Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1531 - 1560 out of 1964
[LOGIN]

Review by beldin (21/02/2003)

Only enjoyable at high volume because it doesn't consist of many voices or rich sounds. But be aware of a drum solo in the middle which takes away some of the flow (and fun). The "Spy vs. Spy" theme is clearly recognizable, however, and recreated in a clever way with a matching accompany. Though, for a total of 3:06 it is quite repetitive, also in the second and better half.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (21/02/2003)

Impressive production quality of this 6:35 long dance-remix with regard to quality of sounds and richness in sound. Even the stutter-rap at the beginning fits well. If I could suggest an improvement, I would replace the piano in the lead with a more obvious instrument. The piano is about the only thing that doesn't work perfectly and in the lead sounds unexpected. In the accompany it fits very good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (21/02/2003)

If you're not familiar with the sidtune, base your expectations on sub-song #6 of the sidtune in HVSC. Neither the remix nor the sidtune have any nostalgic value for me. Hence I don't consider that in the overall rating.

The remix has nothing special to offer. Bass, percussions and accompany are pretty monotonous and hence boring, but not bad. The overall arrangement doesn't trigger any emotions though. It lacks something like a theme, probably because the original sidtune is weak in this area, too. But nevertheless, the sidtune performs better, and its lead voices are more enjoyable the longer you listen to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

This is a sublime piece of work from Larsec. I loved this tune right from the start, but it just gets better everytime i hear it. One of the most inventive remixes ever and so so very emotional to boot.

This remix isn't your typical like for like approach as with many remixes you hear. Starting of slowly the track seems to give you a false sense of security, but it really kicks off at the 1:30 mark where female arabian vocals are added, which just enhances the feel more than ever. At 2:30 the tune evolves slowly bringing an electric guitar in and replacing the vocals as the tempo slowly increases. Adding more instruments and effects along the way, and it just keeps evolving as it goes on.

It has everything a good musical ear should appreciate, mellow moments, attacking moments, and a massive amount of variety. Oh and it lasts just over 9 mins which is no bad thing as tracks like these can go on forever!

Excellence in remixing and excellence in music! superb!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

Not overly different from the original (which also includes the original samples). it's another one of those nicey nicey tunes that replaces the sid sound and turns it into an amiga sounding mod.

It's nice, but nothing more!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

We've heard this style before... Write a simple tune and slam a few beats behind it, very boring and uninspirational. It does improve a bit as the remix goes on, but it just doesn't do anything to the ears.

One of those songs that you get bored of very very easily.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

A strange little tune that is quite appealing in small doses. It's lively, but it's also quite bizarre. A very strange choice of instruments selected here; from harpsicord to a squeezed mouse full of helium. (what is that sound anyway).

Tho very strange in nature it's quite entertaining. certainly made me smile a wee bit.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

There's alot of bad sanxion remixes about, and very few good ones. This version is one of those well, bad ones.

It's noisy and over powering and adds far too much when simplicity would have been more the order of the day.

Not to say it's really bad, it's just so boombastic and annoyingly overcrowded with effects and instruments.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

erm! yes, erm well... it's different!

Wierd, and boy this hurts!!! i dunno what to make of it! just don't bother downloading it! dreadful! with a captial D!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

This remix sounds like Glyn R brown with a blindfold! Basically you know what he's trying to do, but it fails in just about every department. I'm almost sure this remix is inspired by glyns 1st part of his 3 in 1 entry on the remix64 competition. However thats where the simularity ends with glyn.

The remix is flat, emotionless and just downright poor!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

There's some nice touches in this remix by Ghost, especially concerning the drums which work tremendously well.

The typical carribean lead work well with the tunes ethos, tho it does sound at times a little flat and disconcerning.

It's a valliant effort, but at times the remix suffers from sounding a little Midi sounding.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

The usual arkaniod, but with a difference. There's enough new elements to warrent another outing. FTC doesn't actually remix the sid so to speak, but actually tries to re-invent it to some extent.

Part sid sound part ambience. i found this version very creative and adds a new flavour to a track which i think has lost it's sell by date!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (21/02/2003)

After quite a long time, MistaDistah is back with a pretty different interpretation of Galway's classic. Sound-wise it goes along with late 80s / early 90s ambient trance music. Very analog sounding, very chillout'ish.

There's more to this remix than the sum of its Technical/Artistic/Nostalgic ratings. Guess you'll have to listen to it yourself to experience that... you shouldn't miss this remix, it is very beautiful!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (20/02/2003)

"This is my last game for the C64" Manfred Trenz wrote in the end titles of Turrican 2 when the original SID of this remix played. Ok, it wasn´t his last game (-Enforcer).
The man who created the SID also made this remix, Markus Siebold himself. He extended the song to it´s full glory with synthy violins and Italo-dance snare drums. The arrangement is great this way.
The mid-frequencies are too low while you get a lot of bass and hihats in this mix, and it sounds not much stereo.
It is still a remix that makes a die-hard-Turrican-fan smile :-)
Good ol´ times!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

I'm never too keen on the over use of SID in remixes, it's just not my thing, but Sonic Wanderer certainly knows how to use it to good effect in this dancey experiment which well produced and utilised.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

Oh! Now this is different!

