Reviews by immacolata

arrow_forwardMember Profile

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 27 out of 27

Login

Review by immacolata (09/09/2006)

My favourite Ultima-remixer must be chosc. Not a lot bother with this sound track. This remix is perhaps his best attempt. It sounds like he is gathering old attempts into a larger model, a potpourri. It is a nice task, since the original soundtracks are short tunes with no real connection between them save their medieval theme.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (11/08/2006)

Lovely. Just lovely. You can't help smiling and tapping your foot to the rhythm. It really catches the original melody awfully well, yet it sounds salsa like. Spanish guitar, some good percussion and tin drums. I love it when people remix songs in new styles without falling for novelty.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (01/08/2006)

A rare remix of the much under-appreciated Roland's Rat Race sid, it self being a nice cover of the tv show's theme. This remix suffers a bit from the clichéd synth intro. Takes the author about one and a half minute to tell us how much he likes Jarre.

Once the introductory lull is over, I do believe the song picks up. I have rewritten a bit of this review, because upon several listenings, I tend to favour the tune more. Only niggle I have here is the drum track. Not that it is bad but I found that the song worked very well on its melodical parts and synths, no need for any artifical sweetener in shape of a drum track.

The overall impression is therefore that the song is a fair job, but intros is perhaps something the author should work on, at least to make them shorter. I still think it beats the a capella version by a long shot. More Roland remixes, however, and the best roland remix of the lot.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (20/01/2004)

Donne has made a tempo filled remix that I find myself listening to often. The remix is fairly faithful to the original sid tune once the synth section is over after the first minute. The absolute stroke of genious for this remix, however, is the drum track. It is present in the rest of the tune and makes quite a presence. It sound lolly-gagish at first but it really carries the tune in my opinion, and I think this quaint, disco-inspired drumtrack is what keeps me coming back for this song time after time. Of course, the rest of the instruments are chosen with care and fits in perfectly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/09/2003)

Perhaps this tune has a lighter mood to it than I remember the game allowed for, and it was a strange but really good game, but ifadeo has a knack for finding excellent instrument replacements and manages to create faithful remix while keeping his particular style. I'd call it Radical-Orthodox remixing :-) It makes for some nice relaxed listening no matter if you know the original or not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

Notable for it's happy, upbeat style. Matches the original well, which is a Whittaker tune for a forgetable Mastertronic game. As I'm generally very fond of ifadeos remixes, this is one that I'm also liking quite a bit, but I find it is a bit annoyed by the disco style drum beat, which is less pushy in the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

The fanboy I am, this is my current favourite of ifadeos works. The remixer follows the original SID song fairly accurately I feel, but makes a bold and rather special instrument substitution. He manages to catch the same general sound perfectly however, and ends up with a song that by far surpasses it's source material in richness and worthyness. I've listened to the original SID, but alas the song is from after I left the C64 for greener pastures. Therefore it doesn't hold any nostalgic value. If you at all value ambient electronica, with a small pinch of 80s retro sound to it - and this is why we come here anyways - do by all means do yourself a favour and listen to this piece at least once.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/09/2003)

This is one of the songs that I feel represents the distinct laid-back "retro" style of ifadeo that he has evolved over his mixing career. I had to listen to the song for quite a while before I realized how much I liked it. The original Baldwin tune is probably a bit forgotten, but nice and this remix catches the essential of it very well. This is an easy-going song from start to end, with a soothing rhythm and no particular radical changes in style underway. Everything slowly builds up to a sort of climax around 4 minutes - but slow and mellow, no sturm und drang here. It totally pays homage to the original, yet retains ifadeos quirky electronica style that I've come to like a lot. It goes well with many of the SID tunes by nature. I also recommend you listen to R1D1 Rheingold by same remixer if you like this song.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

The author states: People who didn't like my Delta work should better do NOT d/l this tune...

