Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 369
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (30/07/2020)

Starts out like a MOD, then it gets bright and sparkly, which gives it a distinct 80s feeling, then I get echoes of Depeche Mode. All we are missing is a vocal over it. :) Quite a good remix for a newcomer, hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/07/2020)

This remix is attempting to be bouncy and cheery with lots of staccato instruments, but I don't think it quite succeeds in that. I think you pushed the staccato-ness a bit too far. The basic instrumentation sounds solid, the arrangement is fairly faithful of the original SID, but the "staccato-everything" is too much.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/07/2020)

Welcome to RKO, SirRobin! I think your first remix here shows a lot of promise, because the arrangement is pretty good and all the notes are in the right places. :-) But I think the muddy recordings of the "live" instruments really put a dent in the overall quality of this tune. This is even more evident in the synth-only sections which sounds pretty good by themselves - until the guitar comes in. Your guitar skills are commendable, but in this mix it sounds like you're playing in an entirely different room and we're listening to you through a closed door. I hope you consider joining the Remix64 forum where you can ask for and get some advice on mic recordings and mixing, because your music production skills show a lot of promise, they just need refining.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (07/07/2020)

Welcome back to RKO, Tim! :-)

Reminds me of late 80s, early 90s synth-heavy movie scores, like Carpenter, except more melancholic. I'm especially fond of the wobbling chords in the first half of the tune, and the melody improvs in the second half.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/06/2020)

What a great transcription to piano! Definitely gets the spirit of the original SID through. Minor gripes: the tempo is not consistent throughout the piece. Also, the left and right channels are swapped (lower octaves are usually mixed to the left, not to the right).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/06/2020)

Never fails to bring a smile to my face! Brilliant! :-) The singing, the lounge atmosphere, the instrumentation... The only "bad" thing about this remix is that I cannot listen to this SID tune any more without hearing Boz's lovely voice. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think this is a brilliant arrangement of GnG for piano! It has everything in it that one could want, including the "simulated" glide in the intro, and even an improv'd section! Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

A few mistakes here and there just to make it clear that this was performed live. :) Obviously, a lot of thought went into the arrangement, and you even included the Bach piece in there for completeness. Very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think so far this sounds the most "classical style" piece among your piano renditions. Like you mentioned in your YT description it sounds rather wagnerian, apparently because that was David Warhol's original intention for the SID, too. It definitely shows, sounds grandiose!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

Whoa, slow down, buddy! :) This sounds like a good 10 BPM faster than the original SID (I wonder if that's an NTSC vs PAL piano thing :) ) , which makes it even more amazing that you performed this in one take.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/06/2020)

Welcome to RKO and Remix64.com, Paul! :-) I quite like the fact that all 3 game tunes are covered here, and the arrangements are pretty good, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/06/2020)

A fantastic rendition of Galway's classic tune. As others have mentioned it, the switch in the basic beat is at odds with the melody, but for me it actually works - he made it into a dancey tune, what do you expect? The sound effects and the vocoded voice are a perfect addition to this remix and create a vivid atmosphere. This is done very, very nicely, and it's definitely my favorite (if not THE favorite) Terra Cresta remixes.

-- RIP Razmo :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (11/06/2020)

Hmm, I wonder if this started life as a multichannel MOD, because many of its motifs remind me a lot of those tunes from late 1990s, even the way the patterns are repeated, and the abrupt ending (which to me indicates a cutoff of an infinitely repeating sequence). In that context, this is actually a rather decent remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/05/2020)

A wonderful acoustic-style remix of a classic tune. There are some sections of it that lean towards country/bluegrass style (e.g. @ 2:04) - I wish that style was explored further. But it sounds amazing as is, no complaints whatsoever! =) And the second, downtempo part of the piece is just be-a-utiful!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/05/2020)

Ladies and Gentlemen - this is as close to perfection as one can get with a remix. The superb skills of Peter's talent are on full display here: the arrangement is impeccable, the instrumentation is spot-on for a prog-rock styled remix, and it sure sounds like most of it is recorded live playing. And it even adds extras: like the wonderful riffs on the guitars and on the electric organ, not to mention the superb counter-melody on the sax in the later parts. Wow, just WOW! Bravo, Peter!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/05/2020)

Epic! The entire ~10 min of W.A.R. is covered here, which is respectable by itself - but this remix is also really, really good! Starts with a synth intro that did not impress me that much, but once the guitar kicked in at 2:30 it really got my attention. From that point on it just keeps rolling, occasionally with dissonant, but mostly with prog-rock sections, with electric guitars dominating the rest of the remix. I think this is as close to the prog-rock style I'm guessing Mr. Hubbard originally imagined for this track as we'll get. Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/04/2020)

