SID Chip problems...

Talk freely about the scene, the world of remixing, or anything off-topic unsuitable for the "Fun Forum".
Post Reply
User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

SID Chip problems...

Post by Subzero »

hey peeps I seem to have a problem with the audio on my c64c -ive noticed some sound effects are missing or fuzzy, and when it comes to musak i.e. skate or die the guitar riff is hardly audible - do I need a new SID Chip??

User avatar
Commie_User
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1488
Joined: 14/07/2009 - 23:34
Location: England
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Commie_User »

Sounds pretty iffy to me.

Why not pop the old breadbin in the post for these guys to tinker with?

Image
http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/sho ... ts_id=2569


And £35. Only a tenner more expensive than 20 years ago when I used to do it. Surprised it still happens.

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Subzero »

stuff that, would end up costing about £60 in total including postage!

User avatar
Commie_User
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1488
Joined: 14/07/2009 - 23:34
Location: England
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Commie_User »

Well, there we are, horses for courses.

But to my eyes, for the same cash it comes between finding an overpriced SID on Ebay and jamming it in yourself, or having a bunch of guys not just find the new SID but put it in, maybe fix anything else and have the Commie wing its way back to you, all lovely and under guarantee.

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Subzero »

yeh well i dont have £60 to throw away on an old computer...and a mate has just offered me a breadbin thats missing a few keys!

User avatar
Analog-X64
I Adore My 64
I Adore My 64
Posts: 3597
Joined: 08/12/2002 - 3:50
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Analog-X64 »

Based on the symptoms you described.

I would look for bulging capacitors and or bad solder joints near the sid chip. Or the Sid Chip itself.

This would require taking the C64 apart and removing the motherboard.
d[-.-]b (+[___]x)d(>_<)b 52656d697836342e636f6d2073696d706c7920726f636b732120
Image

User avatar
Commie_User
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1488
Joined: 14/07/2009 - 23:34
Location: England
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Commie_User »

Breadbin missing a few keys?

I think the quick solution's obvious: Keyboard swapsies.

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Subzero »

Commie_User wrote:Breadbin missing a few keys?

I think the quick solution's obvious: Keyboard swapsies.
can i do that from a c64c to breadbin keyboard? or vice versa?

User avatar
Commie_User
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1488
Joined: 14/07/2009 - 23:34
Location: England
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Commie_User »

Oh yes. The connectors are identical.

User avatar
Commie_User
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1488
Joined: 14/07/2009 - 23:34
Location: England
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Commie_User »

...And keep the one with the duff SID. Who knows what quirks may be worth recording, not to mention being able to run an SFX Sound Expander alongside, should you decide to buy one.

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Subzero »

is the c64 voltage diff from c64c?? the light comes on but nothing else...

User avatar
Commie_User
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1488
Joined: 14/07/2009 - 23:34
Location: England
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Commie_User »

Yes, it's all identical. But when you say nothing else, are you only getting noise, a blank screen through the video out or just an inoperable out?



User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: SID Chip problems...

Post by Subzero »

More testing is required

Post Reply