Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 151 - 180 out of 211
[LOGIN]

Review by pc_tek (10/07/2008)

The most impressive Superfrog remix tune I've heard. I hope you do the rest for us all to enjoy! *wink wink*
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ic3m4n (01/05/2008)

I do not understand people who just comment to vote a track down...But that´s a topic for the board i think.

I would have loved this song, even it would be in english, spanish, chinese or swedish. It´s the artistic aspect that counts ! And not the nationality... Back to the track:

The relation is there. Great choice of lyrics ! And they are perfectly implemented.

The original theme is very accurate recreated. If i hear those caribbean, i feel like in old times. For me this song really transports the retro-feeling. "Nostalgika in perfecta !"

The mixing coulndn´t be better...the percussions, pads...simply everything is in it´s right velocity ! Something i still try to get right ;)

But ! ... No Gem without a scratch ... it´s way too short :P - But this (personal) feeling don´t drive the rating down for me.

All three criterias are fulfilled and needs to have the tomato-face ^^

Hope to hear some more - sometimes
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nzo (30/04/2008)

Although this wasn't a track that had a lot of "remix" potential" - at least not in the musical sense, this is a fairly good attempt non-the-less. The original was written in about 90 minutes as an exercise in checking out the capabilities of a new tracker, where larger samples were permitted for the first time, thus was really a proving "test". Unfortunately, it ended up on a demo disk which found it's way into Psygnosis, and because of the pure luck of the "sample" content, it ended up being used for an appropriately named game - with a couple of tweeks. Don't be too harsh on the original, as Dr Future says.. it was a first for it's kind. The original was definately a marmite track - love it or hate it.. but this is an extremely brave and commendable attempt at recreating the old 80's feel of the original. Music can be faddish, and this was definately right at the time.. but ages badly - however, the author has done very well to retain the essence (where the hell did you get the HQ voice samples - lol) and provide a very acceptable variation on the original. Fans of the original will like it for sure, but the uninitiated will no doubt be clueless.. that also includes < 30 year olds:-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (26/09/2007)

While the sounds are OK, I mean they are decent modern representatives of the amiga samples, this is where remixing becomes an art, you need to embelish the parts that simply dont work with synth sounds, you gotta try and take what the original samples were trying to do, and take it one step further.. A good example of that is where the strums were playing repetatively, on the amiga it sounded great, cos it was strums, and they were there, but when you're using real sounds, well nobody would mindlessly strum away like that, so you have to embellish it with fingering etc.. Gotta rate this one pretty low as there seems like there wasnt much work done other than load new sounds
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (26/09/2007)

Very good, its amazing how the use of expression really gives the piece emotion that I'd never heard there before. When I remixed it for immortal 3 I cut the piece short as I felt that musically it was weak and if I continued the piece, it would have been too repetative. So it's a breath of fresh air to hear this.. Makes me wanna finish the remix.. INcidentally, the arpeggios towards the end were a "nod" to combo racer that i'd written previously..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (26/09/2007)

Nice guitar work, sadly the backing chords are a bit out of tune Lead work is good tho.. The drums could have used some more work too.. Shoot me an email and maybe we can work together on something, its always hard to find a good guitarist..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by skyrunner (04/02/2007)

A nice idea to add lyrics and the guitars to the remix. But why didn`t you add some FX like Reverb or Delay to the vocals??? They sound a little inappropriate while the guitar fits very well on the other hand. And basically the vocals are good. You clearly can sing.

You gave away a lot of potential with the vocals.
So average rating for the technical merit.

The idea is very good and I basically like the lyrics. Guitars are very good. The tune has a good range of variety and never gets boring.
A very good rating for the artistry.

The nostalgia is always difficult to judge I think.
With the added vocals its like a complete new tune but its still recognizeable.
Good rating for the Nostalgia.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2007)

Bonus score for really great fun! This would work great as a soundtrack for a cheesy 80s Turrican movie. There's a great technical flaw though - the bass track is barely audible, or at times seems inaudible.

Advise: have someone help you do a proper mix / master of this tune, and this would be a real real winner!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (24/01/2007)

Not a bad remix / arrangement. bonus points for not drowning everything in reverb.. Coulda done more with it I think.. My remix on immortal 2 for example ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (24/01/2007)

Nice remix, interesting angle, I like the rap, the octave fx are very nice.. woulda been nice to hear a little more of the original in there.. Still.. very good job..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (24/01/2007)

Nice instruments, but drowned in reverb. Would have been nice to hear some remixing other than a straight transposition. If you were going to change the "3rd segment into rock, from techno, you should have gone all out, metallica style chugging guitars in the background, and a lead played to make your ears bleed.. I'm touched that you felt the piece worthy enough to spend the time on..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Reyn (09/08/2006)

Hi there..

