Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1711 - 1740 out of 1912
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I dunno. I think, Reyn Ouwehand created the ultimate cover of this tune (or a portion of it) in his "Asian Legends" track on his Nexus album. This one tries a similar approach with guitars, pianos, strings, etc., but the overall result is not that great. It also gets a bit boring as it goes on, as nothing changes in the cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Covering an obscure tune by DRAX. Well, obscure to me: the first time I heard this SID was today when I searched for it in HVSC before listening to this cover... I think a saxophone would`ve worked better for the lead, as this tune has that jazzy feel to it, too. Otherwise, it`s as average as the original SID.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Cover of a SID I am not familiar with (read: have not heard it before HVSC came along). So, not much I can say about this one. It definitely sounds better than the previous ones by Oedipus, but again, I am not blown away by it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Ouch. That was my first reaction to this cover. Now that I listened to it 2-3 times, my reaction is still "ouch", but with less pain. Using esentially the same instrumentation as for the above 2 covers by Oedipus, what worked for Ark Pandora doesn`t work for Eliminator. Also, Oedipus, have you ever heard of a technique called pitch bending? And why on Earth did you castrate this tune to a length of about 3:30? (Although I have to admit: Jeroen`s original SID does tend to get a bit boring and monotonous toward the end.) Choices that I do not like. Still, it`s a nice effort and has its moments (esp. when those funky short chords kick in here and there), and I`m glad somebody had the guts to make a cover of it. I just wish it was done better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

We`ve all heard Warhawk covers before. In fact, BIT2 has an excellent Warhawk cover on it. This one is not as good as that one, but it`s pretty good. It has a lot more spacey-ambient feel to it, due to the lots of reverb and echo in it, plus the carefully selected "mellow" instruments. I think it`s a very nice cover, although I wouldn`t select it as the soundtrack to that shoot-em-up C64 game. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Starts out okay - but then it just remains okay. I expected more from David who gave us such great remixes before. Oh, no, there are even leftover arpeggios here and there! Starting at 1:11 I like that "whining" sound in the left channel. But this is the only highlight in this tune, the rest is just average stuff. Too bad, because I had high expectations for David.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Starts out with the untouched original SID, then SAM, the C64`s speech synthetizer announces that now comes the same thing with "real cool sounds" - and BOOM! I am bombarded by this techno-cover of AMJ`s tune. Like with Cyberworld, it was a good choice for this SID.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I have heard better LN2 covers. This one sounds weak (the instrument selection is at times rather questionable) and unpolished. Sometimes it sounds like it was put together in just a few minutes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

No, no, no, no, no! Another misfired attempt. Unlike Commando, though, it actually comes close to what I would make of this tune: harp for the background, a sharp brass-like lead, and later expand the tune with some choir. Also, nice fadeout at the end! What`s bad here is the inclusion of that bass. That was a big no-no! Another big no-no: the lead doesn`t change from the brass-like instrument to a more dull one, like in the SID... Gosh, people, you really know how to push my buttons, forcing me to do this myself! ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

"Retro" in the sense that it has samples from the original SID in it, but it sounds good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Umm, it`s an interesting attempt at covering some of the tunes of the game, but as a whole, it just doesn`t work for me. We can hear big bells, good drums, and all kinds of other instruments in this MP3, but it has no soul. Plus, Hülsbeck already showed us how these tunes should be covered.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A much underrated tune by Jonathan Dunn. I`m glad somebody had the guts to cover it. This cover sounds a little dull to me, again, like if it`s really a module, not a pure synth MP3. Not bad, not bad, but it closely approaches that average crowd I talked about before.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

On the plus side, it is a cover of a rarely remixed tune. It is also not bad if we don`t listen to that synth-choir "bass" line. I kinda expected something more, like an expanded version of the theme, but alas, I didn`t get it. Too bad - this was very promising.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I like remixes that stay true to the spirit of the original SIDs! This hilariously funny cover does just that, and sounds like a track off the old The Hillbillies TV series, complete with "yahoo!" shouts and bleating sheep. :-) If you want a good laugh, download this MP3!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Very pleasing, very nicely done - but I am darn sure I`ve heard it somewhere before. Hmm, Chris, isn`t this your MIDI conversion?... The MP3 ID says "arr. from midifile". Arranged? This is *it*! Nicely selected instruments, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

