Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2193

Login

Review by Poppykuk (06/05/2021)

I loved Space Harrier and this is even more driven & in your face. The instrument mix is superb & spot on for the remix. It's a turbocharged version of the arcade soundtrack with Jeroen Tel's melody layered beautifully into the mix. It drops effortlessly into the break and comes out again, seamlessly changing key for it's finale. My new favourite earworm. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

I was fortunate enough to be able to listen to this remix as soon as it was uploaded to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo. I listened to it at least 10 times in a row right away. And I still keep listening to it - I just love it! The arrangement is simply amazing, especially considering how differently the original SID was arranged by Rob. The instrumentation is also spot on, and I just can't stop bobbing my head to this tune! It's a wonderful mix of disco, 80's orchestral pop and modern-day synthwave. I'm sure this remix has its flaws, but I'll let other people find those this time - I'll just keep enjoying this remix day after day!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

This remix reminds me of a finely woven tapestry where each strand, each color, each motif was made with the utmost care to ensure that when you step back and look at the entire piece, it remains a beautiful piece of art. All the nuances, all the articulations must've taken Tomsk a long time to get just right in this mostly orchestral remix, from the guitar to the strings, from the piano to the flute. I think the choice of the waltz-like, but 4/4 based rhythm was a fine one, too. I really like what I am hearing here!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

High energy, indeed! This remix starts strong and it never lets up. It really captures the high-octane tempo of the original (both Jeroen's and Hiroshi Miyauchi's). The instrumentation is prog-rock, and the arrangement is really befitting that genre.

I am also glad Pete had the compo version's mixing reworked by Danko for this RKO release, it sounds so much better now!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (05/05/2021)

Sanxion! The one and only tune that I really like (like to remix as well). And flutes! I once made a flute remix, remember? But yeah, Makke knows his stuff, especially knows how to add voice & lyrics. Refreshing! (although I understand that this one isn't a new one … just hadn't heard it before)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (05/05/2021)

Another outstanding remix! You've done an amazing job of capturing that Sega spirit in the arrangement and instruments. Especially in my favourite section, the break down around 3:15, took me right back to stuffing coins in the arcades during the 80's.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/05/2021)

Perfect soundtrack to the sad movie of the Covid-19 pandemic. The lo-fi piano, the subtle strings, the long intro with the twisted ambient samples... This is a piece that was definitely created by the heart, not by the mind.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/04/2021)

The more I listen to this, the more I like it. It's highly cinematic in style, and I really like its "slow breathing", up-and-down tempo throughout. The arrangement may be on the simple side, but it's effective. The instrumentation is very nice, and I think the entire piece is just put together rather well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (27/04/2021)

For me, the first outstanding remix I heard in the anniversary compo. I love this, the creepy atmosphere, the carpenter vibes, from a creative point of view, this is full of ideas. The only minor issue I have is the loudness of the snare, it works but it’s a bit too in your face. I thought the “please hang up and try again” phrase at the end was a genius addition.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/04/2021)

While the arrangement and the instrumentation is the high-quality we've come to expect from Mr. Clarke, something is off with the mixing of this track. Namely, the guitars in the left and right channels sound like they were recorded with mics that were placed far away from the guitars. Or maybe it's some weird phasing issue between them. Bottom line is, they just don't sound as natural as the guitars in your other remixes, their sound has a certain metallic tincan quality to them.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (21/04/2021)

A brilliant remix but this is Glyn so, we expect brilliant. Nevertheless, once you get past the fantastic arrangement and arrive at the mix & the master, these are also spot on. The whole thing has a Tim Burton feel to it and it's only flaw is the length of the track. It's an outstanding piece of music and was easily worth it's 4th position in the competition..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/04/2021)

Classic Necro, solid stuff. It's baffling to me why it didn't score higher on the R64 20th Anniversary remix compo. How you manage to mix SID sounds and heavy guitars with all that distortion and still getting a clean mix out of it all is beyond me. And your work on those guitars - just damn.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/04/2021)

Our first RKO entry from the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo! I am not ashamed to admit that I cried when I saw that Glyn has submitted an entry to the compo, and I was moved even more when I heard what he has submitted. It was truly an honor to have you enter the compo, Glyn! This may be a short remix, but it's ever more impactful. Amazing arrangement featuring a male and a female choir, and even a children's choir. All backed by a superbly arranged orchestral bed. Simply brilliant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mirkone (13/04/2021)

Cavolo... e cambia sta p u n t i n a!!!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mirkone (13/04/2021)

v e r y g o o d v i b r a t i o n s ........ thanks ottimo lavoro, bravissimo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Shargo (10/04/2021)

