Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1651 - 1680 out of 1927
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A very unusual approach to Arkanoid, tilting it more towards the ambient side, although the famous drums and beeps are kept intact. Lots of filtered analogish sounds, a very nice concept overall that I think works rather well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Personally, I don`t find anything Jarresque in this cover despite the fact that I consider myself a big fan of Jarre. Maybe, only maybe I can sort of imagine its style being a mix of Chronologie and Oxy 7-13, but that`s a stretch. Nevertheless, this is one superb cover, albeit a bit too bright for my ears. (Perhaps I am just getting old?) More or less it follows the predictable path of a typical Cybi II remix, but it`s very well produced and it sounds pretty "clean", if I may say so. A bit thin here and there, but other than that there`s hardly anything wrong with this cover!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A bit too rich with drums for my taste (which feeling might actually be caused by that brassy bass), but otherwise a decent remix with carefully selected instruments for the different parts of the lead. But the sound quality of the instruments is subpar, causing the overall mix sound more mushy than it really should. Kinda groovy, too, which helps a lot.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The beginning is very promising with some cool sounding drums, then it slowly builds up with very synthy instruments - and that is where it became less impressive. This build-up just stops when the main melody-line comes in. I have to say, I am very impressed with the final mixing of this remix, though. Musically, it`s not as good as the opening bars suggested to me, but it has a cool bouncy feeling to it and it`s worth listening to.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Obviously, there was a Druid remix compo recently that I missed... This is also an above average cover with relatively rich instruments. Nice arrangement, I think it`s rather pleasant just listening to it. Soundwise it has that "sampler" feeling, productionwise it`s well balanced. Recommended for download.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Interestingly, it sounds rather simplistic. Not bad, but nothing to get too excited over.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Not an elaborate cover, but at least it adds some personal touch to Druid. Again, it has more potential than what it actually delivers. Quite nice and worth a download, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Another attempt at remixing Ben`s famous Wilderness tune from LN. If the game was written in the style of this remix, it`d be a high-paced fast-action car- chases-galore game resembling a Hollywood blockbuster. Personally, I think this remix goes over the top, which may be due to a problem with the mixing or with the arrangement. I would be tempted *not* to recommend this remix to those with weak heart conditions, and nobody should listen to this tune in a car, otherwise you are guaranteed to be clocked by a traffipax at two times the posted speed limit. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I suppose "Kocmoc" here is the Russian spelling of Cosmos... This remix is quite weird, certainly surprising and different. Unfortunately, it never really builds up and the constant repetition of the introductory sequence becomes boring pretty fast. The vocoded "Krakout" speech sample is kinda cool, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Yet another awesome remix by Mahoney that is completely screwed up by the original SID sounds. Yes, I know this was an artistic choice, but for crying out loud, it sounds like crap this way! I`m sorry, I just don`t get it. Believe me, I was actually scratching my head as I listened to this remix. It`s like seeing a Michelangelo painting (= the superb Spandau Ballet-like accompaniment) that has two large blue stripes painted over it by a child ( = the SID sounds) - kinda ruins the whole thing, doesn`t it?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Sounds like something that was made on a cheap Casio synth which has all those auto-accompaniment features. Seriously! Not bad, but nothing to get excited about. Keeps it high-speed throughout the remix which makes it enjoyable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A pretty good dance-remix of our beloved Zombie Nation tu-... erm, Lazy Jones tunes. The individual jingles are seamlessly stitched together into one 4 minute remix. Add some great drums and synth strings, do a great job of mixing the whole thing - definitely worth a listen.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Not bad, not bad. The panned drums tell me that this tune may have been an XM or S3M originally. A solid average remix, pretty much everything you`d expect from an Auf.. cover is here. To be perfectly honest, many times for me it sounded like my very own Auf... remix, but hey, how many ways are there to remix this tune, really? ;) A few years ago this could`ve been top-notch, but the stakes have been raised a lot since then.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I have to say, I don`t think I`ve ever heard a remix whose style was so far away from the style of the original! This remix gets a lot of plus points for its innovative idea and were it not for that awful SID sound in the lead (yes, here it sounds awful!), it`d actually rock big time. But the lead sound is just so *NOT* good in front of that band playing in the background, it`s appalling. Were the lead played on a trumpet or a saxophone, I wouldn`t have thought for a second to select this to be one of my most favorite remixes, but this way I am just left wondering - how come Mahoney didn`t hear this???... (I just keep listening to this remix again and again, and I want to make it my pick of the bunch *SOOOO* bad, but that SID lead is simply bothering me a lot. Hmm, maybe if I imagined a swinging robot in a ballroom as its singing, erm, emitting sounds on top of what the band is playing... Naaah!)