Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2227

Login

Review by Diatonator (26/07/2021)

That's how I imagine DRAX tunes fleshed out into "real" instruments! I definitely need to do something of sort. 2:10 part really screams for good "human" guitar solo though! Could provide if you want actually..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by monty (19/07/2021)

This one is a grower! I think it deserved a better result in the compo and I can only speculate that the slow build-up maybe doesn't work extremely well for a compo entry. However, regarding the slow build-up I think the goosebump-inducing main part (from 2:30 on) should have been extended. Btw. I bought the game back then and I cannot remember that tune at all hence the low nostalgia factor... ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by peterparker (17/07/2021)

Obliterators theme was always one of my favorite themes. Unfortunately the game was itself not very good and also not very popular. Romeo Knight re-created the right atmosphere (as always) how this song would sound today. For my taste was the allister Brimble remix much to soft with the heavy emphasis on synths. Obviously Obliterator needs a brute guitar as "The Obliterator" is not some distinguished undercover cop in miami but a goddamned one man show here to save the earth and humanity. Well done and greetings to D-Town!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2021)

Mordi has the mordifier, Slaygon has the slaygonizer. A larger-than-life cinematic version of a SID subtune that is less than 30 seconds long - it has been slaygonized. Dark and gritty, grandiose and in-your-face. If they ever make a Hollywood epic about MicroProse Soccer, this should be its title tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (11/07/2021)

The issues with this remix are multi-pronged. While the original SID has a great hook, its overall arrangement is just nonsensical and mish-mashy. Unfortunately, that arrangement is followed here way too closely. Second, sounds like a lot of parts were based on a straight SID2MIDI conversion: they are lifeless, and barely add anything to the original arrangement. Third, while individually the instruments probably sound fairly decent, together they just don't convey any emotion - it's like robots playing them from a set score. 0supereg0 - I know you can do better than this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/07/2021)

A gritty, industrial approach to this oft-remixed theme, in an 'extended cut' style. I quite like the arpeggiated sequences, too.

But I think the real highlight of this remix is the clever re-arrangement of the tune, I really appreciate the effort that went into that. The more I listen to it, the more I like it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/07/2021)

Wow, perfect marriage of original SID tune and remix style! Dig the electric piano 🎹 bouncing all around the stereo space. Dig the trumpet 🎺, too. Dig the sweet, sweet deepness of that bass 🎸, hotdamn! Digging the entire piece, period. ☺️ Wish there was more vocal 👄 shouts, though (like that "oh-oh" early on).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (04/07/2021)

Lots of echoing. Respectfull of the original spirit with a little touch of originality (not too much). Immersive song. Close your eyes, you'll be in the desert of Arakis ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (04/07/2021)

Too short song, really pleasant to listen, good mixing, Assumed synth guitar. Perfectly executed, Wow, the pleasure to cruising in my car with this song :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/07/2021)

It's a good arrangement, I like the guitar work, but the mix sounds somewhat muddy, its clarity is not as good as it could've been, IMHO. I get it, it's a live recording, but it could've used some cleanup in post.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/07/2021)

Welcome to the remix community, Tamas!

This was his entry to the 20th Anniversary remix compo, and I think it gives Johan Andersson a good run for his money. 😁 The intro sounds a lot like a lullaby, very nicely done there. But then it quickly transitions to a a full arrangement, which sounds lively and joyful. A great debut, I quite enjoy it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tamaskenez (28/06/2021)

Stylish Hammond mood spiced up with an accordion solo. The live sound is nicely counterpointed by the drum machine.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tamaskenez (28/06/2021)

Competent, authentic rendition with accordion and woodwinds on top of a TR808 style lo-fi drum pattern.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/06/2021)

Wow, I also can't believe nobody has remixed this tune before! 😲 The drums really drive the energy in this remix, maybe a bit too much so. Lovely reverb on the lead synth! The guitar sounds too synthy to me, maybe adding more articulations to it could've helped fool my ears. Good choice of SID, great remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Vonti (25/06/2021)

It's a tune that's not remixed often! It comes with a few cool harmonic surpises. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/06/2021)

I really, really like the 70s funk feel of the intro (reminds me of those 70s cop TV shows), too bad it's not carried forward to the rest of the tune. Also, I keep missing the "...immediately!" from the speech samples, it just doesn't feel complete to me without that, and it drives me nuts! Am I the only one? :) Other than that - top-notch stuff yet again from Johan.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/06/2021)

First of all: welcome, TweakerRay!

