Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1651 - 1680 out of 2047
[LOGIN]

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

A very well composed remix of ambient/electronica style that has a nice fat sound to it, but not the 10000 beats per minute drum sound as you might expect. And I do, got a nice sound to it - electronica or "old school" techno if you like. Remixer uses mostly own instruments, but there is a well applied sprinkle of original C64 synths if I am not mistaken, it is a bit hard to hear. Perhaps a bit in the easy listening deparment is a better description. A very nice music piece that I am finding myself listening to a lot these days.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (18/02/2003)

Well, this mix is very nice. Inspiring, well done and in the usual Trauma's funky drums mix I've heard before. Nice one, really!

I'll be pumpking you. Isn't that supposed to be _humpin'_? :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I think it is one of the better wizball remixes out there. I agree about the drum part, but I think there is too much of an infatuation with fat drum tracks out there in general :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I like unorthodox when you remix popular songs. Not much fun in Yet Another Remix of some game that sounds samey. This song is very nice to listen to. Even though some drum rhythm gets into the mix, it doesn't go overboard (giving you one of those dull "Add drum track and stir"-remixes). Very nice piano, synth thingy and is that a triangle I hear at the end? Recommended.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I've heard too many remixes where the author slaps a few synths on top of the original tune. The greatest tribute is to take the old song to a new stage like Dor-x does with this one. Why just make a 25 second remix? Thats what we got the original for (Which isn't a synth but a IREM arcade if I remember correctly?).

Anyway, Dor-x has substituted all instruments with new ones, still sounding a bit electronic which I suppose is the point. As the first reviewer pointed out, the song takes a few listening-to's but it ends up winning on me. I like it, great technical and artistic merit. Nostalgic impression inevitably suffers when you move far away from the original, perhaps that is what makes Belding so caustic in his review.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Mahoney seems to have an affinity for using voice or lyrics. And I think it's the first remix I've heard with Emil's father in it ;) The remix is ranking high on technical merit - getting those voices to work in a song - my hat off. Artistic impression ,well most of it is just a nice slow drum not much there. I guess all the hard work went into the voices and lyrics. As usual with mahoneys remixes I am undecided for a while whether I like them or not. I decided that this remix is good as another remix that isn't just a few synths slapped ontop of an old song. Originality factor high .) And it's not just quaint but also because it's with humor. And it got panting women in extasy as well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Abbott always make remixes of a very high technical quality. Therefore I found this very simple tune to be a delightful listen. He has substituted many if not all of the original instruments with great skill. The song is cheery and happy and simple, one you can go and whistle to yourself and drive your co-workers nuts with. Great nostalgic value, and kudos for picking one of the less popular tunes out there. Also Finders Keepers was one of the first MasterTronic games I owned, so extra spice for nostalgia.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by a0d (18/02/2003)

Sorry for all you enthousiastic Cauldron II mixers out there. The final Cauldron II has been done.
This version offers everything. A typical acapella Trauma start with a 21st century beat kicking in at the right moment. Then building up to a Nine Inch Nails kind of final haunting you way after the tune has finished. If that isn't in spirit with the (mostly hard and frustrating) game I have no idea what is!
I can imagine that a lot of people from the BIT generation are not into this kind of mixing but condemning them for that would be unfair. Because in my opinion it is all still about creativity and fun...

Bit muddy on the mixing, though, for the techno-boffins but nonetheless great!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Arkanoid is a popular tune to remix. This remix suffers in my taste from being too close to the original. A lot of the original SID sound is applied, but it has been done earlier. So it is hard to discerne what the remixer is adding to the general song except a bit of extra instruments to add to the overall soundscape. In the end it is a quite dull remix to my taste, particularly because I've heard so many other 'Noid remixes - so a new one has to put a certain spin on it that I haven't heard before. People all new to arkanoid remixes might rate different than I. From earlier with other songs I think that FTC can do well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Very great review, rating up there with the masters of ambience Mike Oldfield. I am particularly fond of the guitar. When I first heard the chanting female voice I thought "Oh my god, not ANOTHER one". But quickly, i realized that this was indeed very fit. This remix both reveres the old and build it's own style. Which is also why I rate it less in nostalgia - it reminds a little of Zoids but is clearly strongly it's own work. I mean, I am not really thinking of zoids here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beyond (18/02/2003)

I like this remix - it is simple and yet it has a good groove.