Really brings out the balance between the melody and drive. The contrast between drums/base and melody is also nicely accompanied by the cowbell
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (02/04/2021)

Simply loaded with atmosphere, this is exactly what driller should sound like.. For a repetitive tune, this has cleverly been arranged to offer something new at each turn, ensuring it never sounds stale. I love the opening sound, which always puts me in mind of the tripods from war of the worlds. The drums stay fresh and mixing them up /making additions to the beat drive the mix along. Its fantastic.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/03/2021)

I am so glad, Tim, that you decided to keep working at your Task III remix! This "++" version is what I now consider THE "ultimate" Task III remix! It's an absolutely brilliant piece that follows the original very closely. The arrangement is spot on, the instrument selection is superb. And I am glad my little feedback helped you make the final mix sound even better. I just can't get enough of this remix, I keep listening to it over and over again, because it always puts a huge smile on my face. I have always been a fan of the original SID, but I have become an even bigger fan of this remix of it. Just brilliant!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Phrygian (28/03/2021)

What I see the major issues are note velocities and unequalized guitar. Guitar is definitely lacking volume in hi-frequencies, so the drumkit especially hats. The song doesn't seem crossing 0 dB once the guitar comes into scene resulting in a constant hum in background. From half of the song, the lead synth is out of sync more than a humanized score. Also please make an outro or at least fade it out. On the other hand, the concept is fine by me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by giannibat (23/03/2021)

90's from the space and classy, is one of my favourite c64 game (tough) and remake.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/03/2021)

Funky groove! Nicely done. I am not entirely sold on the vocoded vocals, though: it's a bit too hard to understand the lyrics. Maybe dial the modulator down a bit to let more of the original vocal through? Definitely plus points for originality, though! And I totally dig the guitar improv towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/03/2021)

The flute in the intro is nice. The vocoded voice is hard to understand. The synth parts are okay-ish. The mix gets washed out due to the hi-freq pads. And the ending is abruptly cut off - at least let the reverb ring out.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/03/2021)

Nice and slow laid-back version with prog-rock ambience (guitar and electric organ). I am hearing some dissonant chords starting at around the 1:55 mark - tsk-tsk. Other than that, rather pleasant and relaxing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Blackstar (11/03/2021)

Sounds great. Hard to say what could have been done better. Orinigal chorus could have been more highlighted - but great remix anyway
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Blackstar (11/03/2021)

nice instruments but too slow for me. reminds me of Bloddsport OST. Well done
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by difquin (11/03/2021)

Have always loved this rendition. The delayed sawtooth synth line is glorious, and the drums with the smooth shakers really fill out the space wonderfully. The stereo image is just packed with ear candy.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (11/03/2021)

love this tune very much. great work !!! love the energy the danceable rhythm , the effects , the style and mixing work
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/03/2021)

Yes! Yes! Yes! Overall, a really inventive remix, very 'proggie' in it's feel and execution. My only criticism is the 2 minute wait from beginning to the entry of the picked guitar and nothing else to tickle the ears before. Another minute and the main protagonist joins the party, (the lead-guitar). For me, the remix really shines from around 3.57 when everything comes back into tempo. There are some super-delicious licks & riffs happening and the overall sound is very authentic. Lots of musical invention here.. it perhaps needed more in the first few minutes.. another instrument to entertain us while we waited for the main-guest to arrive.. Great effort & a really good remix overall..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/03/2021)

Wow! There's a mix of right & wrong in this remix.. For me, it misses a full set of red smileys by a small margin.. The guitar licks are tasty enough to occupy the centre of the stereo spectrum but moderation could have & should have been used. They could have been used as an 'answer back' to the 'Delta' melody line, (maybe using a slightly stronger melody sound).. and the guitar could have been given it's own, more traditional lead-break, somewhere in the middle too.. There are places in this remix where you hear an authentic prog-rock tune. In these sections, the tempo & feel really give us a little of the atmosphere of 'koyaanisqatsi', (the true parent of Delta). Despite my critique, I like this remix and I feel that it doesn't miss the mark by that much..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/03/2021)

A very chilled beginning until the 2 minute mark when the guitar picks up the lead.. and there are some really delicious licks in there.. but a few that grate against the alternative chords, created by the bass wandering into new territory. I'm torn on this remix.. There's clearly a lot of talent here and some great ideas about taking this tune in a different direction but.. the mix is a little muddy in the low-mids, the balance gets lost and it does all get a bit messy, as the remix progresses.. Having heard this, I'll be sure to listen to future remixes from this musician.. I'm still going orange because I want to hear more remixes and new ideas..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 72 73 74