Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1964
[LOGIN]

Review by Jaxxon64 (13/11/2019)

Great cover, great 'thin picked' Bass, love the blues honky-tonk piano, respectful to the original. Great job!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/11/2019)

Wow, the number of times I must've heard this tune in demos and crakctros!... I can't believe it hasn't been remixed before. You're right, Wobbler: I think there's more potential in this tune. Your remix is pretty good by itself, though, and cheers for keeping the whistle intact towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (08/11/2019)

I don't usually like the electric guitar versions of classic computer tunes, but this one was excellent. Great playing and a joy to here the old tune given some love.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/11/2019)

Unfortunately, I can only go as high as a red smilie with my vote, otherwise I would go higher. "Flaming hot red smilie", anyone?...

Let's see: serene intro complete with gentle piano? Check. Skull-shattering electric guitar? Check. SID arpeggios? Check. Ace 2, one of Hubbard's best tunes? Check. Tune from LN2, one of Matt Gray's best ones? Check. Impeccable arrangement and mix? Check. Me voting red on this remix? Check, check, CHECK!

Well-deserved winner of the first ever BIT Live remix compo!

PS: If you vote anything less than red smilie on this one, please, explain yourself in a shout...

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

I normally don't comment on remixes where I'm not familiar with the original SID, but I just had to make an exception for this one. Whenever I listen to this remix (and I've done that several times already), I have an overwhelming sense of nostalgia: I can't help but think of this as an Amiga MOD - times a thousand!

This arrangement oozes "chiptune style", even though it's not really a chiptune. But it FEELS like one! A fantastic scene production!

If you are not familiar with it, I also urge you to go and listen to the Dane's original SID, because that's pretty good, too.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

When I heard the intro of this song at BIT live, I was like "Oh, no, not ANOTHER Lightforce remix!" (There are almost 50 of them in RKO as of this writing, not to mention the various album versions.)

But you know what: this is really great arrangement! It has just enough edginess to it to make it unique (even though it's not fully "Slaygonized"). It's also more uptempo than the original, so there's a sense of urgency to it, driven by a simple, but effective rhythm section. And that long outro is just something else: the way it decomposes the song to oblivion is superb.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

The instrumentation sounds really good, but somehow this arrangement feels too soft for the original material. I like the venue-appropriate (BIT Live) vocal shouts, too. This shows a lot of promise, so I hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

Lightforce Mordified! Lea's delicate voice is what really does it for me in this one. A lovely arrangement that captured my attention on the first listen at BIT Live.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by joenemesys (30/10/2019)

Really really original and well built; very interesting the differentiation between various whistles and the climax towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gohanks (29/10/2019)

Heard it at BIT Live Bergen 2019, one of the best Lightforce remixes ever, very unexpected entry from Slaygon, but in the very best way possible :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Odkin (28/10/2019)

Great 80ies feeling! - perfect style for this track. I miss the subdivisions of the chords a little but the tracks works great anyway :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neriakX (26/10/2019)

Nice Story here in one track. It sure is a a top notch production! As many others already said .. it's kind of a journey the listeneres are going through. Keep it up mate!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by SoedeSoft (26/10/2019)

All instruments are SID! The tune was made using reason studios, adding only reverb / echo effects.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (21/10/2019)

Firstly, welcome aboard and congrats on your 1st remix.. The thing that hit me straight away, on the 1st listen was the lack of a bass-line. This is a fairly straightforward tune with a common, '4 chord trick'. (C-Am-F-G) is a structure, responsible for more hit songs, in the 60's than probably any other. As such, it's one our ears are familiar with and accustomed to and it needs variation to make it sound 'fresh'. Although Rob's original bass-line sticks rigidly to the 'root' notes, to bed down the structure, a bass-line could have been a neat way to vary the feel of this.. Using 3 similar sounds for 'chord', 'arpeggio' & melody blends the mix a bit too much and buries the piano, melody line in places. The drums DO vary in places and the fills are nice but the kit, overall sounds a bit dry, (emphasised by the lack of bass-line).. The sequencing structure with identical, short note lengths, make for a mechanical feel to the tune. Good 1st effort and please don't be put off by the lukewarm responses to it.. I hope it encourages you to immediately start on your next remix and I look forward to hearing it..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/10/2019)

The good: you got all the notes correct and the instrumentation is pretty decent. The bad: everything sounds flat, there are no emotions involved whatsoever, I don't hear many effects, either, which would make it sound a bit more interesting. Getting the melody, the accompaniment, and the drums down should be only step 1 in your remix, and it seems you decided to stop at that point and release it. You should've spent additional time adding more details (e.g. variations) to your remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by das.Mordschaf (14/10/2019)

nice one. i dont know what to write. they forced me to comment a song.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

Sounds great but there's a few places where it just doesn't quite capture the original tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

