Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 241 - 270 out of 2270

Login

Spy vs Spy I + II + III (grand piano) - arranged by Paul Nelsen

Review by LaLa, 18/06/2020

Welcome to RKO and Remix64. com, Paul! 😊 I quite like the fact that all 3 game tunes are covered here, and the arrangements are pretty good, too.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Terra Cresta Remix - arranged by Razmo

Review by LaLa, 12/06/2020

A fantastic rendition of Galway's classic tune. As others have mentioned it, the switch in the basic beat is at odds with the melody, but for me it actually works - he made it into a dancey tune, what do you expect? The sound effects and the vocoded voice are a perfect addition to this remix and create a vivid atmosphere. This is done very, very nicely, and it's definitely my favorite (if not THE favorite) Terra Cresta remixes.

-- RIP Razmo 😒
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican 3 Remix - arranged by nd3e

Review by LaLa, 11/06/2020

Hmm, I wonder if this started life as a multichannel MOD, because many of its motifs remind me a lot of those tunes from late 1990s, even the way the patterns are repeated, and the abrupt ending (which to me indicates a cutoff of an infinitely repeating sequence). In that context, this is actually a rather decent remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

D.Y.S.P.I.D.C.E (part 2) - JLD Remix - arranged by JLD

Review by wobbler, 03/06/2020

Ok, perhaps not a review … but wth, how did I miss JLD:s entrance to the C64-remixing community? Well, perhaps not strange at all since I don't keep up to date of each and every release on RKO. Still, a solid production, but then I don't think that the original gives away that many hints of a re-release in the shape of … well, a new tune. Sorry for this non-review but well … I just had to write what I felt when listening =)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sober Days (Drunk Remix) - arranged by JLD

Review by wobbler, 03/06/2020

Just posted a review of your latest drop to RKO (which was really good btw), and then found this one … Man, I have no previous recollection of hearing the original, but this totally rocks! I mean, keeping the original SID-feeling whilst maintaining a modern beat/arrangement/whatnot. Super-duper-awesome.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Hero - arranged by JLD

Review by wobbler, 03/06/2020

Seems like another Swede enters the C64-remix-arena… Welcome! Judging from the production quality of this tune I can hear that you've produced a fair amount of music before trying out a C64-remix. And yes, the beat still has a decent taste of dubstep, and yes #3– it still work with the final result. Well done, and again – welcome to our little bizarre community 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Saboteur II (western mix) - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by C64_Gamer, 31/05/2020

A neat idea that deserves a red for artistic realisation. I wish the spot-instruments like maracas & quijada were more prominent in the mix and made it sound more like Morricone. The trumpet is realistic but the brass at 1:25 is synthy and unconvincing. Overall it's a solid remix and a good listen.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Guitar Slinger Plus - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 18/05/2020

A wonderful acoustic-style remix of a classic tune. There are some sections of it that lean towards country/bluegrass style (e. g. @ 2:04) - I wish that style was explored further. But it sounds amazing as is, no complaints whatsoever! =) And the second, downtempo part of the piece is just be-a-utiful!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - (The Alt-Rock Mix) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by C64_Gamer, 12/05/2020

Mr Clarke, I thought it would be difficult for you to match your most recent, ROTY-winning remix. So, you've come at us from a different angle. This is a brilliant new remix. Giving this tune the Prog-rock treatment is inspired. Technically, it's tight and the riffs, licks & flourishes lift it beyond the title of remix. There's so much original creation here but I guess that's what an old-school, game-music composer can do. Outstanding!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Firelord - Symphonic (a nod to Glyn) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by Tas, 12/05/2020

Oh my! This is tough to react to. It's absolutely brilliant. The difference is it's so much smoother than Glyn's original which is what i expect Peter was after. That there for me is the difference. I kinda like the harsh, aggressive in your face attitude the original. They are both great versions and kudos to both musicians. However for me, Still love Glyn's version to pieces. However what an honor for Glyn who's spent years covering sid musicians for one to turn around and cover him.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - The Alt-Rock Mix - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by C64_Gamer, 11/05/2020

Alright, I'm with LaLa on this one. It's technically brilliant and the arrangement is just superb. If there was something higher than a red smiley, I'd award it to this remix. This is a real musician and composer at work.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Great Giana Sisters (Subtune 5) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Tas, 11/05/2020

Agree with Lala and the drum loop, it does feel somewhat out of place. But as always the sound scape is lovelly. I always enjoy Dr Future's production skills.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Great Giana Sisters (Subtune 5) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by al.x, 11/05/2020

I really like this, slightly melancholic version that combines the 8 bit sounds with a more modern soundscape.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy vs Spy - arranged by Ctrl-Z

Review by Poke16384, 10/05/2020

I Like this remix a lot.. It's got SID-ishness everywhere and bounces like a bouncy thing. Technically it sounds spot-on to me. Maybe a little more variation, if I'm being really picky but overall a damn good remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - The Alt-Rock Mix - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 09/05/2020

