Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 721 - 750 out of 1489
[LOGIN]

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

Outstanding drive and passion. This really makes you stomp your feet. If you like Techno and you like the Wizball main theme, then you will LOVE this track!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

Arrgh! This guy sux on the sax. Does he know the meaning of the word "rhythm" at all? Poor effort! Sucks!
Technical Impression: 1
Artistic Impression: 1
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 1

Review by omoroca (08/09/2003)

This Jesper Guy's a virtuoso on the piano, he creates a whole new piece of music by putting the Wizball highscore song into new worlds of harmony and atmosphere. Without (like many other arrangers) giving the impression he accidently mixed up the harmonies, he switches between major and minor in a different way than the original does and hereby surprises the listener.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by tom (06/09/2003)

Well, a typical Markus Schneider-Orchestral arrangement, but it works well !!
The arrangment is very clever in itself and the sounds are well choosen.
Only the bass frequencies are a bit too much for my ears, but that's a question of taste.
Put ya hands up in the air, Markus ;)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LMan (03/09/2003)

You cannot listen to Lagerfeldt's "Dutch Breeze" interpretation without feeling the urge of getting on your feet and dance. I just love those juicy drums on this one. The proper usage of SID samples maintains enough of nostalgia, while Lagerfeldt's production standard is obviously top notch studio quality. An excellent dance track, punchy, fresh, and perfectly produced.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by godzylla (01/09/2003)

I think the music has a dark park-feeling. I can't remember if this game had any "walk in the park level", but I'm sure I've played such a level somewhere. The reverb-filled spooky soundwaves and the mental images of a lone renegade smashing the badguy's face under a parklight beside a bench and a garbagecan. It's something sad, haunting, terrorizing and frightening about that... in a way... sort of... Dreams! This is what the sid-tunes do to your head. This tune gives that recall! Great!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by lagerfeldt (17/08/2003)

Well.. I hope I won't offend the arranger (and singer) too much by saying this is a bit on the bad side IMO.

It starts out with some really bad female vocals, overly processed with auto-tuning - but even the auto-tuning couldn't fix the problems. Doing vocals is a good idea but then the quality should be better than this technically speaking.

The beat is very reminiscent of a party keyboard's demo drums, and the whole thing is a rather messy affair sprinkled with bleeps and blops of the original song (which infact was a remix itself).

It reminds me slightly of a demo song from a Casio keyboard back in 1994. Sorry.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 2

Review by lagerfeldt (17/08/2003)

A highly original production, perhaps *the* most original on RKO.

It's quite a surprise once the beat starts but it all works better than could be expected, although after the first high point it never reaches another climax.

Top marks for originality, something which lifts this remix above most other songs on RKO.

Finally the remix seems to perfectly capture the untangible madness of a lunatic getting more and more insanely frustrated (a situation we all can relate to when trying to beat a monstrously difficult game at 3 am in the morning).
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by minsk (15/08/2003)

Oh - this is great. I'd love to hear more competent acoustic versions of old C64 favourites. This guy can really play.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by red_devil (14/08/2003)

Oh my, how many hours did it take for this one? This tune is very good. As a matter of fact, it's so good that you could think that this was recorded with a live orcestra (just some bits are giving it away). It's sounds abit like the Settlers (amiga game) tunes.

If this was performed by a live orchestra you could easily think that it was made by Hans Zimmer for the Gladiator movie.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by red_devil (14/08/2003)

OH YES!

This is totally awesome! The remix couldn't be done any better, the lead sound that's crucial for this tune is perfect. To some it up, this is THE f***ing remix for this tune. It goes on repeat now for the last hour, I even added it on my mobile phone :-)

The original sid was the best tune on the Dutch Breeze demo.

So, Lagerfeldt, when will you remake Flip flop (also from Dutch Breeze)? I'm waiting. Good work!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by maindrian (09/08/2003)

Now this hits the spot. I've wanted a decent synth version of this tune for ages, but this isnt decent... Its awesome. As is my way, I like music that takes you somewhere, fuels your imagination. And Tac has more than catered in that aspect. The whole remix has the feel of a chaotic sci-fi battle. It sounds like something that could have come from a Command & Conquer game, only bigger. I like the lead out melody too, very memorable.

