Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2132
[LOGIN]

Review by Claus (21/01/2021)

Originality (30% weight, part of artistic skill): While this is a solid remix, I think it lacks creativity a bit. The original is already kind of screaming hardstyle. The remix improves the instruments obviously, but hardly adds anything new to it. 2/5 - Embracement (30% weight, nostalgia): It is kind of a Hifi-Version of the original, so I think embracement is excellent! 5/5 - Arrangement (14% weight, part of artistic skill): The arrangement is good, the sounds really fit the genre well, and there is a lot of interesting variations going on sound-wise. 5/5 - Performance (14% weight, part of artistic skill): Excellent performance, nothing to complain about (no wonder, as everything is programmed). 5/5 - Mix (9% weight, part of technique): The mix sounds very professional, although I think the Bassdrum is a bit too prominent (even taking the genre into account). 4/5 - Mastering (3% weight, part of technique): Pretty well mastered, it only lacks a bit of the fatness and deepest frequencies for the dance floor. 4/5 - Overall: 3.98
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Claus (21/01/2021)

Originality (30% weight, part of artistic skill): How fresh and creative is the remix? Definitely a fresh take on the original, which is very short and simple. Lots of creativity went into this, an absolutely great interpretation. 5/5 - Embracement (30% weight, nostalgia): How well does the remix represent the original? Now that’s a tricky one, as the original is so short. It picks up all of the signature parts, but I think it is not easy to realise on which original it is based. The general feeling is well preserved though. 4/5 - Arrangement (14% weight, part of artistic skill): How fitting and elaborate is the choice of instruments for the chosen style? Awesome! Some sounds are a bit 2005ish, but hey, who cares! 5/5 - Performance (14% weight, part of artistic skill): How well are the instruments played? How good is the timing, tuning, groove etc.? Excellent performance, nothing to complain about (no wonder, as most of it is programmed). 5/5 - Mix (9% weight, part of technique): Is the volume balanced well between the instruments? Are EQ, compression and effects applied appropriately? Excellent mix, you can clearly hear that this was done by a professional. 5/5 - Mastering (3% weight, part of technique): Does it sound well-rounded and professional overall? Are master bus processing and the overall spectral balance ok? Excellently mastered, again clearly audibly done by a pro. 5/5 - Overall: 4.70
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Claus (21/01/2021)

Hey, my first review! I spent quite a bit of time on thinking of a framework that hopefully helps remixers to understand how I vote, and helps myself to keep objective in the future - Originality (30% weight, part of artistic skill): How fresh and creative is the remix? I like the Iron Maiden style and I am not aware of other remixes that would have done that before, although it does not seem a very unexpected interpretation. The bass guitar and china/doublebass interludes keep the track interesting, although some more changes in instrumentation would have improved that even further. The remix is not really adding new surprising elements, which in my mind is required for a top score here (although it might reduce the embracement then :-)) 3/5 - Embracement (30% weight, nostalgia): How well does the remix represent the original? The original is immediately recognisable. The kind of hypnotic/repetitive feeling of the original is well preserved. Nice, I could hardly imagine how to improve that! 5/5 - Arrangement (14% weight, part of artistic skill): How fitting and elaborate is the choice of instruments for the chosen style? This is a bit of an easy win here, as rock music rarely profits from elaborate arrangements. The choice of sounds is good. I will nevertheless reduce the score by one, as some more sounds would have made the track a tad more interesting (as mentioned under originality). 4/5 - Performance (14% weight, part of artistic skill): How well are the instruments played? How good is the timing, tuning, groove etc.? That is bit of a difficult win here ;-), as rock music really depends on tight guitar playing. Not that the guitars are not well played, but compared to commercial productions there is quite some gap here. The drums seem to be programmed (I guess), and sound a bit uninteresting to me (coming from a drumming background). Tuning is fine. 3/5 - Mix (9% weight, part of technique): Is the volume balanced well between the instruments? Are EQ, compression and effects applied appropriately? Contrary to LaLa, I think the balance of the instruments is perfectly fine. EQ seems fine overall and effects are chosen well and do not overwhelm the sound. Again, the drums could need some more care. Still, a really nice mix! 4/5 - Mastering (3% weight, part of technique): Does it sound well-rounded and professional overall? Are master bus processing and the overall spectral balance ok? Overall spectral balance is ok, I guess a bit more shine could help. Fatness, argh that’s a hard one. The loudness war is over, nevertheless the track might profit from some more fatness. It’s good, but not commercially good, so I give it a 4/5 - Overall: 3.86
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by trapdoor (16/01/2021)