Well I beg to differ. ifadeo has managed to made this tune sound very like something wrung out of an analog syntehsizer of the 70s or 80s - very good and easy going. It's a fitting tune in the vein of Loops, Storm and Hunter's Moon. It is following the melody of the original SID but ifadeo has added lots of extra, quirky little instruments and passages that I like. It makes for a rich and saturated song without getting too much. I didnt particuarly like ifadeo's Delta remix, but this one just REEKS of genuine ifadeo quality. Much better than his first R1D1-remix - I recommend this song highly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

Introduction gets off a bit bad with a highly uninspiring drum track, then proceeds to slowly build into the SID tune. On a few occassions you hear a Vocoder kind of voice saying something, while adding a nice effect, it just comes off as a bit cheesy in my ears. I guess it might be because I get painful flashbacks to the All your Base Are Belong To Us-flash video, which uses this voice extensively.

As the tune progresses the remixer plays with different instruments, but it only really gets into something beautifil around the 2:30 mark and towards the end of the tune. While Glider Rider is one awesome piece of SID, this remix doesn't quite do it's predecessor justice. The drum track ruins it for me, and in the end I actually prefer the original SID to this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (15/09/2003)

Im quite impressed by it. I have no idea whether it is trance or rave as the remixers claim it is a tribute to, but it does the SID piece justice. The introduction and ending has some speech and whinneying which I believe is sampled from the old cartoon series - the voice must be Sunflower's. Makes a good transition to the main tune which carries on in a slightly mellow style with a rich assortment of instruments, which really sets it apart from so much other music out there. Perhaps the drum could have been made less powerful, but this is small potatoes. Overall a nice remix that I recommend you listen to, even if you aren't familiar with the original piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (04/05/2003)

Our man with the guitar does a good job again. I have no idea what game this is remixed from, apparently a SID cover of some old kid's tv show. However, Maindrian manages to make a cheery little song that reminds me of the 90s
"power pop/rock band" Weezer (don't know what genre you'd call those guys). Lots of crunchy guitars and a speedy happy beat on it all.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (04/05/2003)

A nice remix on the tune, that alas suffers from a bit of a dodgey piano sample in the beginning. But around 1:25 it gets interesting as Gzilla weaves extra on top of the old tune. He uses some groovy low pitch rumble samples and string kind of samples in a long transition till about 2:15, then he changes style to a more complete, and brooding song with a really wicked background synth sample to make the beat.

He mixes in a bit of sound effects from teh game to some succes. Overall I like the remix, especially how it is very light on the drum track, other instruments are the major players. I cannot easily put a genre on this one, but it's worth a download indeed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (19/04/2003)

I think Maindrian is the new guy on the block with a guitar. Sounds like a classic rock ballad, with a very familiar drum beat going and some nice silent guitar work. Close to the 3 minute mark there's use of some phat distorted guitar, but well laid upon the other guitars. At the end, the song is as beautifully mellow as it was for starters.

I like this remix a lot better than the first attempt at Dragon's Lair 2 that Maindrian tried. I like it as much as Maindrians Times of Lore remix, it has the same melancholic mood to it, but this song is made entirely on "real" instruments, no SID usage. I look forward to see him giving more songs his great guitar treatment. If you missed out on his Times of Lore, go get it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (09/04/2003)

Anyone familiar with Maindrians works will recognize that he likes guitars. But in his Dragon's Lair and Star Lifter remixes, he uses electronic guitar. Not so in Times of Lore. Beginning is pure sid, then swiftly he goes into a subdued guitar. A simple yet beautiful song, as the original, very mellow and in my opinion, a refreshing change from the many techno/dance inspired remixes out there.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/03/2003)

This Max Headroom remix seems to mix several tunes from the original game, and does a good job of it. Remixer has used some kind of lead instrument that sounds very synthy and does the job good. First part is more easy going, it is the elevator music if I am not mistaken. Goes around for about 2:22 when the tune shifts into another. It's a very synthy remix, and I think all instruments have been replaced, and with great skill. One of my favourites.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/03/2003)

As remixes go, this does a poor impression. It sounds as if the remixer lets the most of the original tune do the work for him, just adding a drum beat. Around 1:24 he really gets to work though, by making some kind of interlude on the song's theme, and at 2:16 we're back again to the first part. I dig the original sound track so much that I find myself listening to this track a lot. But alas for the wrong reasons. Hypaball is not easy to dance with I guess, and that is why the original tune steals so much of the song's duration. Merits for trying and not burning it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/03/2003)

