Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 61 - 90 out of 2270

Login

The Last V8 - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by LaLa, 16/06/2021

I really, really like the 70s funk feel of the intro (reminds me of those 70s cop TV shows), too bad it's not carried forward to the rest of the tune. Also, I keep missing the ... immediately! from the speech samples, it just doesn't feel complete to me without that, and it drives me nuts! Am I the only one? 😊 Other than that - top-notch stuff yet again from Johan.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja - The Wilderness (TweakerRay ReMix) - arranged by TweakerRay

Review by LaLa, 16/06/2021

First of all: welcome, TweakerRay!

I like this remix from several aspects, but it feels more like an enhanced SID to me due to the overwhelming presence of SID-like sounds and SID arpeggios and whatnot. Nothing wrong with that (we like SID sounds!), it's just... largely the same as the already outstanding original SID tune. I like the atmosphere in this remix, I like the sounds - but I also liked those in the original, and here it's not much different. I guess, in summary: plus points for execution, minus points for lack of originality.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lazy Jones - arranged by Makke

Review by wobbler, 11/06/2021

Ok, so late to the party. Sort of. Yes, I've heard this remix several times, but only through official broadcasting, and no … I didn't buy the album. Hell, never bought any c64-album. So yes – shame on me. But on the other hand – super glad that Makke is releasing his choons for public consumption. Anyway, this release shows the skills of Mr. Makke. WB back to the scene, brutha. (but who am I to wish a thing like that, huh? Huh? Like, huh?). P. s. huh.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta (trance remix) - arranged by CJ Jevgeni

Review by exocytosis, 10/06/2021

If you are urging for a SID EBM-inspired trance beat, Jevgeni has you covered - their version of Delta is all about electronic, fast paced drums and Delta's iconic theme. Its snappy, up-beat and well orchestrated score is nothing short of a bliss for anyone looking for a cover song made for workouts and dance floors alike. Well done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Romeo Knight's Piggie's Hut - arranged by hyperunknown

Review by Grigul, 02/06/2021

Great track, I love it. Even if I don't know the original, this track deserves a red Button. There are far to few metal remixes out there...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ruff 'N' Tumble - The Fantasy Forest - arranged by Anonymous

Review by Grigul, 02/06/2021

A really good track. Actually, I'm looking for tracks for Self Radio at GTA V, and this track fits perfectly. Speedy racings, the one or the other shootout, and than this track... Hell, yeah. XD
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Maniac Mansion (Back in the mansion mix) - arranged by Back in Bytes

Review by Blackwater0815, 30/05/2021

One of my favorit games in my childhood. Thx for the nice soundtrack and the memorys
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

M.A.C.H - Subtune 3 (extended) - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 27/05/2021

What a great remix! 😎👍Yet again, Tim hits it out of the ballpark. The first half of this remix is a pretty amazing remix of the SID itself. Then Tim decided to add a second half consisting of his improvs and variations - and it sounds fabulous! Definitely has undertones of Jarre in there (Zoolook, Revolutions), and it's done very elegantly. Well done, Tim, well done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Savage Intro - arranged by Magical Sound Shower 64

Review by tim_forsyth, 26/05/2021

You’ve nailed that feel of a live band jamming on stage and you’ve built a head nodding groove. I particularly like the switch at the end to the bass player noodling around the notes. The mix feels a bit flat to me and the guitar solo is a little quiet plus the pads around the 2 minute mark jump in a bit unexpectedly, but I love the texture they bring. I’ve found myself coming back to this track many times this evening, fantastic work.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Hero - arranged by Wallstrom & Friends

Review by LaLa, 25/05/2021

What a great collaborative remix! Andreas on the drums goes crazy as usual. 😊 Necro is smoking hot on the guitar, Laxity kills it on the keyboards, Marc on the bass just kicks ass... Well done, everybody! Personally, I think it deserved to finish higher in the Remix 64 20th Anniversary Compo, but at least I can give it all the red smilies I want right here. 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stormlord (thunder mix) - arranged by Dj Space

