Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 91 - 120 out of 2270

Login

Deactivators - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by Poke16384, 21/04/2021

A brilliant remix but this is Glyn so, we expect brilliant. Nevertheless, once you get past the fantastic arrangement and arrive at the mix & the master, these are also spot on. The whole thing has a Tim Burton feel to it and it's only flaw is the length of the track. It's an outstanding piece of music and was easily worth it's 4th position in the competition..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Broken Circuit part1 - arranged by NecroPolo

Review by LaLa, 18/04/2021

Classic Necro, solid stuff. It's baffling to me why it didn't score higher on the R64 20th Anniversary remix compo. How you manage to mix SID sounds and heavy guitars with all that distortion and still getting a clean mix out of it all is beyond me. And your work on those guitars - just damn.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Deactivators - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2021

Our first RKO entry from the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo! I am not ashamed to admit that I cried when I saw that Glyn has submitted an entry to the compo, and I was moved even more when I heard what he has submitted. It was truly an honor to have you enter the compo, Glyn! This may be a short remix, but it's ever more impactful. Amazing arrangement featuring a male and a female choir, and even a children's choir. All backed by a superbly arranged orchestral bed. Simply brilliant.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Times of Lore (Vinyl Classic Remix) - arranged by Maindrian

Review by Mirkone, 13/04/2021

Cavolo... e cambia sta p u n t i n a!!!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Another World (End Theme Remix) - arranged by Mano

Review by Mirkone, 13/04/2021

v e r y g o o d v i b r a t i o n s... thanks ottimo lavoro, bravissimo.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Erebus - (mOc Bock Mix) - arranged by Master Of Cowbells

Review by Shargo, 10/04/2021

Really brings out the balance between the melody and drive. The contrast between drums/base and melody is also nicely accompanied by the cowbell
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Driller (Impendeo Capitulus I) - arranged by Slaygon

Review by Tomsk, 02/04/2021

Simply loaded with atmosphere, this is exactly what driller should sound like.. For a repetitive tune, this has cleverly been arranged to offer something new at each turn, ensuring it never sounds stale. I love the opening sound, which always puts me in mind of the tripods from war of the worlds. The drums stay fresh and mixing them up /making additions to the beat drive the mix along. Its fantastic.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

TASK III ++ - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 31/03/2021

I am so glad, Tim, that you decided to keep working at your Task III remix! This ++ version is what I now consider THE ultimate Task III remix! It's an absolutely brilliant piece that follows the original very closely. The arrangement is spot on, the instrument selection is superb. And I am glad my little feedback helped you make the final mix sound even better. I just can't get enough of this remix, I keep listening to it over and over again, because it always puts a huge smile on my face. I have always been a fan of the original SID, but I have become an even bigger fan of this remix of it. Just brilliant!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando High-score (bullboy command mix) - arranged by Bullboy

Review by Phrygian, 28/03/2021

What I see the major issues are note velocities and unequalized guitar. Guitar is definitely lacking volume in hi-frequencies, so the drumkit especially hats. The song doesn't seem crossing 0 dB once the guitar comes into scene resulting in a constant hum in background. From half of the song, the lead synth is out of sync more than a humanized score. Also please make an outro or at least fade it out. On the other hand, the concept is fine by me.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Mega Apocalypse - arranged by N-JOY

Review by giannibat, 23/03/2021

90's from the space and classy, is one of my favourite c64 game (tough) and remake.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rubicon Title Music - arranged by Magical Sound Shower 64

Review by LaLa, 21/03/2021

Funky groove! Nicely done. I am not entirely sold on the vocoded vocals, though: it's a bit too hard to understand the lyrics. Maybe dial the modulator down a bit to let more of the original vocal through? Definitely plus points for originality, though! And I totally dig the guitar improv towards the end.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando High-score (bullboy command mix) - arranged by Bullboy

Review by LaLa, 21/03/2021

The flute in the intro is nice. The vocoded voice is hard to understand. The synth parts are okay-ish. The mix gets washed out due to the hi-freq pads. And the ending is abruptly cut off - at least let the reverb ring out.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta (Trouble in Tribble Town) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 12/03/2021

Nice and slow laid-back version with prog-rock ambience (guitar and electric organ). I am hearing some dissonant chords starting at around the 1:55 mark - tsk-tsk. Other than that, rather pleasant and relaxing.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hysteria 3 (Listeria Free) - arranged by vurtX

Review by Blackstar, 11/03/2021

Sounds great. Hard to say what could have been done better. Orinigal chorus could have been more highlighted - but great remix anyway
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hysteria - tune 3 - arranged by Ferrara

Review by Blackstar, 11/03/2021

nice instruments but too slow for me. reminds me of Bloddsport OST. Well done
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican II Level 1 - arranged by maf

Review by difquin, 11/03/2021

Have always loved this rendition. The delayed sawtooth synth line is glorious, and the drums with the smooth shakers really fill out the space wonderfully. The stereo image is just packed with ear candy.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Xenox - Closing In 2021 - arranged by Xenox

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 11/03/2021

love this tune very much. great work!!! love the energy the danceable rhythm, the effects, the style and mixing work
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Parallax Loader (Dozen Delightful Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by Poke16384, 10/03/2021

Yes! Yes! Yes! Overall, a really inventive remix, very 'proggie' in it's feel and execution. My only criticism is the 2 minute wait from beginning to the entry of the picked guitar and nothing else to tickle the ears before. Another minute and the main protagonist joins the party, (the lead-guitar). For me, the remix really shines from around 3. 57 when everything comes back into tempo. There are some super-delicious licks & riffs happening and the overall sound is very authentic. Lots of musical invention here.. it perhaps needed more in the first few minutes.. another instrument to entertain us while we waited for the main-guest to arrive.. Great effort & a really good remix overall..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta (lost in space mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by Poke16384, 10/03/2021

