Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1927
[LOGIN]

Review by Flidd (13/08/2019)

Awesome cover. Raw with a live feeling to it. Little mistakes here and there but it doesn't matter.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Flidd (13/08/2019)

Pleasant enough, but has some minor tuning and timing issues. And the overdriven guitar was unnecessary.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hobs0n (13/08/2019)

I'm in heaven. I love reggae and I love chip (especially Sid) tunes and to hear this tune just makes me cry in happiness!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FunkyM (07/08/2019)

Having tried to create an Homage to Mr Siebold's SID Score to this Sensational sequel, I can appreciate this Metal-ised Medley all the more, for featuring the Bulk of the Tunes, up to and including the Title Screen, and Level 3-1. But yeah, Turrican- ah, excuse me, 2rrican ROCKS!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by aGGreSSor (29/07/2019)

I bought an Amiga to listen GuitarSlinger and play in SuperFrog. It was a long time ago...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by aGGreSSor (29/07/2019)

It's sound great. The composer hasn't lost a single note from the original melody. Lowest bows.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by JonSolo42 (27/07/2019)

Agreed, it's a great arrangement, and I don't even love DubSt. But as my son says, "the old west piano" sections are amazing and really make this one stand out. Love those transitions.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

Mates, say that that echoing sliding far sound makes all this composition over the top? :)... It just fires all sensors for me :P
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

Relaxed ending, and very memorable and reminiscent beginning of that real Slinger module I lived with for a long time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

That how really my childhood should sound! It's nice, melodic, well-arranged, balanced, complete and ... wow!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by V1nkly (24/07/2019)

This remix is good it has some kind of nostalgia. make more of this type music please.Its good
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/07/2019)

Honestly, I was not familiar with this JB tune before. This is not bad for thrash metal. I'm also curious what's Mordi's involvement in this track. I am guessing he is the lead singer?... ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by omoroca (22/07/2019)

I know, you're supposed to be objective in a review. But as a fan of Hubbard *and* Tel, I can't help but to get goosebumps all over and listen to this cool stuff over and over and over all day long
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/07/2019)

Most excellent!!!

First of all, what great timing on this release: on the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon landing!

Second, this is one really cool retro space disco infused, yet very modern sounding production! The sound bites, the vocoded vocal, the over-the-top drums, the arrangement, the mixing - everything is just top-notch all around. I really, really enjoy it!

Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/07/2019)

An objectively authentic idea: performing this classic Last Ninja tune on nothing but traditional Japanese instruments! I'm shocked nobody thought of this before...

Although I highly suspect this is all sequenced stuff with plugins (vs. an actual live ensemble), the arrangement and the instrumentation is still very convincing. Really nicely done!

I'm looking forward to more performances in the same style!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/06/2019)

I said it before and I'll say it again: I'm a sucker for piano covers, so any piano piece will automatically get upvoted by me. :-) But I think this piece could've used more variation in dynamics, it's sort of flat throughout. Especially if this is a live recording, not a sequenced piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/06/2019)

There are many things I like about this remix. Its graceful intro (With a cowbell! You can't go wrong with a cowbell! ;-) ), the oriental sounding instruments, the wonderful arrangement, the balanced mix, etc. But here's why I'm a bit harsh with my vote: the melody line is rather flat. The lead instrument is very, very nice, but I miss all the slides and trills that make the melody line more interesting, more emotional. Reyn captured (and enhanced) that beautifully in his remix on "Galway Remixed", and since then I can't even hear the original SID without those in my head. Compared to that, the melody line here sounds flat and a bit lifeless. But other than that, this is an outstanding production, showing great craftsmanship.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (12/06/2019)

Simple and effective. Good mastering too, I enjoyed the panning and separation. SID piano cover can be a bit of a cliché, but this impressed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chilli-Uk1969 (12/06/2019)

Stunning in So many ways lots of little tricks and a very very good interpretation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by krommenaas (06/06/2019)

Great choice of instruments as always. The wobbly theme that is the climax of the original starts before the halfway point here, then this version works towards an ever more frantic and noisy rendition of the brooding main theme, a bit Front 242-esque, followed by a pensive coda. Love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (29/05/2019)

The core theme is somewhat lifeless and repetitive. And it doesn't really scare me, sorry. Despite all the added sound FX.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by stechmann (15/05/2019)

great version of a great tune. keep up the good work, hope to see more in the quality
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

A valiant attempt at an orchestral arrangement, but the instruments all sound flat and boring. There's a total lack of dynamics throughout the tune, too. Not bad for a start, but this could've benefited from more time in the oven.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

This! :) This is how I always should've imagined this tune: as oom-pah music! Perfect marriage of source material and remix style! But I think the piece could've used some more careful mixing: it all sounds too loud, too harsh. Probably because it has too many high frequencies in it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

The purist in me is protesting: "but this is not a 1:1 cover of the original!" True, but it's still bloody amazing! The rock-style arrangement is spot-on, the instrumentation was obviously carefully chosen, the guitars are played craftily, and the result is a powerful piece of music that also happens to be a mind-blowing SID remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Amon73 (01/05/2019)

Uno dei migliori remix che ho ascoltato in questo periodo ! Bellissimo :) Sono sicuro che piacerà molto a chi come me, ha vissuto quell'epoca indimenticabile !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/05/2019)

First off, tons of respect for remixing the entire 7+ minute tune! The arrangement is a bit uncomplicated, but it varies enough not to become boring. It also nicely retains the atmosphere of the original material. The opening chords feel a little "off" for me (especially the last bar of the sequence), but once the drums came in, I was sold. I also like how you turned all the arpeggios into chords, kudos for that. Overall, there are lots of nice touches throughout the tune (like the whistles, or the sharp lead playing the melody line) which keep it interesting throughout.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (05/04/2019)

This has everything going for it. Beautiful beat, beautiful synth, effects fit in perfectly.. One of my all time favourites. No Emotion or energy? It's infectious! How can you not want to get your groove on listening to this?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (03/04/2019)

Taking inspiration from the second quarter segment of the original SID and building up it, it crafts a powerful remix that which doesn't encompass all the original tune has to offer does a remarkable job with what it has. The most memorable part of the SID was taken, wonderfully re-created and given a nice long dark synth build up. Well done. I feel that if the lead up was shorter people would've rated this higher, but I love it. You should do a slight variation of it that includes the other parts of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/04/2019)

A powerful version, full of energy. In the first couple of minutes I find the brass sections a bit lacking in oomph, but then they make up for it later. The drums and the drones are especially well crafted.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 63 64 65