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Publishing a Last Ninja remix these days is not an easy thing to do since there were so many past attempts. But Solknight managed to bring out a nice remix (I especially like the opening) that stands on its own. While you won`t yell out "whoa!" when listening to his remix, but you`ll certainly enjoy it, just like I did. It`s definitely one of the better The Wilderness remixes out there, but don`t expect a lot more than that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Was there a Vertigo remix compo I missed? :-) This one is done with electric guitars, which is something I like, but after hearing Flatline`s remix, I don`t think it`s the right way to remix this tune. Axeman is playing his heart out to get this one done, which I do value and I like this display of his skills, he just didn`t pick the right tune for it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

While I found the Myth Title Remix a bit underdone, this one is a bit overdone. I am quite impressed with this remix, and I think it`s above average, but I don`t quite think it`s in that upper 10%. Probably the presence of too many high frequencies is what`s bothering my ears here - it`s like when I am driving at night and suddenly I am blinded by the bright light of an oncoming car. All in all, kudos to Ollas - but it`s just a hair shy of being my pick.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Promising start with the original SID left in the mix. Then it transforms into a fairly decent remix. Parts of the final mix of this tune sound rather strange to me - some instruments are panned hard left, an almost total lack of any effects (the remix sounds pretty dry to me)... I think, the choice of instruments is not bad, but the overall result sounds a tiny bit icky to me. This remix shows more potential than what it actually delivers. Still, a good contender in the mid-pack.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Musically, it starts out pretty awesome. Production-wise it could`ve used better mixing throughout. The choice of deep strings and the pounding timpani in the beginning and then just a hint of the lead here and there - perfect! In the middle it switches (or tries switching) gears (like the original SID) - and this is where it gets a bit disappointing: where is the punch, the power, the in-your-face scariness? Instead of becoming an "I`ll hunt you down, Last Ninja!"-type threat it remains relatively mellow and dark. Great first half, fairly decent second half, but this second half is what prevents it from being my pick. Highly recommended for download, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Your typical SID conversion done with the "traditional" synth instruments, this might even be an XM or S3M recorded into MP3. It`s lacking depth, but otherwise it`s a pretty solid average remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Well, it`s painfully obvious that N-Trace didn`t have access to better sounding equipment for his previously reviewed remixes, and although his repertoir of instruments got expanded here, it still remains an about average remix. If you want to hear unique remixes, this shouldn`t be one of your choices. Solid remix, but it doesn`t stand out in the crowd.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Good opening, but I can`t shake the feeling that I heard the exact same riff in another SID remix before... It seems danceaway fell in love with that opening riff and he just couldn`t use it enough times. Which is too bad, as it works well for an opening but it became pretty irritating pretty fast after that. In fact, I couldn`t concentrate on anything else but that damn riff! Which may not have been that bad, since this tune barely hits average on my remix-o-meter... Then what bothered me was the off-key lead. Or maybe it`s not off-key, but it certainly made me say "Huhh?". For a dance tune it`s not very dancey (and there are dance-remixes out there that are a helluva lot better), for a Phantoms remix it`s rather weak. It`s oh-kay, but I wouldn`t recommend it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Now here is something that has a clear direction, makes perfect musical sense and is also very emotional! Sure, it`s a cover of a cover, but a very, very well done one! And the fact that it`s done in Morricone`s style in an absolutely immaculate fashion - I don`t think perfect even begins to describe it. Three cheers for Axel!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Starts out with the original SID then adds drums to it, then adds more drums to it - and that`s it!? Rather disappointing. I expected the tune to slowly transform into a very cool giant club mix, instead it just sits there lamely. Whoever did this wasn`t thinking.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Those super-short little sounds don`t work here for the lead. Which is too bad, because otherwise it`d be a pretty good sounding tune. The main problem with them is that they make the otherwise touching melody sound extremely inhuman. Did Honorabili actually listen to this tune before converting it to MP3?...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I can kinda see how this tune would lend itself to a Hawaiian makeover, but not this way.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This could`ve been pretty interesting, but it`s poorly done and is too short. Why do some people release half-done tunes?…
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

WTF is this? And what does it have to do with Pole Position? Utter crap.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Ha-ha!!! This is fun-ny! :-) The hopping sounds, the laughing clown, the thumping base drum - this is hilarious!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Sounds like a GMIDI conversion played on an SB soundcard with orchestral SoundFonts. Not particularly interesting, especially since Slamball itself is a Bach cover…
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65