Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 151 - 180 out of 2270

Login

Monty on the Run (high score revisited) - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by LaLa, 23/12/2020

If this doesn't get you up and dancing, nothing will! Really good idea to match the melody with a classic rock'n'roll groove.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican 1 - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 23/12/2020

Lovely production with delicate touches all around. The lead guitar sounds a bit too artificial to me, but it's not too distracting from the overall arrangement. I wish this remix was longer - it fades out too early!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Artillery (Tyrell orchestral fusion - RKO edit) - arranged by ziona

Review by LaLa, 22/12/2020

No wonder this won SLAY Radio's Árok Tribute Remix compo in 2020! An absolutely stunning piece done in a duet format where the synthy parts are answered by string-heavy sections and vice versa. That melody line is what really catches me out every time - it's full of emotional subtlety, so delicate, yet, so powerful. The instrument selection, the arrangement, the mixing - all as close to perfection as they can get. Top-notch production all around!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader 3 (21st Century SID Remix) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by Tomsk, 21/12/2020

I actually prefer this punchy synth version of the two... it's crisp and clean, and feels modern and yet retro, and you can't argue with the sound of the SID chip. Great inclusion, well mixed. Sometimes even an orchestra can't compete with the beautiful sounds the original SID produces!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Mission of Mercy (Film Score) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by Tomsk, 21/12/2020

Outstanding... full of movie score atmosphere... probably my fav Peter Clarke remix.. having never heard the original I still found myself drawn into the arrangement as it changes pace and goes off in many different directions. Some great choices of unusual instruments really give the tune character, my only critique being the abrupt ending.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 Central Park Ten Years Later - arranged by JPH

Review by LaLa, 20/12/2020

First of all: welcome back to RKO! Second: this is a much improved remix over your last one from 10 years ago. This is more guitar-heavy (that's a positive, because you are really good playing them) and the mix is nicely balanced, too. Two issues: a) that piano break at around 2:15 sounds dissonant, and b) It ends way too abruptly. You should've at least let the reverb ring out to completion. All in all, this is a much more enjoyable version of LN2, and I hope to hear more from you!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Midnight Resistance - Stage 9 Remix - arranged by Phekkis

Review by symbols, 20/12/2020

I think this is a pretty accurate rendition 1:1 with the extra bits, good drums etc!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rastan - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by Hakk, 20/12/2020

Hard to believe this is taken from an 8 bit tune from 30 years ago. Quality!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Duchesse (not so big band mix) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Poke16384, 18/12/2020

Let's get the negative out of the way first. The only thing that lets this remix down is the quality of the instrument samples. The sound immediately put me in mind of an Amiga Mod and it's a shame because there's not a lot else that's wrong here. It's funky and tight from an arrangement point of view and there are some very good ideas which are explored in this arrangement. The samples, although they're not the best, are used really, really well in expressing an otherwise convincing 70's funk tune. I think your arrangement shows growth from some of your previous remixes, Eivind and it makes me want to hear the next remix. I could pick things in the arrangement that could have been done differently but overall this is a solid arrangement which is only let down by instrument quality. I like this remix a lot.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Duchesse (not so big band mix) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 16/12/2020

First of all, kudos for picking a SID tune nobody has remixed before! The basic concept behind this remix is really good, the choice of instruments is fitting, too, but the arrangement is somewhat thin. It's like you were afraid to layer instruments on top of each other. The bass, the trumpets, the vocals, everything sounds great individually. The few times they all sound together is where this remix really shines, but I wish there was more meat on this groove. The vocals sound very nice, too, but again, they are not backed by a worthy accompaniment. For a good example of what should be done listen to Uncle & The Bacon's body of work (on RKO and on their albums) - I'm sure everything he (they?) uses are all virtual instruments, too, but packaged and arranged in a much more convincing fashion.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Boulder Dash (Jamrock Dash) - arranged by Makke

Review by MatrixRevolution, 13/12/2020

Good boy! The original piece is so ugly that making it look good requires a lot of craftsmanship!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Comic Bakery (Broken Bakery Remix) - arranged by Ziphoid

Review by LaLa, 12/12/2020

Ziphoid published this remix in 2008 on the 'Syntax Era' album - I liked it back then, and I still like it now, 12 years later! The intro is a spot-on recreation of Broken Wings - after which the appearance of the Comic Bakery melody line feels tacked on. But this remix gets better as it goes on and it gives you that unmistakable slow tempo 80s ballad feel throughout. Especially noteworthy in this tune is the delicate guitar work of Magnus Högdahl, which lends a lot of authenticity to it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 3 - arranged by BeeZerk

Review by LaLa, 04/12/2020

As a piece of music it's really good (although I find the lyrics a bit too generic). As a piece of remix - I could find a grand total of only 30 seconds of LN3 in this 5 min tune. That LN3 based hook is really good: I like the addition of the syncopated notes, the change in beats 4 & 8 - I was whistling it all day after I heard it. But I wish there was a lot more of LN3 in this tune.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Boulder Dash (Jamrock Dash) - arranged by Makke