I like the Middle Eastern instruments. Soundtrack gaines ethnicity with nostalgic vibes. Peace & Respect for artist!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by trapdoor (14/01/2021)

i like it. it's really good and simple remix. btw Tomcat is one of my favourite c64 game
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (08/01/2021)

It's like The Last V8 as done by J M Jarre. I really liked it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/01/2021)

While I totally respect that this remix covers the entire ~11 min of the original SID, I find the overall timbre of this remix a bit too harsh for my ears. Whether that's down to the choice of instruments or to the final mix, I do not know, but I think this remix would've benefited from a low-pass filter.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/01/2021)

A fantastic track from Makke's 2005 album 'It's Binary, Baby!' As expected from a professional album, a professional track. Innovative mix of Kraftwerk (from 'Radioactivity') and Richard Joseph's classic SID.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/01/2021)

A rather lifeless arrangement, I'm afraid. The instrument selection is eclectic at best, mixing is almost non-existent, the samples (fighter pilot comm, plane flyby) are passable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (24/12/2020)

No.6 in the AROK/SLAY Summer competition and deservedly so. This is a complex SID to capture in terms of it's tricky arrangement and it's subtle eastern vibes. It manages to do both whilst taking the listener on Slaygon's own unique journey but never quite straying too far from the original. A truly 'different' kind of listen from the norm, here on Remix64. Well mixed & mastered too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/12/2020)

If this doesn't get you up and dancing, nothing will! Really good idea to match the melody with a classic rock'n'roll groove.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/12/2020)

Lovely production with delicate touches all around. The lead guitar sounds a bit too artificial to me, but it's not too distracting from the overall arrangement. I wish this remix was longer - it fades out too early!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/12/2020)

No wonder this won SLAY Radio's Árok Tribute Remix compo in 2020! An absolutely stunning piece done in a "duet" format where the synthy parts are answered by string-heavy sections and vice versa. That melody line is what really catches me out every time - it's full of emotional subtlety, so delicate, yet, so powerful. The instrument selection, the arrangement, the mixing - all as close to perfection as they can get. Top-notch production all around!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (21/12/2020)

I actually prefer this punchy synth version of the two...it's crisp and clean, and feels modern and yet retro, and you can't argue with the sound of the SID chip. Great inclusion, well mixed. Sometimes even an orchestra can't compete with the beautiful sounds the original SID produces!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tomsk (21/12/2020)

Outstanding...full of movie score atmosphere...probably my fav Peter Clarke remix..having never heard the original I still found myself drawn into the arrangement as it changes pace and goes off in many different directions. Some great choices of unusual instruments really give the tune character, my only critique being the abrupt ending.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/12/2020)

First of all: welcome back to RKO! Second: this is a much improved remix over your last one from 10 years ago. This is more guitar-heavy (that's a positive, because you are really good playing them) and the mix is nicely balanced, too. Two issues: a) that piano break at around 2:15 sounds dissonant, and b) It ends way too abruptly. You should've at least let the reverb ring out to completion. All in all, this is a much more enjoyable version of LN2, and I hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (20/12/2020)

I think this is a pretty accurate rendition 1:1 with the extra bits, good drums etc!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Hakk (20/12/2020)

Hard to believe this is taken from an 8 bit tune from 30 years ago. Quality!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (18/12/2020)

Let's get the negative out of the way first. The only thing that lets this remix down is the quality of the instrument samples. The sound immediately put me in mind of an Amiga Mod and it's a shame because there's not a lot else that's wrong here. It's funky and tight from an arrangement point of view and there are some very good ideas which are explored in this arrangement. The samples, although they're not the best, are used really, really well in expressing an otherwise convincing 70's funk tune. I think your arrangement shows growth from some of your previous remixes, Eivind and it makes me want to hear the next remix. I could pick things in the arrangement that could have been done differently but overall this is a solid arrangement which is only let down by instrument quality. I like this remix a lot.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/12/2020)