Review by tim_forsyth, 25/05/2021

Love the intro, lots of texture and love given there and it gave me great expectations (nice use of the original samples) but I wasn't too keen on the pitch bending lead. Aside from that, there’s a lot to appreciate in this mix, great stuff.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Time's Up (Unusual Suspects mix feat. Vir) - arranged by Mordi

Review by LaLa, 21/05/2021

Wow and holy s**t and whoa!!! People, we need a new smilie: a red smilie is just not good enough any more to express how excellent this is! We need a flaming red smilie for this one! The compo version you submitted to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo was already good enough for 3rd place there, and that had only a Mordified synth lead. Here with the sweet, sweet vocal you just elevated this remix to a whole new level. Sounds like those singing lessons Lea gave you have paid off - your voice has improved a LOT, Mordi! 😉

I don't know who came up with the pop song lyrics (you, Mordi, or Vir, the singer), but it's absolutely fitting. And you did a fantastic job dressing up the solo vocal with harmonies and effects. I just can't say enough good things about this remix! Superb!

I think from now on when people chuckle at me that I am totally into remixes of nerdy Commodore-64 SID tunes, I will just show them this song and I'll enjoy watching their jaws drop. Suck it, non-nerds!

#DemandAFlamingSmilie
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by LaLa, 15/05/2021

I quite like it! A mostly guitar-based arrangement with additional synths. It all blossoms into a nice groove which keeps the tune going. Then there's a nicely positioned break, then the groove picks up again... All in all, it's very nicely done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts'n Goblins - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by LaLa, 15/05/2021

This is a remix of two personalities. I quite like intro where you went in the opposite direction of the usual horror-themed remixes and created a more mellow choral piece. The electric bass guitar shattered that serenity - but then you went back to being mellow with the flamenco guitar (?). This constant flip-flopping in the arrangement was an odd choice, IMHO. I can't really decide whether that's a good thing or not.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turbo Outrun (Track 2) - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by LaLa, 15/05/2021

Pretty danceable, I like the groove you developed for the remix. But I think it falls short in the mixing department: the overall sound is too 'airy', too 'light', rather than 'edgy' and 'punchy', which is what I would've expected based on the arrangement. Too bad, because you have some really creative ideas sprinkled throughout the remix (like the vocal-based bass starting at 3:08).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja (The Inner Sanctum Loader) - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by LaLa, 15/05/2021

Very nice guitar licks in the intro. The complete lack of legato in the singer's voice is rather off-putting, though. Then comes a pretty good beat overlaid with some okay-ish instrumentation. Overall, not bad, some neat ideas in it here and there - but not very exciting for me, either.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball high-score (2008) - arranged by Adam Morton

Review by MusicLover, 12/05/2021

Adorable! This is my favorite version, I personally found it playful, light and efficient at the same time.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Noisy Pillars (Italian Infection) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Laci1971, 12/05/2021

True Italo disco. Starts with Scotch - Disco Band cough, the main part reminds me of Laserdance.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Moonshine Racers (One-Toothed Billy-Bob's Band Mix) - arranged by Makke

Review by Codetapper, 10/05/2021

I'd love to hear a version of this without the singing if that's at all possible!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (High Energy Prog Mix) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by Poppykuk, 06/05/2021

I loved Space Harrier and this is even more driven & in your face. The instrument mix is superb & spot on for the remix. It's a turbocharged version of the arcade soundtrack with Jeroen Tel's melody layered beautifully into the mix. It drops effortlessly into the break and comes out again, seamlessly changing key for it's finale. My new favourite earworm. Well done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando Glissando - arranged by The St. Albans Rob Hubbard Fan Club offline

