Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2088
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (15/10/2020)

I did not know about this SID tune before. Now I wish I did. This is a rather emotional cover of it that I find myself coming back to over and over again. So poignant and so elegant. Some Vangelis motifs here and there, which I always appreciate. And again, it's deeply touching - thank you, Marcel and Yogi, for sharing it with us! And thank you, Joachim, for your original composition!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (11/10/2020)

I am also someone who pumped coins into this game and had the arcade and C64 version of this tune imprinted on my brain. This is a truly great remix that captures the spirit of the original in a style that is straight out of the time that the C64 and arcade version are from. The strings and brass are wonderful and the whole thing is uplifting. An outstanding remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (10/10/2020)

Really nicely made. I was hoping it would grow towards the end and finish with a bit of impact but alas it didn't. Shame. It's a good remix though to be fair.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/10/2020)

Fascinating story of how this tune was made! Abynx didn't post it, but there's also a video of this remix being played back inside 'Dreams': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YuAVJtmGaa4
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (08/10/2020)

A relentless, driving remix for sure. The soundscape works well here but the unwavering 16th bass notes do get a bit tiring after 5 minutes. The remix would have benefited from a little more variation especially in the drum-loop department. A 'let-up' in the driving rhythm just here & there would have added some emphasis to the 16th beat rhythm when it returned. Overall, this remix benefits from it's simplicity. A good 1st attempt which is faithful to the original. I look forward to hearing your next upload..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by andre (07/10/2020)

The tune is straightforward, no quirks and smirks. Considering the time of appearance, 2005, as far as I can recall this wasn't an uncommon sound. I personally don't like echo-effects. Perhaps there would be something that helps a composer during the arranging process (to hear it as if recorded in a hall), and which could be left away at the end. But after a few times of listening to the song, you kind of see behind the 'veil' and don't notice it anymore. All in all an arrangement easy-going, with a mood true to the original, and a futuristic touch, with interesting ideas that could have been worked out a little more precise. I can't say 'keep it up', as I can just go and see what other things the artist has created since so many years past. For the listeners I can say: Listen to it twice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Aule (07/10/2020)

I like the beginning. It's kind of mystically. Unfortunately the drums crashed it a little bit. The spanish guitar is great.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Aule (06/10/2020)

This is the best version of Crystal Hammer I've ever heard. You brought a special style to it. A good beat and though the harmony is a little bit different the original is still present. Good work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MatrixRevolution (25/09/2020)

I love Cybernoid & Cybernoid II but this tune is too much SID-like. Drums are good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fabrice971 (22/09/2020)

Amazing pads , amazing guitar, amazing bass. I love it even if I don't even recognize the original
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

I'm trying really hard to find the positives in this remix, but it's mighty hard to do. I was sort of hoping the intro percussion would lead to some authentic(ish) Japenese-style rhythm section, but alas, it didn't. The rest of the instrumentation is no better. But "at least" it closes with the obligatory Chinese gong. :-/
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

The most beautiful rendition of Fist 2 to this day, bar none. That flute, that vocal - just wonderfully emotional in every aspect of it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

I like it because it's different and because it deliberately steers away from the "obvious" LN3 Intro type remix - it remains clubby and electronic throughout instead. A very nice production overall.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/09/2020)

The instrumentation is pretty close to how I always heard this in my head: big, cinematic, heroic. Until about the halfway point when it inexplicable switches to a more medieval ensemble. I wish it had more of the choir from the intro in the rest of the piece, too.

Unfortunately, this is yet another track from "Remix64 vol. 2" that features sample-based instruments that didn't age well with time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/09/2020)

While I was working on the ceiling in one of the kids' bedroom I was listening to 80s music on a Google speaker, so all of that music is still echoing in my brain - and this remix totally has that 80s feeling nailed down. Replace the bell-like lead with a vocalist singing about a hot chick or love or something, and you got a winner here! :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/09/2020)

Back in 2003 when this remix was made there were not that many orchestral sample libraries available, so Jan did the best he could with what he had. The arrangement is full of wonderful little additions that were not present in the original SID (like those beautiful flute runs). But in general, this is probably as close as it gets to the arrangement I heard in my head when I first listened to the SID - baroque orchestral. (Yes, I know the original "Pase el agoa" is a renaissance tune, but Jeroen brought it forward a couple of centuries. :-) )
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (11/09/2020)

After the 3rd time of listening through the whole 11 minutes & 40 seconds, I'm still totally unimpressed! This should be telling me a story, taking me on a journey... but I feel like I've been left at the start with lost luggage. There are some serious problems in the arrangement itself with discordant notes hiding behind the melody in more than a few places. The arrangement often builds & promises to go somewhere.. but then, sadly doesn't. The mix is another reason that this piece feels like a long, mediocre trudge in the mud. The instrument balances are literally, all over the place. The quiet passages are much too quiet & the crescendos lack power & oomph! Loud phrases jump out at you, unexpectedly and then vanish as quickly as they came. It all sounds disorganised and unplanned as an arrangement and lacks ideas. The final thing which detracts from any realism in the piece is the choice of iterations in the instruments. If you try to play fast string runs using an 'arco' iteration, you get a mushy sound that lacks definition; and there are examples galore in this piece of the wrong iteration on most instruments. The use of increased volume doesn't create a crescendo. You have to combine the instruments, using the correct iterations and build. I understand the desire to be the 100th Last Ninja Remix.. but this needed a lot more work, more attention to detail and definitely a greater understanding of how the instruments in an orchestra are actually played. I was nodding off at 4 minutes.. and nothing afterwards woke me up...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Waz (10/09/2020)

