Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1976
[LOGIN]

Review by nous (13/12/2019)

I still remember the day I first heard this tune. I let it play over and over and over, and I regretted I had just a mono-1084 instead of a 1081 or 1084-S.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Comajim (10/12/2019)

Great remix, looove it! Great punchy big sound! Hope to hear more from you! Great remix, looove it! Great punchy big sound! Hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee71 (09/12/2019)

The beginning of this track is perfect when I start my journey to work. Then when the rest kicks in it just makes me walk faster! I love it!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee69 (09/12/2019)

They are the best! They are sooo talented! Clever Stuff! Nothing more for me to say!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kjetiln (04/12/2019)

Excellent arrangement! Love it! Execution wise it could be a little better, as it sounds a little dry. We can also hear it is not played by a real orchestra, although it is obvious that it is pretending to be. Plus for great arrangement, and minus for not sounding as great as it could be. I can only hope and believe that the arranger will improve and I can't wait to hear what will come from him in the future!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kjetiln (01/12/2019)

Really good attempt at doing an authentic remix, which when coming to the Settlers soundtrack, is a really ambitious task! Overall this doesn't come out as a huge improvement compared to the original. Some instruments sounds too simple and sharp, and it could just as well have been the game's soundtrack, which is not bad, but a remix should add something. Some parts are very nice and improve upon the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by PhotonMan (30/11/2019)

Excellent, incredible. The nostalgic sentment rises. Galway is a Grand Master. This song remember my child period watching Rambo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by The Crusher (25/11/2019)

Decent job! I always liked the original, but this remix is a powerful and well arranged homage to its original. Both thumbs way up!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pszgabor (24/11/2019)

I don't agree with the most reviews on this tune, it is well underrated. Not the best I've ever heard, but it is well deservedly placed in the best 10%, at least on my list.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/11/2019)

First of all: welcome! It's always good to hear material here from new folks! Having said that, this remix needs more love. The drums have a weird phaser/eq effect on them that makes them sound like they're in a metal shed. The arrangement overall has a good direction, and the instrumentation is quite unique. But somehow none of these seem to gel together into an good quality piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/11/2019)

First off: I'm in awe of your Theremin skills! From what I know, it's a very hard instrument to master as there are zero reference points for the chromatic scale on it - because it's all in the air, literally. So, I bow my head to you for the Theremin parts of this remix.

But the rest of the remix sounds rushed and unimaginative - it's essentially the original SID tune sampled and looped. If you replaced that with just a simple chord progression and nothing else, I think that would've accentuated the Theremin track, too.

TL;DR: Theremin = awesome. Looped SID sample as a bed = meh.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Jaxxon64 (13/11/2019)

Great cover, great 'thin picked' Bass, love the blues honky-tonk piano, respectful to the original. Great job!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/11/2019)

Wow, the number of times I must've heard this tune in demos and crakctros!... I can't believe it hasn't been remixed before. You're right, Wobbler: I think there's more potential in this tune. Your remix is pretty good by itself, though, and cheers for keeping the whistle intact towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (08/11/2019)

I don't usually like the electric guitar versions of classic computer tunes, but this one was excellent. Great playing and a joy to here the old tune given some love.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/11/2019)

Unfortunately, I can only go as high as a red smilie with my vote, otherwise I would go higher. "Flaming hot red smilie", anyone?...

Let's see: serene intro complete with gentle piano? Check. Skull-shattering electric guitar? Check. SID arpeggios? Check. Ace 2, one of Hubbard's best tunes? Check. Tune from LN2, one of Matt Gray's best ones? Check. Impeccable arrangement and mix? Check. Me voting red on this remix? Check, check, CHECK!

Well-deserved winner of the first ever BIT Live remix compo!

PS: If you vote anything less than red smilie on this one, please, explain yourself in a shout...

