Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1916
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (23/07/2019)

Honestly, I was not familiar with this JB tune before. This is not bad for thrash metal. I'm also curious what's Mordi's involvement in this track. I am guessing he is the lead singer?... ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by omoroca (22/07/2019)

I know, you're supposed to be objective in a review. But as a fan of Hubbard *and* Tel, I can't help but to get goosebumps all over and listen to this cool stuff over and over and over all day long
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/07/2019)

Most excellent!!!

First of all, what great timing on this release: on the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon landing!

Second, this is one really cool retro space disco infused, yet very modern sounding production! The sound bites, the vocoded vocal, the over-the-top drums, the arrangement, the mixing - everything is just top-notch all around. I really, really enjoy it!

Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/07/2019)

An objectively authentic idea: performing this classic Last Ninja tune on nothing but traditional Japanese instruments! I'm shocked nobody thought of this before...

Although I highly suspect this is all sequenced stuff with plugins (vs. an actual live ensemble), the arrangement and the instrumentation is still very convincing. Really nicely done!

I'm looking forward to more performances in the same style!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/06/2019)

I said it before and I'll say it again: I'm a sucker for piano covers, so any piano piece will automatically get upvoted by me. :-) But I think this piece could've used more variation in dynamics, it's sort of flat throughout. Especially if this is a live recording, not a sequenced piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/06/2019)

There are many things I like about this remix. Its graceful intro (With a cowbell! You can't go wrong with a cowbell! ;-) ), the oriental sounding instruments, the wonderful arrangement, the balanced mix, etc. But here's why I'm a bit harsh with my vote: the melody line is rather flat. The lead instrument is very, very nice, but I miss all the slides and trills that make the melody line more interesting, more emotional. Reyn captured (and enhanced) that beautifully in his remix on "Galway Remixed", and since then I can't even hear the original SID without those in my head. Compared to that, the melody line here sounds flat and a bit lifeless. But other than that, this is an outstanding production, showing great craftsmanship.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (12/06/2019)

Simple and effective. Good mastering too, I enjoyed the panning and separation. SID piano cover can be a bit of a cliché, but this impressed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chilli-Uk1969 (12/06/2019)

Stunning in So many ways lots of little tricks and a very very good interpretation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by krommenaas (06/06/2019)

Great choice of instruments as always. The wobbly theme that is the climax of the original starts before the halfway point here, then this version works towards an ever more frantic and noisy rendition of the brooding main theme, a bit Front 242-esque, followed by a pensive coda. Love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (29/05/2019)

The core theme is somewhat lifeless and repetitive. And it doesn't really scare me, sorry. Despite all the added sound FX.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by stechmann (15/05/2019)

great version of a great tune. keep up the good work, hope to see more in the quality
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

A valiant attempt at an orchestral arrangement, but the instruments all sound flat and boring. There's a total lack of dynamics throughout the tune, too. Not bad for a start, but this could've benefited from more time in the oven.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

This! :) This is how I always should've imagined this tune: as oom-pah music! Perfect marriage of source material and remix style! But I think the piece could've used some more careful mixing: it all sounds too loud, too harsh. Probably because it has too many high frequencies in it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

The purist in me is protesting: "but this is not a 1:1 cover of the original!" True, but it's still bloody amazing! The rock-style arrangement is spot-on, the instrumentation was obviously carefully chosen, the guitars are played craftily, and the result is a powerful piece of music that also happens to be a mind-blowing SID remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Amon73 (01/05/2019)

Uno dei migliori remix che ho ascoltato in questo periodo ! Bellissimo :) Sono sicuro che piacerà molto a chi come me, ha vissuto quell'epoca indimenticabile !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/05/2019)

First off, tons of respect for remixing the entire 7+ minute tune! The arrangement is a bit uncomplicated, but it varies enough not to become boring. It also nicely retains the atmosphere of the original material. The opening chords feel a little "off" for me (especially the last bar of the sequence), but once the drums came in, I was sold. I also like how you turned all the arpeggios into chords, kudos for that. Overall, there are lots of nice touches throughout the tune (like the whistles, or the sharp lead playing the melody line) which keep it interesting throughout.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (05/04/2019)

This has everything going for it. Beautiful beat, beautiful synth, effects fit in perfectly.. One of my all time favourites. No Emotion or energy? It's infectious! How can you not want to get your groove on listening to this?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (03/04/2019)

Taking inspiration from the second quarter segment of the original SID and building up it, it crafts a powerful remix that which doesn't encompass all the original tune has to offer does a remarkable job with what it has. The most memorable part of the SID was taken, wonderfully re-created and given a nice long dark synth build up. Well done. I feel that if the lead up was shorter people would've rated this higher, but I love it. You should do a slight variation of it that includes the other parts of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/04/2019)

A powerful version, full of energy. In the first couple of minutes I find the brass sections a bit lacking in oomph, but then they make up for it later. The drums and the drones are especially well crafted.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

2000 really was your year wasn't it? Would be really cool to hear you make these again now. Very enjoyable to listen to and of course super nostalgic..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

If this was done by anyone else I don't think it would work quite as well as it does. Rating it badly because you don't like club style mixes is bad form, one of the best remixes from 2000.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

Capturing the feel of the original and even one upping it in a way only a handful of other remixers are capable of. Incredible job.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by HighCSharps (24/03/2019)

The best arrangement of X-out, Albedo, Plastic Pop and many more. Mastering on a very high level. Semi-live and live performance.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

La guitare est géniale, un peu trop présente mais quel plaisir ce remix. Beuacoup de nostalgie à ré-écouter ce morceau. La partie à partir de 3mn est très réussie avec les petits "screams" très inspirée. Bravo gibs
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Quel plaisir de réentendre ce morceau remixé avec goût. La ligne de basse est impeccable, les sons très bien choisis, les breaks originaux, un remix de grande qualité pour un morceau injustement connu.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

gibs nous livre un remix inspiré ou le son de guitare n'est pas fatiguant (contrairement à beaucoup de remixs, gibs compris). Une belle qui vous transporte dans les échos du passé. Bravo et merci gibs.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Ce remix est tout simplement un de mes préférés. J'ai encore du mal avec le son de guitare mais franchement gibs, tu régales mes oreilles. MERCI
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Un morceau un peu chaud à reprendre. la batterie est assez répétitive les sons de synthé choisis avec soin, pas mon remix préféré mais sympa tout de même.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Un choix de sons audacieux pour un remix réussi dans l'ensemble. La guitare est un peu agressive en deuxième partie mais tu nous fais passer un chouette moment gibs, merci.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Génial, ça envoie du lourd, la batterie sonne boîte à rythme mais j'avoue que ça m'a donné envie de rejouer au jeu. Merci gibs.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 62 63 64