Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 226

Login

Review by peterparker (17/07/2021)

Obliterators theme was always one of my favorite themes. Unfortunately the game was itself not very good and also not very popular. Romeo Knight re-created the right atmosphere (as always) how this song would sound today. For my taste was the allister Brimble remix much to soft with the heavy emphasis on synths. Obviously Obliterator needs a brute guitar as "The Obliterator" is not some distinguished undercover cop in miami but a goddamned one man show here to save the earth and humanity. Well done and greetings to D-Town!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (04/07/2021)

Lots of echoing. Respectfull of the original spirit with a little touch of originality (not too much). Immersive song. Close your eyes, you'll be in the desert of Arakis ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (04/07/2021)

Too short song, really pleasant to listen, good mixing, Assumed synth guitar. Perfectly executed, Wow, the pleasure to cruising in my car with this song :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Vonti (25/06/2021)

It's a tune that's not remixed often! It comes with a few cool harmonic surpises. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (02/06/2021)

Great track, I love it. Even if I don't know the original, this track deserves a red Button. There are far to few metal remixes out there...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (02/06/2021)

A really good track. Actually, I'm looking for tracks for "Self Radio" at GTA V, and this track fits perfectly. Speedy racings, the one or the other shootout, and than this track....Hell, yeah. XD
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Codetapper (10/05/2021)

I'd love to hear a version of this without the singing if that's at all possible!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mirkone (13/04/2021)

v e r y g o o d v i b r a t i o n s ........ thanks ottimo lavoro, bravissimo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by difquin (11/03/2021)

Have always loved this rendition. The delayed sawtooth synth line is glorious, and the drums with the smooth shakers really fill out the space wonderfully. The stereo image is just packed with ear candy.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (14/02/2021)

Well, I have no idea where I heared that melody before, but I reconized it immediately (even if I couldn't remember the title). Great track, got an instant earworm which refuses to leave my brain. :-) Now, SigmaZeven, any ideas how to remove that bloody worm? XD
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Radiarion (21/11/2020)

Smooth, punchy, melodic, and simply love the synths. Cant wait to hear what you deliver next :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Radiarion (21/11/2020)

I absolutely love this track, it has an amazing flow and base line that just captivates, and holds you until the very end. As an old school Amiga guy myself, I remember most if not all of the tracks on this site, and this has to be one of my favorites of all time. Id love to hear you remake Quick n Silva main title if you fancy a challenge ? Keep the beats flowing :) ps: What sound bank/vst did you use, Id love to get hold of those samples :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Aule (06/10/2020)

This is the best version of Crystal Hammer I've ever heard. You brought a special style to it. A good beat and though the harmony is a little bit different the original is still present. Good work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fabrice971 (22/09/2020)

Amazing pads , amazing guitar, amazing bass. I love it even if I don't even recognize the original
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by codewiz (06/09/2020)

At 3:25, you can hear one of the most iconic voice samples of the Amiga demoscene. I had it stuck in my mind for 30 years.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poppykuk (02/09/2020)

I initially just wrote a comment on this remix but I've come back so many times this year to listen to it again & again I felt I had to give it a little more love. What an uplifting remix this is, technically the instruments & the mix are 1st class. The arrangement is brilliant from the agile bassline to the disco-strings it's so good. And from a nostalgia point of view, this IS Space Harrier. It's what I heard in my head, every time I played the game. An outstanding remix from start to finish.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tomsk (27/08/2020)

Loving this version so much...there's plenty to keep everyone happy and put a smile on your face...from the amazing string work on the intro, to the clear and clever bass, and even a cheeky bit of ELO inspired vocoder. The guitar work through out is exceptional, and it should be one of your essential downloads here at Amiga remix too. I love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (21/08/2020)

Peter set a standard with his cybernoid 2 remix and he's done it again with this version of Space Harrier. The bassline drives it throughout and the whole thing is uplifting & catchy. Mixing & mastering sound impeccable. Superb remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Rainstorm (14/07/2020)

There is something wrong at 0:45. There is a delay. Please, compare with original tune : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=El5IWQWAJdY
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/05/2020)

A wonderful acoustic-style remix of a classic tune. There are some sections of it that lean towards country/bluegrass style (e.g. @ 2:04) - I wish that style was explored further. But it sounds amazing as is, no complaints whatsoever! =) And the second, downtempo part of the piece is just be-a-utiful!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (12/05/2020)

Mr Clarke, I thought it would be difficult for you to match your most recent, ROTY-winning remix. So, you've come at us from a different angle. This is a brilliant new remix. Giving this tune the Prog-rock treatment is inspired. Technically, it's tight and the riffs, licks & flourishes lift it beyond the title of "remix". There's so much original creation here but I guess that's what an old-school, game-music composer can do. Outstanding!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ItsReactor (01/05/2020)

Enjoyed this a lot. Reminiscent of the original but with some creative new stuff. Saved. Thank you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by _steve_ (01/05/2020)

This evokes the memories of that infamous game over screen featuring your character being struck by lightning. Given the original game over guitar riff was just 10-20 seconds, long, the manner you expanded around that is fantastic. The pan flute repetition at 40s along with the acoustic guitar, birds and general atmosphere sets this in the SOTB universe.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Rainstorm (10/04/2020)

So good. I hope you'll have time to create all other stages and also the intro. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee71 (25/01/2020)

Wicked! All I have to day really. Makes you wanna play it again. Peace out!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nous (13/12/2019)

I still remember the day I first heard this tune. I let it play over and over and over, and I regretted I had just a mono-1084 instead of a 1081 or 1084-S.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kjetiln (04/12/2019)

Excellent arrangement! Love it! Execution wise it could be a little better, as it sounds a little dry. We can also hear it is not played by a real orchestra, although it is obvious that it is pretending to be. Plus for great arrangement, and minus for not sounding as great as it could be. I can only hope and believe that the arranger will improve and I can't wait to hear what will come from him in the future!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kjetiln (01/12/2019)

Really good attempt at doing an authentic remix, which when coming to the Settlers soundtrack, is a really ambitious task! Overall this doesn't come out as a huge improvement compared to the original. Some instruments sounds too simple and sharp, and it could just as well have been the game's soundtrack, which is not bad, but a remix should add something. Some parts are very nice and improve upon the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (08/11/2019)

I don't usually like the electric guitar versions of classic computer tunes, but this one was excellent. Great playing and a joy to here the old tune given some love.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neriakX (26/10/2019)

Nice Story here in one track. It sure is a a top notch production! As many others already said .. it's kind of a journey the listeneres are going through. Keep it up mate!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8