Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2023
[LOGIN]

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Ok, perhaps not a review … but wth, how did I miss JLD:s entrance to the C64-remixing community? Well, perhaps not strange at all since I don't keep up to date of each and every release on RKO. Still, a solid production, but then I don't think that the original gives away that many hints of a re-release in the shape of … well, a new tune. Sorry for this non-review but well … I just had to write what I felt when listening =)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Just posted a review of your latest drop to RKO (which was really good btw), and then found this one … Man, I have no previous recollection of hearing the original, but this totally rocks! I mean, keeping the original SID-feeling whilst maintaining a modern beat/arrangement/whatnot. Super-duper-awesome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Seems like another Swede enters the C64-remix-arena… Welcome! Judging from the production quality of this tune I can hear that you've produced a fair amount of music before trying out a C64-remix. And yes, the beat still has a decent taste of dubstep, and yes #3– it still work with the final result. Well done, and again – welcome to our little bizarre community :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/05/2020)

A wonderful acoustic-style remix of a classic tune. There are some sections of it that lean towards country/bluegrass style (e.g. @ 2:04) - I wish that style was explored further. But it sounds amazing as is, no complaints whatsoever! =) And the second, downtempo part of the piece is just be-a-utiful!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (12/05/2020)

Mr Clarke, I thought it would be difficult for you to match your most recent, ROTY-winning remix. So, you've come at us from a different angle. This is a brilliant new remix. Giving this tune the Prog-rock treatment is inspired. Technically, it's tight and the riffs, licks & flourishes lift it beyond the title of "remix". There's so much original creation here but I guess that's what an old-school, game-music composer can do. Outstanding!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (12/05/2020)

Oh my! This is tough to react to. It's absolutely brilliant. The difference is it's so much smoother than Glyn's original which is what i expect Peter was after. That there for me is the difference. I kinda like the harsh, aggressive in your face attitude the original. They are both great versions and kudos to both musicians. However for me, Still love Glyn's version to pieces. However what an honor for Glyn who's spent years covering sid musicians for one to turn around and cover him.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (11/05/2020)

Alright, I'm with LaLa on this one. It's technically brilliant and the arrangement is just superb. If there was something higher than a red smiley, I'd award it to this remix. This is a real musician and composer at work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (11/05/2020)

Agree with Lala and the drum loop, it does feel somewhat out of place. But as always the sound scape is lovelly. I always enjoy Dr Future's production skills.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by al.x (11/05/2020)

I really like this, slightly melancholic version that combines the 8 bit sounds with a more modern soundscape.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/05/2020)

I Like this remix a lot.. It's got SID-ishness everywhere and bounces like a bouncy thing. Technically it sounds spot-on to me. Maybe a little more variation, if I'm being really picky but overall a damn good remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/05/2020)

Ladies and Gentlemen - this is as close to perfection as one can get with a remix. The superb skills of Peter's talent are on full display here: the arrangement is impeccable, the instrumentation is spot-on for a prog-rock styled remix, and it sure sounds like most of it is recorded live playing. And it even adds extras: like the wonderful riffs on the guitars and on the electric organ, not to mention the superb counter-melody on the sax in the later parts. Wow, just WOW! Bravo, Peter!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

Oh, he's back-eh-makk-eh. Sort of happy that I was able to spark some sort of creative juice! And yeah, breakbeats need a big revival *makes a mental note*
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

I know, it's been remixed a hundred times, and yeah, the original is so good etc etc etc. But, this one is really minimalistic, has fresh sounds (yeah, really) and well … liked it. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/05/2020)

Epic! The entire ~10 min of W.A.R. is covered here, which is respectable by itself - but this remix is also really, really good! Starts with a synth intro that did not impress me that much, but once the guitar kicked in at 2:30 it really got my attention. From that point on it just keeps rolling, occasionally with dissonant, but mostly with prog-rock sections, with electric guitars dominating the rest of the remix. I think this is as close to the prog-rock style I'm guessing Mr. Hubbard originally imagined for this track as we'll get. Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ItsReactor (01/05/2020)

Enjoyed this a lot. Reminiscent of the original but with some creative new stuff. Saved. Thank you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by _steve_ (01/05/2020)

This evokes the memories of that infamous game over screen featuring your character being struck by lightning. Given the original game over guitar riff was just 10-20 seconds, long, the manner you expanded around that is fantastic. The pan flute repetition at 40s along with the acoustic guitar, birds and general atmosphere sets this in the SOTB universe.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/04/2020)

The usual unusual from Colmarr. Like with his other remixes, yet again I'm not sure where to place this remix. It has a definite lo-fi feel to it, sort of reminding me of the music of 70s era American TV shows. But it's not that obvious, so who knows?... I am not even sure the lo-fi mix was intentional?... But definitely gets plus points from me for trying something different.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Rainstorm (10/04/2020)

So good. I hope you'll have time to create all other stages and also the intro. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MsMadLemon (06/04/2020)

Fantastic remix of a great tune, you've kept the feeling of the original but added more to it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DjCzyszy (30/03/2020)

Classic Puffy64 sound. It's nice but not on par with modern production standards. I wonder if this is something new or a something that had been lying in the closet for well over a decade. It does sound like something that would've easily been made in the early 2000s. Well, on the other hand, listening to it, I can't help but feel as if time froze solid and the all those days never passed us by. But anyway: the guitars conflict with the SID sounds and the tone's a bit harsh. Also, the drums need to be more cutting in such a dense arrangement. Seems like there's too much going on. I do like the playing with the pinch harmonics and tasty bends though. So yeah, it's a mixed bag.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

certainly a unique take on the tune, still liking it a lot, more of the same please.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

if this was slowed down any more it would suffer a heart attack, the remix is still surprisingly pretty brilliant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

nice remix to chill out to, sounds very amiga demo like, which isnt a bad thing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

usual case of awesome rolled in slice of nostalgia, sounds as funky and weird as i hoped.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

2mins of wtf and 6mins of awesome, any chance of a version without the annoying voice intro?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/03/2020)

As a Jarre fan, I'll try to restrain myself and not nitpick my way through this. :-) The sounds and the atmosphere are about as close to "Oxygene" as you can get. This is a really good "in-the-style-of" remix. I am a bit annoyed by the repeated "noisy downers" in the left and right channels (ie. the ones starting @ 1:36), but other than that it's hard to find a fault in it. You've weaved the theme of Ghosts'n Goblins into this tapestry of sounds in a very elegant way. Very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tw1l1ght (01/03/2020)

Instant Serotonine Release guaranteed! Gets me happily flying through the room every.single.time!!! <3 In my book THE definition of "Banger!".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by guru512 (12/02/2020)

Song ruined by retarded unfitting voice samples Song ruined by retarded unfitting voice samples Song ruined by retarded unfitting voice samples too bad
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tamzin (06/02/2020)

How do you keep doing, the grandmaster, this is so good! So glad you're still in the scene :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/02/2020)

Plus points for:

- choosing a relatively little-known tune
- game-appropriate crowd and announcement samples
- the choice of style
- good mixing
- cleverly stretching the 43 second SID tune to almost 3 minutes
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 66 67 68