Less than 1 week left to submit your vote to the compo!

Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo Banner 720x72
© Image by Ziona
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 121 - 150 out of 2178

Login

Review by LaLa (20/08/2020)

A really, really well-crafted remix! Upon hearing the slow intro I got very excited, I thought it's going to be like that all the way. Unfortunately, it's not, but then it switches up the tempo, an excellent bass guitar lick appears, and it just blossoms into an amazing piece. Unlike Poke16384, I will actually give you a +1 for the wolf-whistle, because it appears in the original SID, too, and I thought that was a nice touch. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (19/08/2020)

Unreal. Feels like the original but its new and modern. You know a good remix when a tune feels like 2 mins but is 4 mins plus. Well done Peter you have again pleased my tiny little ears. :) I love the ending by the way!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/08/2020)

That bass line - superb! That arrangement - phenomenal! That energy - uplifting! That vocoder - nice touch! That groove - it's, erm, groovy! Those orchestral riffs - spot on! The best British prog-rock style remix of this tune I ever heard! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (18/08/2020)

This is a slick remix by Magnar. It caught my ear on the competition and having now had a chance to re-listen, I haven't altered my opinion. It's a nice interpretation of JT's original and the instrumentation gives it a great 90's feel, (to my ears at least). The 'hooks' are nice and there's some great use of phasing & frequency-manipulation to get some real 'cut' on the licks. I'm gonna -1 you for repeating the wolf-whistle. Catchy as hell and well mixed & mastered.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (18/08/2020)

The track notes tell an interesting story and the remix lives up to the story. Well Done ziona, slaygon & peter clarke. This is a really powerful & moody journey. The sound is flawless to me and it has blended into one complete tale.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (18/08/2020)

When I heard this on the SLAY / AROK competition, it grabbed me immediately. The 2 Fender Rhodes piano's split left & right are just so dirty & funky. The whole thing has a vibe that just drew me in. There are bits I could be picky about here but I'm not going to be. It's a great remix and has such a 'bad' thing going on. Well Done LPChip for producing a great remix which is different & really rocks!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (11/08/2020)

A nice vibe, once it gets going. I always loved the late 80's & early 90's for these sounds. Has a lot of promise for a 1st remix! Needs a little more in the soundscape & arrangement for the red faces but a great effort. I'm ready to hear more from you, Amin.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/07/2020)

Starts out like a MOD, then it gets bright and sparkly, which gives it a distinct 80s feeling, then I get echoes of Depeche Mode. All we are missing is a vocal over it. :) Quite a good remix for a newcomer, hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/07/2020)

This remix is attempting to be bouncy and cheery with lots of staccato instruments, but I don't think it quite succeeds in that. I think you pushed the staccato-ness a bit too far. The basic instrumentation sounds solid, the arrangement is fairly faithful of the original SID, but the "staccato-everything" is too much.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Rainstorm (14/07/2020)

There is something wrong at 0:45. There is a delay. Please, compare with original tune : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=El5IWQWAJdY
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/07/2020)

Welcome to RKO, SirRobin! I think your first remix here shows a lot of promise, because the arrangement is pretty good and all the notes are in the right places. :-) But I think the muddy recordings of the "live" instruments really put a dent in the overall quality of this tune. This is even more evident in the synth-only sections which sounds pretty good by themselves - until the guitar comes in. Your guitar skills are commendable, but in this mix it sounds like you're playing in an entirely different room and we're listening to you through a closed door. I hope you consider joining the Remix64 forum where you can ask for and get some advice on mic recordings and mixing, because your music production skills show a lot of promise, they just need refining.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (12/07/2020)

A damn decent effort for your 1st remix. Negatives first.. It IS muddy in the low-mid range instruments with the guitars getting almost lost amidst the synths. It makes the snare stand out a bit too much and the equal-velocities on the snare-rolls sound a bit 'machine-gun'-ish. That said, there are some really big positives here. The arrangement has creativity & good ideas which are only let down by the mix. I listened to the whole 6:07 to hear what else might be here. Welcome to RMX64 and give me more good arranging like this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (07/07/2020)

Welcome back to RKO, Tim! :-)

Reminds me of late 80s, early 90s synth-heavy movie scores, like Carpenter, except more melancholic. I'm especially fond of the wobbling chords in the first half of the tune, and the melody improvs in the second half.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/06/2020)

What a great transcription to piano! Definitely gets the spirit of the original SID through. Minor gripes: the tempo is not consistent throughout the piece. Also, the left and right channels are swapped (lower octaves are usually mixed to the left, not to the right).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (30/06/2020)

The soundscape of this whole remix is nice and is a departure from the longer, 'drawly' notation of the original. The beat here has more definition and the chosen sounds compliment this. If you take a SID that is just 1:25 in it's original form, It's important to go somewhere with it, especially if you expect to hit 'top marks' for your remix.. In the arrangement department, this does deviate a little but not enough for me.. The original synth riff from the 'Yazoo' song 'Don't Go' is still in there and the chord-play behind that is nice. The drum-loop coulda shoulda varied more to lift the tempo as the remix progresses and to stop it from just being a single loop from start to finish.. Good effort and a pleasant listen overall.. Needed more for the big red smilies though..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/06/2020)