I like this, but the guitar work isn't as good as your other track, you miss a few parts and skip some notes but still sounds fine, nice and meaty. Again that synth doesn't work well that well. 1:21 - 3:00 is the best part. I'd really like to hear a more aggressive version of this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

That guitar work was incredible! The drums were great too, would've preferred a bit more emphasis on the synth in places and the synth sounds, a little less than ideal for this track but overall it's pretty great.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (05/10/2019)

This really deserves it's place, high up in both charts. Just the 1st listen tells you how good the quality of this soundtrack is. I can't imagine how long it took to make or how much work went in to get the attention to detail that is here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (04/10/2019)

Yeah! This is a nice listen. The Mix could have done with a tweak here and there but it's an accurate rendition melodically and a pleasant remix overall... and I like it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/10/2019)

I like the idea of this remix more than the remix itself.

Cutting up and rearranging the original SID, plus adding a few more instruments to it to enhance it - great idea! But I guess I expected more to come out of this. Repeating the intro bars ad infinitum makes this tiring to listen to. It gets more interesting in the middle, but that's more thanks to Jeroen's genius than anything else.

I think, LPChip, you fell in love with your own idea a bit too much, and forgot to give it more polish.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cube (30/09/2019)

Good orchestral arrange as well as a great mix. Super nostalgia factor, Iike always from Dr Future
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2019)

The intro sounds promising, but then it fades into a SID mashup - bit of a letdown. It sounds good, but only because the original SID embedded into this track also sounds pretty good to begin with. I think some more thought given to the arrangement would've helped here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/09/2019)

A thoughtful arrangement, very nicely played with appropriate feeling to it. I wish it was a little longer.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hyperunknown (10/09/2019)

See, this is most likely the best of all remixes on the entire site. The buildups, the accords, selection of samples, preservation of the Doskpop-style. I mean come on, the choords and the lead, i get shivers down my spine. IRL. For real. Thanks for this one mate. Why the hell do I even bother having Spotify :p
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (31/08/2019)

So.. it took me a while to work out that the original SID was 'Grave.sid' and that also gave me an opportunity to read the back story to the tune.. Technically, this is very average. The vocal is lost in the mix at times, overshadowed by the piano and the timing wavers away in some sections when the drum machine isn't laying down a solid beat. (The biggest benefit of working in a studio environment is the ability to record in sections and most importantly, go back and redo the bits that aren't 'up to scratch'). There's no point recording stuff 'in one take' if it isn't tight enough. Artistically, this doesn't do the original SID tune justice. There are so many opportunities within this remix to incorporate some of the variations from the original. The piano dominates, pretty much throughout with the same 4 chord trick and gets boring. The drum-track would have benefited from some variation, (tons of variation in the sid) and in the vocal breaks there's not enough to fill the space. Perhaps another, stronger synth would have helped for the lead-line bits. Even some bits of vocal harmony, here & there, might have lifted the monotony. The spot fx that are there needed to be more prominent. From a 'nostalgia' viewpoint, it bears almost no resemblance to the sid. The original melody line is nowhere to be heard and with the exception of the main 4 chord piano part, this could be a different tune. At over 5 minutes in length there just isn't enough variation...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/08/2019)

Whoo, boy, this is a tough one!

On one hand, the technical achievements of this remix (...of a remix :-) ) are undeniable. The instrumentation is as good as one can get without hiring a real orchestra in Prague (right, Chris? :-) ). To me the absolute highlight of this arrangement are the new vocals/choirs that appear at 2:02 and towards the end - I wish they were featured more in this remix.

On the other hand, this is "just" a refresh of a previously created arrangement, and thus, feels a bit redundant. Other than the different vocals, it doesn't add much to Glyn's 17 year old arrangement. One of the reasons I really like Glyn's 2019 arrangement is because it is NOT a rehash - he actually changed the arrangement in significant ways (IMHO, to its advantage), in addition to giving it an instrumental "update".

Don't get me wrong, Peter, the amount of work you put into this is phenomenal, and it really shows (thus my high marks). I know from myself how much one can learn by trying to deconstruct and then reconstruct somebody else's arrangement. But to be brutally honest, your remix is something I might not listen to much ever again, but I tend to listen to Glyn's on a regular basis, and I'm sure I will continue to do so until my ears turn blue. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/08/2019)

Wonderful! I really like the solemn slowed-down tempo here. The soft vocal is a nice touch. I was afraid this remix would go into the uptempo part of Gobots, too, but Jogeir was clever enough to omit that. Still, I wish this remix was longer...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/08/2019)

Epic! Great use of the oriental sonic palette throughout, tastefully mixed with the synthy instruments. And big plus points for including subtune #2 in this remix which is my most favorite Tai-Pan track of all. What a trip! I can't get enough of it! :-) Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 64 65 66