Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2211

Login

Review by wobbler (11/06/2021)

Ok, so "late to the party". Sort of. Yes, I've heard this remix several times, but only through official broadcasting, and no … I didn't buy the album. Hell, never bought any c64-album. So yes – shame on me. But on the other hand – super glad that Makke is releasing his choons for public consumption. Anyway, this release shows the skills of Mr. Makke. WB back to the "scene", brutha. (but who am I to wish a thing like that, huh? Huh? Like, huh?). P.s. "huh".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by exocytosis (10/06/2021)

If you are urging for a SID EBM-inspired trance beat, Jevgeni has you covered - their version of Delta is all about electronic, fast paced drums and Delta's iconic theme. Its snappy, up-beat and well orchestrated score is nothing short of a bliss for anyone looking for a cover song made for workouts and dance floors alike. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (02/06/2021)

Great track, I love it. Even if I don't know the original, this track deserves a red Button. There are far to few metal remixes out there...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (02/06/2021)

A really good track. Actually, I'm looking for tracks for "Self Radio" at GTA V, and this track fits perfectly. Speedy racings, the one or the other shootout, and than this track....Hell, yeah. XD
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Blackwater0815 (30/05/2021)

One of my favorit games in my childhood. Thx for the nice soundtrack and the memorys
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/05/2021)

What a great remix! Yet again, Tim hits it out of the ballpark. The first half of this remix is a pretty amazing remix of the SID itself. Then Tim decided to add a second half consisting of his improvs and variations - and it sounds fabulous! Definitely has undertones of Jarre in there (Zoolook, Revolutions), and it's done very elegantly. Well done, Tim, well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (26/05/2021)

You’ve nailed that feel of a live band jamming on stage and you’ve built a head nodding groove. I particularly like the switch at the end to the bass player noodling around the notes. The mix feels a bit flat to me and the guitar solo is a little quiet plus the pads around the 2 minute mark jump in a bit unexpectedly, but I love the texture they bring. I’ve found myself coming back to this track many times this evening, fantastic work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (25/05/2021)

What a great collaborative remix! Andreas on the drums goes crazy as usual. :-) Necro is smoking hot on the guitar, Laxity kills it on the keyboards, Marc on the bass just kicks ass... Well done, everybody! Personally, I think it deserved to finish higher in the Remix 64 20th Anniversary Compo, but at least I can give it all the red smilies I want right here. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (25/05/2021)

Love the intro, lots of texture and love given there and it gave me great expectations (nice use of the original samples) but I wasn't too keen on the pitch bending lead. Aside from that, there’s a lot to appreciate in this mix, great stuff.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/05/2021)

Wow and holy s**t and whoa!!! People, we need a new smilie: a red smilie is just not good enough any more to express how excellent this is! We need a flaming red smilie for this one! The compo version you submitted to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo was already good enough for 3rd place there, and that had "only" a Mordified synth lead. Here with the sweet, sweet vocal you just elevated this remix to a whole new level. Sounds like those singing lessons Lea gave you have paid off - your voice has improved a LOT, Mordi! ;-)

I don't know who came up with the "pop song lyrics" (you, Mordi, or Vir, the singer), but it's absolutely fitting. And you did a fantastic job dressing up the solo vocal with harmonies and effects. I just can't say enough good things about this remix! Superb!

I think from now on when people chuckle at me that I am totally into remixes of nerdy Commodore-64 SID tunes, I will just show them this song and I'll enjoy watching their jaws drop. Suck it, non-nerds!

#DemandAFlamingSmilie
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

I quite like it! A mostly guitar-based arrangement with additional synths. It all blossoms into a nice groove which keeps the tune going. Then there's a nicely positioned break, then the groove picks up again... All in all, it's very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

This is a remix of two personalities. I quite like intro where you went in the opposite direction of the usual horror-themed remixes and created a more mellow choral piece. The electric bass guitar shattered that serenity - but then you went back to being mellow with the flamenco guitar (?). This constant flip-flopping in the arrangement was an odd choice, IMHO. I can't really decide whether that's a good thing or not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

Pretty danceable, I like the groove you developed for the remix. But I think it falls short in the mixing department: the overall sound is too 'airy', too 'light', rather than 'edgy' and 'punchy', which is what I would've expected based on the arrangement. Too bad, because you have some really creative ideas sprinkled throughout the remix (like the vocal-based bass starting at 3:08).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

Very nice guitar licks in the intro. The complete lack of legato in the singer's voice is rather off-putting, though. Then comes a pretty good beat overlaid with some okay-ish instrumentation. Overall, not bad, some neat ideas in it here and there - but not very exciting for me, either.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MusicLover (12/05/2021)

Adorable! This is my favorite version, I personally found it playful, light and efficient at the same time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Laci1971 (12/05/2021)

