Searching for Matt Gray

Talk freely about the scene, the world of remixing, or anything off-topic unsuitable for the "Fun Forum".
64KReady

Searching for Matt Gray

Post by 64KReady »

Hello,

I have a quick question I was hoping readers of this site might help me with:

Several years ago I fell in love with the music Matt Gray wrote for the Commodore 64. Like many before me, I attempted to contact him, and failed.

Unable to personally thank him, I remixed his work (a strange act of homage that readers of this site will be familiar with). As I am not a musician, though, I remixed his and other C64 musician's words (http://mattgray64.wordpress.com/).

To my question: While researching for that article, I found that there are few sources that discuss the professional Commodore 64 musician's experience writing for games in the mid to late 1980s. I found no memoirs or biographies (official or unofficial), nor did I find any works (beyond brief interviews and presentations) that discussed how these musicians composed their music, how they negotiated and interacted with game companies, and what life was like in this unique scene, which appeared to afford those working in it the freedom to create remarkable music.

This whole period fascinates me. I would love to read more about it. Is anyone able recommend to me a book (or perhaps an essay) about what life was like for a Commodore musician at this time?

Thanks,
Ruairi
Chris Abbott
Forum God
Forum God

Re: Searching for Matt Gray

Post by Chris Abbott »

There are an awful lot of interviews lying around on the net, many of them on this very site. I wrote an article myself for one of the Retro Gamer specials which you don't seem to have referenced. There's also that YouTube video of the talk that Rob gave in Finland, I think. That was far from brief, and is the nearest you'll get to a biography.