Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 61 - 90 out of 2102
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (30/06/2020)

What a great transcription to piano! Definitely gets the spirit of the original SID through. Minor gripes: the tempo is not consistent throughout the piece. Also, the left and right channels are swapped (lower octaves are usually mixed to the left, not to the right).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (30/06/2020)

The soundscape of this whole remix is nice and is a departure from the longer, 'drawly' notation of the original. The beat here has more definition and the chosen sounds compliment this. If you take a SID that is just 1:25 in it's original form, It's important to go somewhere with it, especially if you expect to hit 'top marks' for your remix.. In the arrangement department, this does deviate a little but not enough for me.. The original synth riff from the 'Yazoo' song 'Don't Go' is still in there and the chord-play behind that is nice. The drum-loop coulda shoulda varied more to lift the tempo as the remix progresses and to stop it from just being a single loop from start to finish.. Good effort and a pleasant listen overall.. Needed more for the big red smilies though..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/06/2020)

Never fails to bring a smile to my face! Brilliant! :-) The singing, the lounge atmosphere, the instrumentation... The only "bad" thing about this remix is that I cannot listen to this SID tune any more without hearing Boz's lovely voice. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (26/06/2020)

This remix starts off so promisingly with a lot of high-energy feel to it. Although I'm not the greatest fan of 'Untz-Untz', the energy grabbed me early on.. What a shame that from 2:00 all the way to the end, it then just seemed to lose creativity even in the drum-part. The same 8-bar loop makes it just feel repetitive after that.. Good 1st effort and don't be disheartened.. Please get your creative head on and submit another remix..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (26/06/2020)

This is a very nice, laid-back remix which sticks faithfully to the structure of Reyn's original. The instrumentation is gentle and gives the overall feeling of a wind-down tune, (maybe for the end of a Slaygon & Ziona radio show). If you're waiting for it to 'take off'... it doesn't. If I was going to get super-picky, I'd maybe have liked the piano improvisation to vary a little towards the end. Nice, laid-back remix..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (23/06/2020)

SSI games often sounded a bit wrong on the sid chip. The melodies were there but it didn't fit well. As with all SSI games it needed a piano. Heh, it's here! and it does exactly what it should. Nice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dr.j Delysid (22/06/2020)

Great work!!! love the emotion of it and the great nostalgia ! cool work :))) magic!! magic!! magic!! 1 2 3 4 5 6....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think this is a brilliant arrangement of GnG for piano! It has everything in it that one could want, including the "simulated" glide in the intro, and even an improv'd section! Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

A few mistakes here and there just to make it clear that this was performed live. :) Obviously, a lot of thought went into the arrangement, and you even included the Bach piece in there for completeness. Very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think so far this sounds the most "classical style" piece among your piano renditions. Like you mentioned in your YT description it sounds rather wagnerian, apparently because that was David Warhol's original intention for the SID, too. It definitely shows, sounds grandiose!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

Whoa, slow down, buddy! :) This sounds like a good 10 BPM faster than the original SID (I wonder if that's an NTSC vs PAL piano thing :) ) , which makes it even more amazing that you performed this in one take.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (18/06/2020)

Let me correct the "old LaLa" here and say that this is something absolutely fabulous. Way ahead of it's time (I guess?). Mahoney in his greatest greatness (or perhaps rock bottom – it doesn't matter really).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (18/06/2020)

Welcome to Remix64, Paul. I was intrigued to know how your 16 uploads were constructed, (Wow!, that's some entry to the remix scene). So, I followed the link you provided to your YouTube page. Clearly, you are a more than competent pianist and there are some covers of C64 tunes on there that I wouldn't have imagined someone would tackle with a single piano, (even a Steinway grand...). So, to business! IMHO a number of your initial batch of uploads don't really lend themselves to a solo piano representation, (even though they're overdubbed). This one however, does! Full marks for playing the individual pieces 'live' but; for the mistakes that you didn't go back and correct It's '10 points away from Gryffindor'. You've got incredibly fast hands but that doesn't excuse incorrect or missed notes when the opportunity exists, to redo parts, individually. From an arrangement point of view, (and I feel qualified to say this) the pieces are 'bog standard'. None of the individual subtunes vary in any way from the original SID/Amiga versions. I can't imagine you have reached your standard of playing without developing the ability to substitute alternate chords and progressions in order to take the 'remix' to somewhere else. The Steinway badly needs tuning. In some parts it almost gets close to sounding like a 'saloon upright' and this detracts from the listening quality. Overall, I'm impressed with your playing ability, (and a little jealous too)... and you have a cat. So, that makes you a certain kind of cool and nice person (for which I'll score you a little extra). Please make another remix. I'd love you to really stretch your ability and include other instruments, (real or synthetic).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/06/2020)

Welcome to RKO and Remix64.com, Paul! :-) I quite like the fact that all 3 game tunes are covered here, and the arrangements are pretty good, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/06/2020)

A fantastic rendition of Galway's classic tune. As others have mentioned it, the switch in the basic beat is at odds with the melody, but for me it actually works - he made it into a dancey tune, what do you expect? The sound effects and the vocoded voice are a perfect addition to this remix and create a vivid atmosphere. This is done very, very nicely, and it's definitely my favorite (if not THE favorite) Terra Cresta remixes.