True Italo disco. Starts with Scotch - Disco Band cough, the main part reminds me of Laserdance.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Codetapper (10/05/2021)

I'd love to hear a version of this without the singing if that's at all possible!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poppykuk (06/05/2021)

I loved Space Harrier and this is even more driven & in your face. The instrument mix is superb & spot on for the remix. It's a turbocharged version of the arcade soundtrack with Jeroen Tel's melody layered beautifully into the mix. It drops effortlessly into the break and comes out again, seamlessly changing key for it's finale. My new favourite earworm. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

I was fortunate enough to be able to listen to this remix as soon as it was uploaded to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo. I listened to it at least 10 times in a row right away. And I still keep listening to it - I just love it! The arrangement is simply amazing, especially considering how differently the original SID was arranged by Rob. The instrumentation is also spot on, and I just can't stop bobbing my head to this tune! It's a wonderful mix of disco, 80's orchestral pop and modern-day synthwave. I'm sure this remix has its flaws, but I'll let other people find those this time - I'll just keep enjoying this remix day after day!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

Italo Disco style - me like. All the sounds - me like. Except one: the cough. OK, I get it, that's a rip, too, and a signature sound of this style, but along with the subtitle "Italian Infection", personally, I find it distasteful in this age of the pandemic and not funny at all. Remove that, and you get a red smilie.

PS: I had a little chat with Wobbler which made me realize that I apparently misunderstood the message he tried to convey with this remix. It wasn't meant to make fun of the Covid pandemic at all. I'm writing this here in the hopes that nobody else will think of this remix that way, either.

I wish your wife a speedy and full recovery, Wobbler!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

This remix reminds me of a finely woven tapestry where each strand, each color, each motif was made with the utmost care to ensure that when you step back and look at the entire piece, it remains a beautiful piece of art. All the nuances, all the articulations must've taken Tomsk a long time to get just right in this mostly orchestral remix, from the guitar to the strings, from the piano to the flute. I think the choice of the waltz-like, but 4/4 based rhythm was a fine one, too. I really like what I am hearing here!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

High energy, indeed! This remix starts strong and it never lets up. It really captures the high-octane tempo of the original (both Jeroen's and Hiroshi Miyauchi's). The instrumentation is prog-rock, and the arrangement is really befitting that genre.

I am also glad Pete had the compo version's mixing reworked by Danko for this RKO release, it sounds so much better now!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (05/05/2021)

Sanxion! The one and only tune that I really like (like to remix as well). And flutes! I once made a flute remix, remember? But yeah, Makke knows his stuff, especially knows how to add voice & lyrics. Refreshing! (although I understand that this one isn't a new one … just hadn't heard it before)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (05/05/2021)

Another outstanding remix! You've done an amazing job of capturing that Sega spirit in the arrangement and instruments. Especially in my favourite section, the break down around 3:15, took me right back to stuffing coins in the arcades during the 80's.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/05/2021)

Perfect soundtrack to the sad movie of the Covid-19 pandemic. The lo-fi piano, the subtle strings, the long intro with the twisted ambient samples... This is a piece that was definitely created by the heart, not by the mind.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/04/2021)

The more I listen to this, the more I like it. It's highly cinematic in style, and I really like its "slow breathing", up-and-down tempo throughout. The arrangement may be on the simple side, but it's effective. The instrumentation is very nice, and I think the entire piece is just put together rather well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (27/04/2021)

For me, the first outstanding remix I heard in the anniversary compo. I love this, the creepy atmosphere, the carpenter vibes, from a creative point of view, this is full of ideas. The only minor issue I have is the loudness of the snare, it works but it’s a bit too in your face. I thought the “please hang up and try again” phrase at the end was a genius addition.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/04/2021)

While the arrangement and the instrumentation is the high-quality we've come to expect from Mr. Clarke, something is off with the mixing of this track. Namely, the guitars in the left and right channels sound like they were recorded with mics that were placed far away from the guitars. Or maybe it's some weird phasing issue between them. Bottom line is, they just don't sound as natural as the guitars in your other remixes, their sound has a certain metallic tincan quality to them.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (21/04/2021)

A brilliant remix but this is Glyn so, we expect brilliant. Nevertheless, once you get past the fantastic arrangement and arrive at the mix & the master, these are also spot on. The whole thing has a Tim Burton feel to it and it's only flaw is the length of the track. It's an outstanding piece of music and was easily worth it's 4th position in the competition..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/04/2021)

Classic Necro, solid stuff. It's baffling to me why it didn't score higher on the R64 20th Anniversary remix compo. How you manage to mix SID sounds and heavy guitars with all that distortion and still getting a clean mix out of it all is beyond me. And your work on those guitars - just damn.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 72 73 74