Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1621 - 1650 out of 1912
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It starts out okay, but this rave style is not for LN2. It`s a decent remix, and if played live, it would actually be rather enjoyable, but by itself presented as an LN2 remix it doesn`t strike me as something that I would listen to more than once.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Starts out fine then it transforms into this technoish-trance-like piece that has next to nothing to do with LN2 any more. Sure, the melody line pops up here and there, but this style done this way is a complete misfit for this tune. This is one of those remixes that you either like or not - I am in the latter camp.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It is more electronic than I expected it to be from the title, a very pleasant, or as the title says, smooth remix. But I feel it digresses from the original too much and thus I feel no real connection to this piece any more. Key portions of the original were left out completely, so for me this otherwise good remix lost its appeal.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Covering a cover. Except for the addition of drums it`s not a big surprise soundwise, but it`s certainly carefully and nicely done, it`s a great high- quality cover. I would recommend everybody to take a listen to it because the melody itself is worth it and it`s kept intact in this cover. Nice work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It didn`t provoke any real emotions in me until the drums kicked in, and even at that time it was a weak dance tune at most. The instrumentation is fairly unimaginative, the arrangement is rather dull and overly repetitive, but most importantly it`s missing that spark that makes the best remixes really good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I hope one of these days I will gain an understanding of why people bother covering tunes that were remade by Hülsbeck himself ages ago. Not only Hege8 covers the same tune, he even covers it in *EXACTLY* the same style Hülsbeck did it on his CD... Sure, it`s nice to do things like this to practice and/or imitate composition and arrangement techniques, but to release it to the public this way?... Maybe Hege8 never heard Chris` own remake? That would be odd, because the similarities are frightening.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Hmm, well, what can I say. Honorabili mastered the art of taking something with value and turning it into utter crap. As a hardcore Vangelis fan, I find this cover appallingly dumb. As a hardcore SID fan, I find this cover insulting. Either way, you are better off staying the hell away from it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Cover of a little-known groovy Jeroen Tel tune. I think, this cover doesn`t do justice to the original. It sounds inferior with the original arpeggios left intact and with the very similar sounding lead instrument, which alone wouldn`t be bad, but it doesn`t work well in the big picture, or rather, I don`t see the "value added" - I might as well listen to the original SID if I want to hear it this way. Too bad.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Ever heard Skaven`s "Catch That Goblin"? Well, it`s the same orchestral style, except it`s covering Cooksey`s tune. What makes it stand out even more that you can hear what great attention was paid to make it sound like an authentic orchestra as much as possible. A great cover that is so good, it deserves to be on the repertoir of your local symphonic orchestra.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is so awesome that maybe I should capitalize it: it`s AWESOME! It would be hard to find problems with it even if I put it under the magnifying glass, but take back a step or two and then you`ll really appreciate how well it`s put together. Ambience, emotions, balanced mix - it`s all there and it all works in harmony. What a great unusual cover! You know a cover is really good when it`s actually better than the original - and that`s true with this one. What a pleasure to listen to!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Now, if you want to be tasty and funny at the same time, *THIS* is how you do it! The familiar Commando theme played by a dixieland band! Although I can think of other SID tunes that would`ve been helluva better candidates for a dixie remix, but even this one will make you smile for sure. Talk about a stylistic mismatch! But in this case, that`s what makes it really fun!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This remix starts out with a superb groove, then you hear the beeping IK+ theme coming out of a Nokia phone. If this remix was intended to be funny - it ain`t. If it`s serious, it`s making a mockery of this SID classic. It`s tasteless.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I am unimpressed. Yet another "let`s add drums to the SID" remix. Well, actually, some effects also try to enhance the feeling here, too. Hooray. I`m still unimpressed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The basic idea was good (to turn this tune into a dance-mix, which I see as the natural choice), but the execution lacks the oomph and feeling to push it over the edge. No doubt it`s due to the lack of decent synths available to Dr. Future, because I find one of the lead sounds rather childish and the whole tune has this cheap Casio-synth feeling to it. A nice effort, nevertheless, but it`s in dire need of a better treatment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