First of all, kudos for picking a SID tune nobody has remixed before! The basic concept behind this remix is really good, the choice of instruments is fitting, too, but the arrangement is somewhat thin. It's like you were afraid to layer instruments on top of each other. The bass, the trumpets, the vocals, everything sounds great individually. The few times they all sound together is where this remix really shines, but I wish there was more meat on this groove. The vocals sound very nice, too, but again, they are not backed by a worthy accompaniment. For a good example of what should be done listen to Uncle & The Bacon's body of work (on RKO and on their albums) - I'm sure everything he (they?) uses are all virtual instruments, too, but packaged and arranged in a much more convincing fashion.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MatrixRevolution (13/12/2020)

Good boy! The original piece is so ugly that making it look good requires a lot of craftsmanship!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/12/2020)

Ziphoid published this remix in 2008 on the 'Syntax Era' album - I liked it back then, and I still like it now, 12 years later! The intro is a spot-on recreation of "Broken Wings" - after which the appearance of the Comic Bakery melody line feels tacked on. But this remix gets better as it goes on and it gives you that unmistakable slow tempo 80s ballad feel throughout. Especially noteworthy in this tune is the delicate guitar work of Magnus Högdahl, which lends a lot of authenticity to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/12/2020)

As a piece of music it's really good (although I find the lyrics a bit too "generic"). As a piece of remix - I could find a grand total of only 30 seconds of LN3 in this 5 min tune. That LN3 based hook is really good: I like the addition of the syncopated notes, the change in beats 4 & 8 - I was whistling it all day after I heard it. But I wish there was a lot more of LN3 in this tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (02/12/2020)

So, before writing this review, I listened to your remix several times, (and also to the original SID.. and to Chris Abbott's midi file). The first 25 seconds of this arrangement made me smile with joy. It's a great feel with genuine reggae elements and artistically, I can't fault it! As I listened through though, something sounded 'off' in the chords and it took a few listens to nail it. The keyboard 'chop' chords don't follow the chord progression of the other instruments consistently; especially during the original Boulderdash chord run. 1st time through they stick at the root chords then 2nd time they follow and it knocks the quality of the remix out of kilter. This occurs in other places too! If this was a noob's 1st remix, I'd be a little gentler but Marcus, it feels lazy for a veteran; especially someone with your pedigree. The 20 minute vocals sound fine but for the sloppy chop chords failing to consistently follow the chord progression, I've got to rap your knuckles and wonder why.. Nostalgically, this hits the mark enough to be a happy reminder of the original except for the 'mistakes'. I love the reggae feel of this and the mix & master sound great, (to my ears at least). I realise that some will disagree with my opinion but I've tried to be both critical of the shortcomings and complimentary of the highlights in a fair and consistent manner.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/12/2020)

The vocals are just - wow. The idea of making this into a reggae is just - wow. But something feels a bit off with this remix. The harmonic interaction between the organ sounds and the stabby chords sounds weird at times. It's not dissonant, but something is off, can't quite put my finger on it. But overall, that's just a minor complaint, completely overtaken by the sheer creativity of this remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by grin (28/11/2020)

That's how I imagined I guess... If I close my eyes I hear something like that, maybe a tad bit less percussion. :-) Enjoyed nonetheless.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

If this was really all done with just a PSS-480, then my hats off to you, sir! The sound is, well, it's a Yamaha Portasound, so not much to expect there, but the arrangement works around the limitations very nicely. I think a fatter drum track could've really helped elevate this, but I understand if you wanted to stick with a pure PSS-480-based composition.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

Oh, man, so organic, so finely made! Funky style, has a sort of late 70s, early 80s feel to it. Darn close to a red smilie, really enjoyable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

Promising intro (that deep bass cuts through the mix really well), the lead sound is fairly evocative, but then the arrangement just lingers on and doesn't really go anywhere. I think this has the potential to grow on me as I listen to it more, but I wish there was more to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (24/11/2020)

Impressive and sophisticated, like everything Linus does. It's a feat, how NES chiptune sounds can capture the 70s prog rock vibes so nicely. Spiced with nonstandard rhythms and unexpected chords. For everyone not familiar with Linus' SID works, I recommend checking them out in HVSC.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 70 71 72