Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1711 - 1740 out of 2078
[LOGIN]

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

Extra-ordinary enhanced version of the sidtune, albeit straight-forward and with a few original SID samples in some important places where they are used for effects and percussions like pulse-modulation drums (which in my opinion was a good decision and results in a nostalgia bonus). The arranger has replaced and added enough to make this a 6:36 long enjoyable synth-track with a well-chosen set of sounds and instruments.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

It's a fast-paced dance-floor version which contains clearly recognizable parts of Lightforce. So don't expect a full cover. The dance-floor style makes quite a difference. It also doesn't attempt on covering several of the impressive SID modulations found in the original. But it's a fine attempt on a dance-remix of Lightforce which benefits from strong source material and a good selection of sounds. It's somewhere between a "GOOD" and a "VERY GOOD" remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (05/02/2003)

Even when there are no lyrics used , these "doo-doos" are really catchy. A well done production,clever arranged and mixed ! It's a must download for all of you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

When is a Thrust remix not a Thrust remix? When you get Phil Bak on the case. It's definitely the famous track... just not as you may have heard it before! Try it... you might like it :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

A constant buildup, layering different ways of playing the same passage without it getting repetitive. Definitely my favourite NtW remix out there.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

Ah... Lala can sum things up well here. The improvisation part is extremely clever, engaging and listenable. It is also very similar in places to Jeroen Tel's intro piece for Robocop 3. But seeing as I enjoy that as well, it doesn't make much of a difference.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

Yet another SID I was not familiar with before listening to the remix. And what a remix it is. I almost thought it could have been from a film score, given the basis of the original track and what is has been turned into here. The current score shows this is vastly under-rated at this moment in time. Sounding slightly like Tangerine Dream and sometimes minimalistic, the various chords swirl round your brain like some drug. I have listened to the track countless times and I am still not bored with it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

I'm gonna disagree with Chris here... I LIKE the minor chord at the start! But that's the musical tastes now? This has a special place for me as this is the first SID remix I actually listened to way back then. And it still holds up well today, inaccuracies or no inaccuracies.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

You have to admire their balls in doing this cover now! Thankfully it works on all levels, even if the lyrics are a little cheesy (but what songs today aren't?).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

This is still my favourite remix of all time. Even though it may be over 3 years old and plenty more tracks have better sounds, better tempo, better style. It still rocks. The restyled version on his album just backs up this original version still better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

Kung Fu Bouff indeed... it doesn't let up, it keeps ripping into your ears for the full 7 minutes. And the Monty on the Run section deserves its own independent cover in that style as it surpasses PPOT's effort in my opinion.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

Sometimes it is a wonderful surprise to "discover" a SID track that you didn't know before you had listened to a remix of it. Such was the case here. A barely 3 minute long track has been expanded, improved and generally tarted up with instruments and vocals to produce a wonderful aural experience. Perhaps a little similar in nature to the previous Firelord track, nevertheless still a definite download to be had.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by amarok (05/02/2003)

There is only one word to sum-up this remix, and that is 'AWESOME'! There's also only one way to listen to this remix, and that is LOUD! Right from the start the drums put you in the mood, then when the jazzy intro comes in you're well away. Not many people could pull off remixing Spellbound into a Swing mix, but Mahoney did it, and did it brilliantly. I have to say that this is (to-date) my favourite C64-remix, and it's certainly one of the most original remixes I've heard. It's technically sound - all the individual parts can be heard with amazing clarity, and the piece never gets boring or repetitive. It's not too long, nor too short, and the whole thing fits together like a glove. Don't expect this remix to stir lots of nostalgic emotions within you though, because let's face it: the original Spellbound was not a swing piece! Even so, the main melody is there and is easily distinguishable from the rest of the parts. If you haven't heard it yet, what are you waiting for? Download it now!! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by datucker (04/02/2003)

Orchestral remakes seem to be quite popular now. This is another one. The arrangement is good. The choosen sounds are good. In a musical way the remake is good.

The only flaw of this remake is that (no offence to LaLa!) it just doesn't sound like a orchestra. I think that is due to the equipment used: I hear a synth trying to sound like an orchestra but which is still a synth. If this remake would be remastered using some high-end equipment, it really could sound way cool because from a musical view it is good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by datucker (04/02/2003)

This remake of Lightforce is basically interesting. I say basically because I like idea but the sounds are a bit too agressive. The mixing is not very good. It sounds somehow a bit LoFi, it doesn't have much stereo effects. Besides the different channels aren't well balanced: sometimes one channel overtakes all others because it's just to loud. It's like listening to some old radio-cassette-tape which is very, very old.