Some of the "metallic" chords are just a tad too loud. But the sound effects are just perfect as well as the usage of new exciting drum sounds.

Nostalgic, hmmm, I'd rather say it most definately revives the tune.

"Three thumbs up!" :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by maharishi (17/02/2003)

Let me say first of all that I am a good friend of Larsec in real life, and I that I am not blessed with any musical skills whatsoever, except an occasional and passionate desire to break out in song or discreet humming of tunes :-)
I do appreciate music most definetely, though, but as an inductor of emotions and memories. I often react strongly emotionally to tunes because of what they bring forward in me. Its kind of like a surge of goosebumps that rushes my body. (I have heard Christians refer to it as the Holy Spirit :-) lol)
Hmm, I'd better get to the point. I signed up as a member on the site just to be able to write this, and it's all because of you Larsec! I don't have any terms to describe any of the technical diddeleyidoo, that you fuss around with, but let me congratulate you anyway with the a purely emotional judgement I can humbly give. I love it Larsec. It gave me that surge of energy when the solo begins at 6.31 and a strong sensation of sadness and beauty followed and giving the fact that I just fell in love (another story, but you know that one, hehe ;-) ) it speaks even more to me.

Keep up the spirit and life will bring you to the forefront of music, my friend. At least that is my wish for you.

Anders Lillemand
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mattsid (17/02/2003)

I waited for this remix much time! :-)
I like too much this David Whittaker tune (The Tube was one of my first game on c64) ... your remix is great but not perfect... sincerely I prefer the true SID sound... you can re-remix and improve the original sound ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (17/02/2003)

This remix is so beautiful, I'm actually lacking the words to describe how beautiful. The whole thing sounds like a movie score, comparable to Dune, Blade Runner and Terminator (which have all great movie scores) ;)

I've listened to this mix a thousand times, and will propably listen to it a thousand times more. Please, more of the same, Larsec!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (17/02/2003)

Ay carramba! What a great remix! Technically, it's perfect: great mixing/mastering, overall quality and selection of sounds. Artistically, Trauma spills creativity all over the place, combining various styles into something unique - yet it works perfectly. This remix slowly but constantly builds up until it finally culminates in a musical frenzy. The lyrics and the clever implementation of Richard Joseph's original tune do all to spark nostalgia.

I wouldn't have thought it was possible to make a remix of this SID I'd like even more than the 909Sadist's! But here it is! (be sure to check them both out) :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by monty (17/02/2003)

I like this remix very much. It comes cool and decent but has underlying power. You can feel the floating energy. And it's so beautifully electronic! ;-)
At first listen you may find that it has some wrong sounding edges but if you are going deeper into this tune you will discover that they are a necessary part of the song's soul.

My expectations of a good remix are to catch the spirit of the original tune and maybe to upgrade it to another lever. ifadeo accomplished that, even if, in this case, I listended to the original sid AFTER listening to the remix.

Overall a great contribution to R:K:O.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by q__ (16/02/2003)

Cool, you must (or should) be a drummer :-)

I don't know if the 'casio' sound was intentional, but i think with better quality gear this would be better.
IMHO the tune itself can't carry a piece this long on itself, but the percussion in particular the 'improvisation' at around 2:30 keep it interesting.

