Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1651 - 1660 out of 1660
[LOGIN]

Review by Tas (18/01/2003)

Certainly a unique twist to couldron 2. a kind of spooky/dance tune with it's main lead being the spooky part and the back ground being very much trance-like.

The concept is very good, and it's well applied. I suppose the tune may go on a bit and tends to get very boring after a while. More variety and changes of directions would have helped somewhat.

The tune will certainly feel at home in a nightclub and would do well at a up and coming bitlive event.

Good effort, more variety needed tho.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (18/01/2003)

A nice idea with some great background effects and a lovelly crisp clear sound. The main problem that lies with this remix is that the lead doesn't do it justice. You can easily imagine what Wobbler was attempting to do, but he's just fallen a little short with a lead instrument that doesn't quite hit the mark.

The tune unfortunately is a little too repetative too, with not enough changes through out the piece to keep the interest levels up.

All in all a good effort but just falls short on some aspects.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

This remix is stunning. From the moment you hear the original sid tune blend into the remix, and that wonderful engine roar past from right speaker to left you just know what's coming. Special mention to Instant for keeping this remix very C64 and yet also technically outstanding. I do love it when remixers pay homage to the original by including/enhancing the original sid sounds - and this has plenty of them. Don't worry - this ain't no sid with drums mix, just download it and hear for yourself.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

This tune probably became more popular as a remixed intro than as actual game music. Fairly plain and melodic, but still quite charming in it's own way. Then along comes Instant Remedy. This remix still manages to remix cool and laid back but adds so much more. A fantastic remix and the built up drum beat make this an Instant 'Classic'. Simply very listenable and with the added chord backing and wonderfull bass sound make this a really smart mix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

I'd never heard this tune before listening to remixes of it. Sometimes this is an advantage when listening to a remix - other times not. But something about this 'tracker' based remix really caught my ear. CZ has done an excellent job keeping faithfull to the original but adding those extra elements that make his Platoon remix extremely enjoyable to listen to - even though it's quite old I still rate it as one of my favorite remixes ever! Techinally not brilliant, but musically I love it. The 'beefy' bass line is one of those that you'll either love or hate. Me personally. Love it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

Often the 'sid chip' gets forgotten about when an artist decides to remix a sid tune. In the early days of R64 many tunes were simply sid tunes with drums. I'd class this as a Sid remix with sid drums and some ! Keeping the distinctive style of drum and sid this remix is just a dream to listen to. Not spoiling the original but enhancing it to a very professional level. Excellent !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (17/01/2003)

I remember first hearing this. Having allready been a fan of this short and simple tune I didn't think this huge style change would work. But it does. And it works bloody well. Having managed to arrange the tune to last a bit longer without becoming too repetitive is one of the master strokes. Then comes the very original element of the remix - one that really enhances a fairly simple sid tune and turn it into a melodic masterpiece. Great sounds, effects, and enhencement. Excellent!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (17/01/2003)

Quite a mamoth tune coming in at over 6:40 mins. There are some great back ground sounds to this tune, and the blend of bassey sounds and high end sounds make for a listening pleasure.

The tune is both varied and well thought out throughout the piece. The remix has more than a touch of jarre feeling, but adds much more so to not leave non jarre fans out!

I suppose the only let down to this track is that the main lead doesn't offer a great deal, and by and large remains the same throughout and also doesn't quite fulfill the beautiful ambiance of the background.

All said and done, this really is a mamoth tune, which I liked alot! good work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (17/01/2003)

The remix of Flight path 737 reminds me of a cheesy late 70's early 80's fererro roche advert. I'm not saying because of this it's a poor remix, cos in all truth it's very well performed with some excellent choices of instruments, and above all it ooses emotion.

tho, the tune is basic, it's perfectly orchestrated proving without a shadow of doubt that you don't have to over complicate matters to bring out a damn fine piece of work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (17/01/2003)

Beautyfully arranged! Tim Forsyth takes us up to higher dimensions with his chillouty remix of "Flight Path 737". The arrangement reminds me a little of Clannad. Very good instrumentation and a lot of emotion make this tune Outstanding for me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56