Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 387
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (15/10/2020)

I did not know about this SID tune before. Now I wish I did. This is a rather emotional cover of it that I find myself coming back to over and over again. So poignant and so elegant. Some Vangelis motifs here and there, which I always appreciate. And again, it's deeply touching - thank you, Marcel and Yogi, for sharing it with us! And thank you, Joachim, for your original composition!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/10/2020)

Fascinating story of how this tune was made! Abynx didn't post it, but there's also a video of this remix being played back inside 'Dreams': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YuAVJtmGaa4
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

I'm trying really hard to find the positives in this remix, but it's mighty hard to do. I was sort of hoping the intro percussion would lead to some authentic(ish) Japenese-style rhythm section, but alas, it didn't. The rest of the instrumentation is no better. But "at least" it closes with the obligatory Chinese gong. :-/
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

The most beautiful rendition of Fist 2 to this day, bar none. That flute, that vocal - just wonderfully emotional in every aspect of it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/09/2020)

I like it because it's different and because it deliberately steers away from the "obvious" LN3 Intro type remix - it remains clubby and electronic throughout instead. A very nice production overall.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/09/2020)

The instrumentation is pretty close to how I always heard this in my head: big, cinematic, heroic. Until about the halfway point when it inexplicable switches to a more medieval ensemble. I wish it had more of the choir from the intro in the rest of the piece, too.

Unfortunately, this is yet another track from "Remix64 vol. 2" that features sample-based instruments that didn't age well with time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/09/2020)

While I was working on the ceiling in one of the kids' bedroom I was listening to 80s music on a Google speaker, so all of that music is still echoing in my brain - and this remix totally has that 80s feeling nailed down. Replace the bell-like lead with a vocalist singing about a hot chick or love or something, and you got a winner here! :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/09/2020)

Back in 2003 when this remix was made there were not that many orchestral sample libraries available, so Jan did the best he could with what he had. The arrangement is full of wonderful little additions that were not present in the original SID (like those beautiful flute runs). But in general, this is probably as close as it gets to the arrangement I heard in my head when I first listened to the SID - baroque orchestral. (Yes, I know the original "Pase el agoa" is a renaissance tune, but Jeroen brought it forward a couple of centuries. :-) )
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/09/2020)

Your style is truly one of a kind! I think the best way I can describe it is "heavy metal jazz on the SID". It's grungy, raw, elemental, yet not off-putting or overly dissonant. At the same time the chord progressions and the arrangements seem to be infused with jazzy elements. This is definitely not easily digestible "popular" music - I think your compositions demand a certain amount of concentration and intelligence from the listener. This ain't the kind of casual music one could listen to in the background!

And that's why I'm upvoting this remix of your own SID tune (which is actually a remix of this tune, making this remix the original - phiew, got that? :-) ) - I want to celebrate your uniqueness and your craftsmanship, because I think it deserves praise.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/09/2020)

A technically well-executed synthwave style remix (I hesitate to call it an '80s remix, because it sounds so much better, more modern). Adding the voice samples was a touch of genius. Plus points for remixing a kickass 20CC tune that everybody else seemed to have ignored so far.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/08/2020)

There are many-many remixes of this tune available, both on RKO and on released albums. After I listened to some of my favorite ones and then this remix by SIDNIFY, it's still hard to pick a clear winner, but hot damn, this one is definitely there on the top! What a tour de force! All done with the kind of professionalism we've come to expect from SIDNIFY: an amazing, fresh arrangement, spotless instrumentation, mixed to perfection. Fantastic job, guys!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (28/08/2020)

An emotional, sorrowful tribute.

You made the slowed down tempo work very well. I also really like the deep bass line, it pierces through the mix, making it even more melancholic. A remix worthy of Edwin's memory.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2020)

I have a policy of not commenting on tunes that remix SID tunes I'm not very familiar with. But from time to time a remix comes up that's so good, I just have to make an exception for it. This is one of those times.

The individual pieces sewn together really work to its advantage, bringing us on an epic cinematic experience. I suspect the organ-heavy intro is Peter's making, transitioning to ziona's part at around 1:30, then going back and forth a little between Peter and ziona, with the tune so obviously concluding with Slaygon's darker tones. I hope I got that right. ;-)

Even though the remix quickly fades out, I suspect that's mostly due to the 2020 Árok remix compo's 4:30 time limit, because it feels like this could've been a lot longer.

