Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 27 out of 27
[LOGIN]

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

Sounds great but there's a few places where it just doesn't quite capture the original tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

I like this, but the guitar work isn't as good as your other track, you miss a few parts and skip some notes but still sounds fine, nice and meaty. Again that synth doesn't work well that well. 1:21 - 3:00 is the best part. I'd really like to hear a more aggressive version of this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

That guitar work was incredible! The drums were great too, would've preferred a bit more emphasis on the synth in places and the synth sounds, a little less than ideal for this track but overall it's pretty great.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (05/04/2019)

This has everything going for it. Beautiful beat, beautiful synth, effects fit in perfectly.. One of my all time favourites. No Emotion or energy? It's infectious! How can you not want to get your groove on listening to this?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (03/04/2019)

Taking inspiration from the second quarter segment of the original SID and building up it, it crafts a powerful remix that which doesn't encompass all the original tune has to offer does a remarkable job with what it has. The most memorable part of the SID was taken, wonderfully re-created and given a nice long dark synth build up. Well done. I feel that if the lead up was shorter people would've rated this higher, but I love it. You should do a slight variation of it that includes the other parts of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

2000 really was your year wasn't it? Would be really cool to hear you make these again now. Very enjoyable to listen to and of course super nostalgic..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

If this was done by anyone else I don't think it would work quite as well as it does. Rating it badly because you don't like club style mixes is bad form, one of the best remixes from 2000.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

Capturing the feel of the original and even one upping it in a way only a handful of other remixers are capable of. Incredible job.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (28/11/2018)

Keeps very much in line with the original but adds so much more.. Gonna be hard to top this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (04/10/2017)

OOOH Yeah, right from the intro.. JAZZY. Sonic Casino vibes, just all comes together real nice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (17/07/2017)

Things get serious at 5:17, never heard this track before but this remix works very well with this tune. A stand out remix of the year IMO. After listening to this a few times I now would love to hear a similar yet heavier version that goes on for a bit longer after it steps up past 5:17
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (08/11/2013)

Ziphoid hit the nail on the head, I want the epic Turrican chuck in some better mixing too.

Dance intro was okay, enough to get me interested, then at 1.30 The Turrican cometh and I was like I'M FEELING IT, THIS IS TEH TURRICAN And I waited for the continuation of more epicness but then @ 3 mins it was back to dance and I was like OH :'( missed opportunity.

Give me the Turrican feels dude, I know you can do it, just balance it out right, it doesn't quite have the same impact as the original or perhaps quite the same impact I want it to have. I don't think anyone has quite nailed Freedom yet, you might be able to give it the attention it deserves.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (03/11/2013)

Obviously one of the best remixes of this tune ever. No wonder it was used in the Giana Sisters:Twisted Dreams game.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (04/09/2013)

Look at the end of the day this sounds pretty good.. I don't get you guys bashing the nostalgia and the technique which are obviously actually not bad. I've decided to up my vote to a review to offset just how ridiculous many of you have voted. "Ugh I hate it so everything gets bad faces" type reviews.. Just listen again.. breathe and actually review it on it's merits not on your disgust.. As AmiGamer said "I was hoping for people to vote for the idea of combining these two songs, rather than for the technical performance." And that's what I'm doing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (19/07/2013)

I think this is quite possibly the best remix ever done.

Everything is pretty much perfect.

Takes the original and makes is golden.

I don't know how some of you guys only rate this as good for minor things, I've seen good remixes sound nowhere near what this manages to pull off. Good for not being perfect? C'mon!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (01/03/2013)

Melody lead is crap? I don't think so! I'm pretty picky about such things and I feel it suits quite well. There is no denying that the background beat effects are what makes this tune, so punchy, invoking and interesting.

One of my favorite Daxx tunes right beyond his Lotus remixes and Paranoimia. The last minute's synth reminds me a bit of Flashback in some ways which is nice. I think with some tweaking this tune could be amazing but what it is right now I still consider to be top notch, I do wish it had a bit more clarity though,

Daxx, any chance of getting something a little less compressed and in a high bitrate? I want a V2!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (27/02/2013)

I love how this remix progresses it really brings you into the song! Totally mellow but powerful too.

This does the SID proud, it's the best Ocean loader remix so far, yes you have topped Instant Remedy with this one.
I love that it's over 5 minutes long too! And that progression at 3.45,, OMG.

Chick chick chick... CHICK AHHH.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/01/2013)

This works so well, it's an amazing tune and all the instruments work perfectly together. I wish it had a bit more clarity and a higher bitrate but I can't complain. One of my favorite remixes , totally hoping for a V2.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (22/12/2012)

I love how upbeat this is, such great instrument choices overall really making this tune sound modern. I know Hülsbeck himself has remixed this a few times but I actually prefer this over any his own remixes so that's saying something. It's more a beautiful enhancement of the original more than a remix and for that reason it's my favourite Concerto on this site. A few improvements could be made however, the drums at 0.10 being a tad too light and the back beat a tad too heavy this would bring it a little more in line with the original if keeping with enhancing it rather than remixing, the original feels less bogged down but otherwise I love it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (11/11/2012)

I think this is one of those remixes you're either going to love/like or hate, personally upon listening to it for a bit I couldn't help but grin, the first few seconds give you a good idea of what's to come.
This remix is an audacious cacophony of sound effects as such it's not your typical remix. All caution is thrown to the wind in this all out fart fest which I feel from 0.50 really starts to shine, LOL.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (01/06/2012)

You can't beat Lala's review it covers just about everything. I feel this remix does the original tune more justice than Mordi's version which by all means is great but this needs to sit higher where it is on the charts in comparison so here's my review This blends amazingly well.. I wish it had the clarity of Mordi's version but oh well, love it anyway.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (06/01/2012)

Just sounds a bit too shallow and repetitive for my liking, the clapping gets a bit annoying, the background beat sounds a bit overbearing and the lead is whiny and without any passion. I actually think this is one of the weaker sounding remixes of this tune. I actually prefer listening to the original SID. I like Darkman's remix a lot more.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (21/10/2011)

Masterful how apt that word is to this arrangement. My brother does guitar recordings and from the other room he said how good the guitar work was. It's engaging, it's clear and crisp and wonderfully arranged.
You can tell love has been put into this track.
This is as good as they get. Amazing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (24/08/2011)

Excellent remix, the intro is a nice touch and everything gels well together. However.. the low quality/mixing kinda ruins it a bit.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (06/05/2011)

While the samples are outdated now the overall flow of this is perfect. Personally I feel that this tune should be regarded as a masterpiece, it really does need a proper orchestral version done live to do it justice!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (20/12/2009)

Wow.. It's beat Rastan as the greatest track of all time on RKO.. quite a feat.

What an amazing tune to listen to, very much reminds me of the Unreal Tournament tracks.

Firestorm, you have created a track which sounds so amazingly professional it really is no wonder it's hit number one.

I very much look forward to similar remixes from you in future.. Well done.

There needs to be a new smiley made for this track.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (22/01/2009)

One of my favorite tunes, the piano is pure class. It's a tune I come back to time and again, truly beautiful.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1