Ladies and Gentlemen - this is as close to perfection as one can get with a remix. The superb skills of Peter's talent are on full display here: the arrangement is impeccable, the instrumentation is spot-on for a prog-rock styled remix, and it sure sounds like most of it is recorded live playing. And it even adds extras: like the wonderful riffs on the guitars and on the electric organ, not to mention the superb counter-melody on the sax in the later parts. Wow, just WOW! Bravo, Peter!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tuneful Eight - arranged by Makke

Review by wobbler, 08/05/2020

Oh, he's back-eh-makk-eh. Sort of happy that I was able to spark some sort of creative juice! And yeah, breakbeats need a big revival *makes a mental note*
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando - Main Theme remix - arranged by moonove

Review by wobbler, 08/05/2020

I know, it's been remixed a hundred times, and yeah, the original is so good etc etc etc. But, this one is really minimalistic, has fresh sounds (yeah, really) and well … liked it. Thumbs up.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

W.A.R. - arranged by V. Kaufmann

Review by LaLa, 02/05/2020

Epic! The entire ~10 min of W. A. R. is covered here, which is respectable by itself - but this remix is also really, really good! Starts with a synth intro that did not impress me that much, but once the guitar kicked in at 2:30 it really got my attention. From that point on it just keeps rolling, occasionally with dissonant, but mostly with prog-rock sections, with electric guitars dominating the rest of the remix. I think this is as close to the prog-rock style I'm guessing Mr. Hubbard originally imagined for this track as we'll get. Bravo!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Test Drive II Remix - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by ItsReactor, 01/05/2020

Enjoyed this a lot. Reminiscent of the original but with some creative new stuff. Saved. Thank you!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Shadow Of The Beast 2 (Game Over) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by _steve_, 01/05/2020

This evokes the memories of that infamous game over screen featuring your character being struck by lightning. Given the original game over guitar riff was just 10-20 seconds, long, the manner you expanded around that is fantastic. The pan flute repetition at 40s along with the acoustic guitar, birds and general atmosphere sets this in the SOTB universe.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins - arranged by Colmarr

Review by LaLa, 20/04/2020

The usual unusual from Colmarr. Like with his other remixes, yet again I'm not sure where to place this remix. It has a definite lo-fi feel to it, sort of reminding me of the music of 70s era American TV shows. But it's not that obvious, so who knows? ... I am not even sure the lo-fi mix was intentional? ... But definitely gets plus points from me for trying something different.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wings of death - Stage 5 - Cold lands of doom and despair (MadmaX StyLE) - arranged by cube

Review by Rainstorm, 10/04/2020

So good. I hope you'll have time to create all other stages and also the intro. 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion Loader - arranged by Electronscape

Review by MsMadLemon, 06/04/2020

Fantastic remix of a great tune, you've kept the feeling of the original but added more to it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando - arranged by Puffy64

Review by DjCzyszy, 30/03/2020

Classic Puffy64 sound. It's nice but not on par with modern production standards. I wonder if this is something new or a something that had been lying in the closet for well over a decade. It does sound like something that would've easily been made in the early 2000s. Well, on the other hand, listening to it, I can't help but feel as if time froze solid and the all those days never passed us by. But anyway: the guitars conflict with the SID sounds and the tone's a bit harsh. Also, the drums need to be more cutting in such a dense arrangement. Seems like there's too much going on. I do like the playing with the pinch harmonics and tasty bends though. So yeah, it's a mixed bag.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando Hiscore (Eighteen Years Later) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Methanoid, 10/03/2020

certainly a unique take on the tune, still liking it a lot, more of the same please.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja (Am I Really) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Methanoid, 10/03/2020

if this was slowed down any more it would suffer a heart attack, the remix is still surprisingly pretty brilliant.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ikari Union (The Non Brexit Edit) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Methanoid, 10/03/2020

nice remix to chill out to, sounds very amiga demo like, which isnt a bad thing.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

My Instinct (Its On Tonights Situation) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Methanoid, 10/03/2020

usual case of awesome rolled in slice of nostalgia, sounds as funky and weird as i hoped.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tusker (Guinness Book Of Long Intros Remix) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Methanoid, 10/03/2020

2mins of wtf and 6mins of awesome, any chance of a version without the annoying voice intro?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts'n Goblins (Oxy remix) - arranged by BaR

Review by LaLa, 03/03/2020

As a Jarre fan, I'll try to restrain myself and not nitpick my way through this. 😊 The sounds and the atmosphere are about as close to Oxygene as you can get. This is a really good in-the-style-of remix. I am a bit annoyed by the repeated noisy downers in the left and right channels (ie. the ones starting @ 1:36), but other than that it's hard to find a fault in it. You've weaved the theme of Ghosts'n Goblins into this tapestry of sounds in a very elegant way. Very nicely done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 74 75 76