Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 2011 - 2040 out of 2293

Login

IK+ (Nokia mix) - arranged by DJ Subslash

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

This remix starts out with a superb groove, then you hear the beeping IK+ theme coming out of a Nokia phone. If this remix was intended to be funny - it ain't. If it's serious, it's making a mockery of this SID classic. It's tasteless.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

R-Type Title Remix (Dance Version) - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I am unimpressed. Yet another let's add drums to the SID remix. Well, actually, some effects also try to enhance the feeling here, too. Hooray. I'm still unimpressed.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hollywood Poker Pro - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

The basic idea was good (to turn this tune into a dance-mix, which I see as the natural choice), but the execution lacks the oomph and feeling to push it over the edge. No doubt it's due to the lack of decent synths available to Dr. Future, because I find one of the lead sounds rather childish and the whole tune has this cheap Casio-synth feeling to it. A nice effort, nevertheless, but it's in dire need of a better treatment.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thanatos (sleeping dragon mix) - arranged by FTC

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

When it started, I was tempted to denounce this remake, but when the lead kicked in and as it progressed, I was convinced that it's a well thought-out piece that deserves more attention. Some might be annoyed by the high-pitched lead at times, personally, I am annoyed by the seemingly out-of-rhythm snare drums, but as a whole it's better than its parts. Not superb, but better.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Arkanoid 2010 - arranged by FTC

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A very unusual approach to Arkanoid, tilting it more towards the ambient side, although the famous drums and beeps are kept intact. Lots of filtered analogish sounds, a very nice concept overall that I think works rather well.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - Jarresque 2001 Mix - arranged by Jarno Beumer

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Personally, I don't find anything Jarresque in this cover despite the fact that I consider myself a big fan of Jarre. Maybe, only maybe I can sort of imagine its style being a mix of Chronologie and Oxy 7-13, but that's a stretch. Nevertheless, this is one superb cover, albeit a bit too bright for my ears. (Perhaps I am just getting old?) More or less it follows the predictable path of a typical Cybi II remix, but it's very well produced and it sounds pretty clean, if I may say so. A bit thin here and there, but other than that there's hardly anything wrong with this cover!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizardry - arranged by Amp

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A bit too rich with drums for my taste (which feeling might actually be caused by that brassy bass), but otherwise a decent remix with carefully selected instruments for the different parts of the lead. But the sound quality of the instruments is subpar, causing the overall mix sound more mushy than it really should. Kinda groovy, too, which helps a lot.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando (2001 mix) - arranged by Jarno Beumer

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

The beginning is very promising with some cool sounding drums, then it slowly builds up with very synthy instruments - and that is where it became less impressive. This build-up just stops when the main melody-line comes in. I have to say, I am very impressed with the final mixing of this remix, though. Musically, it's not as good as the opening bars suggested to me, but it has a cool bouncy feeling to it and it's worth listening to.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Enlightenment Druid II (Trace cover) - arranged by Kent Walldén

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Obviously, there was a Druid remix compo recently that I missed... This is also an above average cover with relatively rich instruments. Nice arrangement, I think it's rather pleasant just listening to it. Soundwise it has that sampler feeling, productionwise it's well balanced. Recommended for download.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid (Respect The Original Mix) - arranged by Plough

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Interestingly, it sounds rather simplistic. Not bad, but nothing to get too excited over.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid - arranged by Zane Whitaker

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Not an elaborate cover, but at least it adds some personal touch to Druid. Again, it has more potential than what it actually delivers. Quite nice and worth a download, though.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja Wilderness ( Cadrega Mix) - arranged by Eric Pochesci offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Another attempt at remixing Ben's famous Wilderness tune from LN. If the game was written in the style of this remix, it'd be a high-paced fast-action car- chases-galore game resembling a Hollywood blockbuster. Personally, I think this remix goes over the top, which may be due to a problem with the mixing or with the arrangement. I would be tempted *not* to recommend this remix to those with weak heart conditions, and nobody should listen to this tune in a car, otherwise you are guaranteed to be clocked by a traffipax at two times the posted speed limit.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Krakout (Kocmoc Mix) - arranged by Slumgud

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I suppose Kocmoc here is the Russian spelling of Cosmos... This remix is quite weird, certainly surprising and different. Unfortunately, it never really builds up and the constant repetition of the introductory sequence becomes boring pretty fast. The vocoded Krakout speech sample is kinda cool, though.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Spandau Ballet mix) - arranged by Mahoney

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Yet another awesome remix by Mahoney that is completely screwed up by the original SID sounds. Yes, I know this was an artistic choice, but for crying out loud, it sounds like crap this way! I'm sorry, I just don't get it. Believe me, I was actually scratching my head as I listened to this remix. It's like seeing a Michelangelo painting (= the superb Spandau Ballet-like accompaniment) that has two large blue stripes painted over it by a child ( = the SID sounds) - kinda ruins the whole thing, doesn't it?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rasputin (Rob Rulez Remix) - arranged by Sascha Theel

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Sounds like something that was made on a cheap Casio synth which has all those auto-accompaniment features. Seriously! Not bad, but nothing to get excited about. Keeps it high-speed throughout the remix which makes it enjoyable.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lazy Jones (Medley) - arranged by Instant Remedy

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A pretty good dance-remix of our beloved Zombie Nation tu-... erm, Lazy Jones tunes. The individual jingles are seamlessly stitched together into one 4 minute remix. Add some great drums and synth strings, do a great job of mixing the whole thing - definitely worth a listen.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Auf Wiedersehen Monty - arranged by Solknight

