Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1933
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (20/08/2019)

Epic! Great use of the oriental sonic palette throughout, tastefully mixed with the synthy instruments. And big plus points for including subtune #2 in this remix which is my most favorite Tai-Pan track of all. What a trip! I can't get enough of it! :-) Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/08/2019)

What I like in this one is that it's trying to preserve the brutish, harsh sonic world of the original. I think it mostly succeeds, with the exception of the plinky leads, which sound out of place here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/08/2019)

This is really, umm, weird, it's strange, it's totally out there - and that's what I like about it. It's like OJ Oscillation took the original SID, created a remix out of it, then he said "aw, f--k it!", and then twisted and mangled the hell out of that remix - arriving at what you can listen to here. Very unusual, but quite enjoyable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/08/2019)

I find it impossible not to move my feet when listening to this great collaboration! Technically perfect, I really enjoy it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (19/08/2019)

A little Jean-Michel-Jarre / Vangelis influence here methinks. Overall, a nice feel to this track with a good faithfulness to the chord-structure of the original. Towards the end, (around 3:50-4:05), the timing gets a touch loose between the choir-voices and the arpeg-bells. For me, the drums could have been a little more up-front to peg the timing down against the choir-voices which are strong in the mix. It's a pleasant listen overall - Nice One LaLa!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (19/08/2019)

Wow! The master of reviews does a remix.. The concept is original, (sheep & campfire) and suits the acoustic guitar which is well executed and sets the mood. How fortunate you are, Imre, to have a choir on hand by your campfire, ha ha! Putting vocals in, makes this an unusual remix for this website but fair-play to you, for doing it. The remixes & covers that we upload here should push the boundaries. The melody and chord-structure of the original are kept faithfully with a couple of nice, tasty guitar variations. I almost believed you had a perfectly pitched singing voice, (just a couple of glitches in the pitch correction). My only crit - The lead-vocal is slightly ahead of the rest towards the end... Do you know what? Overall, this is different and out of the ordinary... and I think it deserves a decent score, just for that! (have you been listening to my remixes with lots of sounds behind the music? LOL).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Flidd (13/08/2019)

Awesome cover. Raw with a live feeling to it. Little mistakes here and there but it doesn't matter.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Flidd (13/08/2019)

Pleasant enough, but has some minor tuning and timing issues. And the overdriven guitar was unnecessary.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hobs0n (13/08/2019)

I'm in heaven. I love reggae and I love chip (especially Sid) tunes and to hear this tune just makes me cry in happiness!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FunkyM (07/08/2019)

Having tried to create an Homage to Mr Siebold's SID Score to this Sensational sequel, I can appreciate this Metal-ised Medley all the more, for featuring the Bulk of the Tunes, up to and including the Title Screen, and Level 3-1. But yeah, Turrican- ah, excuse me, 2rrican ROCKS!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by aGGreSSor (29/07/2019)

I bought an Amiga to listen GuitarSlinger and play in SuperFrog. It was a long time ago...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by aGGreSSor (29/07/2019)

It's sound great. The composer hasn't lost a single note from the original melody. Lowest bows.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by JonSolo42 (27/07/2019)

Agreed, it's a great arrangement, and I don't even love DubSt. But as my son says, "the old west piano" sections are amazing and really make this one stand out. Love those transitions.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

Mates, say that that echoing sliding far sound makes all this composition over the top? :)... It just fires all sensors for me :P
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

Relaxed ending, and very memorable and reminiscent beginning of that real Slinger module I lived with for a long time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

That how really my childhood should sound! It's nice, melodic, well-arranged, balanced, complete and ... wow!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by V1nkly (24/07/2019)

This remix is good it has some kind of nostalgia. make more of this type music please.Its good
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/07/2019)

Honestly, I was not familiar with this JB tune before. This is not bad for thrash metal. I'm also curious what's Mordi's involvement in this track. I am guessing he is the lead singer?... ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by omoroca (22/07/2019)

I know, you're supposed to be objective in a review. But as a fan of Hubbard *and* Tel, I can't help but to get goosebumps all over and listen to this cool stuff over and over and over all day long
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/07/2019)

Most excellent!!!

First of all, what great timing on this release: on the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon landing!

Second, this is one really cool retro space disco infused, yet very modern sounding production! The sound bites, the vocoded vocal, the over-the-top drums, the arrangement, the mixing - everything is just top-notch all around. I really, really enjoy it!

Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/07/2019)

An objectively authentic idea: performing this classic Last Ninja tune on nothing but traditional Japanese instruments! I'm shocked nobody thought of this before...

Although I highly suspect this is all sequenced stuff with plugins (vs. an actual live ensemble), the arrangement and the instrumentation is still very convincing. Really nicely done!

I'm looking forward to more performances in the same style!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/06/2019)

I said it before and I'll say it again: I'm a sucker for piano covers, so any piano piece will automatically get upvoted by me. :-) But I think this piece could've used more variation in dynamics, it's sort of flat throughout. Especially if this is a live recording, not a sequenced piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/06/2019)

There are many things I like about this remix. Its graceful intro (With a cowbell! You can't go wrong with a cowbell! ;-) ), the oriental sounding instruments, the wonderful arrangement, the balanced mix, etc. But here's why I'm a bit harsh with my vote: the melody line is rather flat. The lead instrument is very, very nice, but I miss all the slides and trills that make the melody line more interesting, more emotional. Reyn captured (and enhanced) that beautifully in his remix on "Galway Remixed", and since then I can't even hear the original SID without those in my head. Compared to that, the melody line here sounds flat and a bit lifeless. But other than that, this is an outstanding production, showing great craftsmanship.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (12/06/2019)

Simple and effective. Good mastering too, I enjoyed the panning and separation. SID piano cover can be a bit of a cliché, but this impressed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chilli-Uk1969 (12/06/2019)

Stunning in So many ways lots of little tricks and a very very good interpretation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by krommenaas (06/06/2019)

Great choice of instruments as always. The wobbly theme that is the climax of the original starts before the halfway point here, then this version works towards an ever more frantic and noisy rendition of the brooding main theme, a bit Front 242-esque, followed by a pensive coda. Love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (29/05/2019)

The core theme is somewhat lifeless and repetitive. And it doesn't really scare me, sorry. Despite all the added sound FX.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by stechmann (15/05/2019)

great version of a great tune. keep up the good work, hope to see more in the quality
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

A valiant attempt at an orchestral arrangement, but the instruments all sound flat and boring. There's a total lack of dynamics throughout the tune, too. Not bad for a start, but this could've benefited from more time in the oven.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

This! :) This is how I always should've imagined this tune: as oom-pah music! Perfect marriage of source material and remix style! But I think the piece could've used some more careful mixing: it all sounds too loud, too harsh. Probably because it has too many high frequencies in it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 63 64 65