Overall a very rhythmic piece which i like.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

It's a pitty the great harpsichord arrangement has no chance against loud percussions and a lead instrument which could be described best as a "singing saw", it literally gets buried - eewh!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

Considering how Instant Remedy started out, Sonic Wanderer's attempt sounds much like he's in the early steps of Instant Remedy. For a club remix, however, this one starts too late with stomping drums (at 1:22). The middle part with bass-line and steady percussions is better, but also has a questionable sequence where the rhythm is changed abruptly. Another thing that could be replaced or changed is the dominating Arpeggio in the background which is too close to the lead. Else this is a nice effort.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

Entertaining..., but hey, what is "Moon Patrol"? The original sidtune is a 25 seconds short bass solo (well, call it melody) accompanied with weird drums. So, what this "remix" does is adding a complete own and lengthy guitar composition on top of the looping (and later modified) bass-line from Moon Patrol which makes it a complete new track rather than a remix, IMO. Hence in the category of a "SID remix", I think this one performs a poor job.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

A straight-forward extended SID cover which means it contains a few samples from the original sidtune, but replaces most of the instruments and percussions. In this "enhanced sidtune" category, however, it does a good job. In particular I enjoyed a great bass-line and drums.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

A mixture between "a capella", lyrics, Kraftwerk-style electro drums, club-music and heavy metal near the end. In other words, a real strange mixture, and although I agree it may be a very creative piece of music, I can't get accustomed to weird stuff like this and I'm not impressed at all with what it does to the Cauldron (Hexenküche) theme and its atmosphere

I think this mp3 has a very limited and special target group. It's not anything I would recommend as a download.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

While a selection of good and smooth sounding sounds was used, this track covers parts of the original sidtune in a quite too repetitive way for a bit more than four minutes. I wish it would cover more of the sidtune and would attempt at one or two variations. If you're looking for a track to become sleepy, this is one. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Makke (16/02/2003)

I liked the first version of this remix when I first heard it, and I still like it though there are far better remixes of Sanxion around. This version is in my ears nothing more than the old remix with some loops on top of it, which I personally don't feel add anything of relevance to the song. The production quality is not exactly top drawer, and I don't particularly like it at all.

It was probably more fun to make than it is to listen to. At least IMHO.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Makke (16/02/2003)

First I was only going to rate this as "good", but Dor-X's songs can take a few spins to "fully grasp". So after a few more spins it changed my mind to Very Good. Because it is! It has great production, a really bluesy feel to it with a mixture of synthesized sounds and guitar.

This might not be something everyone "can dig". But give it a chance or two and you might just discover something new. (Hohoho, I rhymed!)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by _pld_ (15/02/2003)

Superb! Is there any genre you CANNOT do?
I've heard all the mixes and covers you have on this site, and I'm truly impressed...you are an exellent musician, indeed!
I still remember when I got the noisetracker you made a long time ago, with the Mahoney and Kaktus logo, if I remember correctly...and I did make much noise with it =)

Nothing half-hearted in your music...if it says "Spandau Ballet Mix", you can actually wonder if it was made by Spandau Ballet...could've fooled me =)

And THIS tune is just beautiful :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

Too much filtering used throughout the 6:25 mix of several Turrican songs gives an overall too muffled sound. The used sounds/instruments mainly sound cheap, too. Additionally, the remix doesn't concentrate on any theme either which makes it a bit of a boring random concatenation of unfinished Turrican cover versions.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

The rating of this remix is solely based on what the remix has to offer since hearing the name of the sidtune doesn't ring a bell. The high quality of sounds used in the remix, the modulations in the bass-line, drop of percussions and a piano part in the end, and the overall hypnotic atmosphere (in a good sense), make this an outstanding piece of music.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

Simply fantastic! Despite being one of the old(er) remixes -- with some of the release dates being wrong --, it extends and improves the Star Paws SID source material so much with synth sounds and modern equipment, it's unbelievable. A real master-piece with Jarre-feeling in several places and being rich in timbre from beginning till end. Hard to beat.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

Extra-ordinary enhanced version of the sidtune, albeit straight-forward and with a few original SID samples in some important places where they are used for effects and percussions like pulse-modulation drums (which in my opinion was a good decision and results in a nostalgia bonus). The arranger has replaced and added enough to make this a 6:36 long enjoyable synth-track with a well-chosen set of sounds and instruments.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 ⋅⋅⋅ 67 68 69