Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2372

Login

Space Harrier (NAPAPBWPMIF Mix) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by 0supereg0, 15/05/2022

Great Track. To me it has a ELO, or Giorgio Moroder quality to it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando (mich am Allerwertesten) Remix - arranged by Frank Abbing

Review by PhunkyData, 12/05/2022

Good and to the point remix! No doubt! They want 15 letters... here you go !
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier (NAPAPBWPMIF Mix) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by tim_forsyth, 10/05/2022

Your remix is full energy and there’s a nice sense of urgency plus you own those Tom fills. Your guitar playing is fantastic and I love the subtle bits of instrumentation smattered throughout. It’s such a well made remix that 2 things really stick out. The attack on the string lead is a bit too long and if my ears didn’t deceive me, there’s a late snare hit in the middle section. But these are minor things as the overall slight disco vibe is wonderful.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

RoboCop 3 (Everything you want) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 07/05/2022

Clever use of various vocal and other samples, the arrangement is very well done. Sounds like a pretty good mix to my ears, too.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Prax 2 da Max - arranged by Tim Forsyth & Yogi

Review by neo, 02/05/2022

This track has such a relaxed vibe right from the start with some serious 80s TV series nostalgia sound blended into it. It's very diverse with clearly distinctive sections and energy levels to keep it interesting till the very last second. My personal highlight is the funky lead that kicks in at 1:24, right till the break - no, it's not the end 😉. I enjoyed the added lead section from 2:18 too. And if you weren't convinced yet of its 80s sound, just listen to the echo drums as of 3:06. The small details like at 3:39 and later help to make this one of my personal favorites so far in 2022.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble (Alhoa Honu) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 02/05/2022

Nice Hawaiian theme! I think the ocarina (?) lead is a bit too low-pitched, so it doesn't sound quite realistic to my ears. OTOH, good use of the Hawaiian lap steel guitar. I think a lot of the standard elements are there in your arrangement, they just don't quite seem to gel together, in fact, at times I think they are literally out of sync with each other. But I do give you plus points for doing a remix in a style that's rarely used here.

(PS: I think it should be spelled Aloha Honu.)

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

R-Type (Ishizaki vs Vaca medley 2022) - arranged by NecroPolo

Review by LaLa, 01/05/2022

SID-metal turned to 11.

Do not attempt at home. Professional musician on closed course here.

(Actually, do attempt! Free experimentation is what SID remixing is all about.)

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Nemesis-Gradius (Re-Chill Factor 9) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 01/05/2022

This is clearly a better mix than your previous upload, as evidenced by the increased number of orange smilies. So, good job on the improvements! Yet again, let me stress that musically, your remix is really good: the arrangement is very nice and I really admire your guitar work. You brought the volume down on that lead instrument - good.

But. 😉

But now the volume of your entire mix needs to be brought back up. Either a simple volume boost, and/or a gentle compression setting would help. The mix also sounds a bit muddy, so something needs to be done about the clash of all those low frequencies.

Mixing is a never-ending quest, so don't despair about my comments. I am capable of finding faults even in paradise. 😁

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Smile to the Sky - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by Motley/F4CG+StArZ, 25/04/2022

This remix puts an additional feeling to the song. A feeling of hope, that one should never give up when beeing in the darkest of hour.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Curse (I'll be around) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Pest Global Group DOO, 21/04/2022

Perfect Nostalgia.An old master shows own skills once again.Female voice is just boosting atmosphere.Good job.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando High-Score Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Oxx, 19/04/2022

Injects calmness into your brain, very relaxing and easy to listen. The guitar sounds very good, whatever synth it is, it rocks. For the Sax, though, I cannot say the same. Some instruments can just not be emulated to the point that they pass the TURING test I guess. 😊 I liked this remix, especially the harmony of the instruments, an easy accompaniment, soft percussions etc. For me, this work shows that you can achieve a good, likeable, can-be-listened-to-at-any-time musical outcome with just a few tracks. There is no nostalgia factor I have to admit, or I could not hear it. On the other hand, I can't think of how to add it into this remix. No big deal for me. I vote very good for the technique, for the selection and harmony of instruments. I'd love to read the story and the background of making this.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Test Drive 2 - The Duel (Remix by Oxx) - arranged by Oxx

Review by LaLa, 15/04/2022

Very unique in style, let's call this electropop. It's quirky, it's robotic, it's - great! To my ears the mix is missing some final touches (little reverb, little delay), but that's just me nitpicking. Hugely enjoyable even after multiple listens.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Test Drive 2 - The Duel (Remix by Oxx) - arranged by Oxx

Review by ozgulkagan, 14/04/2022

Reminds me of the old days. One of the best of C64. What an era that was. Thank you.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Enduro Racer (Rocking Rider Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by Oxx, 14/04/2022

Not being at a proficiency level to evalaute others' work, I still wanted to share some thoughts; The battery sounds perfect, while the bell voice is a bit overwhelming to my liking. The electro guitar is perfectly played, Is it live? Even though I don't listen to this genre, I can feel that this is a good example of a high quality, well mastered piece of work, WELL DONE.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ace II Title Screen - arranged by Oxx

Review by DMC, 11/04/2022

Welcome to the remix scene, Oxx. You delivered a great start with a classic tune by Rob Hubbard. Your attempt of remixing Ace II really is a good one. I love the choice of sounds - especially that choir sound reminds me of Enjoy the silence by Depeche Mode which is a good thing! 😊 I just stumbled upon the T-Force Alpha VST a few weeks back and wondered what sounds it may be capable of. Now I know! 😊 The track lacks a bit of punchyness for this genre but doesn't sound terrible at all. It's just that little oomph that is missing. Maybe if you tinker around a bit with compression and eq'ing your mix will benefit from that in the future. I encourage you to keep on remixing - I really had fun listening to your first track here on RKO and hope there is lots more to come!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Great Giana Sisters - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by DMC, 11/04/2022