Either way, a superb auditory experience, I really enjoy this, guys & gals!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2020)

Whoa! Welcome back, Sonic Wanderer!!! What a remix! Reminds me of some downtempo Tangerine Dream tracks ca. 1990s. Excellent choice of SID, flawless execution, I am really, really enjoying this!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2020)

During the Árok remix compo broadcast of SLAY Radio on IRC somebody (perhaps Slaygon himself) remarked how the style of this remix is very similar to that of the the Futurama title music. And I totally agree with that! Same wackiness, rapid switching of instruments, dubstep-like beat - very, very creative!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/08/2020)

It's epic! It's vocal! Wait... it actually has lyrics! OMG! And now it's a duet! OMG x 2! Massive respects for this vocal-heavy cinematic composition. Great job on the heavy drums, too. Truly: epic!

I think if you weren't constrained by the 2020 remix compo's 4:30 limit, this would've been longer, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/08/2020)

A really, really well-crafted remix! Upon hearing the slow intro I got very excited, I thought it's going to be like that all the way. Unfortunately, it's not, but then it switches up the tempo, an excellent bass guitar lick appears, and it just blossoms into an amazing piece. Unlike Poke16384, I will actually give you a +1 for the wolf-whistle, because it appears in the original SID, too, and I thought that was a nice touch. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/08/2020)

That bass line - superb! That arrangement - phenomenal! That energy - uplifting! That vocoder - nice touch! That groove - it's, erm, groovy! Those orchestral riffs - spot on! The best British prog-rock style remix of this tune I ever heard! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/07/2020)

Starts out like a MOD, then it gets bright and sparkly, which gives it a distinct 80s feeling, then I get echoes of Depeche Mode. All we are missing is a vocal over it. :) Quite a good remix for a newcomer, hope to hear more from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/07/2020)

This remix is attempting to be bouncy and cheery with lots of staccato instruments, but I don't think it quite succeeds in that. I think you pushed the staccato-ness a bit too far. The basic instrumentation sounds solid, the arrangement is fairly faithful of the original SID, but the "staccato-everything" is too much.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/07/2020)

Welcome to RKO, SirRobin! I think your first remix here shows a lot of promise, because the arrangement is pretty good and all the notes are in the right places. :-) But I think the muddy recordings of the "live" instruments really put a dent in the overall quality of this tune. This is even more evident in the synth-only sections which sounds pretty good by themselves - until the guitar comes in. Your guitar skills are commendable, but in this mix it sounds like you're playing in an entirely different room and we're listening to you through a closed door. I hope you consider joining the Remix64 forum where you can ask for and get some advice on mic recordings and mixing, because your music production skills show a lot of promise, they just need refining.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (07/07/2020)

Welcome back to RKO, Tim! :-)

Reminds me of late 80s, early 90s synth-heavy movie scores, like Carpenter, except more melancholic. I'm especially fond of the wobbling chords in the first half of the tune, and the melody improvs in the second half.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/06/2020)

What a great transcription to piano! Definitely gets the spirit of the original SID through. Minor gripes: the tempo is not consistent throughout the piece. Also, the left and right channels are swapped (lower octaves are usually mixed to the left, not to the right).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/06/2020)

Never fails to bring a smile to my face! Brilliant! :-) The singing, the lounge atmosphere, the instrumentation... The only "bad" thing about this remix is that I cannot listen to this SID tune any more without hearing Boz's lovely voice. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think this is a brilliant arrangement of GnG for piano! It has everything in it that one could want, including the "simulated" glide in the intro, and even an improv'd section! Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

A few mistakes here and there just to make it clear that this was performed live. :) Obviously, a lot of thought went into the arrangement, and you even included the Bach piece in there for completeness. Very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think so far this sounds the most "classical style" piece among your piano renditions. Like you mentioned in your YT description it sounds rather wagnerian, apparently because that was David Warhol's original intention for the SID, too. It definitely shows, sounds grandiose!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

Whoa, slow down, buddy! :) This sounds like a good 10 BPM faster than the original SID (I wonder if that's an NTSC vs PAL piano thing :) ) , which makes it even more amazing that you performed this in one take.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/06/2020)

Welcome to RKO and Remix64.com, Paul! :-) I quite like the fact that all 3 game tunes are covered here, and the arrangements are pretty good, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/06/2020)

A fantastic rendition of Galway's classic tune. As others have mentioned it, the switch in the basic beat is at odds with the melody, but for me it actually works - he made it into a dancey tune, what do you expect? The sound effects and the vocoded voice are a perfect addition to this remix and create a vivid atmosphere. This is done very, very nicely, and it's definitely my favorite (if not THE favorite) Terra Cresta remixes.

-- RIP Razmo :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13