Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 12 out of 12
[LOGIN]

Review by wobbler (18/06/2020)

Let me correct the "old LaLa" here and say that this is something absolutely fabulous. Way ahead of it's time (I guess?). Mahoney in his greatest greatness (or perhaps rock bottom – it doesn't matter really).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Ok, perhaps not a review … but wth, how did I miss JLD:s entrance to the C64-remixing community? Well, perhaps not strange at all since I don't keep up to date of each and every release on RKO. Still, a solid production, but then I don't think that the original gives away that many hints of a re-release in the shape of … well, a new tune. Sorry for this non-review but well … I just had to write what I felt when listening =)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Just posted a review of your latest drop to RKO (which was really good btw), and then found this one … Man, I have no previous recollection of hearing the original, but this totally rocks! I mean, keeping the original SID-feeling whilst maintaining a modern beat/arrangement/whatnot. Super-duper-awesome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Seems like another Swede enters the C64-remix-arena… Welcome! Judging from the production quality of this tune I can hear that you've produced a fair amount of music before trying out a C64-remix. And yes, the beat still has a decent taste of dubstep, and yes #3– it still work with the final result. Well done, and again – welcome to our little bizarre community :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

Oh, he's back-eh-makk-eh. Sort of happy that I was able to spark some sort of creative juice! And yeah, breakbeats need a big revival *makes a mental note*
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

I know, it's been remixed a hundred times, and yeah, the original is so good etc etc etc. But, this one is really minimalistic, has fresh sounds (yeah, really) and well … liked it. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (21/01/2020)

Funky and fun. This one definitely deserves a higher rating than a plain lemonish yellowesque faceluring. Only critique (guess I have to leave *some*, no?) would be the somewhat high frequencies in the lead that are rolling around.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (21/01/2020)

I do like the added drum sequences & lead + the occational glitch effects plus high frequency ending, and I do kinda like the overall work … but: too much sidechaining (like Lala said) and the bass drum + snare sound too harsh and takes over what I want to hear (if that makes any sense?)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (09/03/2019)

I hear early nineties New Order-chords in a mix of JMJ-beats. Can't be something wrong with that, can it?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (09/02/2019)

This sounds like something I would have made myself (not to say that I would actually have managed to produce, sound wise or arrangement wise), but the overall style. Like it a lot. And as LaLa wrote earlier; perhaps a tad too much reverb, but the again who am I to complain? I might even try a remix version of my own, just to see if I could reach this standard ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (07/04/2018)

I personally think that the current reviewers are a tad too harsh on this tune. The choice of sounds and assembly + production holds really well together. Regardless of you've heard the original or not (I didn't) it's a total 80-s recall. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (23/12/2017)

Yes, unz:y as hell. But there's something I can't put my greasy finger on that I lack in this arrangement. Maybe something in the choice of sounds? Or not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1