Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2255

Login

Review by vosla (21/10/2021)

Would like go into details so much but I'm an idiot when it comes to music.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (15/10/2021)

I'm in awe struck ! Brilliant Remix Rock !! top coolness and i give here 10/10 for amazing performance!! thank you so much Rock!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (15/10/2021)

I'm in awe struck ! Brilliant performance Rock ! i feel a lot heart, soul and his powerful on this tune . the Technique and either nostalgia factor is double the standard !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (15/10/2021)

fucking awesome work Rock! i love the energy and the coolness of the sound. you nailed it so greatly here! eargasm immediately as the tune starts!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (15/10/2021)

Top notch quality work Rock! love from the first second ! a Finnish Gold legend ! Outstanding! Outstanding! Outstanding!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Laci1971 (13/10/2021)

You’ve found the perfect balance between chiptune and live music. You have perfect remixes. Thank you.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pest Global Group DOO (11/10/2021)

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.” - Mae West
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/10/2021)

As happy as I am to finally hear a remix of this almost-forgotten Jeroen Tel tune, this one leaves me a bit unsatisfied. The simplistic arrangement is obviously intentional, but it feels to me there's a "real" remix waiting to burst out of it - but it never does. Too bad, because it really has all the elements that would make it great - we just don't hear them all together at the same time.

The whistling towards the end was a pleasant surprise, even if it's a bit out of tune here and there, but that just makes it sound more real. 😉

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Shargo (30/09/2021)

I really like this song, it's drive, sounds - all comes together in a nice upbeat song
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (29/09/2021)

This remix creates a really nice atmosphere right out of the gate. It's a nice mixture of gentle mystery and a subtle, creepy background. But... just when I am about to get into it, it ends. More, please!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nibe (28/09/2021)

The extension made it more complex!I prefer longer remixes and it made the song not overloaded with unnecessary repetitions.keep it up guys!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Vonti (26/09/2021)

Refreshing, up-beat, cool breaks, good variations, and exactly the right dose of blirps! ;-) Not only a neat interpretation, but also a remarkable extension of the original!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr Future (17/09/2021)

Very good remix, nice to hear. Especially the steam boat sound at 2:23 is a cool fx.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nibe (17/09/2021)

I want a whole thriller album remakke-d!!Can we do a crowdfunding for that?This remix summons all up what we love about your style!100%yes!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/09/2021)

Wow, quite an honor to see Skaven's name pop up here - a legend all by himself! It's actually kinda funny to see the moniker "Newcomer" next to his name (at the time of this writing) - which he most definitely isn't. 😁

He has graced us with his first ever SID remix submission - and what a remix it is! A hybrid symphonic-electronic cinematic style tour-de-force. It's 6+ minutes long, but there's not a single boring moment in it. My favorite is probably the super-raspy brass from 2:23 - holy moly, that just cuts straight through to my bones!

An absolutely jaw-dropping production, just top-notch. Love it. 👍👍👍 Welcome, Skaven, and I hope you'll take the time to create more SID/Amiga remixes in the future, too!

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Zod (14/09/2021)

Looks like I'm dancing alone at the start but after that my boobs start to dance with me, but wait... what?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (11/09/2021)

Welcome to the remix community, Ramjet! 🙋‍♂️

A fairly straightforward cover of the classic SID, closely following the original's arrangement. So, nothing to complain about there.

What's missing here is some sophistication in the instrumentation. I don't know if that was deliberate, but they all sound fairly flat with little movement, other than some reverb that got sprinkled around.

I'd say pretty good for a newbie, so keep at it!

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dan (01/09/2021)

Classic Makke, a real treat of a throwback to when RKO had a bit of character :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (01/09/2021)

I'm just so happy that Makke re-entered the … eh, "scene". His (yours, Makke) stuff continues to be super innovative, packaged in a purrfect retro box. All I want, really.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mhailingsworth (31/08/2021)

I really love this sound, it is really solid!! And awesome guitar riffs as wel ... great work!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/08/2021)

Tim must have a built-in awesomizer. Somehow he was able to take an iconic Galway tune and make it even better. We don't even get to hear the iconic lead until 3 minutes into the tune, but it's not like it's all boring up to that point, on the contrary. And that lead: why mess with perfection, just use the SID as-is! And then he goes into his now-signature improv section that always elevates his remixes to new heights, and it's no exception here. I'm absolutely blown away by this remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MORBID (25/08/2021)

Holy shiitake balls! Your remix slaps harder than my dad after he comes back from the bar!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hyperunknown/Noice (24/08/2021)

Seriously though, the sound and audio-image of this is just spectacular. It's like you're actually standing just infront of the stage at a live show. Props on the whole acoustic/live-feeling! Music-wise it's great, very 60's (I think?), reminds me of "Fortunate Son" by Creedence Clearwater Revival, same kinda feeling. Overall 10/10, I'm adding this to my playlist for sure!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2021)

While sonically perfect, it feels like this remix is trying to compress about 10 minutes worth of musical material into 3.5 minutes of a whirlwind. I get it, that was the time limit of the Árok compo, but it makes the arrangement feel a bit too mishmashy to me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/08/2021)

Overall, not bad, good use of the double guitars hard-panned left and right, but let me point out a couple of issues with this remix:

1. The intro (and the outro) is nice, but the licks really have nothing to do with the rest of the track, so they are a strange bookend.

2. The guitar lead starting at 2:01 (and @3:25) sounds extremely flat, void of any articulation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Frida Katarina (14/08/2021)

One of my favourites. It builds up a bit slow and the end part seems a little bit dull, but that's only because the middle part is so powerful. Once it kicks off, it flies sky high. I really like the choice of instrument on the lead there, and the right amount of reverb fits it just perfectly. And the promising fanfare subtly bubbling up in the background, and the little twist at the end of the flourish. Well done. Thank you.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/08/2021)

The mix is all over the place, the rhythm guitars are especially muddy. Got some nice ideas in there, but I think this track should've spent more time in the mixing department for polishing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/08/2021)

Kudos for picking an obscure little-known tune for your remix! The arrangement is not exactly sophisticated, but it's charming. Great choice of instruments. Looking forward to more productions from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/08/2021)

Perfect marriage of original SID and remix musical style! Finally, something different! Very nicely done.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/08/2021)

Still sounding great after all those years! This has everything: multiple Hubbard tunes, hip-hop beat, Commodore ad samples, and "lyrics" that only a true C64 geek can understand.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 74 75 76