning couldn't fix the problems. Doing vocals is a good idea but then the quality should be better than this technically speaking.

The beat is very reminiscent of a party keyboard's demo drums, and the whole thing is a rather messy affair sprinkled with bleeps and blops of the original song (which infact was a remix itself).

It reminds me slightly of a demo song from a Casio keyboard back in 1994. Sorry.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 2

Review by lagerfeldt (17/08/2003)

A highly original production, perhaps *the* most original on RKO.

It's quite a surprise once the beat starts but it all works better than could be expected, although after the first high point it never reaches another climax.

Top marks for originality, something which lifts this remix above most other songs on RKO.

Finally the remix seems to perfectly capture the untangible madness of a lunatic getting more and more insanely frustrated (a situation we all can relate to when trying to beat a monstrously difficult game at 3 am in the morning).
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by minsk (15/08/2003)

Oh - this is great. I'd love to hear more competent acoustic versions of old C64 favourites. This guy can really play.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by red_devil (14/08/2003)

Oh my, how many hours did it take for this one? This tune is very good. As a matter of fact, it's so good that you could think that this was recorded with a live orcestra (just some bits are giving it away). It's sounds abit like the Settlers (amiga game) tunes.

If this was performed by a live orchestra you could easily think that it was made by Hans Zimmer for the Gladiator movie.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by red_devil (14/08/2003)

OH YES!

This is totally awesome! The remix couldn't be done any better, the lead sound that's crucial for this tune is perfect. To some it up, this is THE f***ing remix for this tune. It goes on repeat now for the last hour, I even added it on my mobile phone :-)

The original sid was the best tune on the Dutch Breeze demo.

So, Lagerfeldt, when will you remake Flip flop (also from Dutch Breeze)? I'm waiting. Good work!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by maindrian (09/08/2003)

Now this hits the spot. I've wanted a decent synth version of this tune for ages, but this isnt decent... Its awesome. As is my way, I like music that takes you somewhere, fuels your imagination. And Tac has more than catered in that aspect. The whole remix has the feel of a chaotic sci-fi battle. It sounds like something that could have come from a Command & Conquer game, only bigger. I like the lead out melody too, very memorable.

I cannot praise this remix enough. Filmic, atmospheric and well put together.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by jemym (08/08/2003)

Now, I cannot claim that I ever liked the original, but Rooney have something going here. If he didnt, I wouldnt bother about writing this.

This tune is a flamenco song, so Rooney have given everything a remix can offer when it comes to flamenco. We have the tamburine, the spanish guitar, the castanet, the clapping hands, all wrapped into the old Zorro theme. We have the instruments used correctly, which is fitting for a tune like this.

So where does Rooney's attempt fall?

A class of newbie musicians often play music perfectly, every tone right, but they do it very sterile, without emotion. And thats what this piece sounds like. Its perfect, with every tone right, but even if its perfect, it lacks the personality and karma that real flamenco is about.

Real musicians does not play every tune perfectly timed according to the notes. They add their own personality, feel and emotions to the song.

Imagine yourself a dancefloor with colorful spanish dancers with wonderful dresses, and a charisma that could drop anyone of the opposite gender miles away. Imagine yourself musicians with the karma only spanish musicians have. Imagine sweat and closed eyes. Imagine musicians that live for their music, and plays like it was a part of their own soul.

To hit the spot, this song needs less perfectness and more powerful karma.
Spend awhile listening on tunes like El Mariachi and Pippo Noviello... and then get back there and try again.

Best Regards
JemyM
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by Tas (06/08/2003)

Oh those guitars are simply Beautiful. These are a massive plus point and the main point of the remix. The drums maybe a little over attacking really for such a beautiful lead. A more sweeping feeling i think might have been the order of the day with this tune.

However i actually really like the remix, it gets away with murder at times but gets away with it because your ears are so listening to the lead sound.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by maindrian (03/08/2003)

The sid was possibly the perfect track to remix with duelling guitars, and Dr. Future does a great job early on. However, it could be preference or execution, but I dont really dig the synth noises and the drums. They seem out of place at points. Also, I dont know if its just my hearing, but the timing appears to be off in some places. It all seems slightly... Robotic?

Bad points aside, I'm a fan. Even though they dont fit together well, the synth and the guitar effects are well done, and Steve Barretts wonderfully floaty melody is an absolute knockout. Its great, not spectacular, just great. Meaning it wont waste your time. Get it in!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by carlsson (29/07/2003)

It seems to be a faithful 1:1 cover of Brennan's tune (or if it is Chopin -- a music search engine reveals that the opening found both in this tune and Ghost'n'Goblins resembles his Prelude No.20 in C minor, which makes sense for GnG as the waltz is said to be inspired by Chopin as well). I'd like to hear some more instruments - maybe adding string arpeggios, some winds or percussion to lift the remix one level further.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ⋅⋅⋅ 49 50 51