-- RIP Razmo :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (11/06/2020)

Hmm, I wonder if this started life as a multichannel MOD, because many of its motifs remind me a lot of those tunes from late 1990s, even the way the patterns are repeated, and the abrupt ending (which to me indicates a cutoff of an infinitely repeating sequence). In that context, this is actually a rather decent remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Ok, perhaps not a review … but wth, how did I miss JLD:s entrance to the C64-remixing community? Well, perhaps not strange at all since I don't keep up to date of each and every release on RKO. Still, a solid production, but then I don't think that the original gives away that many hints of a re-release in the shape of … well, a new tune. Sorry for this non-review but well … I just had to write what I felt when listening =)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Just posted a review of your latest drop to RKO (which was really good btw), and then found this one … Man, I have no previous recollection of hearing the original, but this totally rocks! I mean, keeping the original SID-feeling whilst maintaining a modern beat/arrangement/whatnot. Super-duper-awesome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Seems like another Swede enters the C64-remix-arena… Welcome! Judging from the production quality of this tune I can hear that you've produced a fair amount of music before trying out a C64-remix. And yes, the beat still has a decent taste of dubstep, and yes #3– it still work with the final result. Well done, and again – welcome to our little bizarre community :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (31/05/2020)

A neat idea that deserves a red for artistic realisation. I wish the spot-instruments like maracas & quijada were more prominent in the mix and made it sound more like Morricone. The trumpet is realistic but the brass at 1:25 is synthy and unconvincing. Overall it's a solid remix and a good listen.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/05/2020)

A wonderful acoustic-style remix of a classic tune. There are some sections of it that lean towards country/bluegrass style (e.g. @ 2:04) - I wish that style was explored further. But it sounds amazing as is, no complaints whatsoever! =) And the second, downtempo part of the piece is just be-a-utiful!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (12/05/2020)

Mr Clarke, I thought it would be difficult for you to match your most recent, ROTY-winning remix. So, you've come at us from a different angle. This is a brilliant new remix. Giving this tune the Prog-rock treatment is inspired. Technically, it's tight and the riffs, licks & flourishes lift it beyond the title of "remix". There's so much original creation here but I guess that's what an old-school, game-music composer can do. Outstanding!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (12/05/2020)

Oh my! This is tough to react to. It's absolutely brilliant. The difference is it's so much smoother than Glyn's original which is what i expect Peter was after. That there for me is the difference. I kinda like the harsh, aggressive in your face attitude the original. They are both great versions and kudos to both musicians. However for me, Still love Glyn's version to pieces. However what an honor for Glyn who's spent years covering sid musicians for one to turn around and cover him.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (11/05/2020)

Alright, I'm with LaLa on this one. It's technically brilliant and the arrangement is just superb. If there was something higher than a red smiley, I'd award it to this remix. This is a real musician and composer at work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (11/05/2020)

Agree with Lala and the drum loop, it does feel somewhat out of place. But as always the sound scape is lovelly. I always enjoy Dr Future's production skills.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by al.x (11/05/2020)

I really like this, slightly melancholic version that combines the 8 bit sounds with a more modern soundscape.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/05/2020)

I Like this remix a lot.. It's got SID-ishness everywhere and bounces like a bouncy thing. Technically it sounds spot-on to me. Maybe a little more variation, if I'm being really picky but overall a damn good remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/05/2020)

Ladies and Gentlemen - this is as close to perfection as one can get with a remix. The superb skills of Peter's talent are on full display here: the arrangement is impeccable, the instrumentation is spot-on for a prog-rock styled remix, and it sure sounds like most of it is recorded live playing. And it even adds extras: like the wonderful riffs on the guitars and on the electric organ, not to mention the superb counter-melody on the sax in the later parts. Wow, just WOW! Bravo, Peter!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

Oh, he's back-eh-makk-eh. Sort of happy that I was able to spark some sort of creative juice! And yeah, breakbeats need a big revival *makes a mental note*
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

I know, it's been remixed a hundred times, and yeah, the original is so good etc etc etc. But, this one is really minimalistic, has fresh sounds (yeah, really) and well … liked it. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 69 70 71