I read some discussion if this tune was written by Charles or by me, but it is indeed written by me.

It was made in some really low-level machinecode-type music editor. Just like the MoN one on the C-64. I couldn't use more then 8kB for the music since the game was taking so musc space already. I only used a sample for the kick and the snare and the rest were self-generated waveforms.

So you know... Great work NJoy, nice to hear that tune again after so many years...

Cheers,

Reyn

www.reyn.net
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by dream_19 (23/07/2006)

At first I must admit, that this Tune was my favourite Amiga-Tune for years. So I was quite happy to see that finally someone made a new Remix. It was about time - and it's goood.

Richard Joseph's Original was mindblasting - this remix caches the epic style of the original tune and enhanced it. The echo of the GODS-Castle wide the rememberance, pumping beats and bass takes you forward through the castle.

I love that Remix. It's definitely the best one ever made of this Masterpiece. The only thing I miss is some kind of twist. But I don't want to be pedantic - great work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by cyphax (13/06/2006)

Unfortunately I didn't hear the original and I can't find what it is so I'm gonna have to do without. So how does this song do all by itself? Simply put; great! In Dusty's previous effort, Echoing, I thought the choice of instruments/samples wasn't as good as it could've been. The same does not apply for this remix. Dusty's picks are good alltogether and the remix sounds very pleasant.

I can understand why one might think the song lacks variation but quite possibly the original didn't have any more variation either, in which case I can't blame Dusty at all.

To sum it up a little I can't really seem to find anything wrong with this, I simply really like it a lot. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by cyphax (30/03/2006)

I have somewhat mixed feelings about this remix, but alltogether let's start off by saying that I really like it. What's not to like about this mix? I think the choice for the leads wasn't the best in most of the song, and the effect that's added to it here and there doesn't do it much good either. On the other hand there's this chorus or whatever that you first hear between 0:33 and 0:45 approx. that hits it just right and sounds very very good. Hence the mixed feeling thingie. The beat is simply fine, not particularly outstanding but it serves its purpose, like it should.
To sum things up: energetic and at times volumous remix that could be better with different leads but sounds good to excellent depending on which part of the song you're listening to. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by d.a.wilson (28/02/2006)

This mix starts off superbly - really nice choice and balance of sounds with authentic gating effects - it brought a real grin to my face as I waited for the infamous lead guitar BUT so very sadly (in my opinion) it all fell apart from that point onwards.

In my opinion the lead synth needs to be much bigger and more prominent in the mix with all the pitch bend and accents that the original had - afterall that, and the chopped up buffalo stance based loop, made the mod what it was.

I have to admit it will always be difficult to top what has to be the most famous and most loved tracker tunes of all by the most famous Amiga demo group of all time. There is a lot to live up to here.

Close but no cigar..............
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by juan (08/02/2006)

The beginning is fantastic (the first ten seconds) and gives you a false hope of what this song could be. Unfortunately, that's all about it -and it's a pity- The background guitar that leads the melody sounds a bit childish -as when you learn to compose- and the powerful beginning is lost after repetitions without variations.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (29/01/2006)

A little dreamier than I would have liked, that lead synth voice is supposed to cut thru like a razor, A few bum notes / chords. The original was very sample dependant, so it's a difficult one to remix. It's still one I'd like to redo myself.. Missed the double time drums at the end,. Good guitar work though. Might wanna work on the overall mix of the piece a little more. Clarify each instrument on its own..
Barry
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (29/01/2006)

Wow, what can I say, this is how it sounded in my head when I wrote the original.. Awesome job.. Only thing that coulda made it better was to do the tempo increase at the end and give the chorus up one last time as a finale.. Wait till you hear my remix on immortal 3 .. Barry
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Itekei (26/01/2006)

Rearranging such a splendid track can turn out to be a sacrileg very easily. Fortunately this remake is pretty good, doesn't live up to the original though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by skyrunner (08/01/2006)

This is my first review here. Dunno why but by hearing this piece of music I got animated to do it.
It seems to me that Zzr put a LOT of work into this tune. There are quite a lot of variations and diffrent parts. This leads to what I like:

I like:
-There's quite a lot of variety ,the tune stays interesting
-also an interesting remix style ,quite unusual
-I like the chosen sounds and instruments ,they fit to each other
-The two covered songs are well combined into this remix

I don't like:
-the interpretation of the melody from 0:31 to 0:51 is not my cup of tea ,it's a little too weird for me ,would have been better to have it done like the part starting at 1:23
- the part from 3:40 to 5:10 is the weakest part of the remix. It's too long. Although there are variations of the beat within ,the rythm melody stays almost the same for over a minute.