This rate up among the best remixes I have ever had the pleasure to listen to. The original game sound track wasn't something you paid that much attention to due to it being so short and if I remember correctly, only present at the start. Here it has been turned into 5:13 of slowly building up with a rich very 80s sounding vibration bass synth or something, leading up to a nice peak at 2:01 where the Piano enters the song and gives the whole thing a sense of completion. This song goes beyond mere remix into a great piece on it's own worth listening to even if you haven't a clue to what the game was about. But I don't remember Flight Path 737 sounding _THIS_ good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (12/03/2003)

Instrumental part of the Remix music is okay, but the singing is not. There's something odd with that voice, it kind of ruins it all for my listening. I guess I am an aberration.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

A very well composed remix of ambient/electronica style that has a nice fat sound to it, but not the 10000 beats per minute drum sound as you might expect. And I do, got a nice sound to it - electronica or "old school" techno if you like. Remixer uses mostly own instruments, but there is a well applied sprinkle of original C64 synths if I am not mistaken, it is a bit hard to hear. Perhaps a bit in the easy listening deparment is a better description. A very nice music piece that I am finding myself listening to a lot these days.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I think it is one of the better wizball remixes out there. I agree about the drum part, but I think there is too much of an infatuation with fat drum tracks out there in general :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I like unorthodox when you remix popular songs. Not much fun in Yet Another Remix of some game that sounds samey. This song is very nice to listen to. Even though some drum rhythm gets into the mix, it doesn't go overboard (giving you one of those dull "Add drum track and stir"-remixes). Very nice piano, synth thingy and is that a triangle I hear at the end? Recommended.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I've heard too many remixes where the author slaps a few synths on top of the original tune. The greatest tribute is to take the old song to a new stage like Dor-x does with this one. Why just make a 25 second remix? Thats what we got the original for (Which isn't a synth but a IREM arcade if I remember correctly?).

Anyway, Dor-x has substituted all instruments with new ones, still sounding a bit electronic which I suppose is the point. As the first reviewer pointed out, the song takes a few listening-to's but it ends up winning on me. I like it, great technical and artistic merit. Nostalgic impression inevitably suffers when you move far away from the original, perhaps that is what makes Belding so caustic in his review.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Mahoney seems to have an affinity for using voice or lyrics. And I think it's the first remix I've heard with Emil's father in it ;) The remix is ranking high on technical merit - getting those voices to work in a song - my hat off. Artistic impression ,well most of it is just a nice slow drum not much there. I guess all the hard work went into the voices and lyrics. As usual with mahoneys remixes I am undecided for a while whether I like them or not. I decided that this remix is good as another remix that isn't just a few synths slapped ontop of an old song. Originality factor high .) And it's not just quaint but also because it's with humor. And it got panting women in extasy as well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Abbott always make remixes of a very high technical quality. Therefore I found this very simple tune to be a delightful listen. He has substituted many if not all of the original instruments with great skill. The song is cheery and happy and simple, one you can go and whistle to yourself and drive your co-workers nuts with. Great nostalgic value, and kudos for picking one of the less popular tunes out there. Also Finders Keepers was one of the first MasterTronic games I owned, so extra spice for nostalgia.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Arkanoid is a popular tune to remix. This remix suffers in my taste from being too close to the original. A lot of the original SID sound is applied, but it has been done earlier. So it is hard to discerne what the remixer is adding to the general song except a bit of extra instruments to add to the overall soundscape. In the end it is a quite dull remix to my taste, particularly because I've heard so many other 'Noid remixes - so a new one has to put a certain spin on it that I haven't heard before. People all new to arkanoid remixes might rate different than I. From earlier with other songs I think that FTC can do well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Very great review, rating up there with the masters of ambience Mike Oldfield. I am particularly fond of the guitar. When I first heard the chanting female voice I thought "Oh my god, not ANOTHER one". But quickly, i realized that this was indeed very fit. This remix both reveres the old and build it's own style. Which is also why I rate it less in nostalgia - it reminds a little of Zoids but is clearly strongly it's own work. I mean, I am not really thinking of zoids here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1