Sorta mixes the oriental feel of the original with a 70's private eye film. You know the one with narritation at the beginning...."It was when Lucy walked into the room one winters night when I stumbled upon a letter..." etc etc...

Strange, uninteresting, but original! But where is the end, why does it stop so abrupty?

If you're bored download it, if your not then do something better instead.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

Some really nice touches here which actually uses the SID and transforms the piece into a new piece of music entirely... Many would agree that this isn't a remix as such, but then what is?

Dor-x has taken a brief snipet of an original tune and made it kinda bluesy and I think has re-invented a SID that never was!

A good effort, which maybe is a little hard to get your ears around, but is well produced and is very different to what you normally hear, and to add to that it's probably Dor-x's greatest achievement yet!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

I plod along in a sewer; the end just doesn't come along soon enough, how do I get out from the stench!!!!

Well it's not really that bad, but it's not too far away really.

Nopes, its one of those monotonous tune that isn't really inviting and just drags along, like being lost in that sewer!

It's ok, but bet you won't play it twice!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

Poorly produced, poorly executed, but not entirely bad. There are a few elements to this to bring it into the average score.

It's one of those once only plays, and that's about it really. Kinda samey all the way through which never finds a direction or really gives you any real enjoyment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

I like this 80's approach to Grand Prix Circuit alot!!!!

This very electronic sound is what i call à la Vince Clark, and even more so typically Erasure. Which as many of you know already is by no means alien to me ;)

The thing here is to remember the 80's sound and how they dealt with it, Amp has done just that and produced a very dancy yet smooth inviting remix complete with e-guitar and piano which works exceptionally well.

Good work Amp, more of the same please ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

Very amiga mod sounding!!!

Not saying I don't like that! But actually I do in this case. Works well and gives that nostalgic feeling, if a little flat and uncreative.

Overall, a tune thats nice, but can you get your ears around how Amiga it sounds?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

Ifadeo is what I'd say is a step away from being with the big boys on the scene. He's got the right ideas, but sometimes his implementation of instruments have something to be desired preventing his work from being in the top 10 works.

Again a sublime background to this tune, yet unfortunately the lead is just too rough, harsh and basic in it's approach. If ifadeo could just master his production work, he'd be right up there.

Keep it up ifadeo, your doing great, and in time... you'll be hailed :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

Terrific beat to this, an exceptionally groovey piece of work in the background. but, oh and why a but! The lead stinks.

I'd really like this to be re-worked big time, and concentrate on the beat and it's dance nature.

A fantastic idea, which has been let down in so many ways... oh this could have been!!!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

ifadeo experiments with melow ambience (not for the first time), however unfortunately his concepts havn't quite materialised into fruition as they should, due to simplistic instruments and basic implementations. Listening to this tune you can't help feel that with better smoother sounds ifadeo could have really been with the jiggy ;)

But as it is, it's ok, but nothing to light the world into oblivion.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/02/2003)

A nice effort into mellow ambience here from ifadeo, which is fine. However it kinda misses the effects to really involve you in the piece of music. the underlaying score is inventive enough, but is simply too basic to evolve the piece and the instruments used are just a little thin to bring out the piece. A tune like this you really have to feel the piece inside, ifadeo has produced a good piece but without the feel which this should really have.

Good work, but leaves you feeling a little empty.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (19/02/2003)

On the real C64 this was one of the few games that had a music with sample-sound added not only in the intro screen, but also in some game menus. It was really something unusual to hear this sound out of a C64, especially if that SID-machine was connected to a Hifi-amp. Yes, I loved the E-Guitar and "real" drumsound. So what has Amp done to this jewel of SID-music? He added some intro that the original missed (a fast car driving by), and then it is a very good 1:1 cover of the original, with the E-Guitars now being "electronic"-sounding, and the lead a melancholic piano, more sad than ever (needless to say: this would also make a great symphonic remix...), and some choir at the right time.
Amp loved this SID on the C64, and so he was able to make this one a top remix
for Kris Hatlelid-fans, also painfully reminding me how old I am now...
Pretty good cover! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (19/02/2003)

Fast-paced club music arrangement of well-known elements from Delta with focus on the title theme. I think the chosen sounds and effects fit well and the added accompany was a good idea. It could add more bits here and there to sound more rich, however.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beyond (19/02/2003)

A very original idea, very well orchstrated, and a wonderful female voice.

Put it at the end of any recent Disney movie and nobody will think of C64 remixes.

Fantastic!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beyond (19/02/2003)

There is no doubt in my mind that this is a classic, if any remix here will ever be one.

Original idea and very well implemented! We are already used to the high quality work that Mahoney delivers, but Karin Öjehagen takes this remix to a higher ground, that is just purely amazing.

This remix gives me the goosebumps again and again! And I have listened to it A LOT!

"Three thumbs up!"
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by muppet (18/02/2003)

Aye, I cant help but agree with the last couple of reviews... this is a must-download if only to hear someone actually do something radically different for a change.

The tune is so intense and the build up so rapid that after the first 20 seconds or so it seems to just grab you and fly by so that you hardly even realise you have spent 3 minutes listening to it and it all seems over almost too quickly... having said that, the arranger has had the discipline to end where he does as any more would have probably too much and ruined the considerable impact.

I wasnt sure at first but...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ⋅⋅⋅ 64 65 66