Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 402
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (03/01/2021)

While I totally respect that this remix covers the entire ~11 min of the original SID, I find the overall timbre of this remix a bit too harsh for my ears. Whether that's down to the choice of instruments or to the final mix, I do not know, but I think this remix would've benefited from a low-pass filter.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/01/2021)

A fantastic track from Makke's 2005 album 'It's Binary, Baby!' As expected from a professional album, a professional track. Innovative mix of Kraftwerk (from 'Radioactivity') and Richard Joseph's classic SID.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/01/2021)

A rather lifeless arrangement, I'm afraid. The instrument selection is eclectic at best, mixing is almost non-existent, the samples (fighter pilot comm, plane flyby) are passable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/12/2020)

If this doesn't get you up and dancing, nothing will! Really good idea to match the melody with a classic rock'n'roll groove.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/12/2020)

Lovely production with delicate touches all around. The lead guitar sounds a bit too artificial to me, but it's not too distracting from the overall arrangement. I wish this remix was longer - it fades out too early!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/12/2020)

No wonder this won SLAY Radio's Árok Tribute Remix compo in 2020! An absolutely stunning piece done in a "duet" format where the synthy parts are answered by string-heavy sections and vice versa. That melody line is what really catches me out every time - it's full of emotional subtlety, so delicate, yet, so powerful. The instrument selection, the arrangement, the mixing - all as close to perfection as they can get. Top-notch production all around!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/12/2020)

First of all: welcome back to RKO! Second: this is a much improved remix over your last one from 10 years ago. This is more guitar-heavy (that's a positive, because you are really good playing them) and the mix is nicely balanced, too. Two issues: a) that piano break at around 2:15 sounds dissonant, and b) It ends way too abruptly. You should've at least let the reverb ring out to completion. All in all, this is a much more enjoyable version of LN2, and I hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/12/2020)

First of all, kudos for picking a SID tune nobody has remixed before! The basic concept behind this remix is really good, the choice of instruments is fitting, too, but the arrangement is somewhat thin. It's like you were afraid to layer instruments on top of each other. The bass, the trumpets, the vocals, everything sounds great individually. The few times they all sound together is where this remix really shines, but I wish there was more meat on this groove. The vocals sound very nice, too, but again, they are not backed by a worthy accompaniment. For a good example of what should be done listen to Uncle & The Bacon's body of work (on RKO and on their albums) - I'm sure everything he (they?) uses are all virtual instruments, too, but packaged and arranged in a much more convincing fashion.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/12/2020)

Ziphoid published this remix in 2008 on the 'Syntax Era' album - I liked it back then, and I still like it now, 12 years later! The intro is a spot-on recreation of "Broken Wings" - after which the appearance of the Comic Bakery melody line feels tacked on. But this remix gets better as it goes on and it gives you that unmistakable slow tempo 80s ballad feel throughout. Especially noteworthy in this tune is the delicate guitar work of Magnus Högdahl, which lends a lot of authenticity to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/12/2020)

As a piece of music it's really good (although I find the lyrics a bit too "generic"). As a piece of remix - I could find a grand total of only 30 seconds of LN3 in this 5 min tune. That LN3 based hook is really good: I like the addition of the syncopated notes, the change in beats 4 & 8 - I was whistling it all day after I heard it. But I wish there was a lot more of LN3 in this tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/12/2020)

The vocals are just - wow. The idea of making this into a reggae is just - wow. But something feels a bit off with this remix. The harmonic interaction between the organ sounds and the stabby chords sounds weird at times. It's not dissonant, but something is off, can't quite put my finger on it. But overall, that's just a minor complaint, completely overtaken by the sheer creativity of this remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

If this was really all done with just a PSS-480, then my hats off to you, sir! The sound is, well, it's a Yamaha Portasound, so not much to expect there, but the arrangement works around the limitations very nicely. I think a fatter drum track could've really helped elevate this, but I understand if you wanted to stick with a pure PSS-480-based composition.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

Oh, man, so organic, so finely made! Funky style, has a sort of late 70s, early 80s feel to it. Darn close to a red smilie, really enjoyable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (24/11/2020)

Promising intro (that deep bass cuts through the mix really well), the lead sound is fairly evocative, but then the arrangement just lingers on and doesn't really go anywhere. I think this has the potential to grow on me as I listen to it more, but I wish there was more to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/11/2020)

Instantly recognizable Pet Shop Boys "West End Girls" instrumentation, phenomenal job! If somehow you had managed to add the vocals, too, it would've knocked me out cold. :) As it is, the lead instruments are a bit weak compared to the rest, but A+ for effort!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/10/2020)