So-so, but has its good moments.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Similar to his Parallax cover, the violin here also puts a new, so far unheard view on this tune. Overall, this remix is far from being good - except for the violin (or cello, or whatever). :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This cover must be a MOD/XM, not a "pure" MP3. Because it sounds like one, and it is not very good, either. Gets good points for nice effort from me, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Jaw-dropping start! Really good! Unfortunately, the rest of the tune is a little thin on the lead, although the other parts of it (drum, bass, choir, etc.) remain good. Great switch at around 7:15, I quite like it. All in all, a pretty solid 10+ min. mix, not something that blows your head off, but coherent, even a little on the ambient side of the dance genre.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

O2`s cover reminds me a lot of that Synergy album titled "Audion" form which Hubbard liked to draw inspiration so much. The lead line in the first few minutes of the tune is somewhat soft. Some surprising synthetic voice in the middle makes for a nice break. What I am really missing both in this and SoedeSoft`s remix is the awe-inspiring buildup, similar to what is so prevalent in most early Vangelis tunes, where a simple melody line is first introduced, then it is repeated over and over again, each time adding new layers to the music. O2 did a better job in this department, but I am missing that climactic last repetition. Somehow, it just doesn`t have that "punch" to it all the way thru. (Which, IMHO, is also missing from the original SID, which might be the reason I don`t quite like it.) All in all, I prefer O2`s cover over SoedeSoft`s, although both are well done.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Matches the mood of the original, even with the added dance/jungle/house/ whatever rhythm. Retains the best sounds from the original and uses them as regular samples - smartly done.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Ugly analog base drum taints this otherwise crappy tune. Too bad - it could`ve been less bad. With that base drum it`s downright ugly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Not a bad remix at all, but nothing outstanding. It is a pretty smart remix in the sense that the whole thing fits the mood of the original LN2 tune it remixes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s an okay remix, but I like Chris Abbott`s version better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty faithful to the original, but we`ve heard Lightforce covers like this before... It`s fairly good, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s trying to make a pop love-song out of the hi-score tune. I fully expected a singer coming up instead of the lead instrument. ;) (We have to write some lyrics to this song, folks! :-) A little cheesy, but it drew a smile from me. It gets boring in the middle (I think it`s missing a melody line from Monty), then - it switches to Commando hi-score! Ha-ha - great pun!!! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Original SID with breakbeats . Uses the original SID only as long samples in the tune. Two minutes into the tune the solo finally appears, which is not bad. But the tune just goes on and on building on the first few bars of the SID, and never reaches the climax. Murders the original SID. Avoid it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Well, well, this is not exactly how I always imagined this track, in fact, this is totally opposite of that - but it`s f*ing awesome! Okay, okay, I admit: the reason I like this cover is because it sounds so much like one of my favorite composers, Jarre. :-) No, seriously, this cover is a perfect example that we are all different (thank God!), and that two people can interpret the same SID in entirely different ways. And on top if it, it`s very well done, too. Sounds like something right out of Oxygene (or O2 - get it?) or other early Jarre albums. Who would`ve thunk that Zoids could`ve been composed by JMJ?... I am impressed! (Maybe I should play a little prank on the people of the Jarre mailing list and present this track to them as a recently unearthed, so far unreleased early Jarre composition. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty funny. ;) Like it should be! This remix starts out pretty simple, but in the middle there are things added to it that make it into something bigger. I like the use of filtered lead instruments. I quite like this cover!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s always strange to hear Chris Hülsbeck remixes/covers, since we all know his signature style from his CD albums. Per, also take note that Chris never used arpeggios in his remakes like you do in this MP3 starting at 1:30... The cover sticks to the original arrangement (which, IMHO, is pretty good to begin with - any change can only screw it up :-), but overall it sounds a little thin, less bombastic than the original SID. But it`s definitely a keeper.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64