Review by LaLa, 06/05/2021

I was fortunate enough to be able to listen to this remix as soon as it was uploaded to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo. I listened to it at least 10 times in a row right away. And I still keep listening to it - I just love it! The arrangement is simply amazing, especially considering how differently the original SID was arranged by Rob. The instrumentation is also spot on, and I just can't stop bobbing my head to this tune! It's a wonderful mix of disco, 80's orchestral pop and modern-day synthwave. I'm sure this remix has its flaws, but I'll let other people find those this time - I'll just keep enjoying this remix day after day!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Noisy Pillars (Italian Infection) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by LaLa, 06/05/2021

Italo Disco style - me like. All the sounds - me like. Except one: the cough. OK, I get it, that's a rip, too, and a signature sound of this style, but along with the subtitle Italian Infection, personally, I find it distasteful in this age of the pandemic and not funny at all. Remove that, and you get a red smilie.

PS: I had a little chat with Wobbler which made me realize that I apparently misunderstood the message he tried to convey with this remix. It wasn't meant to make fun of the Covid pandemic at all. I'm writing this here in the hopes that nobody else will think of this remix that way, either.

I wish your wife a speedy and full recovery, Wobbler!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stationary Ark - arranged by Tomsk

Review by LaLa, 06/05/2021

This remix reminds me of a finely woven tapestry where each strand, each color, each motif was made with the utmost care to ensure that when you step back and look at the entire piece, it remains a beautiful piece of art. All the nuances, all the articulations must've taken Tomsk a long time to get just right in this mostly orchestral remix, from the guitar to the strings, from the piano to the flute. I think the choice of the waltz-like, but 4/4 based rhythm was a fine one, too. I really like what I am hearing here!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (High Energy Prog Mix) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 06/05/2021

High energy, indeed! This remix starts strong and it never lets up. It really captures the high-octane tempo of the original (both Jeroen's and Hiroshi Miyauchi's). The instrumentation is prog-rock, and the arrangement is really befitting that genre.

I am also glad Pete had the compo version's mixing reworked by Danko for this RKO release, it sounds so much better now!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion - arranged by Makke

Review by wobbler, 05/05/2021

Sanxion! The one and only tune that I really like (like to remix as well). And flutes! I once made a flute remix, remember? But yeah, Makke knows his stuff, especially knows how to add voice & lyrics. Refreshing! (although I understand that this one isn't a new one … just hadn't heard it before)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (High Energy Prog Mix) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by tim_forsyth, 05/05/2021

Another outstanding remix! You've done an amazing job of capturing that Sega spirit in the arrangement and instruments. Especially in my favourite section, the break down around 3:15, took me right back to stuffing coins in the arcades during the 80's.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thanatos (when the panic sets in) - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 04/05/2021

Perfect soundtrack to the sad movie of the Covid-19 pandemic. The lo-fi piano, the subtle strings, the long intro with the twisted ambient samples... This is a piece that was definitely created by the heart, not by the mind.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Warhawk Of The Worlds - arranged by The St. Albans Rob Hubbard Fan Club offline

Review by LaLa, 28/04/2021

The more I listen to this, the more I like it. It's highly cinematic in style, and I really like its slow breathing, up-and-down tempo throughout. The arrangement may be on the simple side, but it's effective. The instrumentation is very nice, and I think the entire piece is just put together rather well.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Amaurote (Full Sci-Fi Horror Mix) - arranged by Martin Dodd

Review by tim_forsyth, 27/04/2021

For me, the first outstanding remix I heard in the anniversary compo. I love this, the creepy atmosphere, the carpenter vibes, from a creative point of view, this is full of ideas. The only minor issue I have is the loudness of the snare, it works but it’s a bit too in your face. I thought the please hang up and try again phrase at the end was a genius addition.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (High Energy Prog Mix) - arranged by Peter Clarke offline

Review by LaLa, 21/04/2021

While the arrangement and the instrumentation is the high-quality we've come to expect from Mr. Clarke, something is off with the mixing of this track. Namely, the guitars in the left and right channels sound like they were recorded with mics that were placed far away from the guitars. Or maybe it's some weird phasing issue between them. Bottom line is, they just don't sound as natural as the guitars in your other remixes, their sound has a certain metallic tincan quality to them.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 74 75 76