WIP Ocean Loader 3

The place for musicians to share their knowledge and ideas about music and remixing, and to post WIP snippets and feedback. Also suggest tunes for remixing, here.
buzzard
Commodore Fan
Commodore Fan

WIP Ocean Loader 3

Post by buzzard »

Seven years after doing the original track, I've finally gotten around to mixing it.

I've listened to it thousands of times and tweaked it at least a million, but I'm not adding any value as far as my frequency limited ears go.

Is there any fundamentals I should be addressing? (bearing in mind I'm a hobbyist and not a sound engineer :help: )

https://soundcloud.com/aidy-burrow/oceanloud4c6l
poke16384
Forum Loony
Forum Loony

Re: WIP Ocean Loader 3

Post by poke16384 »

Hey Buzzard..

It's Peter Clarke... thanks for covering the tune :)

For me, the lead-line from 1:21 onward, gets a bit lost in the mix. It recovers some after 1:40 but could maybe be a bit louder.

From 3:25 onward, the cymbals seem to get used a LOT. If it's intentional then fine but they're very dominant.

It sounds good overall.. Maybe somebody more expert than me in mixing house/dance music will offer their opinion on the overall mix.
It's all about the notes, where you put 'em, what you do with 'em and how long they last
buzzard
Commodore Fan
Commodore Fan

Post by buzzard »

Hey Peter,
Thanks for your feedback - I've really struggled getting the lead to stand out, particularly at the lower key. I've upped the volume a little and done a tiny bit of EQing to give it more presence. I have tried several different leads but nothing seemed to quite fit.

I may have got carried away with the cymbals... For some reason, the tune always made me think of Wagner's Ride of the Valkyries- probably it's intensity, and I forgot how many blocks I'd used them in. I've taken 6 out so far and counting - it will hopefully make them more meaningful when they are there.