You need balls to put up remix number 87 to compete with the 86 already existing remixes and sometimes exactly those balls lead to good things like this. Kudos Johan. Well done remix of a well known classic tune. I was suprised because I actually expected a totally different style from Mr. Andersson! 😉 I love the structure of the whole track starting with the piano part and then fading into the guitar solo towards the end. Everything fits together nicely giving me a real good time listening. I am with LaLa on the distortion - sometimes the track sounds a little bit too hot (thought I heard the kick distort every now an then) but nothing too serious. Really well done. Please more surprises in the future! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Human Race Tune 4 Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by LaLa, 10/04/2022

Wow, I see that Tony is one of those rare people in the world who can use their third hand when playing live on a keyboard! 😁 (See video insert.)

A decent remix of this oft-remixed tune. Nothing to be overly excited about here, but it's a solid arrangement with a decent choice of instrumentation.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ace II Title Screen - arranged by Oxx

Review by LaLa, 10/04/2022

Welcome to the remix community, Oxx!

I have to admit, I had to do a double-take on your remixer status after I listened to this remix - this is by a newcomer? It's really good! I like the minimalist electro-drums, the vocal style chord hits, all the ornaments of the lead - all sounds great! The arrangement might be on the simple side, but it's done very well. The final mix sounds a bit too dry to my ears, but considering the genre, even that seems appropriate.

I hope to hear more remixes from you in the future, whether in this style or in another!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Nemesis-Gradius (Chill Factor 9) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 09/04/2022

The lead instrument in the first half is way too dominating, the rest of the instruments are barely audible. The balance is much better when the guitar takes over, in fact, those parts sound very promising. Overall, an interesting idea, nice arrangement, but the mixing needs to be improved upon.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cauldron 2 - arranged by Makke

Review by Beaumagi, 09/04/2022

Great mix, great beat! Love the Korg voice effect! Thank you and keep up the good work!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Great Giana Sisters - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by LaLa, 07/04/2022

The mixing sounds way too 'hot' in this one to me. Especially in the high-ends I am hearing some distortion. I had to bring the volume down to 1/3d of what I usually listen to in order to make this sound better in my headphones. The mixing is bad enough that it brought down my final vote a notch.

Stylistically, not what I expected from Johan - which is great, I like surprises! But I wish the noodling on the lead guitar towards the end was present in earlier sections of the remix, too, because that's a real highlight in this piece. I like your use of piano in the arrangement, too. And all the ear-candy you snuck into it here and there.

Overall, a great remix ruined by so-so mixing.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Prax 2 da Max - arranged by Tim Forsyth & Yogi

Review by MOhotSHT, 06/04/2022

Sounds good on my stereo. Keep up the good work guys. Looking forward for more tunes
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Prax 2 da Max - arranged by Tim Forsyth & Yogi

Review by Oxx, 06/04/2022

I especially liked the lead instrument starting from 03:08. It is very enjoyable to listen, great work.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rambo III - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Oxx, 04/04/2022

Very well made, with nostalgic arpeggios all around! I liked it despite not being into this genre much.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Out Run (Pool Party) - arranged by Rexy

Review by exocytosis, 03/04/2022

Of the dozen, or so, Out Run covers that currently sit on Remix64/Kwed.org, Rexy's take is one of the most fast paced, up-beat and technically balanced versions out there. True to its original, Out Run (Pool Party) flies over the slopes in a way that almost makes you feel the wind pressing against your face. It's a five minute long speed fest in the higher octaves with a few technical surprises that should make any true Out Run fan clap their hands with joy!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Robocop Theme Extended Remix (C64+Gameboy) - arranged by Gabriel West

Review by LaLa, 26/03/2022

Welcome to the remixing community!

First, the positive about your remix: lots of variations on the main theme, which is really nice to hear, you didn't just cover the original 1:1, but went the extra mile with your arrangement - I really respect that. Where you remix is lacking is in the sound department. The drums sound especially noisy to my ears, the bass sounds rather dry, in fact, the entire piece could've used better mixing overall - the lack of mixing makes your piece sound very basic. I don't really hear any articulations employed on the guitar, I don't hear many variations on the piano, either - they both sound rather flat and emotionless. And the guitar tends to go to ranges that sound unnatural.

All in all, a good first effort, your arranging skills show lots of promise, just need to work on your individual instruments and the overall mixing. Hope to hear more from you in the future!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rambo III - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 25/03/2022

As usual from Dr Future, pretty good instrumentation and arrangement. Plus points for the guitar improv at the end. However, minus points for borrowing several of the original's arpeggios - you converted some to chords, but others you did not. I am not against including SID arps in remixes per se, but to me it sounds out of place here. Also slight minus points for the slightly muddy mix (esp. at the low end), which is very uncharacteristic of you.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rain Forest (Reflection Mix) - arranged by Orlando

Review by Dr-Duke, 23/03/2022

Really like this track! It somehow really fits to what's happening today... My grats to Orlando!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Enlightenment Druid II (Take me away) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 22/03/2022

A modern production of several vocal (and possibly instrumental) hooks that I suspect come from sample libraries (in fact, I know exactly where the vocals come from 😉 ). Nothing wrong with that, I think you did a fabulous job of putting it all together and presenting a clean, crisp, contemporary piece with them and weaving the SID melody into it all.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by noisefloor Bjoern, 14/03/2022

Very nice, sound is great, theme fit greats into the metal version. Really loving it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 78 79 80