I cannot praise this remix enough. Filmic, atmospheric and well put together.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by jemym (08/08/2003)

Now, I cannot claim that I ever liked the original, but Rooney have something going here. If he didnt, I wouldnt bother about writing this.

This tune is a flamenco song, so Rooney have given everything a remix can offer when it comes to flamenco. We have the tamburine, the spanish guitar, the castanet, the clapping hands, all wrapped into the old Zorro theme. We have the instruments used correctly, which is fitting for a tune like this.

So where does Rooney's attempt fall?

A class of newbie musicians often play music perfectly, every tone right, but they do it very sterile, without emotion. And thats what this piece sounds like. Its perfect, with every tone right, but even if its perfect, it lacks the personality and karma that real flamenco is about.

Real musicians does not play every tune perfectly timed according to the notes. They add their own personality, feel and emotions to the song.

Imagine yourself a dancefloor with colorful spanish dancers with wonderful dresses, and a charisma that could drop anyone of the opposite gender miles away. Imagine yourself musicians with the karma only spanish musicians have. Imagine sweat and closed eyes. Imagine musicians that live for their music, and plays like it was a part of their own soul.

To hit the spot, this song needs less perfectness and more powerful karma.
Spend awhile listening on tunes like El Mariachi and Pippo Noviello... and then get back there and try again.

Best Regards
JemyM
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 2
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by Tas (06/08/2003)

Oh those guitars are simply Beautiful. These are a massive plus point and the main point of the remix. The drums maybe a little over attacking really for such a beautiful lead. A more sweeping feeling i think might have been the order of the day with this tune.

However i actually really like the remix, it gets away with murder at times but gets away with it because your ears are so listening to the lead sound.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by maindrian (03/08/2003)

The sid was possibly the perfect track to remix with duelling guitars, and Dr. Future does a great job early on. However, it could be preference or execution, but I dont really dig the synth noises and the drums. They seem out of place at points. Also, I dont know if its just my hearing, but the timing appears to be off in some places. It all seems slightly... Robotic?

Bad points aside, I'm a fan. Even though they dont fit together well, the synth and the guitar effects are well done, and Steve Barretts wonderfully floaty melody is an absolute knockout. Its great, not spectacular, just great. Meaning it wont waste your time. Get it in!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by carlsson (29/07/2003)

It seems to be a faithful 1:1 cover of Brennan's tune (or if it is Chopin -- a music search engine reveals that the opening found both in this tune and Ghost'n'Goblins resembles his Prelude No.20 in C minor, which makes sense for GnG as the waltz is said to be inspired by Chopin as well). I'd like to hear some more instruments - maybe adding string arpeggios, some winds or percussion to lift the remix one level further.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Well, Sonic seems to be angry here. Maybe is because he's gonna marry? :-)

Ok, the tune starts with some very '80s drums (Michael Sembello?), then the whole synth arsenal comes in.

It's a very pumping track that manages to make some really strange alchemic experiment: it sounds very '80/first '90 as arrangement and sound but manages to be actual anyway. I could haven't done better myself.

Overall: i fu**in' like this track! :-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Ok, we have wind, and, generally speaking, a bad weather all around. :-)
The initial orchestral sounds are really cheap, but the part is well played. A lot of noise in the background (due to the damn bad weather as i said) :-)

Things get better when a typical Digital Underground HiHop drumloop comes in, and works as foundation for the melody. Orchestral sounds from here get better.
But, hey, it's raining again. Or it stopped. Birds are here and there.
A lady pops up with his voice.

Overall, a nice track with maybe too much background, athmospheric samples.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Puffy continues on the path of metalaxing classic C64 oriental tunes :-)
As usual we have a very heavy, fast paced track... and, hey, this guy does everything on his own! Wow!

Technically, he's a very good guitar player, the drums are a little covered by all the guitar mayhem. It's a pity for an acoustic track like this one to keep the synth initial lead (imho) instead of replay it with a guitar.

There's some noise and some mastering problem.

Overall, another stunning track from our Puffy64 friend :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Larsec is cute :-)

Larsec is another dude who takes very original approaches when making a remix. This is not exception.
Ok, let's talk about this guitar. Thinking about the fact that's a soundfont, i must admit that it rocks big time.
Death metal rythm guitars at 03.00 are striking, those can break a wall or two.
Overall mix is very good but i hear a little of noise in the background.

