Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 31 - 60 out of 2270

Login

Gerry The Germ #7 - arranged by o2

Review by Zod, 14/09/2021

Looks like I'm dancing alone at the start but after that my boobs start to dance with me, but wait... what?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Supremacy (Cobalt8 Mix) - arranged by Ramjet

Review by LaLa, 11/09/2021

Welcome to the remix community, Ramjet! πŸ™‹β€β™‚οΈ

A fairly straightforward cover of the classic SID, closely following the original's arrangement. So, nothing to complain about there.

What's missing here is some sophistication in the instrumentation. I don't know if that was deliberate, but they all sound fairly flat with little movement, other than some reverb that got sprinkled around.

I'd say pretty good for a newbie, so keep at it!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts n Goblins (Ghosts n Thrillers) - arranged by Makke

Review by Dan, 01/09/2021

Classic Makke, a real treat of a throwback to when RKO had a bit of character 😃
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts n Goblins (Ghosts n Thrillers) - arranged by Makke

Review by wobbler, 01/09/2021

I'm just so happy that Makke re-entered the … eh, scene. His (yours, Makke) stuff continues to be super innovative, packaged in a purrfect retro box. All I want, really.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by mhailingsworth, 31/08/2021

I really love this sound, it is really solid!! And awesome guitar riffs as wel... great work!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Terra Cresta - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 27/08/2021

Tim must have a built-in awesomizer. Somehow he was able to take an iconic Galway tune and make it even better. We don't even get to hear the iconic lead until 3 minutes into the tune, but it's not like it's all boring up to that point, on the contrary. And that lead: why mess with perfection, just use the SID as-is! And then he goes into his now-signature improv section that always elevates his remixes to new heights, and it's no exception here. I'm absolutely blown away by this remix!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by MORBID, 25/08/2021

Holy shiitake balls! Your remix slaps harder than my dad after he comes back from the bar!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican II Title - Hang Ten Mix - arranged by 0Supereg0

Review by hyperunknown/Noice, 24/08/2021

Seriously though, the sound and audio-image of this is just spectacular. It's like you're actually standing just infront of the stage at a live show. Props on the whole acoustic/live-feeling! Music-wise it's great, very 60's (I think?), reminds me of Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival, same kinda feeling. Overall 10/10, I'm adding this to my playlist for sure!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Black Lamp - arranged by Slaygon

Review by LaLa, 22/08/2021

While sonically perfect, it feels like this remix is trying to compress about 10 minutes worth of musical material into 3. 5 minutes of a whirlwind. I get it, that was the time limit of the Árok compo, but it makes the arrangement feel a bit too mishmashy to me.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader - Modern Metal Mix - arranged by Underphil

Review by LaLa, 17/08/2021

Overall, not bad, good use of the double guitars hard-panned left and right, but let me point out a couple of issues with this remix:

1. The intro (and the outro) is nice, but the licks really have nothing to do with the rest of the track, so they are a strange bookend.

2. The guitar lead starting at 2:01 (and @3:25) sounds extremely flat, void of any articulation.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Mixer

Review by Frida Katarina, 14/08/2021

One of my favourites. It builds up a bit slow and the end part seems a little bit dull, but that's only because the middle part is so powerful. Once it kicks off, it flies sky high. I really like the choice of instrument on the lead there, and the right amount of reverb fits it just perfectly. And the promising fanfare subtly bubbling up in the background, and the little twist at the end of the flourish. Well done. Thank you.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Power Drift (Low carbs more cow Bell) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 14/08/2021

The mix is all over the place, the rhythm guitars are especially muddy. Got some nice ideas in there, but I think this track should've spent more time in the mixing department for polishing.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Star Soldier - arranged by Aarrow

Review by LaLa, 12/08/2021

Kudos for picking an obscure little-known tune for your remix! The arrangement is not exactly sophisticated, but it's charming. Great choice of instruments. Looking forward to more productions from you!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bossa Nova - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 06/08/2021

Perfect marriage of original SID and remix musical style! Finally, something different! Very nicely done.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hardware & Hubbard - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 04/08/2021

Still sounding great after all those years! This has everything: multiple Hubbard tunes, hip-hop beat, Commodore ad samples, and lyrics that only a true C64 geek can understand.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Why Not (Dope Out) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Diatonator, 26/07/2021

That's how I imagine DRAX tunes fleshed out into real instruments! I definitely need to do something of sort. 2:10 part really screams for good human guitar solo though! Could provide if you want actually..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Microprose Soccer (Chug it) - arranged by Slaygon