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

I normally don't comment on remixes where I'm not familiar with the original SID, but I just had to make an exception for this one. Whenever I listen to this remix (and I've done that several times already), I have an overwhelming sense of nostalgia: I can't help but think of this as an Amiga MOD - times a thousand!

This arrangement oozes "chiptune style", even though it's not really a chiptune. But it FEELS like one! A fantastic scene production!

If you are not familiar with it, I also urge you to go and listen to the Dane's original SID, because that's pretty good, too.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

When I heard the intro of this song at BIT live, I was like "Oh, no, not ANOTHER Lightforce remix!" (There are almost 50 of them in RKO as of this writing, not to mention the various album versions.)

But you know what: this is really great arrangement! It has just enough edginess to it to make it unique (even though it's not fully "Slaygonized"). It's also more uptempo than the original, so there's a sense of urgency to it, driven by a simple, but effective rhythm section. And that long outro is just something else: the way it decomposes the song to oblivion is superb.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

The instrumentation sounds really good, but somehow this arrangement feels too soft for the original material. I like the venue-appropriate (BIT Live) vocal shouts, too. This shows a lot of promise, so I hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

Lightforce Mordified! Lea's delicate voice is what really does it for me in this one. A lovely arrangement that captured my attention on the first listen at BIT Live.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by joenemesys (30/10/2019)

Really really original and well built; very interesting the differentiation between various whistles and the climax towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gohanks (29/10/2019)

Heard it at BIT Live Bergen 2019, one of the best Lightforce remixes ever, very unexpected entry from Slaygon, but in the very best way possible :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Odkin (28/10/2019)

Great 80ies feeling! - perfect style for this track. I miss the subdivisions of the chords a little but the tracks works great anyway :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neriakX (26/10/2019)

Nice Story here in one track. It sure is a a top notch production! As many others already said .. it's kind of a journey the listeneres are going through. Keep it up mate!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by SoedeSoft (26/10/2019)

All instruments are SID! The tune was made using reason studios, adding only reverb / echo effects.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (21/10/2019)

Firstly, welcome aboard and congrats on your 1st remix.. The thing that hit me straight away, on the 1st listen was the lack of a bass-line. This is a fairly straightforward tune with a common, '4 chord trick'. (C-Am-F-G) is a structure, responsible for more hit songs, in the 60's than probably any other. As such, it's one our ears are familiar with and accustomed to and it needs variation to make it sound 'fresh'. Although Rob's original bass-line sticks rigidly to the 'root' notes, to bed down the structure, a bass-line could have been a neat way to vary the feel of this.. Using 3 similar sounds for 'chord', 'arpeggio' & melody blends the mix a bit too much and buries the piano, melody line in places. The drums DO vary in places and the fills are nice but the kit, overall sounds a bit dry, (emphasised by the lack of bass-line).. The sequencing structure with identical, short note lengths, make for a mechanical feel to the tune. Good 1st effort and please don't be put off by the lukewarm responses to it.. I hope it encourages you to immediately start on your next remix and I look forward to hearing it..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/10/2019)

The good: you got all the notes correct and the instrumentation is pretty decent. The bad: everything sounds flat, there are no emotions involved whatsoever, I don't hear many effects, either, which would make it sound a bit more interesting. Getting the melody, the accompaniment, and the drums down should be only step 1 in your remix, and it seems you decided to stop at that point and release it. You should've spent additional time adding more details (e.g. variations) to your remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by das.Mordschaf (14/10/2019)

nice one. i dont know what to write. they forced me to comment a song.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

Sounds great but there's a few places where it just doesn't quite capture the original tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

I like this, but the guitar work isn't as good as your other track, you miss a few parts and skip some notes but still sounds fine, nice and meaty. Again that synth doesn't work well that well. 1:21 - 3:00 is the best part. I'd really like to hear a more aggressive version of this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

That guitar work was incredible! The drums were great too, would've preferred a bit more emphasis on the synth in places and the synth sounds, a little less than ideal for this track but overall it's pretty great.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 64 65 66