Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 61 - 90 out of 1940
[LOGIN]

Review by gator (25/02/2019)

But somebody please tell me what this is a remix of. This website needs to have a column in the description that names the games the remix comes from because too often I am left completely without a clue.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by exocytosis (21/02/2019)

Fast paced and, from a technical point of view, very well composed, "Outrun Europe (levels)" has a clear edge - it catches the bright pastels of the arcade version almost flawlessly! Needless to say, of all Outrun covers released up to this point, Hermisoft's take on Jeroen Tels original outruns all of them!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (17/02/2019)

KICK A-ASS!! (ties japanese head band around head.) Makes me want to do some backflips! Yeah!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Laci1971 (14/02/2019)

For me, it seems that the background has no connection with the main theme. The original music is among the most beautiful ones with its cleanness, but in this version the main theme and the background are fighting with each other.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/02/2019)

You have a beautiful voice (I'm assuming it's you singing, Lea...), so you should flaunt it: you should bring it more to the front in mixing. Especially when more instruments start playing and when you add reverb to the vocals, it becomes harder to understand the lyrics, because your voice gets lost in the mid-frequencies. Otherwise, I really like how you enhanced the vocals with various techniques throughout (layering, vocoder, chorus, etc.), the production quality is top-notch, the arrangement is outstanding, the instrumentation is spot-on. I really like the filtered intro, too, that's very modern of you. :) A fantastic debut on RKO, I hope to hear a lot more from you!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by spavatch (11/02/2019)

I love the way it begins and develops further in a trance-like fashion, with vocals adding to vocal trance feel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (09/02/2019)

This sounds like something I would have made myself (not to say that I would actually have managed to produce, sound wise or arrangement wise), but the overall style. Like it a lot. And as LaLa wrote earlier; perhaps a tad too much reverb, but the again who am I to complain? I might even try a remix version of my own, just to see if I could reach this standard ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (09/02/2019)

Like the experimentation. Got a very nice minimal feel, with a tinge of EBM and dog bark synth.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (09/02/2019)

Very well crafted. I was doubtful at first, but really well done. Anyone else just done remixes with just additional sid voices?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (21/01/2019)

Well, I have a problem with that track. The old Remix from 2002 was epic, is still one of my absolute favourites. But - which word is higher than epic? Let me say it this way - This track here is the most epic track ever!!! I'm absolutely happy to see you back, Mr Brown. Last years you were very silent. And you, Sir, are now my first nominee for ROTY 2019.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by onlineamiga (17/01/2019)

Music is always subjective as we all like different stuff. But listening to this was like a rollercoaster of "oooh!! i like" and "ooooh maybe not". I love the electro backing music, and the drops etc. Sounds great. But maybe using a harder synth sound instead of the original flute sound for the main tune might have given it more power. I also think the tempo is a little too fast for this tune. But hey these are just how I hear it. No reflection on ability and I absolutely love the fact that people like yourself are making awesome remixes of great Amiga tracks :) Please keep making more stuff! I wanna hear more!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/01/2019)

What a wonderful journey you've taken us on with this epic piece! This sounds bona fide professional. I can't even imagine the time and effort it must've taken you to create this Times Of Lore mashup! What can I say - THANK YOU!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/01/2019)

I didn't think your superb symphonic remix from 16+ years ago could be made any better. I was wrong, so wrong! The flute sounds just wonderful (makes me wonder if it was written with Ben in mind...), the choir sounds even more emotional, and the dynamic flow of the arrangement makes it sound very cinematic. I really like the parts where the melody line quickly switches between the various sections of the orchestra. Even though it sounds similar to your previous Firelord arrangement, it's clearly very different - and even better. I'm sure somewhere up above Ben is listening to this, too, with a big smile on his face...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pad (02/01/2019)

That start gives me goosebumps indeed! The rest is also fab! Perfect backdrop for coding. :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/12/2018)

Very soundtracky, a perfect homage to Rob's classic. It doesn't fall into the trap of some other remixes that are also technically excellent, but tend to get boring as the tune goes on. Instead, Markus managed to inject several careful changes into the arrangement and instrumentation that keep the momentum going while also keeping with his chosen style for the remix. Your "love affair" with Lightforce, Markus, really shines through! Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/12/2018)

A valiant mega-effort which is brought down by a few serious issues. The arrangement is varied enough to keep my interest up throughout the remix, but some odd dissonant sections, questionable choice of instrumentation, and sorely lacking post-processing make it sound worse than it really should.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (19/12/2018)

Should have been called the needed 20 years ago mix... Very very Ferry Corsten and Veracocha-esq. Too old and sober now to really enjoy this
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

Funky 80's vibe - check. Wavy Synth - Check. Snare Powa! - Check. Well composed and classic Gerd Bahl throw-ins! Feels quite Demo-scene-ish too, quality!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

The Effort counts. Very limited instrument range and some bad notes at that, the drums are safe and unoriginal as is the composition. A good effort for a first submission but I'd review it with fresh ears of your own and soon you will discover the lack of overall quality.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

Duration: Could be longer Instruments: Soft and well balanced Technique: Room for more Originality: Great changes to the original
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by sparcie (17/12/2018)

love this song, when life gives me crap i'm being comforted with my hobby <3. also just a awesome song
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Silize (06/12/2018)

Jochen es de esos que siempre te transmiten algo especial y mítico en sus creaciones. Es pausado y progresivo, melódico y potente. No se puede pedir más bajo mi punto de vista particular.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nihilanth (05/12/2018)

It differentiates from the original piece of music. But it still has a great melody, and I first heard this song in a Half-Life 20th anniversary tribute. It feels nostalgic listening to this song, and I was hoping I could use it in a GoldSrc-based video game I was making. Keep the tracks coming!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pest Global Group DOO (02/12/2018)

Jeroen Tel did a nice theme long time ago.Thomasz have been made an astonishing remix of the year.Great talent.Keep a good work in future.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by CaptainSoftware (30/11/2018)

Great music and Always good its from Rob Hubbard, this is swinging right the "pan" out. Great job
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (28/11/2018)

Keeps very much in line with the original but adds so much more.. Gonna be hard to top this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by prowler (24/11/2018)

Very good work for a first time remixer! Remix style is very time-accurate with the 90's wibe, and yet with great quality and mixing. Love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (26/10/2018)

Loved it the first time I heard it at Árok Party 2018! Then I was thrilled that we were able to include it in the Johannes Bjerregaard charity album. And I am very delighted it is now available on RKO, too. It's an amazing remix of a much underrated JB tune. It has, of course, received proper NecroPolo treatment with overdriven and distorted sounds, containing so much SID-caffeine that it pumps me up every time I listen to it. ROC=K ON, C=ommodore!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Kikstart (13/10/2018)

Having listened to Last Ninja and played the game hundreds of times, this loader for me was a nice surprise. you should be commended for such a fabulous remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/10/2018)

I encouraged Vaggelis in a YT comment to upload his remix here, too - and I'm glad he did! What I really like in this remix is that he actually plays every single note of the original on his guitar: the devilishly fast runs, the slides, the arpeggiated non-melodic effects - I'm in awe of his technique!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 63 64 65