Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2275

Login

Giana Sisters - Arok - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by danko, 08/12/2021

Also, Glyn makes me want to stop working on all the music projects I do, because Glyn.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by Poke16384, 06/12/2021

Lots of very recognisable undertones here.. 'Electric Dreams', 'Never-ending Story'.. Reyn's original doesn't hint that strongly at this genre and soundscape so, 10/10 for adapting it to this style.. The arrangement is faithful but, (and this is no criticism) The original doesn't leave much room to add more of your own parts like 'answer backs' to the main melody, (Reyn did it already in the SID). Your soundscape is really good. The individual instrument sounds that you've chosen absolutely represent the mid to late 80's era of electro-pop. A really enjoyable remix that only suffers from some of the repetition of the original SID. This is a tough SID to do anything other than a 1:1 cover with and you've done that really well... If I marked it down for adding next to nothing new to the arrangement, I'd be a hypocrite because I don't know what I could have added, in your place..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by Laci1971, 04/12/2021

Does it seem just to me that the background music is this: Laura Branigan - Gloria?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by tim_forsyth, 02/12/2021

There is so much to love about this remix. It's densely packed with rhythms, synths, arpeggios, fat brass chords and harmonies. It's tickling all my nostalgia senses, it has this sound of the 80's that's hard to pin down, Moroder, Pop, Game shows, Huelsbeck? I kept thinking I was listening to a Chris Huelsbeck remix of Reyn. The drums are tightly programmed and there's never a dull moment, 16 bars of fun throughout. Amazing! Right, I'm off to download some RX5 samples...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Somewhere (Paranoimia Crack Intro) - arranged by moonove

Review by Sada, 01/12/2021

Add a modern note to a classic cracktro. Maybe a little short as the original track repeat itself.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble (Moody Trailer remix) - arranged by Colmarr

Review by LaLa, 17/11/2021

I am going to be a bit harsh on this remix, mostly because it advertises itself as a trailer remix, which raises my expectations. From that perspective, the first minute or so of this remix - red smilie for sure, it's very well done. However, it never really seems to move on from there and gets stuck in an orchestral hits + piano cycle. Which does not sound very exciting to me after its novelty wears off.

Absolutely high marks for the unique approach to this SID tune, the sound palette you used here is totally trailer quality, but I think it would've been more successful if more thought was given to the overall arrangement.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

End Sax (sans sax) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 17/11/2021

I would like to know what's in the water in Norway, because it seems that almost every remix submitted from that country is of incredibly high quality!

The intro of this remix sounds like 4 different sample loops mixed together - I don't know if that's the case, but not that it matters, because once that piano lead floats in, I am already melting. And when the beautiful vocal replaces the piano, I feel like I am floating towards heaven.

This remix really hits a soft spot in me. Actually, it's more like it caresses a soft spot in me. The violin, the strings, the singer, the soft drum rhythm - it all feels just right. Whether they're sample loops or not - who cares. Eivind managed to create a wonderfully emotional piece out of DRAX's relatively short SID piece. Bravo! 👏👏👏 And thanks for sharing it with us! 👍

PS: Haha, yes, it is funny that a song with sax in its title has no sax in it. 😁

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Alloyrun - arranged by SIDNIFY

Review by LaLa, 17/11/2021

SIDNIFY don't release frequently, but when they do, it's high quality stuff. No exception here, with their now-signature 'wall of sound' in-your-face arrangement, sprinkled with a generous amount of electric guitars and SID sounds. And when the hurricane-force winds generated by the speakers off this remix finally end, the only proper reaction is WOW.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tribute to Atos - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by goblin, 16/11/2021

We used this song in one of our intros(Light) for a long time and holy smokes is this version different! Super fun and stylish
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Nemesis the Warlock - arranged by Skaven252

Review by LaLa, 15/11/2021

I really like the industrial, almost steampunk style here, but I have trouble accepting that electric violin-like lead on top of all that. It feels a bit too whiny to me in this context. It's a fantastic sound all by itself, but together with this 'heavy' metallic backing - I'm not sure. Otherwise, this is a superb arrangement, and it really paints a picture: when I close my eyes I am seeing big factory machines playing this remix, with giant vats containing liquid steel all around, big sparks flying from from each drum hit...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja - The Wilderness - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by tim_forsyth, 14/11/2021

Wonderful remix. There’s an admirable amount of restraint here that keeps the whole track a consistent and enjoyable, letting you weave in your signature style while keeping the vibe of the original intact. I also think the mix on this track is one of your best, there’s a lot more instrumentation and it compliments the brass and guitar. How you manage to keep pushing out so many quality, well played remixes I have no idea. Good stuff!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja - The Wilderness - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by LaLa, 13/11/2021

Lovely flute, great trumpet - a unique, but undeniably signature Andersson-like take on a classic SID. It all sounds very organic, cohesive, perfectly mixed. Just great all around!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters - Arok - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by LaLa, 10/11/2021