In brief: the musical idea is good :-), the mixing-part could be done better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (04/02/2003)

I find it somewhat difficult to judge this remix. There's a impressive blend of sound effects, but musically I think this remix has degraded from the original tune. It would still make a good backdrop in a platform game. Well...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (04/02/2003)

I keep coming back to this tune after lots of C64 remakes. I've never heard the original tune so I don't have any nostalgic feelings but there are feelings in this remix! The style isn't what I usually listen to, but this one triggered my interest. Well done guitar play, nice distortion, sound effects are not overdone, and some noisy 8-bit samples. A refreshing combination.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

J Lof manages to breath new life into one of the most remixed tunes simply by speeding it up. That and choosing killer sounds for his remix. :-) Add a rather danceable rhythm to this bowl of soup and you got one pretty good Lightforce cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Strangely appealing and decidedly electronic, this remix is not trying to do too much but still achieves a lot. I quite like the bass sound in it and the whole electronic feel that it projects.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I`ve heard so many remixes of the various Commando tunes, I lost count. This one starts very slow with a single wind instrument playing the lead of the hi- score tune - a very nice piece of remix. Then it switches to the main theme with a more grandiose style. High marks for choosing a SID tune that doesn`t lend itself naturally to the symphonic treatment, but except for a few inspired spots (which are mostly where the choir is audible) I find the arrangement crooked and somewhat misdirected. Also, most of the instruments are panned dead center which sounds especially unnatural in a symphonic piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Starts out like any regular WotF cover: very oriental in nature, ambient, serene. Then at around 1:20 more drums and a dancey bass kick in and the ambience is gone, but it actually works out quite nicely as they blend into the overall structure well. I think this is a very good high quality remix, if somewhat unorthodox in its approach.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I`m not sure how to categorize this remix: I think it`s a cross between a symphonic piece and good old Western-style music a la Morricone (whistling plus harmonicas - what else can it be? :-). Doesn`t take itself very seriously, but not in a sarcastic, rather in a joyful way. It`s bound to cheer you up! I`m impressed by the quality of this remix, but I don`t quite agree with the arrangement all the time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

In contrast to Dr. Future`s version, this is a fast-paced dance version of the same Hülsbeck tune. Maybe the style is not a very original one, but it`s done fairly well and is definitely danceable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I think the bass actually sounds better in this one, but I liked the lead better in the "2002 remake". Jarno needs to combine the best of his two mixes to create a better one. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It starts with some moody harps but it continues with more carefully selected wind instruments. It then evolves into a very "masculine" theme that is alternated with peaceful solos, creating a sort of emotional roller-coaster ride in just 3 minutes. Markus shows some pretty impressive mastery of the symphonic domain here, even though at times his piece suffers from too synthy instruments. But he did the best he could with what he had and the result is awe-inspiring.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This remix seems to have everything: it`s a full and complete cover of the original SID, the instruments radiate a sort of 80`s synth-feel... But somehow the overall feeling of this cover is not as good as the sum of its parts. There are bits and pieces of it that are pretty awesome (like that stabbing bass in the opening minute, that pad sound that is a cross between a choir and a flute, that nice break in the middle, etc.), but at times it sounds cheap and kitschy, which is unfortunate.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

In spirit it`s similar to Reyn`s superb version (available on "Nexus 6581") with acoustic instruments and such, but it`s thinner and less developed. Not a bad arrangement at all, but it sounds like it could`ve used more work. Especially that ugly bridge section in the middle. But I really like the guitar licks featured in it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is a bloody awesome cover in the style of Kraftwerk, more specificly their Electric Café album! Complete with the typical minimalistic drums, the minimalistic music structure - and even singing! It is really good, and although I think the singing could`ve been more "robotic" and the lead sound a bit more Kraftwerky, all in all, it`s one very good piece of work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Although the novelty value of SID remixes with lyrics probably wore off by now, I still find them rather interesting. Especially this one - pay close attention to the singing. I quite like its lyrics! "Follow me back in time!" :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A rare remix from an HVSC Crew member (Andreas and myself also tried remixing SID tunes). He chose one of my favorite LN tunes and did a respectable job of bringing it to a more modern sound environment. I like the choice of sax (?) for the lead, but unfortunately some of the slides seem to drift off-key at times. This cover would sound even better with a purely acoustic treatment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 ⋅⋅⋅ 68 69 70