Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1711 - 1740 out of 1900
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

On the plus side, it is a cover of a rarely remixed tune. It is also not bad if we don`t listen to that synth-choir "bass" line. I kinda expected something more, like an expanded version of the theme, but alas, I didn`t get it. Too bad - this was very promising.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I like remixes that stay true to the spirit of the original SIDs! This hilariously funny cover does just that, and sounds like a track off the old The Hillbillies TV series, complete with "yahoo!" shouts and bleating sheep. :-) If you want a good laugh, download this MP3!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Very pleasing, very nicely done - but I am darn sure I`ve heard it somewhere before. Hmm, Chris, isn`t this your MIDI conversion?... The MP3 ID says "arr. from midifile". Arranged? This is *it*! Nicely selected instruments, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

So-so, but has its good moments.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Similar to his Parallax cover, the violin here also puts a new, so far unheard view on this tune. Overall, this remix is far from being good - except for the violin (or cello, or whatever). :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This cover must be a MOD/XM, not a "pure" MP3. Because it sounds like one, and it is not very good, either. Gets good points for nice effort from me, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Jaw-dropping start! Really good! Unfortunately, the rest of the tune is a little thin on the lead, although the other parts of it (drum, bass, choir, etc.) remain good. Great switch at around 7:15, I quite like it. All in all, a pretty solid 10+ min. mix, not something that blows your head off, but coherent, even a little on the ambient side of the dance genre.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

O2`s cover reminds me a lot of that Synergy album titled "Audion" form which Hubbard liked to draw inspiration so much. The lead line in the first few minutes of the tune is somewhat soft. Some surprising synthetic voice in the middle makes for a nice break. What I am really missing both in this and SoedeSoft`s remix is the awe-inspiring buildup, similar to what is so prevalent in most early Vangelis tunes, where a simple melody line is first introduced, then it is repeated over and over again, each time adding new layers to the music. O2 did a better job in this department, but I am missing that climactic last repetition. Somehow, it just doesn`t have that "punch" to it all the way thru. (Which, IMHO, is also missing from the original SID, which might be the reason I don`t quite like it.) All in all, I prefer O2`s cover over SoedeSoft`s, although both are well done.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Matches the mood of the original, even with the added dance/jungle/house/ whatever rhythm. Retains the best sounds from the original and uses them as regular samples - smartly done.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Ugly analog base drum taints this otherwise crappy tune. Too bad - it could`ve been less bad. With that base drum it`s downright ugly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Not a bad remix at all, but nothing outstanding. It is a pretty smart remix in the sense that the whole thing fits the mood of the original LN2 tune it remixes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s an okay remix, but I like Chris Abbott`s version better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty faithful to the original, but we`ve heard Lightforce covers like this before... It`s fairly good, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s trying to make a pop love-song out of the hi-score tune. I fully expected a singer coming up instead of the lead instrument. ;) (We have to write some lyrics to this song, folks! :-) A little cheesy, but it drew a smile from me. It gets boring in the middle (I think it`s missing a melody line from Monty), then - it switches to Commando hi-score! Ha-ha - great pun!!! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Original SID with breakbeats . Uses the original SID only as long samples in the tune. Two minutes into the tune the solo finally appears, which is not bad. But the tune just goes on and on building on the first few bars of the SID, and never reaches the climax. Murders the original SID. Avoid it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Well, well, this is not exactly how I always imagined this track, in fact, this is totally opposite of that - but it`s f*ing awesome! Okay, okay, I admit: the reason I like this cover is because it sounds so much like one of my favorite composers, Jarre. :-) No, seriously, this cover is a perfect example that we are all different (thank God!), and that two people can interpret the same SID in entirely different ways. And on top if it, it`s very well done, too. Sounds like something right out of Oxygene (or O2 - get it?) or other early Jarre albums. Who would`ve thunk that Zoids could`ve been composed by JMJ?... I am impressed! (Maybe I should play a little prank on the people of the Jarre mailing list and present this track to them as a recently unearthed, so far unreleased early Jarre composition. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty funny. ;) Like it should be! This remix starts out pretty simple, but in the middle there are things added to it that make it into something bigger. I like the use of filtered lead instruments. I quite like this cover!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s always strange to hear Chris Hülsbeck remixes/covers, since we all know his signature style from his CD albums. Per, also take note that Chris never used arpeggios in his remakes like you do in this MP3 starting at 1:30... The cover sticks to the original arrangement (which, IMHO, is pretty good to begin with - any change can only screw it up :-), but overall it sounds a little thin, less bombastic than the original SID. But it`s definitely a keeper.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty much what you`d expect here: starts with string pads, goes on with `fantasia`-style bright pads (possibly some stock sounds from a synth), but the addition of the harp is nice. The middle livens up a little (with stock (?) brass lead), but at that point, it feels like it`s just dragging on. The closing choir is a nice touch again.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A little-known DRAX tune is covered here (hey, it was little-known to me! :-), or shall I say, plagiarized. I just don`t hear what was added to this... this... whatever. I can add reverb and simple drums to SIDs myself, but that wouldn`t make me a good arranger, would it? Same here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Same tune, same arranger, slightly different mix. Same comments, although I like this remix a tad better than the previous one.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A remix of tune #2 with some bits and pieces of the SID left intact. I can`t say I am very impressed by this cover, but it`s not that bad, either, as it has its good moments. Just not many of it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

What an idea!!! Ark Pandora as smooth jazz!! I would`ve never thought about this tune as jazz, but it sounds good! A truly unique cover of this SID! A very skillful cover, shall I say. (A little short, though - I could`ve listened to it for a few more minutes. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rauli (02/02/2003)

Guitar, organ and wishy-washu drums wobbling across the taverna floor. Playful enough to find a place in my heart, but the intro/outro messages are a bit out of place for my taste.

Cheers!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

This tune is just so Pulp Fiction! Listen to the mix, close your eyes and imagine Jules and Vincent readying their guns and approaching their targets who are hiding out in a cheesy nightclub... :-)

This remix has a great 70s feel to it; the timing problems of the distorted guitar may be a little annoying, but all in all they even add to that impression. Very well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

Watch out Massive Attack, cause here comes trip-hop in perfection. Sinister pads accompanied by a dry trippy beat, spiced up by bits and clips from the congo-bongo sid. And when you fall into the mood of this mix, suddenly it gets even better: the guitar kicks in. If you listen to this tune more than once, you'll get hooked to it.

A remix faaar from the mainstream, nevertheless an important addition to RKO. Kudos to Dor-X, propably the most overlooked remixer of the scene! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

Totally awesome! Thomas does Vangelis style again. This would fit seamlessly into the Blade Runner soundtrack. The instruments are replicated perfectly, you couldn't tell the tune from a real Vangelis track. The "Cobra" melody is incorporated properly to fit into that mood. I actually haven't heard Sylvester Levay's original, but there's no way it could be better than this!

Thus top smiley for all categories! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (31/01/2003)

Puhh... that's what i call a REMIX !! GREAT STUFF !!
I can't say more , everything is said about this remix !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pax_deis (31/01/2003)

This is great! I've never seen anything like it!
The fact that you mix the Comic Bakery Theme with Boybands*Cough!**Cough!*
Is actually a great appliance...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ms (31/01/2003)

People know that i am not a dance fan at all, but this is a must-have. Awesome in all three categories the tune is very professional and did not get boring even if it lasts 6 minutes. Ballad,Pop,Dance and Trance arranged with excellent transitions. More than innovative are the voices saying "Back in Time..." in Thanatos melody - stunning !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64