Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2102
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

If this was really all done with just a PSS-480, then my hats off to you, sir! The sound is, well, it's a Yamaha Portasound, so not much to expect there, but the arrangement works around the limitations very nicely. I think a fatter drum track could've really helped elevate this, but I understand if you wanted to stick with a pure PSS-480-based composition.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

Oh, man, so organic, so finely made! Funky style, has a sort of late 70s, early 80s feel to it. Darn close to a red smilie, really enjoyable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

Promising intro (that deep bass cuts through the mix really well), the lead sound is fairly evocative, but then the arrangement just lingers on and doesn't really go anywhere. I think this has the potential to grow on me as I listen to it more, but I wish there was more to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (24/11/2020)

Impressive and sophisticated, like everything Linus does. It's a feat, how NES chiptune sounds can capture the 70s prog rock vibes so nicely. Spiced with nonstandard rhythms and unexpected chords. For everyone not familiar with Linus' SID works, I recommend checking them out in HVSC.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by arquillos (24/11/2020)

Very nice tune! So great to hear. It has an incredibly beginning that gets me playing it again and again!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Radiarion (21/11/2020)

Smooth, punchy, melodic, and simply love the synths. Cant wait to hear what you deliver next :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Radiarion (21/11/2020)

I absolutely love this track, it has an amazing flow and base line that just captivates, and holds you until the very end. As an old school Amiga guy myself, I remember most if not all of the tracks on this site, and this has to be one of my favorites of all time. Id love to hear you remake Quick n Silva main title if you fancy a challenge ? Keep the beats flowing :) ps: What sound bank/vst did you use, Id love to get hold of those samples :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wildsocrates (18/11/2020)

I like all of it, but the Stormlord section makes it amazing, and exceeds every other Stormlord remix I've heard. I put it in Audacity to repeat that section (4:20) since it only gets one iteration on the release. I think all of these exceed the original SID tunes, and I'm not just saying that because I'm biased in favor of remixes (as the SID for Tetris is the best and no remix comes close).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by haze (12/11/2020)

This is one of my favorite remixes of all time. Drum track is one hell of a war drums preparing for droids^W Zoids attack.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (10/11/2020)

Amazing cover! love the 80s feel! great arrangement and selection of instrument. great energy!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2020)

Instantly recognizable Pet Shop Boys "West End Girls" instrumentation, phenomenal job! If somehow you had managed to add the vocals, too, it would've knocked me out cold. :) As it is, the lead instruments are a bit weak compared to the rest, but A+ for effort!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by danko (30/10/2020)

People talk about channels and melody, they forget the utmost part of a remix. Soundmix. Aesthetics. This one just won a 15 year old part.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poppykuk (27/10/2020)

It's a good remix overall and I quite like it. I've listened to most of dr futures remixes and I have to say that this one doesn't really improve on many of his earlier ones. It is faithful to the original and worth an orange for that category but the rest is yellow for me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Joe Mc Lutz (22/10/2020)

Generally I love almost every Paperboy's remix... And this one too. Nice work! :D (I hope for more Paperboy remixes)!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/10/2020)

I did not know about this SID tune before. Now I wish I did. This is a rather emotional cover of it that I find myself coming back to over and over again. So poignant and so elegant. Some Vangelis motifs here and there, which I always appreciate. And again, it's deeply touching - thank you, Marcel and Yogi, for sharing it with us! And thank you, Joachim, for your original composition!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (11/10/2020)

I am also someone who pumped coins into this game and had the arcade and C64 version of this tune imprinted on my brain. This is a truly great remix that captures the spirit of the original in a style that is straight out of the time that the C64 and arcade version are from. The strings and brass are wonderful and the whole thing is uplifting. An outstanding remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (10/10/2020)

Really nicely made. I was hoping it would grow towards the end and finish with a bit of impact but alas it didn't. Shame. It's a good remix though to be fair.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/10/2020)

Fascinating story of how this tune was made! Abynx didn't post it, but there's also a video of this remix being played back inside 'Dreams': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YuAVJtmGaa4
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (08/10/2020)

A relentless, driving remix for sure. The soundscape works well here but the unwavering 16th bass notes do get a bit tiring after 5 minutes. The remix would have benefited from a little more variation especially in the drum-loop department. A 'let-up' in the driving rhythm just here & there would have added some emphasis to the 16th beat rhythm when it returned. Overall, this remix benefits from it's simplicity. A good 1st attempt which is faithful to the original. I look forward to hearing your next upload..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by andre (07/10/2020)

The tune is straightforward, no quirks and smirks. Considering the time of appearance, 2005, as far as I can recall this wasn't an uncommon sound. I personally don't like echo-effects. Perhaps there would be something that helps a composer during the arranging process (to hear it as if recorded in a hall), and which could be left away at the end. But after a few times of listening to the song, you kind of see behind the 'veil' and don't notice it anymore. All in all an arrangement easy-going, with a mood true to the original, and a futuristic touch, with interesting ideas that could have been worked out a little more precise. I can't say 'keep it up', as I can just go and see what other things the artist has created since so many years past. For the listeners I can say: Listen to it twice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Aule (07/10/2020)

I like the beginning. It's kind of mystically. Unfortunately the drums crashed it a little bit. The spanish guitar is great.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Aule (06/10/2020)

This is the best version of Crystal Hammer I've ever heard. You brought a special style to it. A good beat and though the harmony is a little bit different the original is still present. Good work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MatrixRevolution (25/09/2020)

I love Cybernoid & Cybernoid II but this tune is too much SID-like. Drums are good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fabrice971 (22/09/2020)

Amazing pads , amazing guitar, amazing bass. I love it even if I don't even recognize the original
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

I'm trying really hard to find the positives in this remix, but it's mighty hard to do. I was sort of hoping the intro percussion would lead to some authentic(ish) Japenese-style rhythm section, but alas, it didn't. The rest of the instrumentation is no better. But "at least" it closes with the obligatory Chinese gong. :-/
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

The most beautiful rendition of Fist 2 to this day, bar none. That flute, that vocal - just wonderfully emotional in every aspect of it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

I like it because it's different and because it deliberately steers away from the "obvious" LN3 Intro type remix - it remains clubby and electronic throughout instead. A very nice production overall.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/09/2020)

The instrumentation is pretty close to how I always heard this in my head: big, cinematic, heroic. Until about the halfway point when it inexplicable switches to a more medieval ensemble. I wish it had more of the choir from the intro in the rest of the piece, too.

Unfortunately, this is yet another track from "Remix64 vol. 2" that features sample-based instruments that didn't age well with time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/09/2020)

While I was working on the ceiling in one of the kids' bedroom I was listening to 80s music on a Google speaker, so all of that music is still echoing in my brain - and this remix totally has that 80s feeling nailed down. Replace the bell-like lead with a vocalist singing about a hot chick or love or something, and you got a winner here! :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/09/2020)

Back in 2003 when this remix was made there were not that many orchestral sample libraries available, so Jan did the best he could with what he had. The arrangement is full of wonderful little additions that were not present in the original SID (like those beautiful flute runs). But in general, this is probably as close as it gets to the arrangement I heard in my head when I first listened to the SID - baroque orchestral. (Yes, I know the original "Pase el agoa" is a renaissance tune, but Jeroen brought it forward a couple of centuries. :-) )
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 69 70 71