Less than 1 week left to submit your vote to the compo!

Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo Banner 720x72
© Image by Ziona
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2178

Login

Review by Mirkone (13/04/2021)

Cavolo... e cambia sta p u n t i n a!!!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mirkone (13/04/2021)

v e r y g o o d v i b r a t i o n s ........ thanks
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Shargo (10/04/2021)

Really brings out the balance between the melody and drive. The contrast between drums/base and melody is also nicely accompanied by the cowbell
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (02/04/2021)

Simply loaded with atmosphere, this is exactly what driller should sound like.. For a repetitive tune, this has cleverly been arranged to offer something new at each turn, ensuring it never sounds stale. I love the opening sound, which always puts me in mind of the tripods from war of the worlds. The drums stay fresh and mixing them up /making additions to the beat drive the mix along. Its fantastic.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Phrygian (28/03/2021)

What I see the major issues are note velocities and unequalized guitar. Guitar is definitely lacking volume in hi-frequencies, so the drumkit especially hats. The song doesn't seem crossing 0 dB once the guitar comes into scene resulting in a constant hum in background. From half of the song, the lead synth is out of sync more than a humanized score. Also please make an outro or at least fade it out. On the other hand, the concept is fine by me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by giannibat (23/03/2021)

90's from the space and classy, is one of my favourite c64 game (tough) and remake.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/03/2021)

Funky groove! Nicely done. I am not entirely sold on the vocoded vocals, though: it's a bit too hard to understand the lyrics. Maybe dial the modulator down a bit to let more of the original vocal through? Definitely plus points for originality, though! And I totally dig the guitar improv towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/03/2021)

The flute in the intro is nice. The vocoded voice is hard to understand. The synth parts are okay-ish. The mix gets washed out due to the hi-freq pads. And the ending is abruptly cut off - at least let the reverb ring out.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/03/2021)

Nice and slow laid-back version with prog-rock ambience (guitar and electric organ). I am hearing some dissonant chords starting at around the 1:55 mark - tsk-tsk. Other than that, rather pleasant and relaxing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Blackstar (11/03/2021)

Sounds great. Hard to say what could have been done better. Orinigal chorus could have been more highlighted - but great remix anyway
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Blackstar (11/03/2021)

nice instruments but too slow for me. reminds me of Bloddsport OST. Well done
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by difquin (11/03/2021)

Have always loved this rendition. The delayed sawtooth synth line is glorious, and the drums with the smooth shakers really fill out the space wonderfully. The stereo image is just packed with ear candy.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (11/03/2021)

love this tune very much. great work !!! love the energy the danceable rhythm , the effects , the style and mixing work
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/03/2021)

Yes! Yes! Yes! Overall, a really inventive remix, very 'proggie' in it's feel and execution. My only criticism is the 2 minute wait from beginning to the entry of the picked guitar and nothing else to tickle the ears before. Another minute and the main protagonist joins the party, (the lead-guitar). For me, the remix really shines from around 3.57 when everything comes back into tempo. There are some super-delicious licks & riffs happening and the overall sound is very authentic. Lots of musical invention here.. it perhaps needed more in the first few minutes.. another instrument to entertain us while we waited for the main-guest to arrive.. Great effort & a really good remix overall..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/03/2021)

Wow! There's a mix of right & wrong in this remix.. For me, it misses a full set of red smileys by a small margin.. The guitar licks are tasty enough to occupy the centre of the stereo spectrum but moderation could have & should have been used. They could have been used as an 'answer back' to the 'Delta' melody line, (maybe using a slightly stronger melody sound).. and the guitar could have been given it's own, more traditional lead-break, somewhere in the middle too.. There are places in this remix where you hear an authentic prog-rock tune. In these sections, the tempo & feel really give us a little of the atmosphere of 'koyaanisqatsi', (the true parent of Delta). Despite my critique, I like this remix and I feel that it doesn't miss the mark by that much..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/03/2021)

A very chilled beginning until the 2 minute mark when the guitar picks up the lead.. and there are some really delicious licks in there.. but a few that grate against the alternative chords, created by the bass wandering into new territory. I'm torn on this remix.. There's clearly a lot of talent here and some great ideas about taking this tune in a different direction but.. the mix is a little muddy in the low-mids, the balance gets lost and it does all get a bit messy, as the remix progresses.. Having heard this, I'll be sure to listen to future remixes from this musician.. I'm still going orange because I want to hear more remixes and new ideas..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/03/2021)

This is a hard SID to crack because it's so intricate and so complex, and it's also high-paced. If you listen carefully, this remix is a really good effort, with lots of the subtleties of the original present in this remix. The somewhat chaotic nature of the original also comes through very well.

I find it hard not to compare it to Ocean's excellent version from 2002, which I think absolutely nailed the instrumentation and the arrangement, too. Listening to Tim's version and Ocean's version back-to-back also reveals that Tim's version lacks a lot of punch, which I think can be fixed in the mixing department. All in all, my hats off to Tim for taking a crack at this SID and because he obviously poured a lot of effort into his remix, and the result is a pretty darn good piece.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/03/2021)

I don't think you amped up the clubby beat on this high enough! Great concept, so-so execution. I think I like the 5:34-6:04 section the best. The part starting at 6:04 was supposed to be crescendo of the entire tune, and your lead here sounds really whimpy, plus it misses all the portamentos badly, too (you did not pay attention to that after your SID2MIDI conversion, did you?).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/03/2021)

Really smooth bass kicks ass on this remix. That whiny sound, though - ouch, not to my liking. Love your guitar jamming on top of the beat. This remix falls apart badly at 1:30 - you should've stopped the guitar licks at that point. That section sounds too dissonant to my ears, anyway.