Wow! There's a mix of right & wrong in this remix.. For me, it misses a full set of red smileys by a small margin.. The guitar licks are tasty enough to occupy the centre of the stereo spectrum but moderation could have & should have been used. They could have been used as an 'answer back' to the 'Delta' melody line, (maybe using a slightly stronger melody sound).. and the guitar could have been given it's own, more traditional lead-break, somewhere in the middle too.. There are places in this remix where you hear an authentic prog-rock tune. In these sections, the tempo & feel really give us a little of the atmosphere of 'koyaanisqatsi', (the true parent of Delta). Despite my critique, I like this remix and I feel that it doesn't miss the mark by that much..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid 2 (Late Night Drive Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by Poke16384, 10/03/2021

A very chilled beginning until the 2 minute mark when the guitar picks up the lead.. and there are some really delicious licks in there.. but a few that grate against the alternative chords, created by the bass wandering into new territory. I'm torn on this remix.. There's clearly a lot of talent here and some great ideas about taking this tune in a different direction but.. the mix is a little muddy in the low-mids, the balance gets lost and it does all get a bit messy, as the remix progresses.. Having heard this, I'll be sure to listen to future remixes from this musician.. I'm still going orange because I want to hear more remixes and new ideas..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

TASK III - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

This is a hard SID to crack because it's so intricate and so complex, and it's also high-paced. If you listen carefully, this remix is a really good effort, with lots of the subtleties of the original present in this remix. The somewhat chaotic nature of the original also comes through very well.

I find it hard not to compare it to Ocean's excellent version from 2002, which I think absolutely nailed the instrumentation and the arrangement, too. Listening to Tim's version and Ocean's version back-to-back also reveals that Tim's version lacks a lot of punch, which I think can be fixed in the mixing department. All in all, my hats off to Tim for taking a crack at this SID and because he obviously poured a lot of effort into his remix, and the result is a pretty darn good piece.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

IK+ Club Mix - arranged by Phrygian

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

I don't think you amped up the clubby beat on this high enough! Great concept, so-so execution. I think I like the 5:34-6:04 section the best. The part starting at 6:04 was supposed to be crescendo of the entire tune, and your lead here sounds really whimpy, plus it misses all the portamentos badly, too (you did not pay attention to that after your SID2MIDI conversion, did you?).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta (lost in space mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

Really smooth bass kicks ass on this remix. That whiny sound, though - ouch, not to my liking. Love your guitar jamming on top of the beat. This remix falls apart badly at 1:30 - you should've stopped the guitar licks at that point. That section sounds too dissonant to my ears, anyway.

At 2:16 we are back to our regularly scheduled Delta, still, that thin hi-freq whiny sound just doesn't seem to fit.

3:05 - silky smooth jamming again, tickles my ears. That provides a strong finish to this remix.

Overall, I think you fell too much in love with your own jamming on this remix, you should've paused it, especially after 1:30.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid 2 (Late Night Drive Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

This one sounds really excellent until about the 1 min mark when that synth lead comes in. Does not compute! Then you redeem yourself with a much better guitar lead after the 2 min mark, only to switch back to the synth lead again. I mean, the lead sound would be fine by itself, it just does not fit this track at all, IMHO. At around 3:50 it all gets chaotic to my ears, and then it fades into a jam session. This tracks shows a lot more promise than what it actually delivers.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Parallax Loader (Dozen Delightful Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

I love this! It's like a jam session over a Parallax beat. Sounds very impromptu, towards the end ever more improvised. You've done something new, something fresh with Parallax in a prog-rock style. Great job!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Glider Rider - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 05/03/2021

Another Makke classic from days of yore, yet, it sounds as good today as it did 15+ years ago. (Funny how these bits and bytes don't fade with age like my cassette tapes do...) And that vocoder voice totally became Makke's signature. 😊 All coupled with lyrics that is spot on.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid II Enlightenment / Fairlight Crack Intro - arranged by LukHash

Review by m1k3p, 04/03/2021

LukHash has done it again - Great sense of space in the mix, and a fantastic flair for capturing the WHY we loved these tunes in the first place. I've been a long-time fan of LukHash, and think he has a unique talent for bringing these SID classics into the 21st Century!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Terra Cresta Reason remix - arranged by Rodolphe Bost

Review by Kenshigros, 26/02/2021

Hi. I am the one posting this music. Like I said in the comment of this tune I am not the creator but his friend and it was back in 2012 and it was his mp3 so I wouldn t touch it and he was a guy who don t touch but record and send. He didn t like to alter or optimise stuff He just played on the keyboard thru Reason 5 i, the night in high season since he was a cook. I know it ends abrutly but by respect I wouldn t touch it. Thanks for reading me Alex
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican II Loader (LManic Mix) - arranged by LMan

Review by FlowerAI, 24/02/2021

very ultra super duper techno trance bass and drums holly shit!!! shitstorm, shitstorm, shit thunderstorm
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dragon's Lair II - subtune 4 (Renaissance prelude) - arranged by Fabio Marinelli

Review by Waz, 23/02/2021

Although a very nice idea to carry out a very Renaissance era theme to this Dragon's Lair II, there's just the feeling itself that seems to be lacking. It needs some more emotion, possibly a crescendo in parts to heighten the suspense. The idea is absolutely the right one to do and with more care this would be rather delightful, but it falls short unfortunately.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 74 75 76