Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 16 out of 16
[LOGIN]

Review by rafael (25/04/2004)

Ah... the Desert Dream. Days gone by and all that. Actually, to start off - what really makes this remix for me is the intro with Cinemaware's "It came from the Desert" intro speech integrated - direclty from the classic three disk Amiga game. What a brilliant idea. The speech sample set the atmosphere perfectly and blends nostalgia of the game with Kefrens' amazing Amiga demo, which in fact appeared some years later but rounds up the idea of this remix nicely. Laxity wasn't really (in my view) one of the best Amiga musicians, also being coder if I remember correctly, though he did create this little masterpiece. A catchy melody, some excellent samples and an impressive standard-setting demo to go with it. But I'm off the topic now, Freekzoid's remix is really excellent too: The eerie intro, some clear and crips sounds, good porting of the original to a more modern synth sound and great mastering. The tune itself gives little room for manouvering, so Freekzoid has gone for expanding on the basic idea of the tune, leaving it shrt and simple but amazingly to-the-point. Thumbs up!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (09/04/2004)

Nicky Boom was definitely not my favourite Amiga game - at a time when platform jump' n runs were an overkill on Commodore's machine of the 90ies, I used to prefer action and action adventure games, so needless to say the tune from this game did not stick in my head (hence the grey smiley for nostalgia...). A lot of games from the UK (and this one was if I'm not mistaken) used dancefloor sounds and sample-o-ramas like Renegade's Magic Pockets, Xenon 2 and Gods, which is where this take on the Nicky Boom tune takes over from. Some strangely detuned sounds kick off the track followed by a dance environment suitable for destroying your hi-fi's sub-woofer alright. There's some straightforward arrangements here, neat production - it just lacks the bangs & whistles however. I would have liked to hear some more up to date dance sounds... Nevertheless, the track does make me smile from about half way through, with the actual melody taking over and spreading its "feel-good" vibe. Michael, my suggestion would be to re-re-mix this track, remove the slow build up at the start and throw in some more moderns effects and bass. Check out the current batch of tracks from Paul Van Dyk or Blank & Jones to see what I mean. That would probably make the yellow smiley turn into an orange one - if done correctly. Nice work, nonetheless.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (22/03/2004)

This track is strangely captivating. In general, X-out is a Huelsbeck classic and much ignored really - what a shame. The mighty intro tune is pretty well known but this little gem from the loading theme has its moments too. So at the core there's enough music in here to make for an interesting tune. Technically speaking it is, as said above, strangely surreal - I actually find the jungle-esque drums very fitting, getting the track off to a good roll. It somehow misses the spot by just a little bit, making you hope that it *really* kicks off with some fat beats and more bass, but then, instead, it calms down again and... ends? A typical case of "more would have been... erm... more".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (20/12/2003)

This remix of one of the best known and memorable Amiga demo sounds is just so neat. Back then, Red Sector was establishing themselves as the Amiga demo group. I recall with nostalgia watching the red Sector Megademos and looking forward to my own Amiga. One of the reasons I sold my 64! The instruments here are nicely selected and sound quality is good. Only gripe I'd have is the fact that it is - again - (and this is seemingly the case with most Amiga remixes so far) too straightforward. A few variations, some extra effects and a different arrangement to make it more YOUR work Cirdan, that would have been great. Still, a great track and one I'll gladly listen to over and over again.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (19/12/2003)

Wolfchild from Core Design was one of my favourite action games on the Amiga. It had nice console-like graphics and an intelligent level set-up with lots of hidden goodies. Looking back I think it didn't get the praise it deserved. Music wise, the tunes were catchy - this remix by Lomaxx is pretty faithful and seems to be quite precise. Maybe TOO precise, "remix" not being the right word. In fact, it sounds very much like something you'd expect from the same game, had it been written today with the same tools, but with more channels and effects. Ironically, that's where it scores: The nostalgic value, because it's so much like the original. So technically, there are no stuns here. The tune is faithfull, the sound quality is alright. It's just that the theme is not (musically) a stroke of genius - Lomaxx, you'd need to compensate that. A straight mix, nothing more, nothing less.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (10/12/2003)

Sigh. This is nice. Rapture (Fabian del Priore) has really captured the spirit of the original - it's also one of my favourite SIDs/Amiga sounds. The sound quality is good, there's some distinctive 80ies computer sounds in here and the conversion is faithful to the original arrangement.
If I really had to pick out one thing I don't like, I'd say it's the lack of originality - but then again it's a matter of taste.
In my view it's slightly better than Fabian's CD track on Remix64 Vol.1. Ok, it doesn't have the 80ies approach that's true, but the strength of this remix is the faithfulness. Good work Fabian.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (09/12/2003)

Now THIS is *tough*. Tough in terms of what DHS has done with the tune. I really enjoyed Huelbeck's work on Apidya and arguably, his soundtrack CD to this game was on par with his Turrican work. DHS has effortlessly made this tune stand along with Huelsbeck's own studio renditions, following Chris' approach to the 4th level, techno-driven sound. I know DHS doesn't really approve, but it's still definitely Apidya sounding, just a lot more tougher than the Amiga 4 channel melody. The track is based on the first world music, has some really mean thumping bass and a production worth of release on today's commercial albums. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (03/12/2003)

Let me start by pointing out that I REALLY like O2s work - his Nemesis track is one of my all-time faves on RKO. Magnificent, powerful and well designed. Errr... this is where I have to start writing about this track I think. And that's exactly my problem with it. There's not that much to say, no offence Carsten. It really started well, with those eerie bass effects and the technical "feel" - then, in comes the typical Jarre-like sound but then... don't know, something happens and the tune fails. It's not that it's technically poor, nor is it musically uninteresting. It's just that there's nothing outstanding about it. And outstanding you normally are dude. It's a shame Carsten hasn't finished his track for R64 Vol.2. Now THAT would have been interesting. What do you say?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (12/11/2003)

Oh my g o d.