If the likes of Slayer or Obituary were to take on Tusker, this is pretty much how it would sound. Double bass drum for the absolute win.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (10/09/2020)

Welcome Wigo. For a first remix that's been uploaded that's a damn good effort. The sound picture is nice though the choice of lead or the continuous choice of the same lead is what lets it down slightly. A little more variety would help. Good effort though - hope we hear more from you.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by codewiz (06/09/2020)

At 3:25, you can hear one of the most iconic voice samples of the Amiga demoscene. I had it stuck in my mind for 30 years.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (03/09/2020)

When I first heard this in the compo I found it difficult to appreciate fully...a tune often takes a few listens before you begin to appreciate it, and I didn't know the SID either. So now it's a remix 64, I've managed that, and have to say it's beautiful. A lovely intro is followed by some absolutely perfect synth n bass. The bassline in particular is tremendous, and the drums suit perfectly. What a great SID tune and amazing remix. My only critique would be the join between the orchestral and synth part ...and the cut short ending...surely this epic deserves a proper ending. Brilliant effort by all involved.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Vonti (02/09/2020)

With nice blirp sounds, but without overusing them. And it's a tune I had never heared a remix of before!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/09/2020)

Your style is truly one of a kind! I think the best way I can describe it is "heavy metal jazz on the SID". It's grungy, raw, elemental, yet not off-putting or overly dissonant. At the same time the chord progressions and the arrangements seem to be infused with jazzy elements. This is definitely not easily digestible "popular" music - I think your compositions demand a certain amount of concentration and intelligence from the listener. This ain't the kind of casual music one could listen to in the background!

And that's why I'm upvoting this remix of your own SID tune (which is actually a remix of this tune, making this remix the original - phiew, got that? :-) ) - I want to celebrate your uniqueness and your craftsmanship, because I think it deserves praise.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/09/2020)

A technically well-executed synthwave style remix (I hesitate to call it an '80s remix, because it sounds so much better, more modern). Adding the voice samples was a touch of genius. Plus points for remixing a kickass 20CC tune that everybody else seemed to have ignored so far.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (31/08/2020)

This is a very well-crafted remix. The way that alternative sounds are used to 'answer' the refrains of the main lead sound demonstrates an understanding of how to structure an arrangement. I like the 'patience' that you show in letting the intro lead us in... This may be an electronic pop tune but the soundscape is rich & finally; somebody programmes an actual drum-track, (rather than using 1 or 2 loops). I see your 'newcomer' tag but I suspect you have more experience than a newcomer. This is a remix by somebody who knows exactly what they're doing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/08/2020)

There are many-many remixes of this tune available, both on RKO and on released albums. After I listened to some of my favorite ones and then this remix by SIDNIFY, it's still hard to pick a clear winner, but hot damn, this one is definitely there on the top! What a tour de force! All done with the kind of professionalism we've come to expect from SIDNIFY: an amazing, fresh arrangement, spotless instrumentation, mixed to perfection. Fantastic job, guys!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/08/2020)

An emotional, sorrowful tribute.

You made the slowed down tempo work very well. I also really like the deep bass line, it pierces through the mix, making it even more melancholic. A remix worthy of Edwin's memory.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (27/08/2020)

Loving this version so much...there's plenty to keep everyone happy and put a smile on your face...from the amazing string work on the intro, to the clear and clever bass, and even a cheeky bit of ELO inspired vocoder. The guitar work through out is exceptional, and it should be one of your essential downloads here at Amiga remix too. I love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2020)

I have a policy of not commenting on tunes that remix SID tunes I'm not very familiar with. But from time to time a remix comes up that's so good, I just have to make an exception for it. This is one of those times.

The individual pieces sewn together really work to its advantage, bringing us on an epic cinematic experience. I suspect the organ-heavy intro is Peter's making, transitioning to ziona's part at around 1:30, then going back and forth a little between Peter and ziona, with the tune so obviously concluding with Slaygon's darker tones. I hope I got that right. ;-)

Even though the remix quickly fades out, I suspect that's mostly due to the 2020 Árok remix compo's 4:30 time limit, because it feels like this could've been a lot longer.

Either way, a superb auditory experience, I really enjoy this, guys & gals!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2020)

Whoa! Welcome back, Sonic Wanderer!!! What a remix! Reminds me of some downtempo Tangerine Dream tracks ca. 1990s. Excellent choice of SID, flawless execution, I am really, really enjoying this!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 68 69 70