Review by Poke16384, 02/12/2020

So, before writing this review, I listened to your remix several times, (and also to the original SID.. and to Chris Abbott's midi file). The first 25 seconds of this arrangement made me smile with joy. It's a great feel with genuine reggae elements and artistically, I can't fault it! As I listened through though, something sounded 'off' in the chords and it took a few listens to nail it. The keyboard 'chop' chords don't follow the chord progression of the other instruments consistently; especially during the original Boulderdash chord run. 1st time through they stick at the root chords then 2nd time they follow and it knocks the quality of the remix out of kilter. This occurs in other places too! If this was a noob's 1st remix, I'd be a little gentler but Marcus, it feels lazy for a veteran; especially someone with your pedigree. The 20 minute vocals sound fine but for the sloppy chop chords failing to consistently follow the chord progression, I've got to rap your knuckles and wonder why.. Nostalgically, this hits the mark enough to be a happy reminder of the original except for the 'mistakes'.  I love the reggae feel of this and the mix & master sound great,  (to my ears at least). I realise that some will disagree with my opinion but I've tried to be both critical of the shortcomings and complimentary of the highlights in a fair and consistent manner.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Boulder Dash (Jamrock Dash) - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 02/12/2020

The vocals are just - wow. The idea of making this into a reggae is just - wow. But something feels a bit off with this remix. The harmonic interaction between the organ sounds and the stabby chords sounds weird at times. It's not dissonant, but something is off, can't quite put my finger on it. But overall, that's just a minor complaint, completely overtaken by the sheer creativity of this remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Monty on the Run (Monty Gets Orchestrated 2011) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by grin, 28/11/2020

That's how I imagined I guess... If I close my eyes I hear something like that, maybe a tad bit less percussion. 😊 Enjoyed nonetheless.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cauldron (PSS 480) - arranged by Bamse

Review by LaLa, 24/11/2020

If this was really all done with just a PSS-480, then my hats off to you, sir! The sound is, well, it's a Yamaha Portasound, so not much to expect there, but the arrangement works around the limitations very nicely. I think a fatter drum track could've really helped elevate this, but I understand if you wanted to stick with a pure PSS-480-based composition.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Great Giana Sisters - arranged by FZN

Review by LaLa, 24/11/2020

Oh, man, so organic, so finely made! Funky style, has a sort of late 70s, early 80s feel to it. Darn close to a red smilie, really enjoyable.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Think Twice III (Think Thrice) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 24/11/2020

Promising intro (that deep bass cuts through the mix really well), the lead sound is fairly evocative, but then the arrangement just lingers on and doesn't really go anywhere. I think this has the potential to grow on me as I listen to it more, but I wish there was more to it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Once there was only dark (NES ProgRock Remix) - arranged by Linus

Review by LMan, 24/11/2020

Impressive and sophisticated, like everything Linus does. It's a feat, how NES chiptune sounds can capture the 70s prog rock vibes so nicely. Spiced with nonstandard rhythms and unexpected chords. For everyone not familiar with Linus' SID works, I recommend checking them out in HVSC.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Way of the Exploding Fist (Ambient Blitz Mix) - arranged by dr.blitzen

Review by arquillos, 24/11/2020

Very nice tune! So great to hear. It has an incredibly beginning that gets me playing it again and again!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

I Hate Marshmallows (Stay Puft Remix) - arranged by JLD

Review by Radiarion, 21/11/2020

Smooth, punchy, melodic, and simply love the synths. Cant wait to hear what you deliver next 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gem'X VS Turrican Remix - arranged by Murdock

Review by Radiarion, 21/11/2020

I absolutely love this track, it has an amazing flow and base line that just captivates, and holds you until the very end. As an old school Amiga guy myself, I remember most if not all of the tracks on this site, and this has to be one of my favorites of all time. Id love to hear you remake Quick n Silva main title if you fancy a challenge? Keep the beats flowing 😊 ps: What sound bank/vst did you use, Id love to get hold of those samples 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Maniacs of Noise Megamix - arranged by Gerd Bahl

Review by wildsocrates, 18/11/2020

I like all of it, but the Stormlord section makes it amazing, and exceeds every other Stormlord remix I've heard. I put it in Audacity to repeat that section (4:20) since it only gets one iteration on the release. I think all of these exceed the original SID tunes, and I'm not just saying that because I'm biased in favor of remixes (as the SID for Tetris is the best and no remix comes close).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Zoids [epic vocal soundtrack] - arranged by Anthony Walters

Review by haze, 12/11/2020

This is one of my favorite remixes of all time. Drum track is one hell of a war drums preparing for droids^W Zoids attack.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Power Drift (1989 Club Mix) - arranged by Martin Dodd

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 10/11/2020

Amazing cover! love the 80s feel! great arrangement and selection of instrument. great energy!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Comic Bakery (West End Brioche) - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 03/11/2020

Instantly recognizable Pet Shop Boys West End Girls instrumentation, phenomenal job! If somehow you had managed to add the vocals, too, it would've knocked me out cold. 😊 As it is, the lead instruments are a bit weak compared to the rest, but A+ for effort!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Deformata [15 years Later] - arranged by Vincenzo

Review by danko, 30/10/2020

People talk about channels and melody, they forget the utmost part of a remix. Soundmix. Aesthetics. This one just won a 15 year old part.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Trojan Warrior 2020 - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Poppykuk, 27/10/2020

It's a good remix overall and I quite like it. I've listened to most of dr futures remixes and I have to say that this one doesn't really improve on many of his earlier ones. It is faithful to the original and worth an orange for that category but the rest is yellow for me.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Paperboy (tripping) - arranged by Dj Space

Review by Joe Mc Lutz, 22/10/2020

Generally I love almost every Paperboy's remix... And this one too. Nice work! 😃 (I hope for more Paperboy remixes)!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 74 75 76