I like this remix from several aspects, but it feels more like an "enhanced SID" to me due to the overwhelming presence of SID-like sounds and SID arpeggios and whatnot. Nothing wrong with that (we like SID sounds!), it's just... largely the same as the already outstanding original SID tune. I like the atmosphere in this remix, I like the sounds - but I also liked those in the original, and here it's not much different. I guess, in summary: plus points for execution, minus points for lack of originality.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (11/06/2021)

Ok, so "late to the party". Sort of. Yes, I've heard this remix several times, but only through official broadcasting, and no … I didn't buy the album. Hell, never bought any c64-album. So yes – shame on me. But on the other hand – super glad that Makke is releasing his choons for public consumption. Anyway, this release shows the skills of Mr. Makke. WB back to the "scene", brutha. (but who am I to wish a thing like that, huh? Huh? Like, huh?). P.s. "huh".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by exocytosis (10/06/2021)

If you are urging for a SID EBM-inspired trance beat, Jevgeni has you covered - their version of Delta is all about electronic, fast paced drums and Delta's iconic theme. Its snappy, up-beat and well orchestrated score is nothing short of a bliss for anyone looking for a cover song made for workouts and dance floors alike. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (02/06/2021)

Great track, I love it. Even if I don't know the original, this track deserves a red Button. There are far to few metal remixes out there...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (02/06/2021)

A really good track. Actually, I'm looking for tracks for "Self Radio" at GTA V, and this track fits perfectly. Speedy racings, the one or the other shootout, and than this track....Hell, yeah. XD
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Blackwater0815 (30/05/2021)

One of my favorit games in my childhood. Thx for the nice soundtrack and the memorys
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/05/2021)

What a great remix! 😎👍Yet again, Tim hits it out of the ballpark. The first half of this remix is a pretty amazing remix of the SID itself. Then Tim decided to add a second half consisting of his improvs and variations - and it sounds fabulous! Definitely has undertones of Jarre in there (Zoolook, Revolutions), and it's done very elegantly. Well done, Tim, well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (26/05/2021)

You’ve nailed that feel of a live band jamming on stage and you’ve built a head nodding groove. I particularly like the switch at the end to the bass player noodling around the notes. The mix feels a bit flat to me and the guitar solo is a little quiet plus the pads around the 2 minute mark jump in a bit unexpectedly, but I love the texture they bring. I’ve found myself coming back to this track many times this evening, fantastic work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (25/05/2021)

What a great collaborative remix! Andreas on the drums goes crazy as usual. :-) Necro is smoking hot on the guitar, Laxity kills it on the keyboards, Marc on the bass just kicks ass... Well done, everybody! Personally, I think it deserved to finish higher in the Remix 64 20th Anniversary Compo, but at least I can give it all the red smilies I want right here. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (25/05/2021)

Love the intro, lots of texture and love given there and it gave me great expectations (nice use of the original samples) but I wasn't too keen on the pitch bending lead. Aside from that, there’s a lot to appreciate in this mix, great stuff.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/05/2021)

Wow and holy s**t and whoa!!! People, we need a new smilie: a red smilie is just not good enough any more to express how excellent this is! We need a flaming red smilie for this one! The compo version you submitted to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo was already good enough for 3rd place there, and that had "only" a Mordified synth lead. Here with the sweet, sweet vocal you just elevated this remix to a whole new level. Sounds like those singing lessons Lea gave you have paid off - your voice has improved a LOT, Mordi! ;-)

I don't know who came up with the "pop song lyrics" (you, Mordi, or Vir, the singer), but it's absolutely fitting. And you did a fantastic job dressing up the solo vocal with harmonies and effects. I just can't say enough good things about this remix! Superb!

I think from now on when people chuckle at me that I am totally into remixes of nerdy Commodore-64 SID tunes, I will just show them this song and I'll enjoy watching their jaws drop. Suck it, non-nerds!

#DemandAFlamingSmilie
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

I quite like it! A mostly guitar-based arrangement with additional synths. It all blossoms into a nice groove which keeps the tune going. Then there's a nicely positioned break, then the groove picks up again... All in all, it's very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

This is a remix of two personalities. I quite like intro where you went in the opposite direction of the usual horror-themed remixes and created a more mellow choral piece. The electric bass guitar shattered that serenity - but then you went back to being mellow with the flamenco guitar (?). This constant flip-flopping in the arrangement was an odd choice, IMHO. I can't really decide whether that's a good thing or not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

Pretty danceable, I like the groove you developed for the remix. But I think it falls short in the mixing department: the overall sound is too 'airy', too 'light', rather than 'edgy' and 'punchy', which is what I would've expected based on the arrangement. Too bad, because you have some really creative ideas sprinkled throughout the remix (like the vocal-based bass starting at 3:08).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 73 74 75