Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1989
[LOGIN]

Review by rnuls (26/01/2020)

Good mix, nice synth and rythme, catchy. Sometimes the choice of sound are weird but it rulez, Thanks for this Anders.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee71 (25/01/2020)

Wicked! All I have to day really. Makes you wanna play it again. Peace out!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by goblin (22/01/2020)

Thanks Wobbler, this is just great stuff. I love most everything about it, i can come up with some nitpicks (lead instrument a tad too Scooter-ish) but all in all i love it
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (21/01/2020)

Funky and fun. This one definitely deserves a higher rating than a plain lemonish yellowesque faceluring. Only critique (guess I have to leave *some*, no?) would be the somewhat high frequencies in the lead that are rolling around.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (21/01/2020)

I do like the added drum sequences & lead + the occational glitch effects plus high frequency ending, and I do kinda like the overall work … but: too much sidechaining (like Lala said) and the bass drum + snare sound too harsh and takes over what I want to hear (if that makes any sense?)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (21/01/2020)

Love the use of trance sounds in this classic tune. Proves a good melody is a good melody.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (19/01/2020)

As I heared the few seconds a the title music of DotC, I instantly had some scenes of this great Game in my mind. I also remembered that I never succeeded to raid a castle...oh, memories, welcome to 2019. Wonderful track.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by bitninja (18/01/2020)

Lovely tune! Great choice of chords and sounds, beautiful singing :) All I could wish for would be a little less autotune and a few more surprices. Great work!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (10/01/2020)

This is a good remix, but I think you've set the bar higher for yourself with your previous remixes. In short, I think you can do better.

I am especially bothered by two things here: the arpeggios (yeah, I know they're in the original, too, but somehow they stick out like a sore thumb to me), and the strong, pumping sidechaining on the bass frequencies.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (09/01/2020)

I think I can see where you're trying to take this with a Justice, Carpenter Brut style, but just needs that extra bit of attitude and rawness if that was what you were after?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by goblin (03/01/2020)

Great dance track with lots of oomph. Well thought out instrumentation. No nitpicks. If you're into F.A.M.E, would *love* a remix of my all-time favourite track of theirs, "My Instinct". :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by drcode (29/12/2019)

I enjoyed the relaxed way the original tune was introduced between the cool background music
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/12/2019)

You can hear it in the first bars already that this is going to be special. Has that unique scene-vibe to it that is hard to explain. Love it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nous (13/12/2019)

I still remember the day I first heard this tune. I let it play over and over and over, and I regretted I had just a mono-1084 instead of a 1081 or 1084-S.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Comajim (10/12/2019)

Great remix, looove it! Great punchy big sound! Hope to hear more from you! Great remix, looove it! Great punchy big sound! Hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee71 (09/12/2019)

The beginning of this track is perfect when I start my journey to work. Then when the rest kicks in it just makes me walk faster! I love it!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee69 (09/12/2019)

They are the best! They are sooo talented! Clever Stuff! Nothing more for me to say!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kjetiln (04/12/2019)

Excellent arrangement! Love it! Execution wise it could be a little better, as it sounds a little dry. We can also hear it is not played by a real orchestra, although it is obvious that it is pretending to be. Plus for great arrangement, and minus for not sounding as great as it could be. I can only hope and believe that the arranger will improve and I can't wait to hear what will come from him in the future!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kjetiln (01/12/2019)

Really good attempt at doing an authentic remix, which when coming to the Settlers soundtrack, is a really ambitious task! Overall this doesn't come out as a huge improvement compared to the original. Some instruments sounds too simple and sharp, and it could just as well have been the game's soundtrack, which is not bad, but a remix should add something. Some parts are very nice and improve upon the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by PhotonMan (30/11/2019)

Excellent, incredible. The nostalgic sentment rises. Galway is a Grand Master. This song remember my child period watching Rambo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by The Crusher (25/11/2019)

Decent job! I always liked the original, but this remix is a powerful and well arranged homage to its original. Both thumbs way up!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pszgabor (24/11/2019)

I don't agree with the most reviews on this tune, it is well underrated. Not the best I've ever heard, but it is well deservedly placed in the best 10%, at least on my list.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/11/2019)

First of all: welcome! It's always good to hear material here from new folks! Having said that, this remix needs more love. The drums have a weird phaser/eq effect on them that makes them sound like they're in a metal shed. The arrangement overall has a good direction, and the instrumentation is quite unique. But somehow none of these seem to gel together into an good quality piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/11/2019)

First off: I'm in awe of your Theremin skills! From what I know, it's a very hard instrument to master as there are zero reference points for the chromatic scale on it - because it's all in the air, literally. So, I bow my head to you for the Theremin parts of this remix.

But the rest of the remix sounds rushed and unimaginative - it's essentially the original SID tune sampled and looped. If you replaced that with just a simple chord progression and nothing else, I think that would've accentuated the Theremin track, too.

TL;DR: Theremin = awesome. Looped SID sample as a bed = meh.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Jaxxon64 (13/11/2019)

Great cover, great 'thin picked' Bass, love the blues honky-tonk piano, respectful to the original. Great job!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/11/2019)

Wow, the number of times I must've heard this tune in demos and crakctros!... I can't believe it hasn't been remixed before. You're right, Wobbler: I think there's more potential in this tune. Your remix is pretty good by itself, though, and cheers for keeping the whistle intact towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (08/11/2019)

I don't usually like the electric guitar versions of classic computer tunes, but this one was excellent. Great playing and a joy to here the old tune given some love.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/11/2019)

Unfortunately, I can only go as high as a red smilie with my vote, otherwise I would go higher. "Flaming hot red smilie", anyone?...

Let's see: serene intro complete with gentle piano? Check. Skull-shattering electric guitar? Check. SID arpeggios? Check. Ace 2, one of Hubbard's best tunes? Check. Tune from LN2, one of Matt Gray's best ones? Check. Impeccable arrangement and mix? Check. Me voting red on this remix? Check, check, CHECK!

Well-deserved winner of the first ever BIT Live remix compo!

PS: If you vote anything less than red smilie on this one, please, explain yourself in a shout...

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

I normally don't comment on remixes where I'm not familiar with the original SID, but I just had to make an exception for this one. Whenever I listen to this remix (and I've done that several times already), I have an overwhelming sense of nostalgia: I can't help but think of this as an Amiga MOD - times a thousand!

This arrangement oozes "chiptune style", even though it's not really a chiptune. But it FEELS like one! A fantastic scene production!

If you are not familiar with it, I also urge you to go and listen to the Dane's original SID, because that's pretty good, too.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

When I heard the intro of this song at BIT live, I was like "Oh, no, not ANOTHER Lightforce remix!" (There are almost 50 of them in RKO as of this writing, not to mention the various album versions.)

But you know what: this is really great arrangement! It has just enough edginess to it to make it unique (even though it's not fully "Slaygonized"). It's also more uptempo than the original, so there's a sense of urgency to it, driven by a simple, but effective rhythm section. And that long outro is just something else: the way it decomposes the song to oblivion is superb.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 65 66 67