I did not know about this SID tune before. Now I wish I did. This is a rather emotional cover of it that I find myself coming back to over and over again. So poignant and so elegant. Some Vangelis motifs here and there, which I always appreciate. And again, it's deeply touching - thank you, Marcel and Yogi, for sharing it with us! And thank you, Joachim, for your original composition!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/10/2020)

Fascinating story of how this tune was made! Abynx didn't post it, but there's also a video of this remix being played back inside 'Dreams': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YuAVJtmGaa4
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

I'm trying really hard to find the positives in this remix, but it's mighty hard to do. I was sort of hoping the intro percussion would lead to some authentic(ish) Japenese-style rhythm section, but alas, it didn't. The rest of the instrumentation is no better. But "at least" it closes with the obligatory Chinese gong. :-/
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

The most beautiful rendition of Fist 2 to this day, bar none. That flute, that vocal - just wonderfully emotional in every aspect of it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

I like it because it's different and because it deliberately steers away from the "obvious" LN3 Intro type remix - it remains clubby and electronic throughout instead. A very nice production overall.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/09/2020)

The instrumentation is pretty close to how I always heard this in my head: big, cinematic, heroic. Until about the halfway point when it inexplicable switches to a more medieval ensemble. I wish it had more of the choir from the intro in the rest of the piece, too.

Unfortunately, this is yet another track from "Remix64 vol. 2" that features sample-based instruments that didn't age well with time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/09/2020)

While I was working on the ceiling in one of the kids' bedroom I was listening to 80s music on a Google speaker, so all of that music is still echoing in my brain - and this remix totally has that 80s feeling nailed down. Replace the bell-like lead with a vocalist singing about a hot chick or love or something, and you got a winner here! :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/09/2020)

Back in 2003 when this remix was made there were not that many orchestral sample libraries available, so Jan did the best he could with what he had. The arrangement is full of wonderful little additions that were not present in the original SID (like those beautiful flute runs). But in general, this is probably as close as it gets to the arrangement I heard in my head when I first listened to the SID - baroque orchestral. (Yes, I know the original "Pase el agoa" is a renaissance tune, but Jeroen brought it forward a couple of centuries. :-) )
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/09/2020)

Your style is truly one of a kind! I think the best way I can describe it is "heavy metal jazz on the SID". It's grungy, raw, elemental, yet not off-putting or overly dissonant. At the same time the chord progressions and the arrangements seem to be infused with jazzy elements. This is definitely not easily digestible "popular" music - I think your compositions demand a certain amount of concentration and intelligence from the listener. This ain't the kind of casual music one could listen to in the background!

And that's why I'm upvoting this remix of your own SID tune (which is actually a remix of this tune, making this remix the original - phiew, got that? :-) ) - I want to celebrate your uniqueness and your craftsmanship, because I think it deserves praise.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/09/2020)

A technically well-executed synthwave style remix (I hesitate to call it an '80s remix, because it sounds so much better, more modern). Adding the voice samples was a touch of genius. Plus points for remixing a kickass 20CC tune that everybody else seemed to have ignored so far.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/08/2020)

There are many-many remixes of this tune available, both on RKO and on released albums. After I listened to some of my favorite ones and then this remix by SIDNIFY, it's still hard to pick a clear winner, but hot damn, this one is definitely there on the top! What a tour de force! All done with the kind of professionalism we've come to expect from SIDNIFY: an amazing, fresh arrangement, spotless instrumentation, mixed to perfection. Fantastic job, guys!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/08/2020)

An emotional, sorrowful tribute.

You made the slowed down tempo work very well. I also really like the deep bass line, it pierces through the mix, making it even more melancholic. A remix worthy of Edwin's memory.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2020)

I have a policy of not commenting on tunes that remix SID tunes I'm not very familiar with. But from time to time a remix comes up that's so good, I just have to make an exception for it. This is one of those times.

The individual pieces sewn together really work to its advantage, bringing us on an epic cinematic experience. I suspect the organ-heavy intro is Peter's making, transitioning to ziona's part at around 1:30, then going back and forth a little between Peter and ziona, with the tune so obviously concluding with Slaygon's darker tones. I hope I got that right. ;-)

Even though the remix quickly fades out, I suspect that's mostly due to the 2020 Árok remix compo's 4:30 time limit, because it feels like this could've been a lot longer.

Either way, a superb auditory experience, I really enjoy this, guys & gals!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2020)

Whoa! Welcome back, Sonic Wanderer!!! What a remix! Reminds me of some downtempo Tangerine Dream tracks ca. 1990s. Excellent choice of SID, flawless execution, I am really, really enjoying this!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2020)

During the Árok remix compo broadcast of SLAY Radio on IRC somebody (perhaps Slaygon himself) remarked how the style of this remix is very similar to that of the the Futurama title music. And I totally agree with that! Same wackiness, rapid switching of instruments, dubstep-like beat - very, very creative!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 12 13 14