Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 91 - 120 out of 2104
[LOGIN]

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

I know, it's been remixed a hundred times, and yeah, the original is so good etc etc etc. But, this one is really minimalistic, has fresh sounds (yeah, really) and well … liked it. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/05/2020)

Epic! The entire ~10 min of W.A.R. is covered here, which is respectable by itself - but this remix is also really, really good! Starts with a synth intro that did not impress me that much, but once the guitar kicked in at 2:30 it really got my attention. From that point on it just keeps rolling, occasionally with dissonant, but mostly with prog-rock sections, with electric guitars dominating the rest of the remix. I think this is as close to the prog-rock style I'm guessing Mr. Hubbard originally imagined for this track as we'll get. Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ItsReactor (01/05/2020)

Enjoyed this a lot. Reminiscent of the original but with some creative new stuff. Saved. Thank you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by _steve_ (01/05/2020)

This evokes the memories of that infamous game over screen featuring your character being struck by lightning. Given the original game over guitar riff was just 10-20 seconds, long, the manner you expanded around that is fantastic. The pan flute repetition at 40s along with the acoustic guitar, birds and general atmosphere sets this in the SOTB universe.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/04/2020)

The usual unusual from Colmarr. Like with his other remixes, yet again I'm not sure where to place this remix. It has a definite lo-fi feel to it, sort of reminding me of the music of 70s era American TV shows. But it's not that obvious, so who knows?... I am not even sure the lo-fi mix was intentional?... But definitely gets plus points from me for trying something different.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Rainstorm (10/04/2020)

So good. I hope you'll have time to create all other stages and also the intro. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MsMadLemon (06/04/2020)

Fantastic remix of a great tune, you've kept the feeling of the original but added more to it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DjCzyszy (30/03/2020)

Classic Puffy64 sound. It's nice but not on par with modern production standards. I wonder if this is something new or a something that had been lying in the closet for well over a decade. It does sound like something that would've easily been made in the early 2000s. Well, on the other hand, listening to it, I can't help but feel as if time froze solid and the all those days never passed us by. But anyway: the guitars conflict with the SID sounds and the tone's a bit harsh. Also, the drums need to be more cutting in such a dense arrangement. Seems like there's too much going on. I do like the playing with the pinch harmonics and tasty bends though. So yeah, it's a mixed bag.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

certainly a unique take on the tune, still liking it a lot, more of the same please.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

if this was slowed down any more it would suffer a heart attack, the remix is still surprisingly pretty brilliant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

nice remix to chill out to, sounds very amiga demo like, which isnt a bad thing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

usual case of awesome rolled in slice of nostalgia, sounds as funky and weird as i hoped.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

2mins of wtf and 6mins of awesome, any chance of a version without the annoying voice intro?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/03/2020)

As a Jarre fan, I'll try to restrain myself and not nitpick my way through this. :-) The sounds and the atmosphere are about as close to "Oxygene" as you can get. This is a really good "in-the-style-of" remix. I am a bit annoyed by the repeated "noisy downers" in the left and right channels (ie. the ones starting @ 1:36), but other than that it's hard to find a fault in it. You've weaved the theme of Ghosts'n Goblins into this tapestry of sounds in a very elegant way. Very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tw1l1ght (01/03/2020)

Instant Serotonine Release guaranteed! Gets me happily flying through the room every.single.time!!! <3 In my book THE definition of "Banger!".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by guru512 (12/02/2020)

Song ruined by retarded unfitting voice samples Song ruined by retarded unfitting voice samples Song ruined by retarded unfitting voice samples too bad
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tamzin (06/02/2020)

How do you keep doing, the grandmaster, this is so good! So glad you're still in the scene :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/02/2020)

Plus points for:

- choosing a relatively little-known tune
- game-appropriate crowd and announcement samples
- the choice of style
- good mixing
- cleverly stretching the 43 second SID tune to almost 3 minutes
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/01/2020)

What's really cool about this remix is that even though the arrangement hasn't been changed much from the original SID, the instruments are switched in and out so frequently, it never gets boring. The sheer number of instruments featured in this remix makes my head spin! It's a great synth-oriented remake.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by countzorg (29/01/2020)

I have come back to this, after hearing back in the early 2000s. It still feels as good as the day I heard it. Beautiful. The fact you used the SuperNova confirms its brilliance too. You have made Zoids into a sonic masterpiece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/01/2020)

If I ignore that long flute tutorial intro and the annoying metronome sound, it's a very nice remix. I mean, she has a nice voice, but it just doesn't belong here. I'm guessing you were high on something when you added that intro. ;-) Other than that, I like the atmosphere of the song, it has a soothing quality to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (26/01/2020)

Good mix, nice synth and rythme, catchy. Sometimes the choice of sound are weird but it rulez, Thanks for this Anders.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee71 (25/01/2020)

Wicked! All I have to day really. Makes you wanna play it again. Peace out!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by goblin (22/01/2020)

Thanks Wobbler, this is just great stuff. I love most everything about it, i can come up with some nitpicks (lead instrument a tad too Scooter-ish) but all in all i love it
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (21/01/2020)

Funky and fun. This one definitely deserves a higher rating than a plain lemonish yellowesque faceluring. Only critique (guess I have to leave *some*, no?) would be the somewhat high frequencies in the lead that are rolling around.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (21/01/2020)

I do like the added drum sequences & lead + the occational glitch effects plus high frequency ending, and I do kinda like the overall work … but: too much sidechaining (like Lala said) and the bass drum + snare sound too harsh and takes over what I want to hear (if that makes any sense?)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (21/01/2020)

Love the use of trance sounds in this classic tune. Proves a good melody is a good melody.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (19/01/2020)

As I heared the few seconds a the title music of DotC, I instantly had some scenes of this great Game in my mind. I also remembered that I never succeeded to raid a castle...oh, memories, welcome to 2019. Wonderful track.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by bitninja (18/01/2020)

Lovely tune! Great choice of chords and sounds, beautiful singing :) All I could wish for would be a little less autotune and a few more surprices. Great work!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (10/01/2020)

This is a good remix, but I think you've set the bar higher for yourself with your previous remixes. In short, I think you can do better.

I am especially bothered by two things here: the arpeggios (yeah, I know they're in the original, too, but somehow they stick out like a sore thumb to me), and the strong, pumping sidechaining on the bass frequencies.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 69 70 71