Technical impression: The diffrent parts are combined very well. Breaks fit where they are. When it comes to mixing I'm no expert. But for me it sounds well and very dynamic.

Artistic impression: Zzr knows his buisness. Well chosen sounds and much variety. Normally I don't like break beats ,but for this tune I do.
A slight minus for the part from 3:40 to 5:10.

Nostalgic impression: Hmm ,thats difficult. The themes from the covered tunes are recognizeable. But this remix doesn't stay true much to the originals. Therefore the nostalgic value is quite low.
But good new ideas are not a bad thing for sure. So the nostalgic impression is not very important in this case.

Overall I think this is a good ,well done remix although a bit unusual
but that makes it interesting. I like to listen to it ,and thats the main point to me. It's worth listening. Give it a try.
Just download it and judge yourself.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by slw (06/01/2006)

Rise up, is one of my favarite Amiga Mods, mostly because of its instruments and style, so xtc did a great job to plunge it into the 21th century with only few modifaications. GREAT WORK !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lomaxx (29/12/2005)

A fairly done remix. Sounds and mixing are ok. One thing i have to criticize is the bass-synth-part after the filters changed (@ 00:34 ). The filter-effect makes the note appear a little later than it is actually starting, making it sound delayed. A solution would be to shift the notes of that part a little bit (64th or even less), so that they would be played too early without the filtereffect, but sound timed right with the filtereffect enabled. Maybe i sound a little confusing, but i hope you at least get what i mean. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lomaxx (25/12/2005)

I like remixes that are very close to the original version. In the beginning i was discouraged to listen to the remix because of the beat. My thought: "Oh no, not another remix using a stupid disco-beat." However this is exactly how the original version starts and luckily this changes soon. So, except for one little later part, which brings up a 'BUMM BUMM BUMM', the rythm-section is rather authentic and well done.

The sounds are well chosen and i do not notice any flaws about the overall mixing.

However there is one big 'hair in the soup'. In the lead-melody some tones are played wrong as far as i can recognize (i do not consider myself to be someone with 'golden ears' though). When compared to the original version one note actually starts on the correct pitch, but is not bend up half a tone like it should. Also two other notes in the original version are played twice on the same pitch, while in the remix they differ. You might say "hey, this is a remix", but to me this sounds rather disharmonic since i am used to the orginal lead for years. Horace303, if you read this and agree with me, then try to change this! ;) It would greatly improve the remix in my opinion.

My overall impression: A well done remix, that keeps up the spirit of the original version.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by perkins (18/12/2005)

One of the greatest mods ever... just a masterpiece.
This chilling-remix is very close to the original, cool idea with the nostalgic grungelizer effect.
I like it :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by 1337 (10/12/2005)

This is the best remix of Battle Squadron I have ever heard. Keep up the great work! It was one of my fave games, and this remix is pretty close to the original mix. Kudos.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by gator (01/11/2005)

Not an elaborate or inventive remix by any means but it's such a wonderful tune anyway. Thanks for doing this. If anyone else feels like tackling James Pond 2 please do.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (31/10/2005)

This is a very curious mix and one that will likely swing you one way or the other. Amigamers mix here (as is advertised in the remix notes) contains Moricone's original tune Ecstasy of Gold but with AmiGamer playing over the top of it with his synth.

This ofcourse causes a bit of a dilema because the idea is top notch and it sounds right too but most of the hard work has been done already by moricone.

So how do you rate this? Well, you could say it just sounds great or you could feel cheated that this mostly isn't the remixers own work or even like me you appreciate it still but feel by giving it a high mark is cheating everyone including the remixer.

All i can say is that you download it and enjoy what is a great tune and make up your own mind it's value.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lyramion (30/10/2005)

90% rip of 'ecstasy of gold'.

the idea is good, but all you've done were the first 30 seconds and then copy paste ennios original. im ashamed, but i can not give you points for something you haven't done.

---
thanks for your statement. i would have appreciated it, if you had used the morricones notes/tunes instead of his complete song. you proofed that you can go in this direction with the first 30 secs. so its like tas wrote: double-edged. i changed my nostalgic vote.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by d.a.wilson (30/10/2005)

I only partly agree with Apekattsex - In my opinion this remix has a LOT of potential BUT very sadly Nightwolf has somehow screwed up the bass line big time in the break-down section (around 1:53 to 2:40). The overall instrumentation and mix in my view ideal for this particular part of the Turrican II suite which was always high energy. Good mix & recording. I really think its worth redoing the bass line and resubmitting this mix. Nice Arpeggios too...

D.A.Wilson
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8