2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Talk freely about the scene, the world of remixing, or anything off-topic unsuitable for the "Fun Forum".
Post Reply
User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Subzero »

Coz of the furom crash again this topic got lost and if anyones replied I didnt see it as I was away all weekend. How do I use 2 microphones on the one pc??

User avatar
Jan Lund Thomsen
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
Posts: 1151
Joined: 25/11/2002 - 13:16
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Jan Lund Thomsen »

Subzero wrote:Coz of the furom crash again this topic got lost and if anyones replied I didnt see it as I was away all weekend. How do I use 2 microphones on the one pc??
My reply boiled down to "Get a mixer!". :D

I use a Behringer Eurorack UB502 for the Take-away. Cost me around 40 quid. Downside is that it only has one mic input, so when Makke came over to co-host a show we had to plug his mic into one of the stereo channels and fiddle with the balance. A UB802 will solve that by providing you two mic inputs, but it'll set you back another tenner.

User avatar
jgb
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 89
Joined: 21/04/2004 - 6:40
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by jgb »

Have you got a decent soundcard? If not, get one with two (or more) microphone inputs. Otherwise it is down the mixer road you have to go.

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Subzero »

How do you attach mixers to your pc soundcard??

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Subzero »

I've found this - http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?Mod ... 8&doy=18m9

think it would work??

User avatar
skitz
Scene Legend
Scene Legend
Posts: 704
Joined: 03/12/2002 - 22:00
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by skitz »

As a really cheap solution this would work - but you would need a TRS to mini-jack converter..
DJ Skitz
email: skitz@djskitz.com
email: skitz@slayradio.org

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Subzero »

Im hoping youre talking about these:

Image

User avatar
Jan Lund Thomsen
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
Posts: 1151
Joined: 25/11/2002 - 13:16
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Jan Lund Thomsen »

Subzero wrote:How do you attach mixers to your pc soundcard??
Your soundcard should have a "line in" connector. Just plug it into that one.

User avatar
skitz
Scene Legend
Scene Legend
Posts: 704
Joined: 03/12/2002 - 22:00
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by skitz »

Subzero wrote:Im hoping youre talking about these:

Image
need to be the other way around - converter needs to accept a mono-TRS and output a mini-jack so it can plug into the MIC input on your soundcard (assuming of course that your soundcard uses a mini-jack for it's microphone input).

This should do ya...

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?Tab ... 7&doy=19m9
DJ Skitz
email: skitz@djskitz.com
email: skitz@slayradio.org

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Subzero »

Aye thats the badger I ordered, and me mixer too - so no more of this 'one mic' shenanigans when squirrley comes over :)

(Blimey im really taking my podcasts serious these days!)

User avatar
Squirrley
Forum Loony
Forum Loony
Posts: 157
Joined: 10/10/2006 - 22:12
Location: Sittin' in that there tree

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Squirrley »

You
Subzero wrote:Aye thats the badger I ordered, and me mixer too - so no more of this 'one mic' shenanigans when squirrley comes over :)
You mean to say you would let me back??
You must be crazy!!! :wink: hehe
That's a lotta nuts!!

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by Subzero »

Squirrley wrote:You
Subzero wrote:Aye thats the badger I ordered, and me mixer too - so no more of this 'one mic' shenanigans when squirrley comes over :)
You mean to say you would let me back??
You must be crazy!!! :wink: hehe
Of course :)

User avatar
xo
Exosphere Resident
Exosphere Resident
Posts: 1237
Joined: 20/02/2004 - 23:44
Location: at the edge of the blogosphere

Re: 2 mics into 1 pc - how??

Post by xo »

There ought to be array mic soundcards out there. But I'd go for a mixer as well - if you're OK with having channels merged. That'll give you a sad sad mono feel, though. :-)

Post Reply