At 2:16 we are back to our regularly scheduled Delta, still, that thin hi-freq whiny sound just doesn't seem to fit.

3:05 - silky smooth jamming again, tickles my ears. That provides a strong finish to this remix.

Overall, I think you fell too much in love with your own jamming on this remix, you should've paused it, especially after 1:30.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/03/2021)

This one sounds really excellent until about the 1 min mark when that synth lead comes in. Does not compute! Then you redeem yourself with a much better guitar lead after the 2 min mark, only to switch back to the synth lead again. I mean, the lead sound would be fine by itself, it just does not fit this track at all, IMHO. At around 3:50 it all gets chaotic to my ears, and then it fades into a jam session. This tracks shows a lot more promise than what it actually delivers.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/03/2021)

I love this! It's like a jam session over a Parallax beat. Sounds very impromptu, towards the end ever more improvised. You've done something new, something fresh with Parallax in a prog-rock style. Great job!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/03/2021)

Another Makke classic from days of yore, yet, it sounds as good today as it did 15+ years ago. (Funny how these bits and bytes don't fade with age like my cassette tapes do...) And that vocoder voice totally became Makke's signature. :-) All coupled with lyrics that is spot on.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by m1k3p (04/03/2021)

LukHash has done it again - Great sense of space in the mix, and a fantastic flair for capturing the WHY we loved these tunes in the first place. I've been a long-time fan of LukHash, and think he has a unique talent for bringing these SID classics into the 21st Century!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Kenshigros (26/02/2021)

Hi.I am the one posting this music.Like I said in the comment of this tune I am not the creator but his friend and it was back in 2012 and it was his mp3 so I wouldn t touch it and he was a guy who don t touch but record and send.He didn t like to alter or optimise stuff He just played on the keyboard thru Reason 5 i, the night in high season since he was a cook. I know it ends abrutly but by respect I wouldn t touch it. Thanks for reading me Alex
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FlowerAI (24/02/2021)

very ultra super duper techno trance bass and drums holly shit!!! shitstorm, shitstorm, shit thunderstorm
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Waz (23/02/2021)

Although a very nice idea to carry out a very Renaissance era theme to this Dragon's Lair II, there's just the feeling itself that seems to be lacking. It needs some more emotion, possibly a crescendo in parts to heighten the suspense. The idea is absolutely the right one to do and with more care this would be rather delightful, but it falls short unfortunately.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Scaver (22/02/2021)

Second disappointment in a row: I felt the same with your Central Park remix, did not make a remark then but now it seems some kind of tendency so I may put it in detail. Good one but - with all due respect - nothing groundbreaking: Druid 2 in synthwave/dubstep. (The line from Impossible Mission was surely unnecessary in my opinion, it strongly felt out of place.) I feel we are somehow having an inclination to ’overrate’ the work of LukHash which is quite understandable: with great former achievements come great expectations. Though the sound is truly top-notch, I fairly miss the features that make a remix distinguishing and really innovative which would deserve this credited appreciation. The only nostalgic factor I sense is merely from the original sounds, not from the melody which should be the primary source. Also, when choosing an extremely well-known and over-remixed song, you gotta’ come up with more new ideas (structural twists and turns, supporting melodies, significant own solos...etc.) that clearly distinguish your track and bring added own value (reaching far beyond refurbished sound only) thus not leaving it only one among many on which the usually applied delayed arpeggios and over-compression do not help, unfortunately. With your recent ‘convenient tracks’, I cannot help but feel a little struggle to quickly jump in ‘da old days’, enjoying their glory in a quick and comfortable way. So, again with due respect, this is only mediocre in my opinion, I am sorry. In the future, please re-invent your remixes with fresh ideas, not just by polishing the sound and insert some filling sections to stretch playing time. Being your fan for a long time, I followed your work and I know you can re-born and show some new and great stuff, like you have done a long time ago. Live up to your reputation, dude, don’t let it fade.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (22/02/2021)

After a few listens, I decided to review this (instead of a shout out), and up the rating from Grey to yellow. Reason ? It's a nice clear mix and even though it's a simple 1:1 the instrument choice is good and perfectly suits. I still feel it's a slightly missed opportunity and is crying out to be given more feeling and emotion. A really good idea, but free it from the 1:1 cover and take us on a journey. Potential is there Fabio....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mhailingsworth (22/02/2021)

Great song, I really like it! Played really well on all instruments and great sound, respect!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/02/2021)

The essence of the original is there, but it's presented somewhat flatly - I wish there was more emotion, more dynamics in it. I also think the male vocal shouts do not fit here, they jolted me out of the otherwise ethereal soundscape. The arrangement is fine, I even like the instrument selection, but the mix could've benefited from some additional tune-up to add some 'unpredictability' to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 71 72 73