Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 211 - 240 out of 2270

Login

Ball Blasta Highscore (Chasm of Eternity) - arranged by Sonic Wanderer

Review by LaLa, 22/08/2020

Whoa! Welcome back, Sonic Wanderer!!! What a remix! Reminds me of some downtempo Tangerine Dream tracks ca. 1990s. Excellent choice of SID, flawless execution, I am really, really enjoying this!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Boulder Dash (Arok edition) - arranged by Infamous

Review by LaLa, 22/08/2020

During the Árok remix compo broadcast of SLAY Radio on IRC somebody (perhaps Slaygon himself) remarked how the style of this remix is very similar to that of the the Futurama title music. And I totally agree with that! Same wackiness, rapid switching of instruments, dubstep-like beat - very, very creative!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by C64_Gamer, 21/08/2020

Peter set a standard with his cybernoid 2 remix and he's done it again with this version of Space Harrier. The bassline drives it throughout and the whole thing is uplifting & catchy. Mixing & mastering sound impeccable. Superb remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Zoids [epic vocal soundtrack] - arranged by Anthony Walters

Review by LaLa, 20/08/2020

It's epic! It's vocal! Wait... it actually has lyrics! OMG! And now it's a duet! OMG x 2! Massive respects for this vocal-heavy cinematic composition. Great job on the heavy drums, too. Truly: epic!

I think if you weren't constrained by the 2020 remix compo's 4:30 limit, this would've been longer, too.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thats the Way It is - arranged by Magnar

Review by LaLa, 20/08/2020

A really, really well-crafted remix! Upon hearing the slow intro I got very excited, I thought it's going to be like that all the way. Unfortunately, it's not, but then it switches up the tempo, an excellent bass guitar lick appears, and it just blossoms into an amazing piece. Unlike Poke16384, I will actually give you a +1 for the wolf-whistle, because it appears in the original SID, too, and I thought that was a nice touch. 😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by Tas, 19/08/2020

Unreal. Feels like the original but its new and modern. You know a good remix when a tune feels like 2 mins but is 4 mins plus. Well done Peter you have again pleased my tiny little ears. 😊 I love the ending by the way!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 19/08/2020

That bass line - superb! That arrangement - phenomenal! That energy - uplifting! That vocoder - nice touch! That groove - it's, erm, groovy! Those orchestral riffs - spot on! The best British prog-rock style remix of this tune I ever heard! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thats the Way It is - arranged by Magnar

Review by Poke16384, 18/08/2020

This is a slick remix by Magnar. It caught my ear on the competition and having now had a chance to re-listen, I haven't altered my opinion. It's a nice interpretation of JT's original and the instrumentation gives it a great 90's feel, (to my ears at least). The 'hooks' are nice and there's some great use of phasing & frequency-manipulation to get some real 'cut' on the licks. I'm gonna -1 you for repeating the wolf-whistle. Catchy as hell and well mixed & mastered.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tales of Boon (The Collaboration Mix) - arranged by Peter Clarke, ziona & Slaygon

Review by C64_Gamer, 18/08/2020

The track notes tell an interesting story and the remix lives up to the story. Well Done ziona, slaygon & peter clarke. This is a really powerful & moody journey. The sound is flawless to me and it has blended into one complete tale.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Magic Johnsons Basketball - arranged by LPChip

Review by Poke16384, 18/08/2020

When I heard this on the SLAY / AROK competition, it grabbed me immediately. The 2 Fender Rhodes piano's split left & right are just so dirty & funky. The whole thing has a vibe that just drew me in. There are bits I could be picky about here but I'm not going to be. It's a great remix and has such a 'bad' thing going on. Well Done LPChip for producing a great remix which is different & really rocks!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Deliverance Stormlord 2 Title Music - arranged by Amin Haji

Review by Poke16384, 11/08/2020

A nice vibe, once it gets going. I always loved the late 80's & early 90's for these sounds. Has a lot of promise for a 1st remix! Needs a little more in the soundscape & arrangement for the red faces but a great effort. I'm ready to hear more from you, Amin.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Deliverance Stormlord 2 Title Music - arranged by Amin Haji