The usual unusual from Colmarr. Like with his other remixes, yet again I'm not sure where to place this remix. It has a definite lo-fi feel to it, sort of reminding me of the music of 70s era American TV shows. But it's not that obvious, so who knows?... I am not even sure the lo-fi mix was intentional?... But definitely gets plus points from me for trying something different.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/03/2020)

As a Jarre fan, I'll try to restrain myself and not nitpick my way through this. :-) The sounds and the atmosphere are about as close to "Oxygene" as you can get. This is a really good "in-the-style-of" remix. I am a bit annoyed by the repeated "noisy downers" in the left and right channels (ie. the ones starting @ 1:36), but other than that it's hard to find a fault in it. You've weaved the theme of Ghosts'n Goblins into this tapestry of sounds in a very elegant way. Very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/02/2020)

Plus points for:

- choosing a relatively little-known tune
- game-appropriate crowd and announcement samples
- the choice of style
- good mixing
- cleverly stretching the 43 second SID tune to almost 3 minutes
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/01/2020)

What's really cool about this remix is that even though the arrangement hasn't been changed much from the original SID, the instruments are switched in and out so frequently, it never gets boring. The sheer number of instruments featured in this remix makes my head spin! It's a great synth-oriented remake.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/01/2020)

If I ignore that long flute tutorial intro and the annoying metronome sound, it's a very nice remix. I mean, she has a nice voice, but it just doesn't belong here. I'm guessing you were high on something when you added that intro. ;-) Other than that, I like the atmosphere of the song, it has a soothing quality to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (10/01/2020)

This is a good remix, but I think you've set the bar higher for yourself with your previous remixes. In short, I think you can do better.

I am especially bothered by two things here: the arpeggios (yeah, I know they're in the original, too, but somehow they stick out like a sore thumb to me), and the strong, pumping sidechaining on the bass frequencies.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/12/2019)

You can hear it in the first bars already that this is going to be special. Has that unique scene-vibe to it that is hard to explain. Love it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/11/2019)

First of all: welcome! It's always good to hear material here from new folks! Having said that, this remix needs more love. The drums have a weird phaser/eq effect on them that makes them sound like they're in a metal shed. The arrangement overall has a good direction, and the instrumentation is quite unique. But somehow none of these seem to gel together into an good quality piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/11/2019)

First off: I'm in awe of your Theremin skills! From what I know, it's a very hard instrument to master as there are zero reference points for the chromatic scale on it - because it's all in the air, literally. So, I bow my head to you for the Theremin parts of this remix.

But the rest of the remix sounds rushed and unimaginative - it's essentially the original SID tune sampled and looped. If you replaced that with just a simple chord progression and nothing else, I think that would've accentuated the Theremin track, too.

TL;DR: Theremin = awesome. Looped SID sample as a bed = meh.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/11/2019)

Wow, the number of times I must've heard this tune in demos and crakctros!... I can't believe it hasn't been remixed before. You're right, Wobbler: I think there's more potential in this tune. Your remix is pretty good by itself, though, and cheers for keeping the whistle intact towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/11/2019)

Unfortunately, I can only go as high as a red smilie with my vote, otherwise I would go higher. "Flaming hot red smilie", anyone?...

Let's see: serene intro complete with gentle piano? Check. Skull-shattering electric guitar? Check. SID arpeggios? Check. Ace 2, one of Hubbard's best tunes? Check. Tune from LN2, one of Matt Gray's best ones? Check. Impeccable arrangement and mix? Check. Me voting red on this remix? Check, check, CHECK!

Well-deserved winner of the first ever BIT Live remix compo!

PS: If you vote anything less than red smilie on this one, please, explain yourself in a shout...

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

I normally don't comment on remixes where I'm not familiar with the original SID, but I just had to make an exception for this one. Whenever I listen to this remix (and I've done that several times already), I have an overwhelming sense of nostalgia: I can't help but think of this as an Amiga MOD - times a thousand!

This arrangement oozes "chiptune style", even though it's not really a chiptune. But it FEELS like one! A fantastic scene production!

If you are not familiar with it, I also urge you to go and listen to the Dane's original SID, because that's pretty good, too.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

When I heard the intro of this song at BIT live, I was like "Oh, no, not ANOTHER Lightforce remix!" (There are almost 50 of them in RKO as of this writing, not to mention the various album versions.)

But you know what: this is really great arrangement! It has just enough edginess to it to make it unique (even though it's not fully "Slaygonized"). It's also more uptempo than the original, so there's a sense of urgency to it, driven by a simple, but effective rhythm section. And that long outro is just something else: the way it decomposes the song to oblivion is superb.

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2019)

The instrumentation sounds really good, but somehow this arrangement feels too soft for the original material. I like the venue-appropriate (BIT Live) vocal shouts, too. This shows a lot of promise, so I hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13