When it started, I was tempted to denounce this remake, but when the lead kicked in and as it progressed, I was convinced that it`s a well thought-out piece that deserves more attention. Some might be annoyed by the high-pitched lead at times, personally, I am annoyed by the seemingly out-of-rhythm snare drums, but as a whole it`s better than its parts. Not superb, but better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A very unusual approach to Arkanoid, tilting it more towards the ambient side, although the famous drums and beeps are kept intact. Lots of filtered analogish sounds, a very nice concept overall that I think works rather well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Personally, I don`t find anything Jarresque in this cover despite the fact that I consider myself a big fan of Jarre. Maybe, only maybe I can sort of imagine its style being a mix of Chronologie and Oxy 7-13, but that`s a stretch. Nevertheless, this is one superb cover, albeit a bit too bright for my ears. (Perhaps I am just getting old?) More or less it follows the predictable path of a typical Cybi II remix, but it`s very well produced and it sounds pretty "clean", if I may say so. A bit thin here and there, but other than that there`s hardly anything wrong with this cover!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A bit too rich with drums for my taste (which feeling might actually be caused by that brassy bass), but otherwise a decent remix with carefully selected instruments for the different parts of the lead. But the sound quality of the instruments is subpar, causing the overall mix sound more mushy than it really should. Kinda groovy, too, which helps a lot.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The beginning is very promising with some cool sounding drums, then it slowly builds up with very synthy instruments - and that is where it became less impressive. This build-up just stops when the main melody-line comes in. I have to say, I am very impressed with the final mixing of this remix, though. Musically, it`s not as good as the opening bars suggested to me, but it has a cool bouncy feeling to it and it`s worth listening to.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Obviously, there was a Druid remix compo recently that I missed... This is also an above average cover with relatively rich instruments. Nice arrangement, I think it`s rather pleasant just listening to it. Soundwise it has that "sampler" feeling, productionwise it`s well balanced. Recommended for download.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Interestingly, it sounds rather simplistic. Not bad, but nothing to get too excited over.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Not an elaborate cover, but at least it adds some personal touch to Druid. Again, it has more potential than what it actually delivers. Quite nice and worth a download, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Another attempt at remixing Ben`s famous Wilderness tune from LN. If the game was written in the style of this remix, it`d be a high-paced fast-action car- chases-galore game resembling a Hollywood blockbuster. Personally, I think this remix goes over the top, which may be due to a problem with the mixing or with the arrangement. I would be tempted *not* to recommend this remix to those with weak heart conditions, and nobody should listen to this tune in a car, otherwise you are guaranteed to be clocked by a traffipax at two times the posted speed limit. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I suppose "Kocmoc" here is the Russian spelling of Cosmos... This remix is quite weird, certainly surprising and different. Unfortunately, it never really builds up and the constant repetition of the introductory sequence becomes boring pretty fast. The vocoded "Krakout" speech sample is kinda cool, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Yet another awesome remix by Mahoney that is completely screwed up by the original SID sounds. Yes, I know this was an artistic choice, but for crying out loud, it sounds like crap this way! I`m sorry, I just don`t get it. Believe me, I was actually scratching my head as I listened to this remix. It`s like seeing a Michelangelo painting (= the superb Spandau Ballet-like accompaniment) that has two large blue stripes painted over it by a child ( = the SID sounds) - kinda ruins the whole thing, doesn`t it?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Sounds like something that was made on a cheap Casio synth which has all those auto-accompaniment features. Seriously! Not bad, but nothing to get excited about. Keeps it high-speed throughout the remix which makes it enjoyable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A pretty good dance-remix of our beloved Zombie Nation tu-... erm, Lazy Jones tunes. The individual jingles are seamlessly stitched together into one 4 minute remix. Add some great drums and synth strings, do a great job of mixing the whole thing - definitely worth a listen.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Not bad, not bad. The panned drums tell me that this tune may have been an XM or S3M originally. A solid average remix, pretty much everything you`d expect from an Auf.. cover is here. To be perfectly honest, many times for me it sounded like my very own Auf... remix, but hey, how many ways are there to remix this tune, really? ;) A few years ago this could`ve been top-notch, but the stakes have been raised a lot since then.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I have to say, I don`t think I`ve ever heard a remix whose style was so far away from the style of the original! This remix gets a lot of plus points for its innovative idea and were it not for that awful SID sound in the lead (yes, here it sounds awful!), it`d actually rock big time. But the lead sound is just so *NOT* good in front of that band playing in the background, it`s appalling. Were the lead played on a trumpet or a saxophone, I wouldn`t have thought for a second to select this to be one of my most favorite remixes, but this way I am just left wondering - how come Mahoney didn`t hear this???... (I just keep listening to this remix again and again, and I want to make it my pick of the bunch *SOOOO* bad, but that SID lead is simply bothering me a lot. Hmm, maybe if I imagined a swinging robot in a ballroom as its singing, erm, emitting sounds on top of what the band is playing... Naaah!)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Publishing a Last Ninja remix these days is not an easy thing to do since there were so many past attempts. But Solknight managed to bring out a nice remix (I especially like the opening) that stands on its own. While you won`t yell out "whoa!" when listening to his remix, but you`ll certainly enjoy it, just like I did. It`s definitely one of the better The Wilderness remixes out there, but don`t expect a lot more than that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64