But let me explain first that I kind of missed this when it was first released. Recently, I put together a MiniDisc for my car audio and decided to add this tune. And boy am I glad I did.

Thomas' powerful arrangements and his touch for spherical soundscapes have been put to good use in this masterpiece. It's a little Enigma, some Vangelis and a sprinkle of X-Files come together in a powerful synth ballad-theme that makes the hair on my neck' jump a meter. Beyond doubt, this is Thomas best piece yet, topped marginally, but only marginally, by his version of Shades on the Remix64 Vol2. CD.

Excellent choir sections, gigantic synths, hypnotically driving percussion and top sound quality. The tune itself is amazingly simple yet there's a big "hookability" rating here.

I bow in respect Mr.Detert.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (28/10/2003)

Magnificent - somewhat better than Markus' last effort, maybe because the melody is simply better. The percussion is improving too. I'm not a total expert for orchestral as many know (I prefer the mix of symphonic and electronica) - the soundscape is recognizably Markus Schneider and that sense of surprise seemed to have gone a little in the previous track but it's back here. I like it! Well done Markus!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (03/10/2003)

Well done Jan, this is an interesting and cool introduction from the Morgenstern. :-) I've always bee a sucker for MoN work and this version brings out that flavour of the original Rubicon title track. In particular, the perky chords and the very reminiscent drums and bass do the track justice. Only gripe I have is that it's a little too long, "less" would have been "more" here. I like your work, keep it up buddy.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (05/05/2003)

Ok, Mahoney strikes yet again. And he does it so differently each time. The whole thing with Mahoney tracks is that they are always surprising. This one for instance, is a stroke of genius - picture a funky jazzy voice to a break dance beat and add some superbly recorded vocal effects with some amazing singing (can you call it that even?) - that's what this remix is about. Even the first time I listened, I ended up tapping my feet uncontrollably to the break-beats and smiling. Yes, smiling. Good music makes you smile. This guy is one of the pearls in our remix scene and this tune goes to prove that. 'Nuff said.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (03/05/2003)

From the current batch of remixes, this one by BaR seemed to inspire me the most really. Ok, most people know that I'm a big fan of trance and dance orientated tracks (yes, in spite of my own work!) and actually, this sounds a lot like the Blade Runner trance mix from the charts a few years back.

The instruments usd are typical trance sets, yet they're implemented well and there is a dance-y atmosphere there for sure. Judging from the overall sound, well, it sounds a little like a pure Reason mix, which is not a bad thing - a great tool I haven't used myself before though.

Antony Crother's original Sid tune has been ported nicely, regardless of it's simple melody and it brings out the best flavour. All in all, I think I can sum up this remix like this: If you like trance stuff, download it. There's no big effects, no overwhelming "oooh" moments, the remix is "just nice", nothing more and nothing less. Which is ok, because I'm in the mood for it. Nice work BaR.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (17/04/2003)

Well Markus my friend, this is an awesome feat. I have to be honest when I say that I - although I very much adore symphonic scores - am not a total fan of the current orchestral sounds. Anyone who knows my stuff knows I prefer the poppy, electronic path. For me, a movie score should have some synthetic "features" like drumloops or synth effects. Just listen to Gregson-William's Shrek or MGS2 on Playstation2. Anyway, that's just my preference.

Needless to say, the orchestration here is awesome nonetheless. Markus has been improving with each remix. It's hard work getting that "feel" of the real orchestra in there. The track lacks a little progression in my view but with the overall tension and atmosphere in it, symphonic fans will get a huge kick out of it. This review may actually sound a bit negative, but it's not meant that way. In fact, I urge you: Download it and weep. I know I did.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (25/02/2003)

I'm quite unsure about this remix really.

On the one hand, some nice strangely hypnotic and nostalic sounds, that do sound like a C64 gone synthesizer. But on the other hand, for me, the track lacks progression. There's an upbeat, driving Lynne-esque kind of bass line getting the whole moving after a while that makes it more exciting but overall, it sounds like Wizball's on E.

I'm not happy to critisize it for what it is, because if you like that kind of thing, it'll surely do it for you. But if you're looking for an inspired, thriving hair-standing-on-the-neck kind of C64-meets-synths kind of remix, download Brimble's Lightforce.

Rafael
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (20/01/2003)

The original is fairly short in terms of what you can do with it - Tim's done a great job here on taking the little bit he's given and turning it into a majestic hymn. The sounds do remind me of Jochen Hippels work - particularly his "Give it a Try" CD from 1990.
Brilliant piano melody and very nostalgic razory (typical Amiga/C64/ST chip sound) bass backing. Good clear recording as well.

Rafael Dyll
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1