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Not bad, not bad. The panned drums tell me that this tune may have been an XM or S3M originally. A solid average remix, pretty much everything you'd expect from an Auf.. cover is here. To be perfectly honest, many times for me it sounded like my very own Auf... remix, but hey, how many ways are there to remix this tune, really?😉 A few years ago this could've been top-notch, but the stakes have been raised a lot since then.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spellbound (Swing mix) - arranged by Mahoney offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I have to say, I don't think I've ever heard a remix whose style was so far away from the style of the original! This remix gets a lot of plus points for its innovative idea and were it not for that awful SID sound in the lead (yes, here it sounds awful!), it'd actually rock big time. But the lead sound is just so *NOT* good in front of that band playing in the background, it's appalling. Were the lead played on a trumpet or a saxophone, I wouldn't have thought for a second to select this to be one of my most favorite remixes, but this way I am just left wondering - how come Mahoney didn't hear this??? ... (I just keep listening to this remix again and again, and I want to make it my pick of the bunch *SOOOO* bad, but that SID lead is simply bothering me a lot. Hmm, maybe if I imagined a swinging robot in a ballroom as its singing, erm, emitting sounds on top of what the band is playing... Naaah!)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja - The Wilderness - arranged by Solknight

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Publishing a Last Ninja remix these days is not an easy thing to do since there were so many past attempts. But Solknight managed to bring out a nice remix (I especially like the opening) that stands on its own. While you won't yell out whoa! when listening to his remix, but you'll certainly enjoy it, just like I did. It's definitely one of the better The Wilderness remixes out there, but don't expect a lot more than that.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Vertigo (green agent mix) - arranged by Axeman

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Was there a Vertigo remix compo I missed? This one is done with electric guitars, which is something I like, but after hearing Flatline's remix, I don't think it's the right way to remix this tune. Axeman is playing his heart out to get this one done, which I do value and I like this display of his skills, he just didn't pick the right tune for it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hawkeye - arranged by Ollas

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

While I found the Myth Title Remix a bit underdone, this one is a bit overdone. I am quite impressed with this remix, and I think it's above average, but I don't quite think it's in that upper 10%. Probably the presence of too many high frequencies is what's bothering my ears here - it's like when I am driving at night and suddenly I am blinded by the bright light of an oncoming car. All in all, kudos to Ollas - but it's just a hair shy of being my pick.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Myth (Title) - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Promising start with the original SID left in the mix. Then it transforms into a fairly decent remix. Parts of the final mix of this tune sound rather strange to me - some instruments are panned hard left, an almost total lack of any effects (the remix sounds pretty dry to me)... I think, the choice of instruments is not bad, but the overall result sounds a tiny bit icky to me. This remix shows more potential than what it actually delivers. Still, a good contender in the mid-pack.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2: The Sewers - arranged by N-Trace

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Musically, it starts out pretty awesome. Production-wise it could've used better mixing throughout. The choice of deep strings and the pounding timpani in the beginning and then just a hint of the lead here and there - perfect! In the middle it switches (or tries switching) gears (like the original SID) - and this is where it gets a bit disappointing: where is the punch, the power, the in-your-face scariness? Instead of becoming an I'll hunt you down, Last Ninja! -type threat it remains relatively mellow and dark. Great first half, fairly decent second half, but this second half is what prevents it from being my pick. Highly recommended for download, though.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2: The Final Battle - arranged by N-Trace

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Your typical SID conversion done with the traditional synth instruments, this might even be an XM or S3M recorded into MP3. It's lacking depth, but otherwise it's a pretty solid average remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dominator - arranged by N-Trace

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Well, it's painfully obvious that N-Trace didn't have access to better sounding equipment for his previously reviewed remixes, and although his repertoir of instruments got expanded here, it still remains an about average remix. If you want to hear unique remixes, this shouldn't be one of your choices. Solid remix, but it doesn't stand out in the crowd.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Phantoms 2001 - arranged by danceaway offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Good opening, but I can't shake the feeling that I heard the exact same riff in another SID remix before... It seems danceaway fell in love with that opening riff and he just couldn't use it enough times. Which is too bad, as it works well for an opening but it became pretty irritating pretty fast after that. In fact, I couldn't concentrate on anything else but that damn riff! Which may not have been that bad, since this tune barely hits average on my remix-o-meter... Then what bothered me was the off-key lead. Or maybe it's not off-key, but it certainly made me say Huhh? . For a dance tune it's not very dancey (and there are dance-remixes out there that are a helluva lot better), for a Phantoms remix it's rather weak. It's oh-kay, but I wouldn't recommend it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cobra (Morricone Edit) - arranged by Axel Melzener

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Now here is something that has a clear direction, makes perfect musical sense and is also very emotional! Sure, it's a cover of a cover, but a very, very well done one! And the fact that it's done in Morricone's style in an absolutely immaculate fashion - I don't think perfect even begins to describe it. Three cheers for Axel!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Test Drive - arranged by DJ Tobi offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Starts out with the original SID then adds drums to it, then adds more drums to it - and that's it!? Rather disappointing. I expected the tune to slowly transform into a very cool giant club mix, instead it just sits there lamely. Whoever did this wasn't thinking.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican 3 Air Combat (The Masters Duel) - arranged by Honorabili offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Those super-short little sounds don't work here for the lead. Which is too bad, because otherwise it'd be a pretty good sounding tune. The main problem with them is that they make the otherwise touching melody sound extremely inhuman. Did Honorabili actually listen to this tune before converting it to MP3? ...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Aliens Droship Stage (Tropical Surfing) - arranged by Honorabili offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I can kinda see how this tune would lend itself to a Hawaiian makeover, but not this way.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77