Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1865
[LOGIN]

Review by onlineamiga (17/01/2019)

Music is always subjective as we all like different stuff. But listening to this was like a rollercoaster of "oooh!! i like" and "ooooh maybe not". I love the electro backing music, and the drops etc. Sounds great. But maybe using a harder synth sound instead of the original flute sound for the main tune might have given it more power. I also think the tempo is a little too fast for this tune. But hey these are just how I hear it. No reflection on ability and I absolutely love the fact that people like yourself are making awesome remixes of great Amiga tracks :) Please keep making more stuff! I wanna hear more!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/01/2019)

What a wonderful journey you've taken us on with this epic piece! This sounds bona fide professional. I can't even imagine the time and effort it must've taken you to create this Times Of Lore mashup! What can I say - THANK YOU!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/01/2019)

I didn't think your superb symphonic remix from 16+ years ago could be made any better. I was wrong, so wrong! The flute sounds just wonderful (makes me wonder if it was written with Ben in mind...), the choir sounds even more emotional, and the dynamic flow of the arrangement makes it sound very cinematic. I really like the parts where the melody line quickly switches between the various sections of the orchestra. Even though it sounds similar to your previous Firelord arrangement, it's clearly very different - and even better. I'm sure somewhere up above Ben is listening to this, too, with a big smile on his face...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pad (02/01/2019)

That start gives me goosebumps indeed! The rest is also fab! Perfect backdrop for coding. :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/12/2018)

Very soundtracky, a perfect homage to Rob's classic. It doesn't fall into the trap of some other remixes that are also technically excellent, but tend to get boring as the tune goes on. Instead, Markus managed to inject several careful changes into the arrangement and instrumentation that keep the momentum going while also keeping with his chosen style for the remix. Your "love affair" with Lightforce, Markus, really shines through! Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/12/2018)

A valiant mega-effort which is brought down by a few serious issues. The arrangement is varied enough to keep my interest up throughout the remix, but some odd dissonant sections, questionable choice of instrumentation, and sorely lacking post-processing make it sound worse than it really should.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (19/12/2018)

Should have been called the needed 20 years ago mix... Very very Ferry Corsten and Veracocha-esq. Too old and sober now to really enjoy this
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

Funky 80's vibe - check. Wavy Synth - Check. Snare Powa! - Check. Well composed and classic Gerd Bahl throw-ins! Feels quite Demo-scene-ish too, quality!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

The Effort counts. Very limited instrument range and some bad notes at that, the drums are safe and unoriginal as is the composition. A good effort for a first submission but I'd review it with fresh ears of your own and soon you will discover the lack of overall quality.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

Duration: Could be longer Instruments: Soft and well balanced Technique: Room for more Originality: Great changes to the original
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by sparcie (17/12/2018)

love this song, when life gives me crap i'm being comforted with my hobby <3. also just a awesome song
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Silize (06/12/2018)

Jochen es de esos que siempre te transmiten algo especial y mítico en sus creaciones. Es pausado y progresivo, melódico y potente. No se puede pedir más bajo mi punto de vista particular.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nihilanth (05/12/2018)

It differentiates from the original piece of music. But it still has a great melody, and I first heard this song in a Half-Life 20th anniversary tribute. It feels nostalgic listening to this song, and I was hoping I could use it in a GoldSrc-based video game I was making. Keep the tracks coming!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pest Global Group DOO (02/12/2018)

Jeroen Tel did a nice theme long time ago.Thomasz have been made an astonishing remix of the year.Great talent.Keep a good work in future.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by CaptainSoftware (30/11/2018)

Great music and Always good its from Rob Hubbard, this is swinging right the "pan" out. Great job
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by prowler (24/11/2018)

Very good work for a first time remixer! Remix style is very time-accurate with the 90's wibe, and yet with great quality and mixing. Love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (26/10/2018)

Loved it the first time I heard it at Árok Party 2018! Then I was thrilled that we were able to include it in the Johannes Bjerregaard charity album. And I am very delighted it is now available on RKO, too. It's an amazing remix of a much underrated JB tune. It has, of course, received proper NecroPolo treatment with overdriven and distorted sounds, containing so much SID-caffeine that it pumps me up every time I listen to it. ROC=K ON, C=ommodore!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Kikstart (13/10/2018)

Having listened to Last Ninja and played the game hundreds of times, this loader for me was a nice surprise. you should be commended for such a fabulous remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/10/2018)

I encouraged Vaggelis in a YT comment to upload his remix here, too - and I'm glad he did! What I really like in this remix is that he actually plays every single note of the original on his guitar: the devilishly fast runs, the slides, the arpeggiated non-melodic effects - I'm in awe of his technique!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (12/10/2018)

The sounds and mix for this is really, really good. I just hope there would be a version without the silly quotes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (11/10/2018)

It's cool to hear this tune, and the execution is very interesting. Unfortunately, for me personally it falls apart in the middle when you get the Theremin like lead.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (11/10/2018)

Usually people go full out with the medieval symphonies, but this is a nice mix between chip and medieval themes. It's very faithful and has a good sound mix. The orchestrated sounds could be better and deeper, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (09/10/2018)

A remix that keeps the original song, making up to date and add a dance vibe to it. The reworked bits blends right in as if they were part of the original. A professional remix and an instant classic of a rarely remixed tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sada (09/10/2018)

It's a good remix of a very simple melody and music which was awesome because of the bass line, the digitized speech and motor noise synchronized with the graphics of the game intro. I like how you maintain the last note of the main theme. Good job !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sebstar (28/09/2018)

Acapellla style the beginning is really nice, i like the voice! nicely done! Don't quite get the negative reviews and ratings!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sebstar (27/09/2018)

I like the beat it really pushes me forward! Logged in just to vote it up! Superb music dude!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MeduZa (23/09/2018)

It keeps the original feeling but with a lot more environment! The sound bring memories back from the old days
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mikey (27/08/2018)

Love this tune, and this is not a bad version. The base line is a little too overpowered/dominant for my tastes, but it's a good boppy little version.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (31/07/2018)

The best wind of Last Ninja 3 so far, its a challenging tune. I can see that some of the instruments were a challenge. It resembles the original really well and I guess more work on this seeing as its now 13 years old would be great to hear from this composer.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

I've never been a fan of remixes or remasters where you can clearly hear the original tune playing in the background as a "sound carpet" and then adding modern sounds on top of it. Whether this track does that or not is actually hard to say, but for the first 30 seconds or so it absolutely sounds like the original track just overlayed with some synths and then the guitar coming in. The guitar playing itself is accurate and follows the melody competently, but it lacks something engaging. It's clear that it's trying occasionally to make something outside of a middling recording, and those moments are absolutely great! It just feels like there could be more to really carry this beyond "ok" into great. Adding in the back synths at about 2 minutes helps in lifting it and here the guitars portamento becomes more clear and helps lift the track, but again the mixing makes it muddy and takes the edge of the sounds, further pushing it towards flat and bland. I think it's a great attempt and I still do enjoy it, but it could be so much better and lively. This is just my personal opinion however. Don't be discouraged! And don't pass up listening just because some old grump has some complaints. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 61 62 63