Another must have from Larsec-dude.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Ok, also for this i dunno the original tune (sorry Markus).

I can't really make any observation about the technical quality, 'cos i'm a beginner confronted to Lagerfeldt :-)

The tune is very well crafted, the only thing i don't like is that it's too much SID sounding. I think there's little meaning in making a remix of a sid tune, using up-to-date instruments to make them sound like a sid. Sorry, just my 2 cents. That's anyway only my thougts, all in all the tune is very very good.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Also for this i dunno the original.

Political considerations aside, this track features, as usual when talking about Juha remixes, astouding guitars. He's really a talented player.
The whole arrangement shines for his originality.
Technically speaking there's nothing wrong, except maybe for the choose of some sound (i'd have go for other sounds, but tastes are tastes).

Juha is imho one the best newcomers in the scene as this track show us.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Dunno the original.

The initial unplugged feel is very good, it's a pity it's changed later, when drums and bass come on: synth bass and electronic toms are out of context, so is the reverb on the snare (too much of it, imho).

The solo guitar is very very good, so the spaghetti-western feel of the track.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 5

Review by DHS (28/07/2003)

Uhm... Another Delta. 2 in a row for ifadeo :-)
The thing i like about ifadeo mixes is that he always try to be original, while mantaining his typical electronic feel.
So, i think the initial pipeorgan is a little out of place.
Technically speaking, maybe there's too much feedback in the delay line he used, xpecially on the left channel (eg: at 04:10).
The main problem with this remix is that... it's a delta remix.
Delta maintheme becomes boring very quickly (i had the very same problem with my old delta remix).

In fast words: it's a good remix but i would like to listen to something different from Delta :-)
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by hbasm (26/07/2003)

I really like this one; it has emotion. Soft pads that reminds me of a piece of music from the early 90'es: "University of Love - Wostock 3".

There are a few clicks in the sound. Not so bad but I can hear them. Aside from that, I like the simplicity of this mix. I get a subtle nostalgic feelings from the bass instrument in particular.

I like the trimmed-down track. No long loops.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (26/07/2003)

Druid II with a dnace beat? really? Tho strange as it seems it works superbly and for me it's sonic's best remix to date. The break seperates the tune perfectly as it goes into smooth mode and then gears up back into the dance experience. The tune is a must for all dance fans.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Tas (26/07/2003)

Keeping in touch with the original very faithfully x-formZ comes with yet another fine remix. The country styled hubbard classic has been conveyed rather well with some perfectly chosen instruments and clear crisp sounds. For those familiar with the original sid and who liked it then this remix is certainly worth while. For those looking for something a little different then this is also a good choice.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by carlsson (23/07/2003)

As being a musician in a symphonic wind orchestra, I can relate to this arrangement. The sounds may be a little generic, but otherwise I find it promising and could be improved on/extended and used with a real band - maybe a typical marching US high school band who play anything they can get notes for (trust me, I've heard Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade played by marching band).
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by brotkasten (22/07/2003)

great instruments, cool atmo, modern but nostalgic in the same way.
For me this is one of the best Last Ninja Tracks.
Wonna know which equipment this guy uses, sounds fantastic.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by craigg (22/07/2003)

Of all the SIDs available, Puffy64 decided to take the subtle, oriental Way of the Exploding Fist, and turn it into an explosion of drums and electric guitars. The blast is short - a minute and a half - blink and you'll miss it.

The two main sections of the track are repeated twice, with the 'band' going into 'psycho overdrive mode' for the second part, the drums being played at breakneck speed. Despite (or perhaps in spite of) the absurd nature of the piece, it works. Just look before you leap - if you're expecting another laid-back, 'softly softly' version of Brennan's classic SID, you'll be somewhat surprised...
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Reviews - Page: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 - 11 - 12 - 13 - 14 - 15 - 16 - 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 - 26 - 27 - 28 - 29 - 30 - 31 - 32 - 33 - 34 - 35 - 36 - 37 - 38 - 39 - 40 - 41 - 42 - 43 - 44 - 45 - 46 - 47 - 48 - 49 - 50