Boggles my mind how this placed only 4th at the Árok remix compo in 2021... This is a finely tuned epic choral-orchestral-cinematic take on Hülsbeck's classic tune. Throw in some vocal chops, maybe a pipe organ here and there, mix it up with some generous reverb - then add that special sauce that only Mr. Brown possesses, and you get a masterpiece. Mind blown! 🤯
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce 2.0 (countermelodic) - arranged by Eftos

Review by L0rd3vyL, 30/10/2021

I'm usually open to all kinds of remixes, but this one does absolutely nothing for me. Not good at all. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a lower score is I like the concept, but the execution is terrible. Bad!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Prelude & Fugato - arranged by BeeZerk

Review by LaLa, 29/10/2021

While the SID (and thus, its remix) is based on a Bach piece, BeeZerk managed elevate it to new sonic heights with elegance and grace. Sounds wonderful!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Myth - History In The Making - arranged by Marton Bencze

Review by LaLa, 28/10/2021

Hello and welcome to the Commodore remix community! Üdvözlünk!

A synth-heavy version of the classic Jeroen Tel tune, which goes to the dark side more than once. It's put together well, although I think the overall arrangement could be a bit more sophisticated. Looking forward to hear more remixes from you!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce (2021 Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by tim_forsyth, 26/10/2021

Red for me, partly because this is a great remix but mainly cause you've improved almost everything from your original. Guitar playing is more natural, especially the end lead solo, replacing some synths for guitar give is a more cohesive sound. Less reverb and boominess on the bridge, the thinned out pulse width synth sounds better plus the drums and toms sit better in the mix. Great work, these may be subtle changes but they make a big difference.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader 4 (Beneath the Current) - arranged by Octupus Tea

Review by LaLa, 26/10/2021

Welcome to the Commodore remix community!

A nice, minimalist arrangement which would be fitting as the soundtrack to a kids toy. Nice touch with the waves sample (ocean loader - I get it 😉).

The mix sounds too dry, I think adding some reverb would've helped create a better aquatic atmosphere. But not bad for a first remix, not bad at all!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce (2021 Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 24/10/2021

I have no idea how you manage to get your mixes sound so crisp and clear, but doesn't matter on what system I listen to this one, it just punches through speakers and headphones no problem.

Anyway, I gave your previous version an orange 2 years ago, and this one definitely earns the red one. More guitars, less reverb/echo on the lead, and just an improved sound overall. I wish the guitar lead was more nuanced at places (like at 4:36 maybe should've used mutes instead), but that's just a minor gripe. I really like it!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by vosla, 21/10/2021

Would like go into details so much but I'm an idiot when it comes to music.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 19/10/2021

Tim is proving himself to be quite the remix meister, and here's another proof of that. A surprising, but very creative intro followed by a more upbeat straight remix of Lighforce, and it concludes with a much darker outro. As usual with Tim's remixes, the mixing is top-notch and it all just sounds very satisfying to my ears.

PS: Prior to release Tim put up just the intro part of his remix in the R64 forum for people to guess which tune's remix it is. I don't think anybody got it right, including me. That was a fun little game. 😉

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fallen Leaves - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 15/10/2021

I'm in awe struck! Brilliant Remix Rock!! top coolness and i give here 10/10 for amazing performance!! thank you so much Rock!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rainy Day - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 15/10/2021

I'm in awe struck! Brilliant performance Rock! i feel a lot heart, soul and his powerful on this tune. the Technique and either nostalgia factor is double the standard!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Jeroenimo - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 15/10/2021

fucking awesome work Rock! i love the energy and the coolness of the sound. you nailed it so greatly here! eargasm immediately as the tune starts!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Muser - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 15/10/2021

Top notch quality work Rock! love from the first second! a Finnish Gold legend! Outstanding! Outstanding! Outstanding!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rainy Day - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Laci1971, 13/10/2021

You’ve found the perfect balance between chiptune and live music. You have perfect remixes. Thank you.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Jeroenimo - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Pest Global Group DOO, 11/10/2021

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough. - Mae West
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gaplus - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 05/10/2021

As happy as I am to finally hear a remix of this almost-forgotten Jeroen Tel tune, this one leaves me a bit unsatisfied. The simplistic arrangement is obviously intentional, but it feels to me there's a real remix waiting to burst out of it - but it never does. Too bad, because it really has all the elements that would make it great - we just don't hear them all together at the same time.

The whistling towards the end was a pleasant surprise, even if it's a bit out of tune here and there, but that just makes it sound more real. 😉

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dominator Loader (Dominant mix) - arranged by Ctrl-Z

Review by Shargo, 30/09/2021

I really like this song, it's drive, sounds - all comes together in a nice upbeat song
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja Remix - The Sewers Intro (2021 Remix) - arranged by Fabio Marinelli

Review by LaLa, 29/09/2021

This remix creates a really nice atmosphere right out of the gate. It's a nice mixture of gentle mystery and a subtle, creepy background. But... just when I am about to get into it, it ends. More, please!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 74 75 76