Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 31 - 60 out of 2227

Login

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

Very nice guitar licks in the intro. The complete lack of legato in the singer's voice is rather off-putting, though. Then comes a pretty good beat overlaid with some okay-ish instrumentation. Overall, not bad, some neat ideas in it here and there - but not very exciting for me, either.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MusicLover (12/05/2021)

Adorable! This is my favorite version, I personally found it playful, light and efficient at the same time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Laci1971 (12/05/2021)

True Italo disco. Starts with Scotch - Disco Band cough, the main part reminds me of Laserdance.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Codetapper (10/05/2021)

I'd love to hear a version of this without the singing if that's at all possible!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poppykuk (06/05/2021)

I loved Space Harrier and this is even more driven & in your face. The instrument mix is superb & spot on for the remix. It's a turbocharged version of the arcade soundtrack with Jeroen Tel's melody layered beautifully into the mix. It drops effortlessly into the break and comes out again, seamlessly changing key for it's finale. My new favourite earworm. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

I was fortunate enough to be able to listen to this remix as soon as it was uploaded to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo. I listened to it at least 10 times in a row right away. And I still keep listening to it - I just love it! The arrangement is simply amazing, especially considering how differently the original SID was arranged by Rob. The instrumentation is also spot on, and I just can't stop bobbing my head to this tune! It's a wonderful mix of disco, 80's orchestral pop and modern-day synthwave. I'm sure this remix has its flaws, but I'll let other people find those this time - I'll just keep enjoying this remix day after day!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

Italo Disco style - me like. All the sounds - me like. Except one: the cough. OK, I get it, that's a rip, too, and a signature sound of this style, but along with the subtitle "Italian Infection", personally, I find it distasteful in this age of the pandemic and not funny at all. Remove that, and you get a red smilie.

PS: I had a little chat with Wobbler which made me realize that I apparently misunderstood the message he tried to convey with this remix. It wasn't meant to make fun of the Covid pandemic at all. I'm writing this here in the hopes that nobody else will think of this remix that way, either.

I wish your wife a speedy and full recovery, Wobbler!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

This remix reminds me of a finely woven tapestry where each strand, each color, each motif was made with the utmost care to ensure that when you step back and look at the entire piece, it remains a beautiful piece of art. All the nuances, all the articulations must've taken Tomsk a long time to get just right in this mostly orchestral remix, from the guitar to the strings, from the piano to the flute. I think the choice of the waltz-like, but 4/4 based rhythm was a fine one, too. I really like what I am hearing here!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

High energy, indeed! This remix starts strong and it never lets up. It really captures the high-octane tempo of the original (both Jeroen's and Hiroshi Miyauchi's). The instrumentation is prog-rock, and the arrangement is really befitting that genre.

I am also glad Pete had the compo version's mixing reworked by Danko for this RKO release, it sounds so much better now!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (05/05/2021)

Sanxion! The one and only tune that I really like (like to remix as well). And flutes! I once made a flute remix, remember? But yeah, Makke knows his stuff, especially knows how to add voice & lyrics. Refreshing! (although I understand that this one isn't a new one … just hadn't heard it before)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (05/05/2021)

Another outstanding remix! You've done an amazing job of capturing that Sega spirit in the arrangement and instruments. Especially in my favourite section, the break down around 3:15, took me right back to stuffing coins in the arcades during the 80's.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/05/2021)

Perfect soundtrack to the sad movie of the Covid-19 pandemic. The lo-fi piano, the subtle strings, the long intro with the twisted ambient samples... This is a piece that was definitely created by the heart, not by the mind.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/04/2021)

The more I listen to this, the more I like it. It's highly cinematic in style, and I really like its "slow breathing", up-and-down tempo throughout. The arrangement may be on the simple side, but it's effective. The instrumentation is very nice, and I think the entire piece is just put together rather well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tim_forsyth (27/04/2021)

For me, the first outstanding remix I heard in the anniversary compo. I love this, the creepy atmosphere, the carpenter vibes, from a creative point of view, this is full of ideas. The only minor issue I have is the loudness of the snare, it works but it’s a bit too in your face. I thought the “please hang up and try again” phrase at the end was a genius addition.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/04/2021)