Never fails to bring a smile to my face! Brilliant! :-) The singing, the lounge atmosphere, the instrumentation... The only "bad" thing about this remix is that I cannot listen to this SID tune any more without hearing Boz's lovely voice. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (26/06/2020)

This remix starts off so promisingly with a lot of high-energy feel to it. Although I'm not the greatest fan of 'Untz-Untz', the energy grabbed me early on.. What a shame that from 2:00 all the way to the end, it then just seemed to lose creativity even in the drum-part. The same 8-bar loop makes it just feel repetitive after that.. Good 1st effort and don't be disheartened.. Please get your creative head on and submit another remix..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (26/06/2020)

This is a very nice, laid-back remix which sticks faithfully to the structure of Reyn's original. The instrumentation is gentle and gives the overall feeling of a wind-down tune, (maybe for the end of a Slaygon & Ziona radio show). If you're waiting for it to 'take off'... it doesn't. If I was going to get super-picky, I'd maybe have liked the piano improvisation to vary a little towards the end. Nice, laid-back remix..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (23/06/2020)

SSI games often sounded a bit wrong on the sid chip. The melodies were there but it didn't fit well. As with all SSI games it needed a piano. Heh, it's here! and it does exactly what it should. Nice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (22/06/2020)

Great work!!! love the emotion of it and the great nostalgia ! cool work :))) magic!! magic!! magic!! 1 2 3 4 5 6....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think this is a brilliant arrangement of GnG for piano! It has everything in it that one could want, including the "simulated" glide in the intro, and even an improv'd section! Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

A few mistakes here and there just to make it clear that this was performed live. :) Obviously, a lot of thought went into the arrangement, and you even included the Bach piece in there for completeness. Very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think so far this sounds the most "classical style" piece among your piano renditions. Like you mentioned in your YT description it sounds rather wagnerian, apparently because that was David Warhol's original intention for the SID, too. It definitely shows, sounds grandiose!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

Whoa, slow down, buddy! :) This sounds like a good 10 BPM faster than the original SID (I wonder if that's an NTSC vs PAL piano thing :) ) , which makes it even more amazing that you performed this in one take.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (18/06/2020)

Let me correct the "old LaLa" here and say that this is something absolutely fabulous. Way ahead of it's time (I guess?). Mahoney in his greatest greatness (or perhaps rock bottom – it doesn't matter really).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (18/06/2020)

Welcome to Remix64, Paul. I was intrigued to know how your 16 uploads were constructed, (Wow!, that's some entry to the remix scene). So, I followed the link you provided to your YouTube page. Clearly, you are a more than competent pianist and there are some covers of C64 tunes on there that I wouldn't have imagined someone would tackle with a single piano, (even a Steinway grand...). So, to business! IMHO a number of your initial batch of uploads don't really lend themselves to a solo piano representation, (even though they're overdubbed). This one however, does! Full marks for playing the individual pieces 'live' but; for the mistakes that you didn't go back and correct It's '10 points away from Gryffindor'. You've got incredibly fast hands but that doesn't excuse incorrect or missed notes when the opportunity exists, to redo parts, individually. From an arrangement point of view, (and I feel qualified to say this) the pieces are 'bog standard'. None of the individual subtunes vary in any way from the original SID/Amiga versions. I can't imagine you have reached your standard of playing without developing the ability to substitute alternate chords and progressions in order to take the 'remix' to somewhere else. The Steinway badly needs tuning. In some parts it almost gets close to sounding like a 'saloon upright' and this detracts from the listening quality. Overall, I'm impressed with your playing ability, (and a little jealous too)... and you have a cat. So, that makes you a certain kind of cool and nice person (for which I'll score you a little extra). Please make another remix. I'd love you to really stretch your ability and include other instruments, (real or synthetic).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/06/2020)

Welcome to RKO and Remix64.com, Paul! :-) I quite like the fact that all 3 game tunes are covered here, and the arrangements are pretty good, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/06/2020)

A fantastic rendition of Galway's classic tune. As others have mentioned it, the switch in the basic beat is at odds with the melody, but for me it actually works - he made it into a dancey tune, what do you expect? The sound effects and the vocoded voice are a perfect addition to this remix and create a vivid atmosphere. This is done very, very nicely, and it's definitely my favorite (if not THE favorite) Terra Cresta remixes.

-- RIP Razmo :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (11/06/2020)

Hmm, I wonder if this started life as a multichannel MOD, because many of its motifs remind me a lot of those tunes from late 1990s, even the way the patterns are repeated, and the abrupt ending (which to me indicates a cutoff of an infinitely repeating sequence). In that context, this is actually a rather decent remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Ok, perhaps not a review … but wth, how did I miss JLD:s entrance to the C64-remixing community? Well, perhaps not strange at all since I don't keep up to date of each and every release on RKO. Still, a solid production, but then I don't think that the original gives away that many hints of a re-release in the shape of … well, a new tune. Sorry for this non-review but well … I just had to write what I felt when listening =)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 71 72 73