Review by LaLa, 30/07/2020

Starts out like a MOD, then it gets bright and sparkly, which gives it a distinct 80s feeling, then I get echoes of Depeche Mode. All we are missing is a vocal over it. 😊 Quite a good remix for a newcomer, hope to hear more from you!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader 3 The Revenge - arranged by Lello Caliendo

Review by LaLa, 30/07/2020

This remix is attempting to be bouncy and cheery with lots of staccato instruments, but I don't think it quite succeeds in that. I think you pushed the staccato-ness a bit too far. The basic instrumentation sounds solid, the arrangement is fairly faithful of the original SID, but the staccato-everything is too much.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wings Of Death (Eternal Gravity) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Rainstorm, 14/07/2020

There is something wrong at 0:45. There is a delay. Please, compare with original tune : https://www. youtube. com/watch? v=El5IWQWAJdY
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 InGameLvl 1 - arranged by SirRobin

Review by LaLa, 14/07/2020

Welcome to RKO, SirRobin! I think your first remix here shows a lot of promise, because the arrangement is pretty good and all the notes are in the right places. 😊 But I think the muddy recordings of the live instruments really put a dent in the overall quality of this tune. This is even more evident in the synth-only sections which sounds pretty good by themselves - until the guitar comes in. Your guitar skills are commendable, but in this mix it sounds like you're playing in an entirely different room and we're listening to you through a closed door. I hope you consider joining the Remix64 forum where you can ask for and get some advice on mic recordings and mixing, because your music production skills show a lot of promise, they just need refining.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 InGameLvl 1 - arranged by SirRobin

Review by Poke16384, 12/07/2020

A damn decent effort for your 1st remix. Negatives first.. It IS muddy in the low-mid range instruments with the guitars getting almost lost amidst the synths. It makes the snare stand out a bit too much and the equal-velocities on the snare-rolls sound a bit 'machine-gun'-ish. That said, there are some really big positives here. The arrangement has creativity & good ideas which are only let down by the mix. I listened to the whole 6:07 to hear what else might be here. Welcome to RMX64 and give me more good arranging like this.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Yie Ar Kung-Fu 2 - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 07/07/2020

Welcome back to RKO, Tim! 😊

Reminds me of late 80s, early 90s synth-heavy movie scores, like Carpenter, except more melancholic. I'm especially fond of the wobbling chords in the first half of the tune, and the melody improvs in the second half.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Barbarian Ultimate Warrior (grand piano) - arranged by Paul Nelsen

Review by LaLa, 30/06/2020

What a great transcription to piano! Definitely gets the spirit of the original SID through. Minor gripes: the tempo is not consistent throughout the piece. Also, the left and right channels are swapped (lower octaves are usually mixed to the left, not to the right).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Byterapers intro (djupt i hjartat av harddisken) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Poke16384, 30/06/2020

The soundscape of this whole remix is nice and is a departure from the longer, 'drawly' notation of the original. The beat here has more definition and the chosen sounds compliment this. If you take a SID that is just 1:25 in it's original form, It's important to go somewhere with it, especially if you expect to hit 'top marks' for your remix.. In the arrangement department, this does deviate a little but not enough for me.. The original synth riff from the 'Yazoo' song 'Don't Go' is still in there and the chord-play behind that is nice. The drum-loop coulda shoulda varied more to lift the tempo as the remix progresses and to stop it from just being a single loop from start to finish.. Good effort and a pleasant listen overall.. Needed more for the big red smilies though..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1942 High-Score Theme (You-were-there mix) - arranged by Perhaps-a-Doobie

Review by LaLa, 27/06/2020

Never fails to bring a smile to my face! Brilliant! 😊 The singing, the lounge atmosphere, the instrumentation... The only bad thing about this remix is that I cannot listen to this SID tune any more without hearing Boz's lovely voice. 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Batman the Movie - Gotham City Cathedral - arranged by MellowNoiseKiev