Review by monty, 19/07/2021

This one is a grower! I think it deserved a better result in the compo and I can only speculate that the slow build-up maybe doesn't work extremely well for a compo entry. However, regarding the slow build-up I think the goosebump-inducing main part (from 2:30 on) should have been extended. Btw. I bought the game back then and I cannot remember that tune at all hence the low nostalgia factor...😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Obliterator - arranged by Romeo Knight

Review by peterparker, 17/07/2021

Obliterators theme was always one of my favorite themes. Unfortunately the game was itself not very good and also not very popular. Romeo Knight re-created the right atmosphere (as always) how this song would sound today. For my taste was the allister Brimble remix much to soft with the heavy emphasis on synths. Obviously Obliterator needs a brute guitar as The Obliterator is not some distinguished undercover cop in miami but a goddamned one man show here to save the earth and humanity. Well done and greetings to D-Town!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Microprose Soccer (Chug it) - arranged by Slaygon

Review by LaLa, 17/07/2021

Mordi has the mordifier, Slaygon has the slaygonizer. A larger-than-life cinematic version of a SID subtune that is less than 30 seconds long - it has been slaygonized. Dark and gritty, grandiose and in-your-face. If they ever make a Hollywood epic about MicroProse Soccer, this should be its title tune.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Complete Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 11/07/2021

The issues with this remix are multi-pronged. While the original SID has a great hook, its overall arrangement is just nonsensical and mish-mashy. Unfortunately, that arrangement is followed here way too closely. Second, sounds like a lot of parts were based on a straight SID2MIDI conversion: they are lifeless, and barely add anything to the original arrangement. Third, while individually the instruments probably sound fairly decent, together they just don't convey any emotion - it's like robots playing them from a set score. 0supereg0 - I know you can do better than this.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja - arranged by MASTER BOOT RECORD

Review by LaLa, 09/07/2021

A gritty, industrial approach to this oft-remixed theme, in an 'extended cut' style. I quite like the arpeggiated sequences, too.

But I think the real highlight of this remix is the clever re-arrangement of the tune, I really appreciate the effort that went into that. The more I listen to it, the more I like it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Why Not (Dope Out) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 09/07/2021

Wow, perfect marriage of original SID tune and remix style! Dig the electric piano 🎹 bouncing all around the stereo space. Dig the trumpet 🎺, too. Dig the sweet, sweet deepness of that bass 🎸, hotdamn! Digging the entire piece, period. ☺️ Wish there was more vocal πŸ‘„ shouts, though (like that oh-oh early on).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dune - Ecolove VS GITS - arranged by Murdock

Review by rnuls, 04/07/2021

Lots of echoing. Respectfull of the original spirit with a little touch of originality (not too much). Immersive song. Close your eyes, you'll be in the desert of Arakis 😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Super Hang-On (RMX a l'ancienne) - arranged by Murdock

Review by rnuls, 04/07/2021

Too short song, really pleasant to listen, good mixing, Assumed synth guitar. Perfectly executed, Wow, the pleasure to cruising in my car with this song 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball Hiscore Goes To 11 - arranged by Tamas Kenez

Review by LaLa, 01/07/2021

It's a good arrangement, I like the guitar work, but the mix sounds somewhat muddy, its clarity is not as good as it could've been, IMHO. I get it, it's a live recording, but it could've used some cleanup in post.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gerry the Germ Caribbean Mix - arranged by Tamas Kenez

Review by LaLa, 01/07/2021

Welcome to the remix community, Tamas!

This was his entry to the 20th Anniversary remix compo, and I think it gives Johan Andersson a good run for his money. 😁 The intro sounds a lot like a lullaby, very nicely done there. But then it quickly transitions to a a full arrangement, which sounds lively and joyful. A great debut, I quite enjoy it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball [high score] - arranged by Reyn Ouwehand

Review by tamaskenez, 28/06/2021

Stylish Hammond mood spiced up with an accordion solo. The live sound is nicely counterpointed by the drum machine.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball (high score) - arranged by Reyn Ouwehand

Review by tamaskenez, 28/06/2021

Competent, authentic rendition with accordion and woodwinds on top of a TR808 style lo-fi drum pattern.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Great Tune - arranged by JLD

Review by LaLa, 27/06/2021

Wow, I also can't believe nobody has remixed this tune before! 😲 The drums really drive the energy in this remix, maybe a bit too much so. Lovely reverb on the lead synth! The guitar sounds too synthy to me, maybe adding more articulations to it could've helped fool my ears. Good choice of SID, great remix!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Strider (Intro n Ingame) - arranged by Ctrl-Z

Review by Vonti, 25/06/2021

It's a tune that's not remixed often! It comes with a few cool harmonic surpises. 😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 74 75 76