While the arrangement and the instrumentation is the high-quality we've come to expect from Mr. Clarke, something is off with the mixing of this track. Namely, the guitars in the left and right channels sound like they were recorded with mics that were placed far away from the guitars. Or maybe it's some weird phasing issue between them. Bottom line is, they just don't sound as natural as the guitars in your other remixes, their sound has a certain metallic tincan quality to them.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (21/04/2021)

A brilliant remix but this is Glyn so, we expect brilliant. Nevertheless, once you get past the fantastic arrangement and arrive at the mix & the master, these are also spot on. The whole thing has a Tim Burton feel to it and it's only flaw is the length of the track. It's an outstanding piece of music and was easily worth it's 4th position in the competition..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/04/2021)

Classic Necro, solid stuff. It's baffling to me why it didn't score higher on the R64 20th Anniversary remix compo. How you manage to mix SID sounds and heavy guitars with all that distortion and still getting a clean mix out of it all is beyond me. And your work on those guitars - just damn.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/04/2021)

Our first RKO entry from the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo! I am not ashamed to admit that I cried when I saw that Glyn has submitted an entry to the compo, and I was moved even more when I heard what he has submitted. It was truly an honor to have you enter the compo, Glyn! This may be a short remix, but it's ever more impactful. Amazing arrangement featuring a male and a female choir, and even a children's choir. All backed by a superbly arranged orchestral bed. Simply brilliant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mirkone (13/04/2021)

Cavolo... e cambia sta p u n t i n a!!!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mirkone (13/04/2021)

v e r y g o o d v i b r a t i o n s ........ thanks ottimo lavoro, bravissimo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Shargo (10/04/2021)

Really brings out the balance between the melody and drive. The contrast between drums/base and melody is also nicely accompanied by the cowbell
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tomsk (02/04/2021)

Simply loaded with atmosphere, this is exactly what driller should sound like.. For a repetitive tune, this has cleverly been arranged to offer something new at each turn, ensuring it never sounds stale. I love the opening sound, which always puts me in mind of the tripods from war of the worlds. The drums stay fresh and mixing them up /making additions to the beat drive the mix along. Its fantastic.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/03/2021)

I am so glad, Tim, that you decided to keep working at your Task III remix! This "++" version is what I now consider THE "ultimate" Task III remix! It's an absolutely brilliant piece that follows the original very closely. The arrangement is spot on, the instrument selection is superb. And I am glad my little feedback helped you make the final mix sound even better. I just can't get enough of this remix, I keep listening to it over and over again, because it always puts a huge smile on my face. I have always been a fan of the original SID, but I have become an even bigger fan of this remix of it. Just brilliant!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Phrygian (28/03/2021)

What I see the major issues are note velocities and unequalized guitar. Guitar is definitely lacking volume in hi-frequencies, so the drumkit especially hats. The song doesn't seem crossing 0 dB once the guitar comes into scene resulting in a constant hum in background. From half of the song, the lead synth is out of sync more than a humanized score. Also please make an outro or at least fade it out. On the other hand, the concept is fine by me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by giannibat (23/03/2021)

90's from the space and classy, is one of my favourite c64 game (tough) and remake.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/03/2021)

Funky groove! Nicely done. I am not entirely sold on the vocoded vocals, though: it's a bit too hard to understand the lyrics. Maybe dial the modulator down a bit to let more of the original vocal through? Definitely plus points for originality, though! And I totally dig the guitar improv towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/03/2021)

The flute in the intro is nice. The vocoded voice is hard to understand. The synth parts are okay-ish. The mix gets washed out due to the hi-freq pads. And the ending is abruptly cut off - at least let the reverb ring out.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/03/2021)

Nice and slow laid-back version with prog-rock ambience (guitar and electric organ). I am hearing some dissonant chords starting at around the 1:55 mark - tsk-tsk. Other than that, rather pleasant and relaxing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Blackstar (11/03/2021)

Sounds great. Hard to say what could have been done better. Orinigal chorus could have been more highlighted - but great remix anyway
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Blackstar (11/03/2021)

nice instruments but too slow for me. reminds me of Bloddsport OST. Well done
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 73 74 75