Review by Poke16384, 26/06/2020

This remix starts off so promisingly with a lot of high-energy feel to it. Although I'm not the greatest fan of 'Untz-Untz', the energy grabbed me early on.. What a shame that from 2:00 all the way to the end, it then just seemed to lose creativity even in the drum-part. The same 8-bar loop makes it just feel repetitive after that.. Good 1st effort and don't be disheartened.. Please get your creative head on and submit another remix..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wendy (Batmania II tune 5) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Poke16384, 26/06/2020

This is a very nice, laid-back remix which sticks faithfully to the structure of Reyn's original. The instrumentation is gentle and gives the overall feeling of a wind-down tune, (maybe for the end of a Slaygon & Ziona radio show). If you're waiting for it to 'take off'... it doesn't. If I was going to get super-picky, I'd maybe have liked the piano improvisation to vary a little towards the end. Nice, laid-back remix..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Pool of Radiance (grand piano) - arranged by Paul Nelsen

Review by Tas, 23/06/2020

SSI games often sounded a bit wrong on the sid chip. The melodies were there but it didn't fit well. As with all SSI games it needed a piano. Heh, it's here! and it does exactly what it should. Nice.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Robocop Title Remix - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 22/06/2020

Great work!!! love the emotion of it and the great nostalgia! cool work 😊)) magic!! magic!! magic!! 1 2 3 4 5 6...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins (grand piano) - arranged by Paul Nelsen

Review by LaLa, 19/06/2020

I think this is a brilliant arrangement of GnG for piano! It has everything in it that one could want, including the simulated glide in the intro, and even an improv'd section! Bravo!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier medley (grand piano) - arranged by Paul Nelsen

Review by LaLa, 19/06/2020

A few mistakes here and there just to make it clear that this was performed live. 😊 Obviously, a lot of thought went into the arrangement, and you even included the Bach piece in there for completeness. Very nicely done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Pool of Radiance (grand piano) - arranged by Paul Nelsen

Review by LaLa, 19/06/2020

I think so far this sounds the most classical style piece among your piano renditions. Like you mentioned in your YT description it sounds rather wagnerian, apparently because that was David Warhol's original intention for the SID, too. It definitely shows, sounds grandiose!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

M.U.L.E. (grand piano) - arranged by Paul Nelsen

Review by LaLa, 19/06/2020

Whoa, slow down, buddy! 😊 This sounds like a good 10 BPM faster than the original SID (I wonder if that's an NTSC vs PAL piano thing 😊 ), which makes it even more amazing that you performed this in one take.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Spandau Ballet mix) - arranged by Mahoney

Review by wobbler, 18/06/2020

Let me correct the old LaLa here and say that this is something absolutely fabulous. Way ahead of it's time (I guess?). Mahoney in his greatest greatness (or perhaps rock bottom – it doesn't matter really).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Defender of the Crown medley (grand piano) - arranged by Paul Nelsen

Review by Poke16384, 18/06/2020

Welcome to Remix64, Paul. I was intrigued to know how your 16 uploads were constructed, (Wow!, that's some entry to the remix scene). So, I followed the link you provided to your YouTube page. Clearly, you are a more than competent pianist and there are some covers of C64 tunes on there that I wouldn't have imagined someone would tackle with a single piano, (even a Steinway grand...). So, to business! IMHO a number of your initial batch of uploads don't really lend themselves to a solo piano representation, (even though they're overdubbed). This one however, does! Full marks for playing the individual pieces 'live' but; for the mistakes that you didn't go back and correct It's '10 points away from Gryffindor'. You've got incredibly fast hands but that doesn't excuse incorrect or missed notes when the opportunity exists, to redo parts, individually. From an arrangement point of view, (and I feel qualified to say this) the pieces are 'bog standard'. None of the individual subtunes vary in any way from the original SID/Amiga versions. I can't imagine you have reached your standard of playing without developing the ability to substitute alternate chords and progressions in order to take the 'remix' to somewhere else. The Steinway badly needs tuning. In some parts it almost gets close to sounding like a 'saloon upright' and this detracts from the listening quality. Overall, I'm impressed with your playing ability, (and a little jealous too)... and you have a cat. So, that makes you a certain kind of cool and nice person (for which I'll score you a little extra). Please make another remix. I'd love you to really stretch your ability and include other instruments, (real or synthetic).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 74 75 76